Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

PURYEAR CUSTOM POOLS

Phone: (817) 306-5169 Fax: (817) 306-3681 2200 Cantrell Sansom Rd, Fort Worth, TX 76131 http://www.puryearpools.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that PURYEAR CUSTOM POOLS meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PURYEAR CUSTOM POOLS include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on PURYEAR CUSTOM POOLS
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 9
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 03, 1999 Business started: 06/13/1997 in 0 Business started locally: 06/13/1997 Business incorporated 12/01/2003 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
920 Colorado, Austin TX 78701
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
Fax Number: (512) 463-9468
The number is 541.

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
920 Colorado, Austin TX 78701
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
Fax Number: (512) 463-9468
The number is 250651.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason Satterwhite, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Satterwhite, Owner
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Service & Repair Swimming Pools - Private

Alternate Business Names
SATTERWHITE CONSTRUCTION LLC
Industry Tips
**** Swimming Pools Swimming Pools

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

PURYEAR CUSTOM POOLS has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2200 Cantrell Sansom Rd

    Fort Worth, TX 76131

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As soon as the contract was signed and the first one-third payment was made working with Puryear Custom Pools has been nothing but a struggle to get this company to do what is in the contract. They currently have 90% of our money and have threatened to place the project on hold because we expressed dissatisfaction with workmanship product being used. The rock work being used is NOT what we chose, the height of the retaining wall is being circumvented by devious interpretation of the contracted size, which was only verbally stated to be 18 to 24. Puryear Custom Pools have continually hired inferior tradesmen who do inferior work with inferior and incorrect products. We are not even finished and it has been a NIGHTMARE the entire experience. Puryear Custom Pools do not send adequate number of workers to complete tasks that should be typically completed in a few days. Instead they send one or two laborers who walk around, sit around and toss personal trash all over our yard.

Desired Settlement: Utilize the correct stone and make the retaining wall the size we were told it was going to be. Get an experienced crew to complete the work in a reasonable time.

Business Response:

  This is in response to the customer complaint.

  12-29-14 Contract was signed, value of $53,568.23

  1-6-15 Down payment of $1000 was paid.

  1-7-15 Plans sent to Electric co.

  1-22-15 Plans picked up from Electric and sent to City.

  3-12-15 City approved the plans (during this time the city official contacted Puryear and told us if the home owner     

  continued to call them and harass them that they would deny the permit request).

  3-24-15 Excavation was done.

  3-24-15 Excavation payment was paid per contract (first 1/3 payment).

  3-27-15 Gunite was installed.

  3-27-15 Gunite payment was paid per contract (second 1/3 payment).

 

  4-3-15 Tile and coping started.

  4-6-15 the home owner texted pictures of the progress made of installing the stone veneer on the spa to the   

  superintendent. He asked if she liked it and she replied “Yes we really like it. He is doing a really good job”. Once   

  the tile, coping, and spa veneer were installed the home owner requested we do not proceed to the deck phase until   

  a portion of the veneer was corrected to their satisfaction. A small area of the veneer was not as straight as the rest,  

  due to the shape of the natural stone, coping was not level in this area. This was corrected. During this time the   

  home owner never voiced being unhappy with the color or type of stone that was installed.

 

  4-17-15 the home owner gave approval of the stone veneer repair and we proceeded with decking.

  5-1-15 after multiple rain delays the decking was poured.

  5-1-15 Decking payment was paid per contract (third 1/3 payment).

 

  5-2-15 the home owner sent a text to the Superintendent that reads “I’m drumming up you some more

  business!!!!!” Customer seems completely satisfied at this point.

 

  5-5-15 we started building the retaining wall (cinder block portion).

  5-6-15 we started the stone veneer on the wall. At the end of this day home the owner sends a text reading “it looks   

  nice”. At this time she asks if the wall will be taller than what she sees. The superintended informs her that the wall

  will be about 12” tall. The contract reads 32 SF (square feet) Retaining Wall, 32 LF (linear feet) Wall Cap, and 32

  LF (linear feet) Concrete Footer. This means the wall will be approximately 12 inches tall and 32 feet long. The  

  wall needed to be longer to help with proper yard drainage. The superintendant was prepared to build the wall

  approximately 12 inches tall and 56 feet long at no additional cost to the home owner.

  5-8-15 the home owner requests a price to make the wall taller. She had assumed the wall to be 18”-24” tall. She

  also voices her concern of the color of stone being used. The superintendent provides her a price the same day to

  raise the wall to 18”. He offers to have the stone that she does not like be removed from the yard and some

  different stone brought in.

   5-9-15 she insisted we build the wall taller and refuses to pay any more money. The superintendant explains he is

  not authorized to build the wall taller. He let her know he will put the job on hold until this is resolved. He informs

  her that he will have the owners of Puryear Pools contact her. She replies “The job does not need to be put on hold.

  Put the wall to 12 inches and cap leaving all stone work off the wall”. Put a co in for this. Get it to me asap and we

  will sign off”.

   5-11-15 she sent a text saying “finish the way you originally planned”.  So we finished the wall 12 inches tall, with   

  the same stone veneer that is on the spa.

 

  We have since completed a clean up, rough grade, and rerouted sprinklers to her specifications. Remaining is to   

  spread one load of top soil, plaster the pool, punch list, start the pool equipment, Final inspection, and perform pool

  school.. Weather has been a huge set back during this pool build. We are currently on track to finish the project in

  the estimated time that reads on her contract including weather delays. We have built her pool to meet the contract,

  and have even included some extra amenities at no additional charge. The pool is built to code and has passed all

  city inspections required to date. We think she is currently happy.

 

Consumer Response:

Although some of the events he listed are accurate, not all are correct; he also has neglected to tell how many times they had to rework several parts of the project due to poor craftsmanship and wrong communication from Puryear to their contractors.

 

Business Response: The multiple times the rock work was redone was because the customer did not like the coloring of the rock.  Rock is a natural made material and our contract reads that their will be color variations in said rock work.  With that being said, we have, at our cost, redone the work to make the customer happy.  The rock is now a uniform color, which our subs hand picked out the lightest rocks in order to bring the customer happiness with her pool.  She continually compared the coloring of her rock to what we have at the shop, which is multi colored.  Despite the fact that her rock initially looked the same, the customer complained that it was too dark and thus our continuous rework.  The rework was not done because of poor quality but because we tried to make this customer happy.  We are not legally bound to find exact color matches in rock as our contract clearly covers this and were not obligated to do anything after the first time.  We have gone out of our way to make this customer happy.  We have even given them a retaining wall that was found to be needed on the project with out charging the homeowner as we pride ourselves on not nickel and diming our customers.  Most other companies would have charged for this extra work, we did not because we feel that it is our responsibilty to catch such things prior to contract signing.  It is unfortunate that despite our best efforts to to bring satisfaction to the customer and going beyond what is necessary to do so, that this customer is still unhappy.  I'm not sure what more we can possibly do.  We do not create stone that is pulled from the earth.  We give our best examples that customers can choose from for their material selections and inform our customers that there will not be an exact color match to our samples and even line out such information on a contract that is signed bu the customer.  We have not done anything deceitful and have done our absolute best to be more than fair and honest.   

8/8/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Puryear Custom Pools built our pool in September of 2012. By the Spring of 2013 we noticed cracks and tiles falling off the pool. They came out and repaired the cracks and retiled. Then by Fall of 2013 we called them back out because the water level appeared to be evaporating at a rapid rate. They came out and determined the skimmer had cracked which caused water to leak under the pool. They blocked off the skimmer and said they would start the repair in the Spring. They began the repair the beginning of June and we are still no where close to ending this nightmare. They send a crew out about once a week for a couple hours. They do not return the majority of our phone calls and emails either. We have reached out to our Warranty manager, the owners of the company, the original sales person we worked with 2 years ago and nothing. All we want is to have the pool that we paid for fixed and for the management at Puryear to acknowledge the extensive amount of time they have taken to get our pool issues corrected.

Desired Settlement: To have a usable and non leaking pool in our back yard in the next week.

Business Response: We apologize for the delay and as the owner I only wish I had known about these issues prior to this complaint.  Everything is being completed as I respond to this and the customer is happy.

Consumer Response:  
Our problem stemmed from a communication issue.  Once that was addressed, the re-construction has been taken care of in a very timely manner.
We appreciate the owner's involvement in moving the process along.

5/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Puryear Custom Pools has caused me much heartache over the last 8 weeks. They are supposed to be building me a fireplace at my new construction home. The project was supposed to take 2-3 weeks max due city inspections. We are now in week 8 and still nothing. I have to have 100% completion in order to close on my home. They are causing me to move my closing date for the 2nd time due to their lack of horrid management and commitment to customer service. ***** ******* is my sales rep. He is very unprofessional, has lied to me on multiple occasions about completion of the project and now refuses to return my phone calls. The only way to reach him is via text message and he does not even respond to that now.

Desired Settlement: I just want my fireplace when promised allowing me and my family to move into our home.

Business Response: We feel very sorry for the length of time that it took to complete this fireplace.  It has been completed as of 5/23/13.  We are frustrated with the circumstances and setbacks that occurred on your project.  Sadly the salesperson was told that we probably would not be able to accommodate the requested deadline upon turning in your contract, and to call you to inform you of such.  Unfortunately, he decided not to communicate this with you.  I feel that had he communicated the facts to you, the situation with your closing would not have been an issue as you could have handled it upfront.  We are extremely sorry that you were not communicated with properly on your project and have dealt with the salesperson accordingly regarding this incident.  Please accept our deepest apologies on causing you and your wife stress.  We do hope that your fireplace is well crafted and what you were envisioning for your backyard.  My response is to only be humble and say that in this particular situation we were only as strong as our weakest link, and that link should have informed you of the imminent delay of your project completion. 

12/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable