Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie

Phone: (817) 735-1591 6828 Camp Bowie Blvd, Fort Worth, TX 76116 http://www.aamcofortworth.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1983 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1983
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Jason Pryor, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Pryor, Partner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Bourdon/Pryor LLC
Industry Tips
automotive engine repair

Additional Locations

  • 6828 Camp Bowie Blvd

    Fort Worth, TX 76116

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I told that they had to break down the transmission to find the problem and then they called & said that it would be $5, 300 to rebuild that one "basically un-repairable", $3,500 for their manufactured one. My mom asked would they put another one from elsewhere in and he said yes for the $930 I would owe if they re-assembled it. I requested that they reassemble it and what would be the cost and I was told $633, $558 for labor and $75 for tow. My mom told me that another shop had said that it should be half that cost because it takes longer to put it back together than taking it down. I feel that they felt that since they had it torn down that I wouldn't let $633 go to waste and they would raise the bill. **** kept telling me about financing "I felt that he was being too helpful in that department in order to keep my vehicle in other words "I am a woman and don't know so they have me strapped over a barrel". My mom intervened and had my truck towed to another shop and that shop explained in detail what they were doing exactly & couldn't understand why AAMCO couldn't have done it that way. In 2 days after they repaired it for $2,528.88 I have my truck thanks to my mom.

Desired Settlement: I feel bad for my mom she feels responsible for referring me there so she ate the $633 cost @ AAMCO. I think that if John really wanted to help he would have charged her half of the $558 labor charge being that it more work reassembling the transmission.

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

Complaint ID#:

Company Name:

AAMCO Transmissions

Company Contact:

Company Phone:

************

Company Email:

Person Who Sent the Complaint: ********* *****

Staff Member:

Response:

December 5, 2014 Mrs. ********* ***** CC: ******** ******* **** ******** ***** ***** **** ****** ** ***** ** ********* ******** Dear Mrs. *****: It’s unfortunate for both of us that things didn't work out. We only wanted to provide you with the best possible product and value. For this reason we proposed installing a re-manufactured transmission with a 3 year unlimited miles warranty. The warranty would have been nationwide. It would have covered parts and labor 100%, no questions asked; it would have covered rental car and towing as well. This is a good value (for your vehicle) at a price of $3500.00. At AAMCO, we have strict rebuild standards that we must adhere to in order to insure the highest quality. Our minimum standard is to bring the transmission back to factory specifications. The worn and damaged parts our rebuilder listed simply made it not cost effective to rebuild the transmission that came out of your vehicle. Today’s transmissions have approximately 800 pieces inside them, they are electronically controlled and hydraulic, and a lot can go wrong and often will. For these reasons, we do not short cut and reuse questionable parts or use cheap, inferior parts in order to only give a cheap price; it would be a disservice to you. Because we don’t lower our standards, AAMCO has been in business for over fifty years and has 690 locations across the country. The competitor you took your vehicle to (Eagle Transmission) has one of AAMCO’s tag lines painted on his building it reads: world’s largest transmission specialist ; they are not the largest transmission company by any stretch of the imagination, however; we are. They are misrepresenting the facts to you in this one example; go look for yourself if you don’t believe. They are also illegally using AAMCO’s trademark. We only wished that you would have told us where you were going so that we could have given you a list of other competitors. You alluded to the fact that you are a women and we somehow intentionally deceived you, well, that’s simply not the case. The facts are that half of our customers are women and a person’s gender has no influence on pricing or diagnosis; cost influence pricing and that’s it. You mentioned in your letter a reassembly price of $855.00 labor+75.00 for towing, a sum of $930.00. We will remind you that your mother (acting as your agent) signed a release in consideration of a reduced price of $558.00. We’ve already discounted the amount that was owed and we only charged our cost on the tow. The price you paid at the competitor is less the remove and inspect labor because one third of the work was done by us so naturally you were not charged again for that portion of the work. If you add the amount you paid the other shop; $2528.88 plus $633.00 you paid us, you have a sum of $3161.88; their pricing is within the window of where we were. If you had just told us where you were going and told us what they were charging and given us a chance to meet or beat their price, things would have turned out much better for you. But instead, you show up with a tow truck unannounced and demanded we stop working on other customers’ vehicles and put your parts in box and get your vehicle ready for towing. John had the crew drop the work they were doing and accommodate you all of which took approximately 30 minutes, there was no stalling. You chose to say you were towing it home because you didn’t have the money to fix it and that you were going to park it; the sales person can’t help you if you give them false information. Based on the story you were telling the salesman, he was trying to help by offering you financing and that’s the only reason he was being so helpful in that department, as you put it. We have nothing to gain by offering you financing in fact it cost us 6% of the sale to give that to our customers. In other words it would have cost the company $210.00 to give you 12 months, zero percent interest. The same is true when a customer uses a Visa, MasterCard, American express, etc. Except the fee is less around 1.5% to 4% of the sale. We hope you don’t take the tone of this letter to be rude or harsh; we are simply pointing out the facts as they occurred. You are a valued customer at AAMCO and we wish the best for you and hope that your recent purchase gives you many years of safe, trouble free service. Sincerely, Your friends at AAMCO 

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this shop to have my transmission diagnoised and repaired and when they tore it down they showed us what is wrong and gave an outrageous price for the repairs( $3200). We paid them for the diagnosis and work done of $359 and we decided to get a second opinion at a Ford dealership. We had our vehicle towed with our transmission in pieces the Ford dealership inspected and informed us that several parts were severely damaged and quite a few parts did not belong to an actual tranmission nor were the parts that were given to us belong to our transmission . We should have known that when John (the manager) tried to give us the wrong torch converter and we had to correct him on spot to get the right one. The owner ***** ***** is no better than the shop across the street (Rain water's Transmission). We actually spoke to one of ******* guys at the shop and he gave us his cell phone number and said this happens quite frequently. ***** was very defensive and rude and lacks severely in customer service and his shop is extremely untrustworthy. Mr. ***** was more concerned that I had his cell phone number than he was that his employees and possibly including him are trying to make people pay new prices from "stolen" parts from people who chose not to use his shop after a diagnosis and quote.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the $359 I paid to Aamco returned since my transmission was further damaged and parts were obviously missing.

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

Complaint ID#: ********

Company Name:

AAMCO Transmissions

Company Contact:

***** ***

Company Phone: ************

Company Email:

 

Person Who Sent the Complaint:

******** ******

Staff Member:

****** ****

Response:

A few things to note here: First: The ******* left out a significant portion of their online complaint to the Better Business Bureau. It’s important the bureau has this information to fully understand our response. Please see copy we’ve attached. Second: -I spoke with the husband, ******, yesterday (10/29). I offered EXACTLY what his wife asked for. I said I would immediately refund their money back so long as I was able to speak with the Ford dealership they took the vehicle to so we could verify the parts were missing. After asking several times for the name of the dealership, ****** refused each and every time to give me the name of the Ford Dealership. He would only say he would have *******, the service manager at the Ford dealership, call me. I have still not heard from *******. I called the 5 Ford dealerships in our area, SW Ford in Weatherford, Auto Nation Ford, Auto Nation South Fort Worth Ford, Texas Motor Ford and Five Star Ford. Not one of them has a service manager named *******. -**** did call the husband asking why they left a negative review and were making untrue accusations against us. We take the reputation of our shop quite seriously, as should any business. -The ‘outrageous price’ included all updates to the transmission, heavy duty parts (E250 van used for carpet cleaning) and a 3 year, nationwide, unlimited mileage warranty. -All parts were placed in the box as requested by the customer. No parts were kept on our end -Our rebuilder is the one that caught the wrong TORQUE Converter. (It is not a TORCH converter as the customer says in her complaint). We immediately located the correct one and corrected our mistake. -Our most junior employee has been with the company since 2012. They are held to a high and ethical standard by the owner. No employee gave the customer ******* name and phone number. Nor were they ever told this happens frequently because it simply does not happen with our shop. ******** and ****** should be ashamed of the libel, defamatory statements they have posted online about our employees and our company. Miss ****** and Mr. ****** are engaging in a hate filled, mean spirited, malicious online crusade against our company and its employees without cause. If these lies and falsehoods are not removed immediately, our company will sue in civil court for damages to our good reputation. We will also seek reasonable attorney’s fees, court cost and time spent working on this matter. We will defend our reputation vigorously. Complaint by ******** ****** posted on Google, Yelp and Superpages.com: I went to this shop to have my transmission diagnoised and repaired and when they tore it down they showed us what is wrong and gave an outrageous price for the repairs( $3200). We paid them for the diagnosis and work done of $359 and we decided to get a second opinion at a Ford dealership. We had our vehicle towed with our transmission in pieces the Ford dealership inspected and informed us that several parts were severely damaged and quite a few parts did not belong to an actual tranmission nor were the parts that were given to us belong to our transmission . We should have known that when **** (the manager) tried to give us the wrong torch converter and we had to correct him on spot to get the right one. The owner ***** ***** is no better than the shop across the street (Rain water's Transmission). We actually spoke to one of Jason's guys at the shop and he gave us his cell phone number and said this happens quite frequently. ***** was very defensive and rude and lacks severely in customer service and his shop is extremely untrustworthy. Mr. ***** was more concerned that I had his cell phone number than he was that his employees and possibly including him are trying to make people pay new prices from "stolen" parts from people who chose not to use his shop after a diagnosis and quote. I have also contacted the BBB and will follow up with a complaint made to ***** *********. Should anyone else have a similar issue and want Mr. ******* cell phone number and the corporate contact please let me know. I also understand that they called my husband and said that we just got mad and posted reviews. Please understand we gave this shop TWO opportunities to make the situation correct...all me wanted was the correct parts, not our money. But now I just wish they would do the right thing for once and give us the money back since they obviously aren't going to produce the parts. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have voluntarily removed all reviews online, however I feel that AAMCO has interfered with my constitutional rights of free speech. I have the right to add a review on any site I deem necessary to help protect fellow citizens. AAMCO is attempting to threaten legal action in a format of bullying people for their reputation. How could I possibly obtain the ***** ***** personal cell phone number if an employee had not given it me us. Additionally, we did not offer which dealership we took our E250 to prevent that shop from being further harassed by AAMCO. Also I requested that AAMCO not contact me personally and ***** repeatedly called and harassed me for further information. I was not offered a refund of my money that was spent at AAMCO nor offered an apology for the issues they intentionally caused.  The rebuilder was definitely not the person who noticed the wrong TORQUE (my apologies for auto correct in the reviews) converter in my van, it was actually myself. We did not have any hard feelings with AAMCO until after we left and discovered their untruthful business practices. 

Regards,

****** ******




Business Response:

This is to address Mr. ****** response:

 

-I am a very firm believer in ones Freedom of Speech. I spent 10 years in the US Army Infantry defending that right, including during time of war. Likewise, you do have the right to add a review to any site you deem necessary. This, however, does not allow the commitment of Libel - the written "publication" of a defamatory remark(s) that has the tendency to injure another's reputation or character.

-I called Mr. ****** on 2 occasions. The first call I left a message, the 2nd call is when I spoke with ******* These calls took place after Mr. ****** had called AAMCO Corporate Offices, to which we are expected to respond. These are the only 2 phone calls I made to Mr. ******.

-When Mr. ****** called ***** on his cell phone, Mr. ****** told ***** at that time that he got his phone # by searching his name on Google. Manta.com is one such site that has this information.

-I have attached the phone conversation for Mr. ****** to listen to since he claims I did not offer him a refund. As the call shows, I DID offer a refund with the simple requirement we had: Provide the name of the Ford Dealership simply so we can verify the parts were missing and a receipt showing the missing parts were paid for at the dealership that repaired the transmission. This offer still stands. Once this is done, a full refund for the labor paid will be made and I will provide a personal apology in writing, by phone or in person. When I spoke to ****** on 10/29, he had said he was not worried about the money at this point. If that is still the case, and we are able to verify the missing parts, we will make a donation to his choice of charity in his and his wife's name.

 

Best regards,

***** ***

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The car was taken in because it had badly overheated. I was told that the engine needed to be replaced, because it would be cheaper labor wise then to rebuild it. After they replaced the engine and shortly after it started to have problems. The check engine light came on. I had the errors read. They where for miss fires on cylinder 1 and 3. and failing injector on 1 and 3. Then there was the engine knocking noise, and rubbing sounds from the engine. I had taken the car to a trusted shop, and they told me that engine need to rebuilt. That is when I suspected that AAMCO had not done the work they said they had done nor what I paid for. I toke the car back to AAMCO and explained to them. That I had the car checked out at another shop, and explained what had been done for diagnosing the engine. I requested that they replaced the engine under warranty. This was on Sept 30th 2013. They then proceeded to make one excuse after another as to why it was taking so long to get the engine replaced . After three business weeks they again called and said that they were able to get the engine replaced. They replaced the engine, and then said it had another problem. Which I had never had with any off my cars. And this is the second car of the same make and model year. A 2000 Mercury Cougar 2.5L V6. And I never had an issue with the security system or the A.E.CPU. Well to make a long story short. The replacement engine is having problems again, and I will not take it back to this AMMCO location. I do not believe they did the original work, and the second engine is already having problems. 1wk later OCT 30th 2013.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund from AAMCO, or for AAMCO to pay to have another shop do the repairs to my car. And provide a loaner car until the car is repaired to my satisfaction.

BBB Response: ******* **** **** ******** ***** **** ***** ** *****


Dear ******* **** :

This message is in regard to your dispute submitted on 10/30/2013 5:43:21 PM against AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie.  Your complaint was assigned ID ********

The business has sent the BBB a response regarding this dispute, and we are sending it to you.  The contents of this message are below or attached.  You have 10 calendar days to submit your response back to the BBB.  If you submit your response after 10 calendar days, the link provided will not work and you will need to contact the BBB Team member listed at the bottom of this letter.

The text of your dispute may be publicly posted on the BBB website (BBB reserves the right to not post in accordance with BBB policy). Please do not include any personally identifiable information in describing the nature of your complaint. By submitting your complaint, you are representing that it is a truthful account of your experience with the business. BBB may redact your complaint to protect privacy rights and to rem*** inappropriate language.

Regards,

****** ****

Dispute Resolution/Ad Review
****** ***** ********

MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:




Complaint
ID#:


*******




Company
Name:


aamco
transmission




Company
Contact:


*****




Company
Phone:
************




Company
Email:







Person
Who Sent the Complaint:


******* ****




Staff
Member:







Response:

the
libel statements made by mr. l*** will be resolved. we are in contact with mr.
l*** and hope to have the misunderstanding resolved shortly.

Sent on:
11/7/2013 5:00:29 PM

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute at this time.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I  am reserving my acceptance until the the car has been evaluated at the Arlington AAMCO in Arlington Texas on the 18th November.  I'm  make this rejection now because of the time limit. I will still be asking for refund, as both times the work was done poorly.   The first day I got the car back This time on OCT  21st the brake light came on, and then the check engine light. After having the check engine light read. The issue are those of having not connected hoses correctly or having cause a blockage. My other note is the brake light this maybe due to the sensor may not have been connected. I would like for the Arlington location to see this so I have not done any work on the car.  I want them the see it during the evaluation at Arlington Location. There also is the issue I believe they caused with cars security system and possibly the car ECU.  Again I will still be requesting a refund.

 
[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ****




7/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My transmission on my Ford Escape recently went out. The vehicle was towed to Aamco, and they looked at the transmission there to give me an estimate for fixing. First of all Monday morning they were supposed to tow the car, it was not towed until almost 2:00pm. Then they took all day tuesday to look at the vehicle, and called me at the end of the day stating that the price was about $1755, however they would have to finish taking the transmission apart for a final price. Wednsday morning when they called again the price had jumped to $3700!! I told them I would have to call my Dad, because he was the one paying for the repairs, due to me losing my job. My Dad found another company in Ft Worth that would do the repairs for less than half of Aamco's estimate. He called Aamco and told them that their estimate was way too high and we would be sending another company out there to pick up the vehicle to do the repairs. When I went to pick up the keys and told them how upset I was with them doubling the price, I explained to them every other mechanic in Ft Worth was estimating half of their price, they began to belittle me stating that I had no idea what was involved in the process. THEN...they made me pay $1200 to get the vehicle away from them, claiming it had taken them 12 hours to remove the transmission (even though they are only open 10 hours a day) and the labor was almost $100 an hour. When I told them I would be going to another company they began talking badly about the other company and telling me I was going to be scammed, and that they were crooks and had me in tears. Against my better judgement I paid the money so the other company could pick up my vehicle to begin the repairs. After the other company began to look at the parts of my transmission they discovered that Aamco had failed to include my torque converter. I called them and they said someone could come pick it up whenever...Im so frustrated with the lack of integrity and honesty with this company. they ripped me off because I am a woman who knows nothing about transmissions.

Desired Settlement: I want the $1200 refunded they charged to dismantle my transmission before having me sign any paperwork. They have no proof it cost $1200 to dismantle the tranny and everyone else I spoke to said it would NEVER take 12 hours to take a transmission out or apart, they were just mad I decided to switch companies,

BBB Response:

  BBB Ft. Worth Texas
1300 Summit Avenue, Suite 101
Fort Worth, TX 76102
Phone: (817)332-7585 | Fax: (817)882-0566
info@fwbbb.org

 

 

07/02/2013
 
 
  ****** ***** **** ** **** ** **** ***** ** *****

 

 


Dear ****** ***** :

This message is in regard to your complaint submitted on 6/27/2013 10:47:47 AM against AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie.  Your complaint was assigned ID ********

The business has sent the BBB a message regarding this complaint, and we are passing it on to you.  The contents of this message are below or attached.  Please respond to this message at your first convenience.

Keep in mind that your response whether in whole or in part may be posted for the public to see.  If your response is posted for the public to see, consumers may use it to form an opinion about the consumer who filed the complaint more than the company on whom the complaint is filed.

Regards,

****** ****

Consumer Specialist/Autoline Coordinator
****** ***** ******** **** ***


 

 

 

MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

Aamco Transmissions 6828 Camp Bowie Blvd. Fort Worth, TX 76116 June 29, 2013 ****** **** Consumer Specialist Better Business Bureau 1300 Summit Avenue, Suite 101 Fort Worth, TX 76102 To* ****** ****, Better Business Bureau Consumer Specialist Cc: ****** ***** Our customers are very important to us and we always strive to give them excellent service and provide a quality product. Aamco Transmissions has been servicing vehicles for over 50 years. We have serviced over 29 million vehicles nationwide. We are one of the largest after-market transmission companies in the United States. We have over 800 stores which provide a national guarantee with all of our repairs. We have stringent repair standards to ensure highest quality product and customer satisfaction. We are not the most expensive in town, but also not the cheapest in town. That said I will address the customer’s concerns one by one. First, as it relates to the towing, all automotive companies are dealing with an uptick in business and because of that tow services are very busy as we all use them. So the tow may not have happened as fast as the customer expected, unfortunately, sometimes that happens. We kept in contact with the customer and apologized for the delays. We towed the vehicle to our shop at a cost to us of $60. The vehicle was initially diagnosed the same day that it was towed in. We told Ms. ***** that the transmission had an internal problem and had to be removed for tear down and inspection to move from an estimate to a quote. She was given the estimate of $1755 for the soft parts overhaul. We explained that this price did not include hard parts or electronics and what the soft parts overhaul entailed and that once we inspected the transmission she would get a call back with a quote of how much the repair would be after we could determine the hard parts damage; since the transmission is a sealed unit and the components cannot be seen until it is opened. She understood and said she would have to speak with her father as he would be paying for the repair. Ms. ***** called us back after talking with her father and told us to go ahead with the overhaul and inspection. They both seemed to understand that there would be additional costs for the hard parts (rotating and non-rotating steel parts inside the transmission) and electronic components that were not included in the soft parts overhaul. On Wednesday, June 26th, the inspection was completed. We formulated the quote based on prices from our vendors and called her dad with the quote as we were instructed to do by Ms. *****, as she had deferred the repair authority to her father. Once her father got the repair quote he replied, “Put that shit in a box, and throw it in the trunk, and I’ll send someone to pick it up.” Our response to that was, “Are you sure about that? Is there anything that we can do for you?” His reply was, “No, put it in a box, I’m sending someone to come get it.” When Ms. ***** came to pick up the keys, she told us that we were highway robbers, and asked us how do we come up with our pricing, and that we were crooks and every shop in town says that all Aamcos are crooks, and that she was going to report us to the BBB. She told us that she found a shop that was going to put a new transmission in her vehicle for $1500 total including all parts, labor, and towing. Ms. ***** was hostile and in a very emotional state. At that point, we tried to explain the process of what goes into properly repairing an expensive electronically controlled transmission back to working order and provide a warranty, that the price of $1500 was an unrealistic figure and we didn’t feel that she was being told the complete story. We were trying to advise her as to her best options, but she chose to believe them over us, so we could not even discuss other options as we would have been happy to do. There are only two things that go into a transmission repair which are parts and labor. Our labor rate is $95.00 per hour which is very competitive in the area. Other automotive shops in the area charge a labor rate from $85 to $225 per hour. That leaves parts, and the only way to save money on parts is to use lesser quality parts or not replace them at all. We empathize with Ms* ****** job loss, but that doesn’t dictate the cost of repair. The torque convertor was inadvertently left out of the box since the customer was in a hurry to get it out of the shop. The part is no use to us and we would not use it in one of our rebuilds because it does not meet our rebuild standards. Someone came to pick it up the following morning. The $1200 charge was for the number of hours that it took to do the initial and internal diagnosis. Ms. ***** was charged the actual time that was needed to diagnose, remove, and inspect the transmission. We will not refund the money because she has paid us to diagnose, remove, and inspect the transmission. That burden falls on the company that will complete the job as they will not need to diagnose, remove, and inspect the transmission. Ms. ***** has already paid for that portion of the job. Since we did a large portion of the work, the other shop should not need to charge her a full labor charge. Sincerely, Management Aamco Transmissions Fort Worth, TX

 

 

 

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The mechanic did not advise of going to take the truck for a test drive and dd not secure that the tailgate was up on my truck. He drove so wrecklessly that he slung a heavy 3 ton floor jack outof the bed of my truck. It had only been used 3 times and cost over 180.00 and they refuse to pay for it. They have a surbeilence camera that will prove it was in the bed of my truck when they test drove it. Anyone wth a brain would shut a tailgate before taking the truck on th road considering they knew I had just unhooked from my trailer so they could work on it

Desired Settlement: Replace my 3 tn floor jack or send me a check for 180.00 the cost of it to replace it.

BBB Response:

  BBB Ft. Worth Texas
1300 Summit Avenue, Suite 101
Fort Worth, TX 76102
Phone: (817)332-7585 | Fax: (817)882-0566
info@fwbbb.org

 

 

**********       ***** ***** **** ** *** **** *** ** *****

 

 


**** ***** ***** :

This message is in regard to your complaint submitted on 6/12/2013 4:14:15 PM against AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie.  Your complaint was assigned ID ********

The business has sent the BBB a message regarding this complaint, and we are passing it on to you.  The contents of this message are below or attached.  Please respond to this message at your first convenience.

Keep in mind that your response whether in whole or in part may be posted for the public to see.  If your response is posted for the public to see, consumers may use it to form an opinion about the consumer who filed the complaint more than the company on whom the complaint is filed.

Regards,

Angela Ford

Consumer Specialist/Autoline Coordinator
Phone: (817) 332-7585 Ext: 209


 

 

 

MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

Business Response to a Complaint

******* ************ ***** *****
Complaint ID#:  
Company Name: aamco transmission
Company Contact:
Company Phone:  
Company Email:
Person Who Sent the Complaint:  
Staff Member:

Response:

the complaint has been resolved. the customer was paid money.

4/28/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 2008 Mazda 6 was taken to Aamaco in October of 2012 for my transmission. They said they could rebuild it. I got my car back about a week later transmission went out again. They kept my car till November 9 to fix. I drove my car to Texas for a job transfer transmission went out again. Took it to a shop in Fort worth Tx on the 12 got my car back a week later. Transmission goes out again. Take it back and did not get ny car till Dec 7. Transmission went out on March 25 and being told after a week trying to get in contact with corporate and the Aamco in Amarillo I'm out of warranty. Corporate has not returned my calls to see what they can do.

Desired Settlement: Get my car fix so that I do not continue to have this issue.

Business Response:

***** ***** **** **** **** ******** * **  *****


********* ********

It's unfortunate that you are having problems with your car. Back in November we honored the warranty as written. At this point, you will have to deal with Aamco corporate to see if they will warranty it again.

Their phone number is: ************** 

***** ***** ****** ************ **** ************