Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Thumbtechs Corporation?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Thumbtechs Corporation

Phone: (817) 923-2419 View Additional Phone Numbers 201 S Main St, Fort Worth, TX 76104 http://www.thumbtechs.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Thumbtechs Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Thumbtechs Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Thumbtechs Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2012 Business started: 01/01/1995 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated: 12/10/2001 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bob Wolfe, Vice President Ms. Melanie Cantwell, Business Manager Mr. George C. Fassett Jr., President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Wolfe, Vice President
Business Category

TECHNOLOGY BUSINESS SOLUTIONS COMPUTER SOFTWARE SERVICES BUSINESS & TECHNOLOGY SOLUTIONS COMPUTER CONSULTING COMPUTER HARDWARE & SOFTWARE COMPUTER NETWORK INSTALLATION COMPUTER NETWORKING & CABLING COMPUTER RACKING COMPUTER SALES & SERVICE INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY SERVICES


Additional Locations

  • 201 S Main St

    Fort Worth, TX 76104 (888) 844-2419 (817) 923-2419

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed consulting contract with Thumbtechs to help in MS Exchange to Office 365 migration. Paid all fees up front. Shortly after signing contract my company migrated our exchange mailboxes on our own and determined we didn't need Thumbtechs service. WATCH OUT! Thumbtechs won't give refunds! Even if they haven't done any work! Because of this, Thumbtechs agreed to extend the support agreement. That was a mistake! We've had an open ticket for over 5 weeks now to address simple question regarding our cut-over migration. There is no urgency to their support - especially since we paid up front. Management is also very defensive and argumentative. Not fun to work with these guys.

Desired Settlement: 50% Refund on fees we paid up front.

Business Response:

The service contract that was signed was indeed for a “turnkey” MS Exchange to Office 365 migration. Because this is a “pure service” operation, and a lot of it is behind the scenes preparation and setup with the Microsoft servers and DNS records, we do require upfront payment.  We are very clear about that however as that is spelled out on the quotation/agreement that was signed and dated by the client in this case.

THUMBTECHS is very focused on providing the value and ultimate customer satisfaction for exactly what we are contracted to do.  We always follow-up with a client “sign off” document that we obtain from the client stating that the work that was contracted for was indeed completed.  Obviously we did not get to that point in this case. It is not my intent to be argumentative, but to simply point out a couple of complications that prevented us from completing the work. As stated, we were setting up servers and doing background DNS work when the client notified us that they “migrated our exchange mailboxes on our own and determined we didn't need THUMBTECHS’ service”. That effectively took the control out of our hands to perform the contracted service. We also discovered that the client logged into the Microsoft portal and changed the plan type which added some further complications with DNS records and control. That’s when things really became problematic and communication broke down on exactly where things were, and why we offered to divert migration funds to other service funds.

We are sorry that timing expectations were not met after the scope of this work totally changed, and at this point are more concerned that the client can move forward as satisfied as possible.  To that end, we agree to the client’s desired settlement of a 50% refund on the prepaid agreement fees.

10/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are a non-profit church organization (*** ****** ****** ********* Church) We contracted with Thumbtechs Corporation for computer networking services/support. We have been VERY dissatisfied with their failure to provide us with adequate service and have been "patient" since October, 2011, for them to provide the service for which we contracted. They have not met the services and we are requesting termination with them. They are required to give us all passwords so we can block them from our computer network and reset our systems. They are refusing to give this information to us. We have mailed a letter to your office (Fort Worth, 1300 Summit Ave, Suite 101, zip 76102) to show more fully our dissatisfaction.We have faithfully paid the monthly service fees through the month of September, 2012, during this period of dissatisfaction.

Desired Settlement: We have started the process stated in the contract for termination with their company. However, we want Thumbtechs Corp. to provide us with the requested passwords and to desist from all entry into our system right now. They are refusing to do that. Also, we feel the lack of service for this long period of time should negate the requirement to payout the contract period ending December 31, 2012. This would amount to $1,377.00 (3 months-Oct, Nov, Dec., 2012) @ $459.00/month).

BBB Response:


We were indeed shocked that ******* and *** ***** ****** ********* ****** took this action in the
middle of our working to meet their expectations and to resolve their backup solution issues. Please find
below the timeline of our good faith communication and plans to implement a "fix", and our follow on
offers to attempt to remedy all issues:
• THUMBTECHS was working a case (#***** opened 9/4/2012) concerning backup issues. Several
things were done (all contained in our case documentation), but it was agreed on 9/24/2012 that
*** ***** would call and/or setup up a conference call for Wednesday, 9/26/2012 to discuss this
further.
• On the morning of 9/25/2012 our receptionist received a call from ******* and she indicated
that he was quite upset, and needed to have someone call him ASAP. ***** *******
(Operations Manager) and myself returned the call to ******* that same morning, and we
discussed his issues for about 20 minutes. He expressed extreme frustration with his backup
system, but at NO TIME did he request the passwords to his system. I told ******* during the
call as I was quickly reviewing the latest case and some others that there was a history of
problems. I also told him that our action plan was for me to review in detail all that had been
done, have a meeting with my technology team, and that I would get back with him with a plan
to resolve his issues to his satisfaction. The call ended with that plan.
• Please see Attach 1: An email to ******* and ***** ********** 9/28/2012 with my detailed
findings and the key items that we were going to resolve for them.
• Please see Attach 2: A follow on email later in the afternoon of 9/28/2012 following the receipt
late that day of a Certified Letter from ******* (shown as copied to the BBB). This certified
letter was the FIRST time that we saw an official request for us to provide him with his network
passwords. Given that, I sent ******* this email to make sure that he understood the
ramifications of us releasing all of his network passwords, and ASSURING him of the fact that we
have never in 17 years of business refused to give clients their network passwords, and we had
no intention to start now.
• Please see Attach 2: This contains the response from ******* sent and received on Monday,
10/1/2012 to my 2"' email on 9/28/2012. As you can see it was rather curt, and it remains the
ONLY communication that we have received to date from ******* other than his certified
cancellation letter.
• Please see Attach 3: This attachment contains (2) emails sent to ******* from our CEO, ******
*******. One was sent on Monday 10/1/2012 to respond to *******'s certified cancellation
letter that we received late the preceding Friday. The second was sent this past Friday
10/5/2012 as ****** had not received any communication back from *******. As of Monday
10/8/2012 at 11:00AM we have still received no communication from ******* or other
representative from *** *****.
• Please see Attach 4: We waited until the end of the day on Monday 10/1/2012 to hear from
******* or anyone at *** ***** in response to the note from ****** *******. Giving out ALL
network passwords can have potential disastrous results, especially if they fall into the wrong
hands, and it can jeopardize our ability to secure the network per our contractual agreement
with *** *****. But given *******'s strong accusations, especially that we were not releasing his
"codes" or passwords, we opted to go ahead and send them to him with the appropriate
cautions.
I apologize for the lengthy attachments, but they do document our extensive attempt to communicate
with ******* and *** ***** and to resolve their backup issues. We (THUMBTECHS) believe we have gone
the extra mile to try to meet *** ****** expectations in a very complicated IT environment. Unfortunately
the complete cessation of communication on *** ****** part, and the filing of this complaint to the BBB
has left us where we are today.
Please let me know if you need any further information or clarification. Thanks,