BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Bradford Contracting?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bradford Contracting

Phone: (972) 951-3425 Fax: (817) 399-1245   http://www.bradfordcontractingdfw.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bradford Contracting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bradford Contracting include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bradford Contracting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 15, 2011 Business started: 10/06/2008 in TX Business started locally: 10/06/2008
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Daniel S. Bradford, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel S. Bradford, Owner
Business Category

REPLACEMENT WINDOWS SALES & INSTALL HOME REMODEL CONTRACTORS, GENERAL

Industry Tips
Home Remodeling
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Beginning on March 28, 2012, I engaged this contractor to perform some work via Direct Buy. The original jobs were 1) Interior painting, 2) upgrading (11) interior doors, 3) painting kitchen cabinets, 4) installing glue down vinyl flooring, and 5) repairing exterior siding. The contractor took longer than expected to return the original bid and then the details were in question. Once the bid was received I corrected some of the missing details of the jobs and made a counter offer. The contractor appeared to accept my counter, but then replied and seemed offended by my counter offer. After making some changes to the cabinet portion of the job (we decided to replace versus paint the cabinets) I accepted the offer as he originally submitted. However, I had to emphasize details in the bid, such as glue down flooring versus a floating floor. After multiple attempts to clarify the details and sign the agreement the contractor kept missing appointments and taking a long time to correspond. However, each time the contractor apologized and said he was busy and he would mention that he will give my job the appropriate attention when the job gets started. However, I made it clear that I wanted to make sure that all the details were in line in order to support the figures and kept sending detailed correspondence but he never made the correction. On May 18, 2012, the contractor began the first portion of the job. He began by being difficult when hanging the new cabinets. He was unprepared for the job and made my wife run around to get hard copies of the cabinet layout, which he had received on 4/25/12 when he prepared the bid for this portion of the job. He then complained because the job required cleating to attach the crown molding on the cabinets and he was not aware of that detail and did not include that in his bid. So he began to rant about how we would have to pay more because he had to get additional materials to finish the install. He pulled his crew off the job and said he would contact me later that evening with a schedule for completing the cabinet install and a start date for the floor installation. He never called that evening...I sent multiple correspondence asking when the cabinet installers would arrive on Monday 5/21/12 and he finally responded after 8:00PM that Sunday, 5/20/12. Via a text message he requested access and wanted me to leave the door unlocked. I replied and said no because the home was vacant and our appliances were in the house. I said I need a time and he said he would call me in the morning. On Monday, 5/21/12, at 6:47AM we get a call and the contractor said the cabinet installers will be at the job site in less than an hour...he knew we lived 26 miles from the job site...but we rushed and arrived on time only to find that the installers were late, but onsite! The contractor then sent me a text telling me that the floor install would begin on Tuesday, May 22, 2012, and that the price would be more than his bid. I was about to reply when I received a call from the contractor. He began to tell me that the doors were more expensive and that I would need to pay more for upgrading the doors. That is when I lost it and told the contractor I was not a blank check and that he need to honor his bid. He responded by quitting and canceling the job 8 days before we had to move into the subject property.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back from this contractor because his lack of professionalism to honor his agreement cost me money as I had to find other contractors and pay a premium to get the work completed on such a short notice.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

Mr. ***** **** initiallaly contacted me for several estimates such as painting, flooring installation and siding repairs along with an estimate to replace interior doors. After the proposals were submitted the customer made changes to my verbage and pricing and then sending it back as his offer. I explained that because he was a member of Direct Buy that my pricing was already as low as it could go. After several more attempts from the customer to get me to lower my pricing Mr. **** accepted my proposal to install supplied flooring and cabinetry. It was also agreed that I would supply and install interior doors based on information taken for the estimate. Once the doors were measured and turned in it was discovered that his particular door size was not standard and required special order. At this time I informed Mr. **** via email that there would be a price increase for a special order door. In effort to try and make the standard doors work I stated that I would need to come and get more accurate measurements to be able to confirm the the possibility. Although if we had to have the special order doors there would be a price increase. At this time no deposit had been made for the job. On May 18th I arrived to the job for the Customer Supplied Cabinet installation. At this time I was welcomed by Mr. ****s wife to enter the property and begin installation after receiving a check for a deposit of $2000.00. When inspecting the cabinets it was found that there was not a layout with the order. I had to request he layout be onsite before I could complete install. Mr **** became upset because he had to have his wife come and pick up a copy at his work  and deliver back to me. I said it would be best if you just came home because I need you to inspect the cabinets that were supplied as they have not been unpackaged and inspected by the client. He stated it was "retarded" and told me just look them over for discoloration and install them. I informed him that I was not liable for anything he may not think was acceptable because he wasnt there to inspect them. After opening two boxes we disovered that there was a damaged cabinet and I called Mr. **** again and said I need him there on the jobsite to inspect the cabiniets or I couldnt install them. After argument he said he would arrive shortly. Later he arrived and apologized for the inconveniance of the start of the job lacking inspection and layouts. It was decided that we would go ahead and instal the cabinets. During installation it was discovered that when Mr **** completed the take off with the Direct Buy consultant there was missing parts to complete install and I would have to come back to finish the job.

Later that day I receieved a voicemail stating how gracious Mr. **** was for our services and an apologie for the inconveniance. We returned on Monday and completed the installation of the cabinets with contractor supplied materials. Mr **** then complimented us on our professionalism and ability to get it done as well as a phone call to Direct Buy to let them know how well our crew did. I called Mr. **** to confirm he had received my message in regards to the interior doors and the special order price increase. When I contacted him initially he was in his office and seemed very calm to my concerns and then hung up on me calling me back from another phone line outside his office, which at this time he began vulgarly yelling at me that he didnt care about a price increase as this was my problem. He said he was not a "BLANK CHECK". I informed him that if I had to pay the cost increase that it would be passed along to him as well. I also said at this time (MONDAY) that when I was there for installation of the cabinets on (Friday)  I noticed that the floor would need to be prepped for the flooring installation. Mr. **** had informed me that he had the floor prepared for installation but when I arrived on that Friday I found texture and paint all over the concrete surface. Once I informed Mr **** that he would also have to pay additional to prepare the concrete surface for flooring installation he became upset and said he wasnt paying anymore than what was on my quote. I stated that if he wouldnt agree to the upcharges that I would just rather not start the other parts of the job and he could hire someone else.

Once I made this statement, Mr **** then threatened my career opportunities with Direct buy and dared me to quit the job because of his timeline of needing to move in on that Friday. Because of the vulgar language and threats I decided to end our relationship and services and explained I would refund $1500.00 of the $2000.00 deposit made as the installation cost for the cabinets was $500.00.

Later that evening I receive a phone call from Mrs. **** asking me to come back and excuse her husbands attitude as she states "he is a little hot headed sometimes". I explanied it was best if we went separate ways and I would mail out their refund asap.

I was waiting for the check to clear the bank so I could send the refund. When I checked my account I had found that the deposit check was cancelled (stop payment) the day of the cabinet installation.

Mr. **** owes me $500.00 plus the cost of materials to complete the cabinet installation service acceptionally provided.

There will not be any sort of REFUND to Mr. **** for his inconveniance to have to hire premium priced contractors as he has made no payments towards his balance for the cabinet install.

Regards,

 


 

Consumer Response:

Mr. ***** **** initiallaly contacted me for several estimates such as painting, flooring installation and siding repairs along with an estimate to replace interior doors. After the proposals were submitted the customer made changes to my verbage and pricing and then sending it back as his offer.

 

SR Comments June 18, 2012 at 12:29PM: Yes, I made a counter offer based on other estimates and my own research.  Suspect Contractor could have rejected the counter offer, but instead he commented and we ultimately agreed.  Changes to his verbage were my attempts to get the suspect contractor to better understand the details of the job.  For example, suspect contractor kept detailing the flooring as a floating floor versus a glue down floor.  The suspect contractor complained that floating floors were cheaper to install than glue down and the floor prep was more expensive.  Therefore, when I saw his documents reflecting floating floors over and over again I wanted him to get the details correct, which he failed to do.

I explained that because he was a member of Direct Buy that my pricing was already as low as it could go. After several more attempts from the customer to get me to lower my pricing Mr. **** accepted my proposal to install supplied flooring and cabinetry.

 

SR Comments June 18, 2012 at 12:29PM: This is true, but suspect contractor failed to garner specific details of the cabinet job from Direct Buy.  According to Direct Buy ownership this is expected of all Direct Buy vendors.

 

It was also agreed that I would supply and install interior doors based on information taken for the estimate. Once the doors were measured and turned in it was discovered that his particular door size was not standard and required special order. At this time I informed Mr. **** via email that there would be a price increase for a special order door. In effort to try and make the standard doors work I stated that I would need to come and get more accurate measurements to be able to confirm the the possibility. Although if we had to have the special order doors there would be a price increase.

 

SR Comments June 18, 2012 at 12:29PM: Doors...Contractor came to job site (3) seperate times to measure floors and doors.  His bid for both areas was based on HIS own measurements and then as we came closer and closer to our deadline he attempted to raise each and every bid. For the record, we had (11) standard 6-panel hollow core doors installed from Home Depot (4) days after suspect contractor quit.

 

 

At this time no deposit had been made for the job. On May 18th I arrived to the job for the Customer Supplied Cabinet installation.

SR Comments June 18, 2012 at 12:29PM: No deposit and/or agreement was exchanged because suspect contractor failed to meet us in order to exchange the deposit and the signed agreement prior to May 7th when he was previously made aware of our vacation.  However, he still agreed to do the work...

 

At this time I was welcomed by Mr. ****s wife to enter the property and begin installation after receiving a check for a deposit of $2000.00. When inspecting the cabinets it was found that there was not a layout with the order. I had to request he layout be onsite before I could complete install. Mr **** became upset because he had to have his wife come and pick up a copy at his work  and deliver back to me. I said it would be best if you just came home because I need you to inspect the cabinets that were supplied as they have not been unpackaged and inspected by the client. He stated it was "retarded" and told me just look them over for discoloration and install them. I informed him that I was not liable for anything he may not think was acceptable because he wasnt there to inspect them. After opening two boxes we disovered that there was a damaged cabinet and I called Mr. **** again and said I need him there on the jobsite to inspect the cabiniets or I couldnt install them. After argument he said he would arrive shortly. Later he arrived and apologized for the inconveniance of the start of the job lacking inspection and layouts. It was decided that we would go ahead and instal the cabinets. During installation it was discovered that when Mr **** completed the take off with the Direct Buy consultant there was missing parts to complete install and I would have to come back to finish the job.

SR Comments June 18, 2012 at 12:29PM: Once again, the layout was given to the contractor in order for him to bid the job.  He never requested that we, the customer, provide that information onsite.  Direct Buy informed us that this was his responsibility as the contractor to be prepared for the job. We inspected the cabinets in the method we were instructed by our Direct Buy rep.  I informed suspect contractor to continue with the job and that my wife could inspect any concerns with the cabinets.  In the end, the contractor was upset because we did not have the cabinets out of the boxes, and did not have the layout onsite, which we were never asked to. My apologies were directed to give him perspective that we as a customer did not think we were expected to have the job site prepared in the manner he obviously expected. In our follow-up with Direct Buy we were clearly instructed that the suspect contractor should have never expected us to remove cabinets from boxes and have a layout onsite.  Suspect contractor failed to fulfill Direct Buys expectations of their contractors and he failed to be prepared for the  job.

Later that day I receieved a voicemail stating how gracious Mr. **** was for our services and an apologie for the inconveniance. We returned on Monday and completed the installation of the cabinets with contractor supplied materials. Mr **** then complimented us on our professionalism and ability to get it done as well as a phone call to Direct Buy to let them know how well our crew did.

 

SR Comments June 18, 2012 at 12:29PM: I complimented his sub contractors for doing a good job hanging the cabinets.  Subject contractor did nothing related to the actual work.  He even had an altercation with the Cabinet Designer at Direct Buy because suspect contractor did not have the necessary details in order to have provided a cleat to attach the crown molding for the cabinets.  This is something Direct Buy clearly stated the suspect contractor should have been prepared for.

 

I called Mr. **** to confirm he had received my message in regards to the interior doors and the special order price increase. When I contacted him initially he was in his office and seemed very calm to my concerns and then hung up on me calling me back from another phone line outside his office, which at this time he began vulgarly yelling at me that he didnt care about a price increase as this was my problem. He said he was not a "BLANK CHECK". I informed him that if I had to pay the cost increase that it would be passed along to him as well. I also said at this time (MONDAY) that when I was there for installation of the cabinets on (Friday)  I noticed that the floor would need to be prepped for the flooring installation. Mr. **** had informed me that he had the floor prepared for installation but when I arrived on that Friday I found texture and paint all over the concrete surface. Once I informed Mr **** that he would also have to pay additional to prepare the concrete surface for flooring installation he became upset and said he wasnt paying anymore than what was on my quote. I stated that if he wouldnt agree to the upcharges that I would just rather not start the other parts of the job and he could hire someone else.

 

SR Comments June 18, 2012 at 12:29PM: The rendition of events above are skewed to make the suspect contractor appear to be faultless.  In the end he failed to gain the level of detail necessary to provide accurate bids and then after we agreed on prices he tried to increase them because of his failure to accurately assess the job site.  It is worth noting that after the suspect contractor quit and failed to fulfill his agreement, we had the flooring rebid and installed in (3) days by another Direct Buy vendor.  They did little to no floor prep because it was not necessary.  Suspect contract was just trying to get more money from us because he underbid the cabinet work.

 

Once I made this statement, Mr **** then threatened my career opportunities with Direct buy and dared me to quit the job because of his timeline of needing to move in on that Friday. Because of the vulgar language and threats I decided to end our relationship and services and explained I would refund $1500.00 of the $2000.00 deposit made as the installation cost for the cabinets was $500.00.

 

SR Comments June 18, 2012 at 12:29PM: This is a bold face lie...after he threatened to quit the job, knowing we had (9) days until we moved in, I told him if he did fail to honor his bids I would formaly complain to Direct Buy ownership. 

 

 

Later that evening I receive a phone call from Mrs. **** asking me to come back and excuse her husbands attitude as she states "he is a little hot headed sometimes". I explanied it was best if we went separate ways and I would mail out their refund asap.

I was waiting for the check to clear the bank so I could send the refund. When I checked my account I had found that the deposit check was cancelled (stop payment) the day of the cabinet installation.

Mr. **** owes me $500.00 plus the cost of materials to complete the cabinet installation service acceptionally provided.

 

 

SR Comments June 18, 2012 at 12:29PM: My wife tried to reason with the suspect contrator in a desperate attempt to get the job done.  During this call suspect contractor continually misrepresent his pricing, once again. As far as the check, I stopped payment on the check because suspect contractor was not a man of his word, as he failed to honor his pricing. I was not going to trust him to send me a refund since he did not keep his original agreement.

 

There will not be any sort of REFUND to Mr. **** for his inconveniance to have to hire premium priced contractors as he has made no payments towards his balance for the cabinet install.

 

SR Comments June 18, 2012 at 12:29PM: In the end we were able to get all the work the suspect contractor failed to do in the (9) days.  It went smooth and all the contractors involved were very appreciative of our willingness to work with them and get the job done.  The suspect contractor is a horrible business person and if he lost business from Direct Buy it is because he quit and failed to meet his obligations, which cost me money.

 

Regards,

***** ****

 

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

1