Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pulliam Pool Builders, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (817) 346-4778 Fax: (817) 346-6353 View Additional Phone Numbers 2725 Alta Mesa Blvd, Fort Worth, TX 76133 http://www.pulliam.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pulliam Pool Builders, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pulliam Pool Builders, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

26 Customer Reviews on Pulliam Pool Builders, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 26
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 26

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1916 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1916 Business incorporated 01/01/1916 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Debra S. Smith, President/General Manager/Owner Mr. Michael Clark, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Debra S. Smith, President/General Manager/Owner
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Swimming Pool Service & Repair Swimming Pools - Private

Alternate Business Names
Pulliam Pools
Industry Tips
**** Swimming Pools Swimming Pools

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Pulliam Pool Builders, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2725 Alta Mesa Blvd

    Fort Worth, TX 76133 (817) 579-8080 (817) 346-4778

  • 3292 Fort Worth Hwy

    Hudson Oaks, TX 76087 (817) 599-4778 (817) 613-1910

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a house in Ft Worth that has a Pulliam Pool (a young age pool). This was a great selling point for the house. I received all original paperwork from the owners and was told due to the youth of the pool, that most items are still under warranty. I called to inquire about the warranty and they state that if I am not the original owner then the warranty does not transfer. I have not found anywhere in the paperwork where the warranty does NOT transfer, yet they will not honor any warrnaties I feel if Pulliam is confident about their product/work, then it really shouldn't matter WHO owns it, they should still warrant their construction activities - a Pulliam Pool is STILL a Pulliam Pool (regardless of the owner)!

Desired Settlement: I would like for Pulliam to honor their warranty regardless if the original owner still posses the pool, as the pool is still in the same spot where Pulliam built it! I would like them to uphold integrity and honoring their word.

Business Response:

Pulliam Pools built a pool for the original owners at this address in 2007. Their contract states that the warranty is good "for as long as you own your pool".  They sold the property to another owner. The person who bought it now (the third property owner) is the person filing this complaint. Our contract was with the original owner, not the second or third.   Pool equipment is warranted for three years at most. This pool is 8 years old. It has long been out of warranty.

Pool companies do not typically transfer warranties on the structure because we have no control on how that pool has been maintained, whether the pool was ever emptied, and whether problems were created due to lack of proper chemical balancing.  No pool company would transfer a warranty to a third owner. 

If the sellers promised that the warranties were transferred, the new owners should go back to them and/or their realtor and discuss that with them.  Since they were not the original owner, they had no rights to transfer any warranties anymore than the original owner would have.  Hopefully, they purchased a home warranty at the time that would cover anything like this.  Pulliam cannot be held responsible for a promise made to them by someone else. It would be like us buying a $50,000 car and the owner telling us General Motors would warranty it. It is a used car at that point,  it would not be warrantied and General Motors is not obligated to do anything because the seller made a promise on their behalf.

We understand that when you buy a property that it is frustrating to have to have repairs come up. It is very unfortunate that the sale appears to have been misrepresented. It is even more unfortunate that a consumer can file a complaint on a company from which they never contracted with in the first place.

We would be happy to provide an estimate on what repairs they might need.

Consumer Response:


1 - According to my records, the pool at this address was built in 2008, NOT 2007
2 - I can not fine where it states "as long as you own the pool"  (would you provide the page number? or even better a copy of this signed agreement?)
3 - "we have no control on how the pool has been maintained, whether the pool was ever emptied" - again, regardless of the "owner", Pulliam has no control over these things either way
4 - in regards to the new car comment - again, regardless of WHO owns the Ford.  The Ford is a Ford and Ford stands behind the warranty and it IS transferable






Business Response: The information is located on the back of the contract under warranty section. This contract is with the original owners, not a third owner. We have no further comment.

7/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a pool installed, they never checked the soil to make sure if I had a potential for future problems due to bad soil, I asked if my soil was ok or not and was told it looked ok, they never suggested to me that I should buy the soil treatment because I had soil that needed it, they mentioned to me that they offered the soil treatment as a sales question but never said I needed it. When you build pools you should make sure that you're not just selling a pool to someone and not caring about what might happen a year or two down the road, I let them know this was our last dream in life and all of our savings to do this. less than six months our pool has four areas cracking inside, plus they shot the gunite at freezing temperatures, also the deck is cracking all over the place and they come out and tell me it was water getting under it because of bad drainage but we didn't even have much rain at all and that was not the cause, but they needed to blame it on something so it wouldn't be that they should have been better at checking the soil. if they would have told me that I had to have the treatment then I would have bought it. Also the guy that drilled the inserts into my deck for the cover was using a dull drill bit and cracked and broke concrete all over the place and they had to put washers to try and cover those areas so now they are not flush with deck plus they are not straight and one of them has come completely out, terrible job. They was suppose to place the dirt that came out of the hole as they dug pool and put it around the edge because my property is in such a way it needed the dirt to fill in around the finished pool but they only put some and not near enough and hauled the rest away, so then I had to fight them to get only a load of dirt then I had to buy two loads and still need more, so just terrible customer service all around, I really wanted a company that I could count on and when something wasn't right then they would fix it no matter the cost.

Desired Settlement: I would like the deck replaced and looking like it should, it is brand new and cracked all over the place, and also the pool cracks fixed to look like they aren't patched, they did a terrible patch job again this is brand new and looks bad. I understand that soil can be an issue but if they would have told me I had to have the treatment because of bad soil then I would have either bought it or it would have been on me but I feel like they just sold me a pool and didn't care about what happens next, im terribly disappointed. The pool looks beautiful, it is just those items that make it all a very bad situation.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the customer file at length and the history of the pool.  I would love to address this complaint in detail, but my Warranty Manager, ***** *******, has been on vacation and just returned today. There are things I need to know from him regarding this job, but I am leaving town later today and will not be back until June 17.  I am asking that Pulliam Pools be allowed an additional week so that Chris can contact the customer and meet with him next week at his home to assess the situation.  It would be foolhardy for me to respond with a simple answer without knowing the status.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response from Pulliam pool president and I understand and I have no problem waiting the time she requested to allow her person to meet with me and my wife.

Business Response:

Because the homeowner stated several different things, and I have been asked to provide any pertinent information, I am addressing things in order of the history of the project. Mr. ******* signed the contract to build a pool from Pulliam Pools on September 10, 2013 (Exhibit A), including “and warrants that all oral representations are contained therein”. Warranties were outlined on the back of the contract (Exhibit B).

Mr. ******* signed the Contract Checklist (Exhibit C), and initialed the following two sections: 

 (1) TEXAS SOIL CAN SHIFT…and swell, and shrink.  And when soil moves, so does your pool.  Additionally, your deck can crack and/or lift or settle.  No pool builder or contractor can do anything about this. Most damage to decks, retaining walls, etc., is a result of soil movement. Soil movement is not covered under our warranty (or any other pool builder’s warranty). This is different from the lifetime structural warranty on the Gunite shell of your pool (Exhibit D);

 (2) From past experience, we have determined that chemical soil injection under the pool and under decks will substantially lessen the effects of clay soil swelling. Do you want this service as an additional cost? Please Circle Yes or No.  Mr. ******* circled “No”.

Pulliam Pools does care about our customers and what might happen down the road because we warranty our p***uct. It does not make sense to build something that will cause future repairs. Per Mr. *******’s pool designer *** ****, he said that soil expansion and suggested soil injection were discussed with the customer. Mr. ******* declined it. We can only make suggestions and/or recommendations to customers. We CANNOT make them spend more money on a project if they decline recommendations.  Consequently, we cannot incur additional warranty costs because a customer declined a recommendation.

Mr. Newton later added decking to the original decking installed by Pulliam Pools and he or his contractor doweled into the deck poured by Pulliam Pools.  His new deck has since cracked due to ground movement as well. We do not know if that attached decking caused the original decking to crack. Our deck was installed to ensure water drainage slope around the deck. By adding additional decking, this drainage may have been impacted. Per Exhibit B, it states, “In the event that a party other than PULLIAM alters work performed by PULLIAM, all warranties will be voided. BUYER assumes all responsibility for any damage to work performed by PULLIAM, or damage to work not performed by PULLIAM as a result of alterations to grading or drainage as originally established by PULLIAM. Walks, pool decking, retaining walls, and pool finish color are excluded from this warranty.”

When Mr. ******* signed the Structural Warranty Page (Exhibit D), he added a note: “Gunite was shot at freezing temperatures-dated 2/4/14.”  His implications that this caused cracking is not justified.

 I asked the General Manager of ******** ****** to provide a letter stating their information on the job on the date of Gunite. I have attached that letter (Exhibit E).  Temperatures were not a factor in any pool cracks.  Ground movement caused them.

Pulliam Pools wants our customers to be happy, so we are willing to replace the deck installed by Pulliam one time on the condition that Mr. ******* purchases soil injection for the project. Since he stated in his complaint that, “…if they (Pulliam) would have told me that I needed to have the treatment then I would have bought it.” This is our entire offer regarding the deck.

Pulliam will also have our plaster company try to smooth any patching that was done.

We hope this will show our customer that Pulliam truly does care about what happens after the sale.

Consumer Response:

I think the offer to replace our deck is just awesome and also the right thing to do and is a huge step toward making me and my wife very happy, and I want to thank you...However depending on the price we are not sure the cost of the soil Injection would be affordable to us , we would definitely want it done right though so we would not have these problems again in the future so Ma'am would you please supply us with an estimate of what soil Injection would cost us to properly do this? 





Business Response: The cost would probably be between $2,300 and $2,600 depending on the areas they recommend doing. 

Business Response:

The level of the pool is based on the supporting soils underneath. There is no guarantee the pool will remain in the same position before or after soil injections. Soil injections help mitigate the issues from expansive soil, but there is no updated warranty or guarantee of anything because it is impossible to know the exact cause of the ground movement.  Cracks can be repaired to be smoother, but they will still be visible. Pool plaster changes and mottles over time. The repair material is fresh and new and white and it is impossible to match the coloring.

If you choose to move forward, we will replace the deck after soil injection has been done, as well as the brass pool cover studs.  Drilling in any concrete can cause chips and nicks. There is no guarantee that it will not have some flaking and chipping again.

Thank you

Consumer Response: I would like to accept the proposal of Pulliam replacing the existing concrete deck around our pool and patching the plaster cracks throughout the pool. As I said I want to make sure that the soil treatment is done while the pool is at its level, to be its best chance to stay as level as possible. At the same time, I would also like to meet with you maam on the history of our pool to allow you to understand what has taken place throughout the project and to inform you on items I believe that you were misinformed about, This will help you understand our concerns about issues that have come up along the way and brought us to this spot we are now at the BBB. Me and my wife are honest people and we appreciate companies that are honest and caring for their customers and that again is why we chose Pulliam pools in the first place, we wanted to get a local honest and caring company, you can ask *** our salesman these were the things I discussed with him, that we were looking for a company that would be in our corner throughout the project and even after the pool was in the ground they would be our pool company we could count on and he assured me that your company was the one for us, so we chose Pulliam instead of 2 other local companies we were looking at. *** Better Business Bureau:


5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We built a pool in our backyard in September 2010....so it is not yet 5 years old and our salt system, Aquapure, has been replaced once and has rarely worked and is now not working again. The warranty book states under warranty ro 3 years or 5 years prorated so our current cell is a little over 3 years old. It has NEVER worked properly. We have had a saltwater pool before and never had these problems. Pulliam sent out a technician last Friday, April 24 and their employee told us he did not like the auqabrite because it was crap and that they rarely sold this system anymore. We would like Pulliam to stand behind their product . Their [phone ad says they will be there for you long after the sale. We would like our salt system replace and working properly and installed as a Haywood as they are suggesting and we will pay $600 and they can pay the rest. Kind of split the cost or they cand do the RIGHT thing and put in a salt system that works in our 19,000 gallon pool. We would, at this point, not recommend Pulliam to anyone we know.

Desired Settlement: A working salt system at 1/2 or no cost. They need to stand behind their equipment and their warranty.

BBB Response: I asked my Service General Manager, ***** *******, to prepare a report on this job. His report follows:
"The ******** pool was plastered on August 26, 2010. They have a Jandy El salt system; we replaced the
cerl under warranty on April19, 2011 (only once in 5 years). We have received no other calls from them
until July 11, 2014 regarding chlorine not staying in pool (it was probably low C'fA). They cancelled that
ticket before we were to go out.
We have not received any other calls from the ********'s regarding issues with their salt system.
We have statements from ***** ******* and **** *****, our service technicians who met with Mr.
******** on this service request. These will be provided to you as evidence as to how the conversation
progressed with Mr. ******** if you request those. For now, I will elaborate on my conversation with
both of them.
It appears that Mr. ******** did irreparable damage to his salt cell by soaking it in acid for 10 hours as
recommended by the pool person he uses to maintain his pool.
Mr. ******** has also been doing some online research regarding Hayward and Jandy salt systems and
presented the questions to ***** on which system he thought was the better choice. At no time did
***** call the El"crap". Another employee was present at the time and verified this. His comments
were that is was a bottom of the line unit, I have since addressed the proper method of describing our
products that we put on pools with everyone in the service department. Since 2010, there have been
many improvements in salt systems. The El system was one of those available systems at that time. A
good comparison would be cell phones. Certain cell phones in 2010 are now obsolete and there have
been many technological advances since then. It is the same with pool equipment.
***** and **** both believe a new cell will correct the ********'s current problem: it would cost
$388.04. I concur.
Listed below are the cleaning instructions from the El manual.
The power pack has an automatic cell cleaning feature (polarity reversing) that removes scale deposits
from the cell (see Section 5.6).
Scale will form in excessively hard water or from pool water that is out of balance and in a scaling
condition. Following the installation of the Jandy® Aqua Pure® EiTM chlorine generating device, check
the cell once a month for signs of scale. If the cell has a tendency to scale, it is recommended that every
month the cell be removed and inspected for scale formation and/or debris. Some filters allow debris to
pass through to the cell which could lodge between the plates in the cell. A small amount of scale
formation is normal. If by looking through the cell it is observed that there is excessive scale formation
between the plates or debris is present, the cell must be cleaned as follows:
1. Ensure that all power to the power pack and the controller is disconnected/turned off at the circuit

Consumer Response: The reasons I do not accept this response are the following:

  • It took ***** over 30 minutes tor e- install the cell and keep the cell from leaking after he removed it to check it
  • The cell has continuosly leaked and never worked properly....it had to be replaced 6 moths after the pool was complete 4/2011
  • We were not aware of the fact that we were being sold a HIGH MAINTENACE system we trusted Pulliam to put in proper equipment
  • We have owned salt water pools before and never had theses problems of no flow and salt cell not working
  • Not only did they say the salt system was poor design, they said if they had known this was the type that came with the pool, they would have given the ticket to another tech.
  • The techs said they did not think they even had these cells as they no longer sold this system.   In fact they stated that we should put no more money into our currrent system because it was not worth it, They agreed with my research and recommened the Hayward Sysytem and suggested buying it on-line for $800 and they would charge $200 to install and it would take less than an hour to install.
  • We were never told by Pulliam that the system they were installing needed to be removed and inspected monthly when even the techs could not remove and replace the system without excessive leaking and excessive silicone and excessive force, they clearly did not like the system and made many remarks to that effect.
  • We do not agree witht the comparison to a cellphone, this is a  $37k+ pool that has NEVER had a proper working salt system not a $300 phone
  • The techs said that they did not believe that they  even carried parts for this system anymore.
  • I have NEVER soaked the cell for 10 hours,  the cell was soaked for 30 minutes and remained crusted over so I rinsed it and soaked it another 30 minutes to an hour unitl the crust was gone
  • We find their comment that the salt system was a 'bottom of the line unit' in Paragraph 5 of their response in line with its performance and the statements made by their techs.
  • We remain firm in our desire to have a Hatward Salt System, at their recommendation, and we will split the cost of replacement and installation which should be no more than $600 each.
  • http://www.poolsupplyunlimited.com/HaywardAQR9AquaRiteSaltSystemPowerCenterandSaltCell/143829p1?gclid=CjwKEAjwvbGqBRCs3eH4o5C74CYSJAB3TODs2nfPzOBniVStnvKut4VAbAPwrk6fh_lfQmge87dM-hoCLBLw_wc
**** *** ***** ********

Business Response:

It is always difficult when there is a he said, she said situation. While we trust our employee's to be truthful, we have no desire to combat a customer who we value.

Pulliam Pools agrees to install the Hayward Aquarite system if Mr. ******** agrees to pay $600 towards that system per his original complaint. However, we will order it from our local distributor and install it .  Items purchased from the Internet are not always reliable or warrantable.  We would also respectfully request this complaint to be removed.

10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a home in Fort Worth, having been relocated by my employer from another state. The property that I purchased had a brand new Pulliam Pool (13 months old, now losing 2 inches of water per day through a large crack that bisects its breadth. Pulliam refuses to address the damage, citing that their warranty does not cover any transfer of ownership. While I understand their warranty restrictions, I believe that a +$42,000 pool should last more than one swimming season before catastrophic failure. In summary, I believe that Pulliam did not adequately prepare/compact soil, resulting in immediate cracking.

Desired Settlement: I would like Pulliam to repair the cracked concrete and pool lining, and take actions to prevent subsequent damage in the form of soil compaction or other generally accepted means.

Business Response:

Pulliam Pools does care about our customers, we care about our reputation and we stand behind our work and our people; however, in this case, here are the facts; (i) we built the pool based on the original customer's design; (ii) we made recommendations the original owner did not adopt  (recommending soil injection for stability which the customer declined via initial and signature on a document); (iii) we have no way of knowing what preventative and maintenance measures were not followed and/or were completely neglected for a period of time; and (iv) no warranties are transferrable.  We would be happy to be of service, but our normal charges will apply.

We suggest Mr. ****** look into what their homeowner’s inspector should have seen when they inspected the house and pool before they purchased it.


 


Consumer Response:

We are disappointed with Pulliam’s position that they hold no culpability in the catastrophic failure of our pool in less than 12 calendar months.  Initially, we never asked for Pulliam to accept total responsibility.  We originally requested help in the form of 1.) Root cause analysis (which I believe is a result of improper use of gunite & 2.) cost sharing for remediation. 

 

We did not escalate this issue until we were completely rebuffed by Pulliam, which also leads me to believe that they may be aware of the issues that contributed to this failure. 

 

It is most unfortunate that Pulliam has expressed the position included below.  We ask nothing more than for Pulliam to stand by the products and services they provide.  

 








Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

26 Customer Reviews on Pulliam Pool Builders, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart