Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Cliff's Auto Service Center

Additional Locations

Phone: (817) 220-5959 Fax: (817) 523-0514 View Additional Phone Numbers 1088 E Highway 199, Springtown, TX 76082 http://www.cliffsauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cliff's Auto Service Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cliff's Auto Service Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cliff's Auto Service Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 19, 2000 Business started: 07/28/1995 in TX Business started locally: 07/28/1995 Business incorporated 07/28/1995 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
920 Colorado, Austin TX 78701
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
Fax Number: (512) 463-9468

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Cliff Bragg, Owner/President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cliff Bragg, Owner/President
Business Category

Tire Dealers Auto Service - Specialty Parts Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Headlight Restoration Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles Auto Hand & Foot Controls Auto Smog Inspection Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto Warranty Service Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims Auto Repair & Service Auto Air Conditioning Auto Detailing Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Inspection Stations Auto Machine Shops Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Restoration Auto Services Farm Equipment - Repair & Parts Motor Homes Towing - Automotive

Alternate Business Names
Cliff's Auto Service Center Inc Cliff's Springtown Auto Service Inc
Industry Tips
automotive engine repair

Additional Locations

  • 1088 E Highway 199

    Springtown, TX 76082

  • 302 Palo Pinto St

    Weatherford, TX 76086

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a long time loyal customer of Cliff's. However, on November 5, 2015, I took my vehicle in for an oil change. While, waiting I was approached about getting another new air filter which I declined. Then I told that my front brakes were "dangerous" and "needed to be replaced right away or I would have an accident". I felt that the salesman was very patronizing and honestly didn't trust him or what he was saying. I declined and stated I would look at it myself when I got home, he again tried to tell me that the rotors were going to be damaged because my brake pads were almost completely worn down. I again declined and he stormed off and yelled to the worker out in the shop that "no, she's not going to do it". After I left, I immediately went to another shop to have my brakes looked at. They had me look at the brake pads and take a picture. Nothing was wrong with any of my brake pads or rotors, in fact they looked almost brand new. They stated that I had at least another 100,000 miles on them. I have the pictures and the invoice that states under recommended services "front disc brake job & resurface rotors (pad thickness almost hitting).

Desired Settlement: I shop small businesses when I can and particularly those in my own town. I am truly appalled at the complete lack of professionalism, honesty and integrity at this business, especially as I have been a loyal customer for years. My desired outcome would be that they stop deceiving customers and to stop trying to scare women into buying services that are not needed by preying on fears.

Business Response:

To BBB

I am responding to the complaint from ******** ********. This is the first time I recieved this complaint. I emailed ******** and ask her if she would like us to handle it with her or if she would rather we go thru the BBB. She emailed me back and said to use the BBB.

I have researched this invoice and with the employee that made the ticket and talked with her at the time of service.
We have discovered a mistake on our part that could be part of the confusion or there was or might have been a mix up with the wrong vehicle that does happen on rare occasions. We have found that on the invoice copy that we gave her we made the mistake of telling her that the front brakes were getting low. In researching the invoice the tech that worked on the vehicle had written down that the rear brakes were getting low and the rotors were ok and that they needed resurfacing. which is included in the brake job. It is noted on the front of her invoice that it was the front brakes and that the rotors needed resurfacing.........  It was just a transposing error and could possibly happen as it is just human error. We are more than happy to recheck it for free with her standing in the shop beside her vehicle to see what things look like and how everything is.. We are very sorry this happened to such a good and long time customer. It is human error and we are willing to do the job for free if the rear brakes are needed and would recommend that she would let us have the chance to win her respect back. 

I have talked with my employees about the language they used that day and none of them remember that part and I understand that they would say that. But to there defense and  I am not saying it did not happen. They are not taught or trained that way and I will fire the person if she thinks that is what should be done. She mentioned that she has been here many times and we know that. And if so she know that we do not talk to customers that way around here. 

I am more that happy to meet with her face to face and come to some kind of agreement and also recheck her vehicle in front of her if she would like. I will do that personally myself. 

I am willing to do whatever she feels is necessary to make her feel comfortable with us and whatever happened in this situation. I know that for whatever reason people are people and some things go wrong or are just simply misunderstood and we do not operate that way. I will explain to her how are system works and how we handle our business and it might help her understand how maybe it could have been a total failure by one of my employees on that day.

Please let us have another chance to serve you and please you in the future.

Thank you very much for your past business.

Consumer Response:   I look forward to speaking with them to see what happened.   I will arrange to take my vehicle back to have them look at it again and would allow them to do the repairs gratis as per their request. 

2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped my vehicle off on Sunday, January 18, 2015 at about 8 p.m. to insure that it would be high on the priority list for a state inspection and front end alignment. Everything was in working order including the headlights, as should be to pass an inspection. My vehicle was left locked in the parking lot overnight. My wife dropped the keys off first thing the following morning, Monday, January 19, 2015, with the request for services. I received a call later that morning stating that the inspection had failed ONLY due to an emissions issue and they asked if I wanted to have them trouble shoot the problem. I declined verbally over the phone and they said they would be performing a front end alignment at this time. Less than 30 minutes later I received another call stating that the vehicle was ready for pick up and that they had adjusted the rear wheel alignment as well, of which, I ONLY requested a FRONT END alignment. I was at work at this time and told them my wife would be paying for the work and picking up the keys later that day. At about 11:30 that morning, my wife paid for the service, which was for a 4 WHEEL alignment (not sure of the cost difference between a 4 wheel and 2 wheel alignment). I did not arrive to pick up the vehicle until about 5 pm that same day. I already had possession of the keys and went to unlock my car but found that the alarm and door locks did not appear to be working. I then tried to start my car and found the battery was dead. I went inside the store and found a young man vacuuming the carpet and advised him that my battery was dead and asked if he could have someone jump start my car. He said he would send someone out. Another younger man came out and used a jump pack to start my car. It was at that time that I found my headlights switch was on. It appeared that my headlights were left on all day long. As well, it also appeared that my car was left unlocked in the parking lot. One of my headlights was burned out.

Desired Settlement: I feel I paid for a service that I did not approve of (4 wheel align vs. front end align). I was never contacted and asked for approval to align the entire car nor was it explained or suggested that I have the entire car aligned. Secondly, leaving my headlights on caused one (1) HID headlight ballast to burn up, which then required me to replace both of the headlights on the car as the lesser of the expensive options to have my car ready for a re-inspection. I am not happy with the way my car is driving at this point. I feel all they did was straighten my steering wheel. I never got a printout of the alignment specs so have no way of verifiying that they did anything. I wish a full refund of the alignment job as well as reimbursement for the cost of my headlights that I had to replace in order to pass the safety portion of the inspection again. I thad previously passed the safety inspection with both of my headlights functioning.

BBB Response:

MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

Yesterday morning **** called the customer and talked to him. We explained that the alignment was performed and that if he was having a problem he could come back buy and we would recheck it as he has never complained to us. We explained to him that on his car that the alignment is done as a 4 wheel alignment because both the front and the rear are adjustable and you align the front end to the back. It does not cost more it is just referred to as a 4 wheel alignment. He said he understood.

 

**** went on to explain to him that we inspected his car and it failed inspection because it failed to pass the exhaust emission part of the inspection. His headlamps were working at that point to pass inspection. He agreed. We explained to him that we did not know about the problem with the headlights because we had never been told. He says that someone jumped off his car that evening. It was one of the part time clean up boys at night. They said the headlights were working as far as they could remember at that time.  If it did happen that we left his lights on by mistake (and that's possible) we apologized. That would not have burned out a headlamp normally. But that's the way he sees it.

 

The customer continued to argue the point and kept saying that we burnt out his headlamps and he wanted a $100. He kept coming back to the $100 time and time again.

 

It is not worth discussing in a spot like this because it is not a very good situation to argue with the customer.

 

I am mailing the customer a check for a $100 and we can agree to disagree and go on down the road.

 

***** ***** ********* ****** ********** **** ******* ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


****** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cliff's Auto Service Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)