BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Pulliam Pool Builders, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pulliam Pool Builders, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (817) 346-4778 Fax: (817) 346-6353 View Additional Phone Numbers 2725 Alta Mesa Blvd, Fort Worth, TX 76133 http://www.pulliam.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pulliam Pool Builders, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pulliam Pool Builders, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pulliam Pool Builders, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1916 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1916 Business incorporated: 01/01/1916 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Debra S. Smith, President/General Manager/Owner Mr. Michael Clark, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Debra S. Smith, President/General Manager/Owner
Business Category

SWIMMING POOL CONST & DESIGN SWIMMING POOL CONST, SVC & SUPPLIES SWIMMING POOL CONTRACTORS, DEALERS, DESIGN SWIMMING POOL DESIGN & CONSULTING SWIMMING POOL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES SWIMMING POOL REMODEL & REPAIR SWIMMING POOL RENOVATION SWIMMING POOL RESURFACING & RETILING SWIMMING POOL SVC & REPAIR SWIMMING POOL/SPA SVC & REPAIR SWIMMING POOLS-PRIVATE SWIMMING POOL & SPA CUSTOM BUILDER SWIMMING POOL & SPA RENOVATIONS POOL COMMERCIAL, EQUIP, SUPPLIES, REPAIR, SVC POOL SALES, PARTS, CHEMICALS, FILTERS, LINERS

Alternate Business Names
Pulliam Pools
Industry Tips
**** Swimming Pools Swimming Pools

Additional Locations

  • 2725 Alta Mesa Blvd

    Fort Worth, TX 76133 (817) 579-8080 (817) 346-4778

  • 3292 Fort Worth Hwy

    Hudson Oaks, TX 76087 (817) 599-4778 (817) 613-1910

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    403 W Grand Pkwy S Ste B

    Katy, TX 77494 (281) 693-7665

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (817) 579-8080(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company built my pool about 16 years ago. After it was completed they did a 'Pool School' and showed us how to take care of it. At that time we were taught to backwash the pool by rolling a hose out to the street (they provided the hose) Fast forward, in the past couple of months code compliance has been at my house telling me I couldn't do that. In those conversations I was told I should have a separation tank. I called and was informed that, to comply with code they had given me one, but the reason I was not shown how to use it by them was because it was a hassle. They then offered to come teach me hos to use it at a cost of $120. I went online and looked for instructions. It was then that I discovered that the location of the separation tank is such that it is impossible to open (butted up against the side of the house. I called the company and they said they would charge me to move it. they finally agreed to come look at it for no charge but now are saying it is where it is due to shifting of the soil. There is so little room where it is that there was no room to shift! They also, every time I call go off on I don't want to use because it is a hassle. The fact that they keep telling me I don't want to use it, just strengthens the idea that they didn't bother to install it correctly in that they never expected it to be used

Desired Settlement: I would like them to move the separation tank so that it is useable (and still in a location that doesn't block access to remaining yard) at their cost

Business Response:

I have attached a pdf file of the ********* contract, pool design and a photo of the equipment pad.  Per the contract dated March 14, 1997, we were to install a separation tank, which we did.  On the back of the contract, it states that "PULLIAM warrants the integral components, equipment, parts and accessories, plumbing, tile, decking...for ONE (1) Year."  Further down, under Liability, it states that "PULLIAM is not responsible for...ground movement", which was obvious to our Service Manager, ***** *******. He felt this ground movement contributed to the separation tank being so close to the house.

If you will reference the design, it is clear that Pulliam had minimal room to install equipment due to the minimal space in the yard.

Pulliam Pools prides itself on taking care of all warranty issues and are saddened that a customer would feel we are responsible for something that is 15 years over the warranty period.  No home builder would be responsible for a water heater, slab movement, roof, or any other equipment on the home, yet as a pool builder, our customer is expecting us to warranty something that is over 15 year over warranty.

Given all that, Pulliam also recognizes that the *********'s have referred other customers to us through the years because they had faith in our company. Because of that, Pulliam is willing to provide our services at a 50% discount as a gesture of goodwill. 

 

Consumer Response:

 

I would love to have someone from the BBB come out and look at the equipment (I have tried to get pics and was not successful - will keep trying).  I have shown the situation to multiple people and they have all commented that movement is not the issue - it is improper installation.  There were, at the time of installation, options on where to put the separation tank, they chose to put it where they did as they believe that it is an unneccesary piece of equipment and wanted it as out of the way as possible.


While the contract does state the items listed, they were also required to do the work per city code and Arlington city code requires a useable separation tank.  The fact that this is just now being brought to my attention should not cost me.  The reason I recommended people in the past is due to the fact that I was not aware of this issue - today I would not refer anybody

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

5/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 2009 I called Pulliam Pools to request warranty service on my ***** Pool Heater due to the fact that the equipment was not heating properly and keeping the pool at a constant temperature. Pulliam sent a technician and I was told by the tech that the problem was a thermister, which he replaced. I did not have the opportunity to try the heater since we were going into the fall/winter season. In the summer of 2010 I attempted to use the jacuzzi and I started the heater and it was still doing the same issue with the heater not heating to desired level and keeping the heat at a certain level. I called Pulliam Pools to advise them that the warranty service did not resolve the problem with the heater. The service dept at Pulliam told me that the heater was now out of warranty and a service call would cost me. I told her that the warranty service did not resolve the problem and that this was my first opportunity to try out the equipment. If the problem was fixed correctly at time of warranty service, I would not have this problem.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Pulliam to fully repair the problem with the heater at no charge. If the problem was initially fixed correctly at the time of warranty service, I would not have had this issue.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

We have reviewed the customer file. My Service General Manager, ***** *******, will be meeting with *** ******* next week to check his equipment and discuss the issue.  I followed up with *** ******* today to ensure that he was in agreement with that meeting and he was.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable