Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie

Phone: (817) 735-1591 6828 Camp Bowie Blvd, Fort Worth, TX 76116 http://www.aamcofortworth.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1983 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1983
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Jason Pryor, Partner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: David Bry
Principal: Mr. Jason Pryor, Partner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Bourdon/Pryor LLC
Industry Tips
automotive engine repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6828 Camp Bowie Blvd

    Fort Worth, TX 76116

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 27, 2015 we took our 2006 Cadillac to Aamco Transmission where we were told the transmission needed a complete overhaul. They informed us it would take a few days and $3, 886. Aamco’s few days turned into 3 weeks. We picked up the car and drove it for about six weeks. On a Saturday we dropped the car back off for a routine service check. Two hours later they called and said it checked out perfectly. 2 days later it began making a whining noise and slipping out of gear again. We took it back to Aamco and rented my wife car. We were told they had to order another part. 2 weeks later they called and said it was ready. My wife was only half way home and the check engine light was on. She turned around and went right back to Aamco were she was told that it was a sensor they forgot to plug back in. A few days later, back to slipping out of gear and the whining noise. Really frustrated at this point, we called Aamco corporate office and spoke to ******** to try and get our money back. ******** wanted to talk to the **** at the location and assured us the situation would be resolved. Again, we had to rent another car for my wife to get to work and back. **** called us and offered to pick the car up to inspect the transmission again. On this third trip back to Aamco, they ran a diagnostics again and said the converter was messed up inside the transmission and yet another part would have to be ordered from California. Two weeks later they called and we went down to test drive it. The car was still slipping out of gear but not as bad. The mechanic told me this was the best it could be fixed. Not knowing what else to do I took the car home. The next day my wife came home and when she tried to back out of our drive way the car would not even go in reverse. Extremely frustrated, we took the car to ***** **** dealership and paid them $109 run a diagnostics. They said the transmission not reparable and needs to be replaced.

Desired Settlement: The business is unwilling to accept responsibility for the fact that they cannot repair the transmission. Refund of $3,885.95 that we paid to Aamco along with reimbursement of $1,000 rental car fees from August 4th to September 3rd while they had possession of the Cadillac. The car was in the shop for over 2 months total with no resolution. Just want our money back at this point.

Business Response: I had spoken with Mr and Mrs ***** a few weeks ago about the issues they are having and advised them we would need to check the vehicle out to see what is going on and then go from there. I offered to pick the car up at their home to try to keep the inconvenience to a minimum. Mrs ***** had texted me with some questions about the process and what we would do and I replied to her, have not heard anything back. We are more than willing to make sure this is taken care of, but first we have to determine that the issue is the transmissions.


Consumer Response:

After our last call to the corporate office, ***** called and wanted to try to repair the vehicle for a 5th time.  I explained to him that ***** **** Cadillac ran a diagnostics and reported the transmission is burnt and not fixable and needs to be replaced.  I also had my wife call ***** to explain her concerns based on the report from ***** **** Cadillac that trying to repair it again is a waste of time, but after 2 voicemail messages and 10 days, ***** never returned her call.  She finally texted him and he replied 5 days later that he missed seeing her text and wanted to test the car to make sure the problem is indeed the transmission.  We were charged almost $4000 and now they are questioning whether the transmission is the problem?

After 6 weeks of rebuilding the transmission multiple times, us being out $1,000 on rental cars, and ***** **** Cadillac stating the transmission is not repairable and needs to be replaced, we are kindly requesting a refund for services that were not performed.  The car is still not drivable and is parked in the driveway.  At this point, we will even absorb the rental car fees.  A full refund is in order as services were not rendered as promised. 

Please see attached invoice from ***** **** Cadillac confirming the transmission needs to be replaced.








Business Response: I understand the frustration the *****'s feel about this and we want to get this resolved for them. We need to check the vehicle at our location to first off make sure there is not something outside the transmission that is causing the issue, as even if we put a different transmission in it, the same thing could happen to it. Secondly, we cannot go by the dealerships diagnostic as generally dealerships just swap transmissions and do not rebuild and often do not have a technician that is specifically trained on the diagnostic and operation of transmissions. I assure you that we will get the car in and have it checked immediately and then proceed from there. 

Consumer Response:

First of all *****, you have no idea of our frustrations, as you only became involved after all of the back and forth with **** and the corporate office.  Our last complaint to the corporate office is how you became involved in the first place.  Ammco has had the car 4 times and approximately 8 weeks while we racked up $1,000 rental car fees.  No offer by Ammco to refund any of those fees, even though your inability to fix the car properly is the reason we had to incur these fees.  Ammco has taken absolutely no accountability for this whatsoever.

You asking me to bring the car back is something I have already done repeatedly upon ****’s request, before your involvement, to no avail.  It seems apparent to me by your most recent communication that you want the car one more time to diagnose the problem as something other than the transmission to get out of having to refund the money. The dealership technician who inspected our vehicle specializes specifically in transmissions, and a special time slot was set aside to inspect our vehicle.  We found it quite ironic that while we were at the dealership, there was another customer of yours with the same type of complaint who informed us they had already began legal action against you.  It doesn’t seem that Cadillacs are your specialty.

Please look at the notes in your system that confirm the transmission is indeed the problem, and since your company is not able to fix it, we are respectfully requesting a refund for unsatisfactory service. 






10/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to AAMCO. When I got to AAMCO I asked for **** who is the manager. The guy that was
sitting at the front desk, told me **** was out sick. He asked me what was the car doing, I told him that
the car was slow picking up low gears until it got up to 40 mph and ride smooth after that. He told me
they were busy and it will take about 45 minutes to 1 hour before they could get to look at it. I told him
I will go get some lunch while I wait. I came back with my lunch and ate it there while I was waiting.
After about 35 minutes the mechanic came out and took my car around the block and when he got back
the mechanic drove my car behind a stall and started gunning the motor. The other mechanic went to
the back of the car and put his hand behind the tailpipe. The guys were still gunning and working on my
car. Since they were gunning my motor when the guy came back in, I asked him what was going on with
my car, he said wait and went and got a legal size sheet of paper with a lot of color on it. That was alii
could see and he said it seems that your 1, 2, and 3'' gears are slipping and I want know nothing until!
do a diagnostics test on the car. I told him I would call for a ride and left my car with AAMCO for a
diagnostics test. I called back before they closed and asked ***** who answered the phone, did they
get a chance to do the diagnostics test, and he told me it will be tomorrow before they could get it done.
Tuesday, July 28, 2015 -No call from AAMCO, so I called AAMCO, ***** answered the phone; I asked
him what was going on with my car, the Kia. ***** told me that his mechanic was adjusting the valves
and the timing belt chipped. I just asked what would that cost, he told me $949.19. I asked when the
car would be ready and he told me maybe that evening he will give me a call. It did not make since to
me. I asked my co-worker would he call and get an understanding of what he was talking about. My coworker
said ok, dialed the number, ***** answered the phone and my co-worker told him he would like
to get an understanding on what was going on with ******'s car. He told my co-worker the same thing.
I heard nothing from AAMCO. I called and ***** answered the phone. I asked again about my car,
***** told me the mechanic was finishing my car up. No call from AAMCO again, before they closed I
called again and ***** told me it would be in the morning.
Wednesday, July 29, 2015 -No call from AAMCO after lOAM. I called AAMCO again. **** the manager
answered the phone. I asked **** was my car ready and he told me no. I asked why, he said it would
not crank. **** started feeding me information ***** had told him, and when I told him what ***** had
told me he said they never told him anything like that and asked could he call me back. **** did not call
me back. I 1=alled **** and he was sticking to *****'s story. I told **** that my car was running when 1
brought it to AAMCO and you need to get it back running. **** told me that I may have bent the motor
valves and it will cost a lot and I need to come in and sign the paper so he could pull the head and send
it out to be checked. I told him I was not going to sign any papers for something they had done. He said
we will work with me but it is going to be expensive. I told him he need to get my car back running
because his mechanic had done something to my car and put it off until you got back to work. I had my
co-worker to talk to **** and **** was sticking to *****'s story and my co-worker told him that was a
different story than what ***** had told him. My co-worker asked how come he could not work with
me and he told him he would but it will be expensive and I still need to come and sign some papers so
he could start the job. I told **** to get my car back the way it was when I took it to AAMCO and he still
wants papers signed. He said he was sorry they never gave me a call and it was their fault.
Saturday August 1, 2015 - AAMCO has my car locked in a stall. I asked ***** for **** and he was not
there. I told ***** I would like to get a couple of items out of my car. ***** walks me to the car; 1 told
him I would call **** on Monday.
Monday, August 3, 2015- I called **** and asked him what it would cost. **** asked you don't want us
to fix the car. I asked what it would cost to get my car; he said he would have to get the labor on it. He
had a customer coming in and he would call me back. I have not heard from anyone at AAMCO.

Business Response: I spoke to Ms. ****** around 10/13 on this issue. All we are asking for is she pay the $427.15 for the timing solenoid that was placed on her vehicle. She had authorized the timing solenoid and timing belt be done, but after the timing solenoid was done is when we were able to check the engine and find that it was damaged. The engine will need to be replace to get it back to proper working order. Ms. ****** has claimed that she never authorized any of the work. I advised her that I have the phone call (attached) where I spoke with her telling her what we needed to do first and she authorized the work. She responded with she would take us to court. 


10/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my car has sat in lot for 10 days with no service. Employees have lied about extent of damage as well as other things not wrong with car. Would not allow car to leae lot to take elsewhere. Also lied about satuday hours of operation. Argumentative and defiant mechanics. Can not be proven but seems women nd senior citizens are at great risk being taken advantage of financially. Overcharged for uneeded services.

Desired Settlement: I wish that company undergo scrutinized audit of all business oractices to protect all clients regardless of gender and age. Financial audits to prevent and stop fraud. I wish that corporate not ignore these requests.

BBB Response: ***** ******* **** ********* ** **** ***** ** *****


Dear ***** ******* :

This letter is in regards to your complaint submitted on 8/31/2015 9:49:19 AM against AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie and assigned complaint ID *********

The business response is either below or attached. You have 8 calendar days to submit your response back to the BBB. If no response is received, we will assume that your complaint has been resolved.

The text of your dispute may be publicly posted on the BBB website (BBB reserves the right to not post in accordance with BBB policy). Please do not include any personally identifiable information in describing the nature of your complaint. By submitting your complaint, you are representing that it is a truthful account of your experience with the business. BBB may redact your complaint to protect privacy rights and to remove inappropriate language.

If you have any questions, please contact us at ************ between 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. or by email at *********************

Regards,
****** ******

Dispute Resolution, Arbitration/AutoLine
****** ************

 

MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

This is the response we had submitted to Ms. ******* through Yelp, as she left a complaint on there as well for us. This response addresses all of her concerns and I have included pictures of the tires on the vehicle showing the damage and wear to them, a copy of the invoice showing the repairs were $3,005, not the $6,000 she claimed, and pictures of the alarm log showing we were open from 9:48AM-2:02PM on the 29th. Our stated hours of operation are 10-2 on Saturday. From our understand, the vehicle in question is Ms. ********* sons car and her mother, ***** ******* is the one that paid for the repairs.

-First you stated that the vehicle sat in the parking lot for 10 days. The transmissions was removed from the vehicle and then disassembled and inspected for damage by our transmission rebuilder on Monday, August 24th. **** the manager spoke with ***** ****** that day and went over options with her, at which point it was decided to go with the remanufactured transmission. **** told her it would be 2-3 days before we were able to get that transmission shipped in and once it arrived it would be installed. **** followed up with ***** Wednesday to let her know that the transmission would not be in that day, but was showing delivery on Thursday. Transmission did arrive on Thursday afternoon. **** spoke with ***** again Friday to let her know we had 2 technicians out sick and would not be able to install the transmission Friday, but we were hoping to be able to get it done Saturday. Unfortunately, we were not able to get to it Saturday, but did complete it on Monday. The vehicle did not sit for 10 days without being worked on and ***** was kept informed of what the status was on the vehicle

-As for the tires, ***** was advised the tires on the vehicle were the incorrect size and this was causing the rubbing. We verified the size specifications for the tires and compared them with the tires on the vehicle. On your Yelp review you accused us of saying the tires were bad so that we could sell ***** tires. Considering we do NOT sell tires  to retail customers and were simply going to refer ***** out to another vendor (NTB, which **** even called and got pricing as a courtesy) if she wanted them replaced, I do not understand how any lies were being told here or what the benefit to us was to recommend new tires. Pictures of the tires have been included in the email sent you showing the damage and wear to them on the walls of the tires themselves.

-As for the hours of operation, you eloquently stated that we were “F’ing liars” several times when you came into our location on Monday, August 31st. You said that you came by our location at 1:30pm on Saturday August 29th and that the shop was closed. I myself found this hard to believe considering I was working the Saturday in question and distinctly remembered setting the alarm as we were leaving at 2:02pm. I even stated this to you as you were still calling **** a “F’ing liar” and stated I would be happy to show you the alarm log. Then in your review on Yelp, you stated you came by the shop at 2:00pm. After speaking with *****, she said you all came by at 2:40pm. Seeing as I was here at the location until 202pm, I find it hard to believe you came by at 130pm or 200pm. Again, I am more than happy to show you the alarm log and video camera recordings to verify this. I have included pictures taken of the Alarm panel in the email sent to you showing the alarm was disarmed @ 9:48AM on the 29th of August and was set @ 2:02PM on the 29th of August, which covers our stated hours of operation of 10AM-2PM.

-In your letter to the BBB, you made accusations of our mechanics being “Argumentative and defiant” and that we charged you $6,000 for services. The only mechanic I am aware of that you spoke with was Jorge, who simply said “Good morning” to you. As for the charges, the invoice was for $3,005.25, barely more than half of your claim. A copy of the invoice was sent in the email to you as well.

 



Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.

Please enter your reason(s) for rejecting the business response below.

Regards,

***** *******




8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/12/2015, I authorized AAMCO on Camp Bowie to repair the transmission on my 2008 Toyota Tacoma. It was returned to me on 6/15/2015. AAMCO informed me that repair was complete and warranted for 12 months. From the day I accepted I, there was obviously something not right and it became worse. I took the truck back to AAMCO on 6/22/2015 because a transmission related engine malfunction code. It was returned to three days later and AAMCO said everything was good. The very next day, I took my truck back because the transmission was still not repaired correctly. After many excuses and lies, and a payment over $3900, I am still waiting for my truck to be repaired and returned.

Desired Settlement: Complete the authorized repair and return my truck. Also the 12 month warranty should be adjusted to start when my truck is returned

BBB Response:

We were working on fixing the transmission but the consumer stopped payment on the credit card. We are continuing to try and solve the problem. 

Consumer Response: Credit card payment was stopped or one day only and was restored the next day.

12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I told that they had to break down the transmission to find the problem and then they called & said that it would be $5, 300 to rebuild that one "basically un-repairable", $3,500 for their manufactured one. My mom asked would they put another one from elsewhere in and he said yes for the $930 I would owe if they re-assembled it. I requested that they reassemble it and what would be the cost and I was told $633, $558 for labor and $75 for tow. My mom told me that another shop had said that it should be half that cost because it takes longer to put it back together than taking it down. I feel that they felt that since they had it torn down that I wouldn't let $633 go to waste and they would raise the bill. **** kept telling me about financing "I felt that he was being too helpful in that department in order to keep my vehicle in other words "I am a woman and don't know so they have me strapped over a barrel". My mom intervened and had my truck towed to another shop and that shop explained in detail what they were doing exactly & couldn't understand why AAMCO couldn't have done it that way. In 2 days after they repaired it for $2,528.88 I have my truck thanks to my mom.

Desired Settlement: I feel bad for my mom she feels responsible for referring me there so she ate the $633 cost @ AAMCO. I think that if John really wanted to help he would have charged her half of the $558 labor charge being that it more work reassembling the transmission.

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

Complaint ID#:

Company Name:

AAMCO Transmissions

Company Contact:

Company Phone:

************

Company Email:

Person Who Sent the Complaint: ********* *****

Staff Member:

Response:

December 5, 2014 Mrs. ********* ***** CC: ******** ******* **** ******** ***** ***** **** ****** ** ***** ** ********* ******** Dear Mrs. *****: It’s unfortunate for both of us that things didn't work out. We only wanted to provide you with the best possible product and value. For this reason we proposed installing a re-manufactured transmission with a 3 year unlimited miles warranty. The warranty would have been nationwide. It would have covered parts and labor 100%, no questions asked; it would have covered rental car and towing as well. This is a good value (for your vehicle) at a price of $3500.00. At AAMCO, we have strict rebuild standards that we must adhere to in order to insure the highest quality. Our minimum standard is to bring the transmission back to factory specifications. The worn and damaged parts our rebuilder listed simply made it not cost effective to rebuild the transmission that came out of your vehicle. Today’s transmissions have approximately 800 pieces inside them, they are electronically controlled and hydraulic, and a lot can go wrong and often will. For these reasons, we do not short cut and reuse questionable parts or use cheap, inferior parts in order to only give a cheap price; it would be a disservice to you. Because we don’t lower our standards, AAMCO has been in business for over fifty years and has 690 locations across the country. The competitor you took your vehicle to (Eagle Transmission) has one of AAMCO’s tag lines painted on his building it reads: world’s largest transmission specialist ; they are not the largest transmission company by any stretch of the imagination, however; we are. They are misrepresenting the facts to you in this one example; go look for yourself if you don’t believe. They are also illegally using AAMCO’s trademark. We only wished that you would have told us where you were going so that we could have given you a list of other competitors. You alluded to the fact that you are a women and we somehow intentionally deceived you, well, that’s simply not the case. The facts are that half of our customers are women and a person’s gender has no influence on pricing or diagnosis; cost influence pricing and that’s it. You mentioned in your letter a reassembly price of $855.00 labor+75.00 for towing, a sum of $930.00. We will remind you that your mother (acting as your agent) signed a release in consideration of a reduced price of $558.00. We’ve already discounted the amount that was owed and we only charged our cost on the tow. The price you paid at the competitor is less the remove and inspect labor because one third of the work was done by us so naturally you were not charged again for that portion of the work. If you add the amount you paid the other shop; $2528.88 plus $633.00 you paid us, you have a sum of $3161.88; their pricing is within the window of where we were. If you had just told us where you were going and told us what they were charging and given us a chance to meet or beat their price, things would have turned out much better for you. But instead, you show up with a tow truck unannounced and demanded we stop working on other customers’ vehicles and put your parts in box and get your vehicle ready for towing. John had the crew drop the work they were doing and accommodate you all of which took approximately 30 minutes, there was no stalling. You chose to say you were towing it home because you didn’t have the money to fix it and that you were going to park it; the sales person can’t help you if you give them false information. Based on the story you were telling the salesman, he was trying to help by offering you financing and that’s the only reason he was being so helpful in that department, as you put it. We have nothing to gain by offering you financing in fact it cost us 6% of the sale to give that to our customers. In other words it would have cost the company $210.00 to give you 12 months, zero percent interest. The same is true when a customer uses a Visa, MasterCard, American express, etc. Except the fee is less around 1.5% to 4% of the sale. We hope you don’t take the tone of this letter to be rude or harsh; we are simply pointing out the facts as they occurred. You are a valued customer at AAMCO and we wish the best for you and hope that your recent purchase gives you many years of safe, trouble free service. Sincerely, Your friends at AAMCO 

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this shop to have my transmission diagnoised and repaired and when they tore it down they showed us what is wrong and gave an outrageous price for the repairs( $3200). We paid them for the diagnosis and work done of $359 and we decided to get a second opinion at a Ford dealership. We had our vehicle towed with our transmission in pieces the Ford dealership inspected and informed us that several parts were severely damaged and quite a few parts did not belong to an actual tranmission nor were the parts that were given to us belong to our transmission . We should have known that when John (the manager) tried to give us the wrong torch converter and we had to correct him on spot to get the right one. The owner ***** ***** is no better than the shop across the street (Rain water's Transmission). We actually spoke to one of ******* guys at the shop and he gave us his cell phone number and said this happens quite frequently. ***** was very defensive and rude and lacks severely in customer service and his shop is extremely untrustworthy. Mr. ***** was more concerned that I had his cell phone number than he was that his employees and possibly including him are trying to make people pay new prices from "stolen" parts from people who chose not to use his shop after a diagnosis and quote.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the $359 I paid to Aamco returned since my transmission was further damaged and parts were obviously missing.

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

Complaint ID#: ********

Company Name:

AAMCO Transmissions

Company Contact:

***** ***

Company Phone: ************

Company Email:

 

Person Who Sent the Complaint:

******** ******

Staff Member:

****** ****

Response:

A few things to note here: First: The ******* left out a significant portion of their online complaint to the Better Business Bureau. It’s important the bureau has this information to fully understand our response. Please see copy we’ve attached. Second: -I spoke with the husband, ******, yesterday (10/29). I offered EXACTLY what his wife asked for. I said I would immediately refund their money back so long as I was able to speak with the Ford dealership they took the vehicle to so we could verify the parts were missing. After asking several times for the name of the dealership, ****** refused each and every time to give me the name of the Ford Dealership. He would only say he would have *******, the service manager at the Ford dealership, call me. I have still not heard from *******. I called the 5 Ford dealerships in our area, SW Ford in Weatherford, Auto Nation Ford, Auto Nation South Fort Worth Ford, Texas Motor Ford and Five Star Ford. Not one of them has a service manager named *******. -**** did call the husband asking why they left a negative review and were making untrue accusations against us. We take the reputation of our shop quite seriously, as should any business. -The ‘outrageous price’ included all updates to the transmission, heavy duty parts (E250 van used for carpet cleaning) and a 3 year, nationwide, unlimited mileage warranty. -All parts were placed in the box as requested by the customer. No parts were kept on our end -Our rebuilder is the one that caught the wrong TORQUE Converter. (It is not a TORCH converter as the customer says in her complaint). We immediately located the correct one and corrected our mistake. -Our most junior employee has been with the company since 2012. They are held to a high and ethical standard by the owner. No employee gave the customer ******* name and phone number. Nor were they ever told this happens frequently because it simply does not happen with our shop. ******** and ****** should be ashamed of the libel, defamatory statements they have posted online about our employees and our company. Miss ****** and Mr. ****** are engaging in a hate filled, mean spirited, malicious online crusade against our company and its employees without cause. If these lies and falsehoods are not removed immediately, our company will sue in civil court for damages to our good reputation. We will also seek reasonable attorney’s fees, court cost and time spent working on this matter. We will defend our reputation vigorously. Complaint by ******** ****** posted on Google, Yelp and Superpages.com: I went to this shop to have my transmission diagnoised and repaired and when they tore it down they showed us what is wrong and gave an outrageous price for the repairs( $3200). We paid them for the diagnosis and work done of $359 and we decided to get a second opinion at a Ford dealership. We had our vehicle towed with our transmission in pieces the Ford dealership inspected and informed us that several parts were severely damaged and quite a few parts did not belong to an actual tranmission nor were the parts that were given to us belong to our transmission . We should have known that when **** (the manager) tried to give us the wrong torch converter and we had to correct him on spot to get the right one. The owner ***** ***** is no better than the shop across the street (Rain water's Transmission). We actually spoke to one of Jason's guys at the shop and he gave us his cell phone number and said this happens quite frequently. ***** was very defensive and rude and lacks severely in customer service and his shop is extremely untrustworthy. Mr. ***** was more concerned that I had his cell phone number than he was that his employees and possibly including him are trying to make people pay new prices from "stolen" parts from people who chose not to use his shop after a diagnosis and quote. I have also contacted the BBB and will follow up with a complaint made to ***** *********. Should anyone else have a similar issue and want Mr. ******* cell phone number and the corporate contact please let me know. I also understand that they called my husband and said that we just got mad and posted reviews. Please understand we gave this shop TWO opportunities to make the situation correct...all me wanted was the correct parts, not our money. But now I just wish they would do the right thing for once and give us the money back since they obviously aren't going to produce the parts. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have voluntarily removed all reviews online, however I feel that AAMCO has interfered with my constitutional rights of free speech. I have the right to add a review on any site I deem necessary to help protect fellow citizens. AAMCO is attempting to threaten legal action in a format of bullying people for their reputation. How could I possibly obtain the ***** ***** personal cell phone number if an employee had not given it me us. Additionally, we did not offer which dealership we took our E250 to prevent that shop from being further harassed by AAMCO. Also I requested that AAMCO not contact me personally and ***** repeatedly called and harassed me for further information. I was not offered a refund of my money that was spent at AAMCO nor offered an apology for the issues they intentionally caused.  The rebuilder was definitely not the person who noticed the wrong TORQUE (my apologies for auto correct in the reviews) converter in my van, it was actually myself. We did not have any hard feelings with AAMCO until after we left and discovered their untruthful business practices. 

Regards,

****** ******




Business Response:

This is to address Mr. ****** response:

 

-I am a very firm believer in ones Freedom of Speech. I spent 10 years in the US Army Infantry defending that right, including during time of war. Likewise, you do have the right to add a review to any site you deem necessary. This, however, does not allow the commitment of Libel - the written "publication" of a defamatory remark(s) that has the tendency to injure another's reputation or character.

-I called Mr. ****** on 2 occasions. The first call I left a message, the 2nd call is when I spoke with ******* These calls took place after Mr. ****** had called AAMCO Corporate Offices, to which we are expected to respond. These are the only 2 phone calls I made to Mr. ******.

-When Mr. ****** called ***** on his cell phone, Mr. ****** told ***** at that time that he got his phone # by searching his name on Google. Manta.com is one such site that has this information.

-I have attached the phone conversation for Mr. ****** to listen to since he claims I did not offer him a refund. As the call shows, I DID offer a refund with the simple requirement we had: Provide the name of the Ford Dealership simply so we can verify the parts were missing and a receipt showing the missing parts were paid for at the dealership that repaired the transmission. This offer still stands. Once this is done, a full refund for the labor paid will be made and I will provide a personal apology in writing, by phone or in person. When I spoke to ****** on 10/29, he had said he was not worried about the money at this point. If that is still the case, and we are able to verify the missing parts, we will make a donation to his choice of charity in his and his wife's name.

 

Best regards,

***** ***

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The car was taken in because it had badly overheated. I was told that the engine needed to be replaced, because it would be cheaper labor wise then to rebuild it. After they replaced the engine and shortly after it started to have problems. The check engine light came on. I had the errors read. They where for miss fires on cylinder 1 and 3. and failing injector on 1 and 3. Then there was the engine knocking noise, and rubbing sounds from the engine. I had taken the car to a trusted shop, and they told me that engine need to rebuilt. That is when I suspected that AAMCO had not done the work they said they had done nor what I paid for. I toke the car back to AAMCO and explained to them. That I had the car checked out at another shop, and explained what had been done for diagnosing the engine. I requested that they replaced the engine under warranty. This was on Sept 30th 2013. They then proceeded to make one excuse after another as to why it was taking so long to get the engine replaced . After three business weeks they again called and said that they were able to get the engine replaced. They replaced the engine, and then said it had another problem. Which I had never had with any off my cars. And this is the second car of the same make and model year. A 2000 Mercury Cougar 2.5L V6. And I never had an issue with the security system or the A.E.CPU. Well to make a long story short. The replacement engine is having problems again, and I will not take it back to this AMMCO location. I do not believe they did the original work, and the second engine is already having problems. 1wk later OCT 30th 2013.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund from AAMCO, or for AAMCO to pay to have another shop do the repairs to my car. And provide a loaner car until the car is repaired to my satisfaction.

BBB Response: ******* **** **** ******** ***** **** ***** ** *****


Dear ******* **** :

This message is in regard to your dispute submitted on 10/30/2013 5:43:21 PM against AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie.  Your complaint was assigned ID ********

The business has sent the BBB a response regarding this dispute, and we are sending it to you.  The contents of this message are below or attached.  You have 10 calendar days to submit your response back to the BBB.  If you submit your response after 10 calendar days, the link provided will not work and you will need to contact the BBB Team member listed at the bottom of this letter.

The text of your dispute may be publicly posted on the BBB website (BBB reserves the right to not post in accordance with BBB policy). Please do not include any personally identifiable information in describing the nature of your complaint. By submitting your complaint, you are representing that it is a truthful account of your experience with the business. BBB may redact your complaint to protect privacy rights and to rem*** inappropriate language.

Regards,

****** ****

Dispute Resolution/Ad Review
****** ***** ********

MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:




Complaint
ID#:


*******




Company
Name:


aamco
transmission




Company
Contact:


*****




Company
Phone:
************




Company
Email:







Person
Who Sent the Complaint:


******* ****




Staff
Member:







Response:

the
libel statements made by mr. l*** will be resolved. we are in contact with mr.
l*** and hope to have the misunderstanding resolved shortly.

Sent on:
11/7/2013 5:00:29 PM

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute at this time.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I  am reserving my acceptance until the the car has been evaluated at the Arlington AAMCO in Arlington Texas on the 18th November.  I'm  make this rejection now because of the time limit. I will still be asking for refund, as both times the work was done poorly.   The first day I got the car back This time on OCT  21st the brake light came on, and then the check engine light. After having the check engine light read. The issue are those of having not connected hoses correctly or having cause a blockage. My other note is the brake light this maybe due to the sensor may not have been connected. I would like for the Arlington location to see this so I have not done any work on the car.  I want them the see it during the evaluation at Arlington Location. There also is the issue I believe they caused with cars security system and possibly the car ECU.  Again I will still be requesting a refund.

 
[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ****





Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart