Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mid City Custom Pools, Inc. & Outdoor Living

Phone: (817) 605-7665 Fax: (817) 656-9479 7700 Precinct Line Rd, Hurst, TX 76054 http://www.midcitypools.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mid City Custom Pools, Inc. & Outdoor Living meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mid City Custom Pools, Inc. & Outdoor Living include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mid City Custom Pools, Inc. & Outdoor Living
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1979 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 12/02/1994 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of State Health Services
1100 W 49th St, Austin TX 78756
https://www.dshs.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 776-7111

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Don Pierce, Vice President Ms. Tina Pierce, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Pierce, Vice President
Principal: Ms. Tina Pierce, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Fireplace Equipment - Wholesale & Manufacturers Fireplace Equipment - Retail Landscape Lighting Patio & Deck Builders Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Furniture - Outdoor Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Swimming Pool Service & Repair Swimming Pools - Private Water Companies - Bottled, Bulk Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Mid-City Pools
Industry Tips
**** Swimming Pools Swimming Pools Water filters

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mid City Custom Pools, Inc. & Outdoor Living has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7700 Precinct Line Rd

    Hurst, TX 76054 (817) 605-7665

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unethical Business Practices *** Shake-Down Scam *** ...Poor unresponsive management. I asked Mid-City Pools to quote an in-ground swimming pool early January 2016. Due to a list of excuses from them, it took until early February to actually get a quote (illness, vacation, other delays...) The quote they submitted in February had a number of obvious errors. Within 24 hours I replied, questioning the errors. It was if they cut-and-paste an old quote and sent it without thought. It took until March to get an updated quote, free of errors, that matched the project. Once this was done, within 48 hours, we met again in person to review the technical details. We made a few changes to get the pool cost within our budget. It took until later in March to get a copy of the updated quote from them. Upon receiving the updated quote, I immediately tried to set up a meeting. Sales guy said he was too busy to meet and sign the paperwork over a three day period, so the meeting was pushed out until mid-April when his schedule was open. I met him in mid-April. He printed out the FINAL QUOTE and the CONTRACT and had me sign 10+ pages and I provided a deposit check. The deal was signed, in their offices, with their management sitting out in the lobby as this went on. Early May he calls and says they had a price increase (???) and his management will not honor the contract we had signed, agreed upon, and a deposit check was already provided. I said we had an Agreement in writing. Deposit was made. Now you ask for more due to a general price increase. ...1.5 weeks after we signed. I spoke to Ross, the General Manager. He seems to be the person who reneged on the contract. I gave him 5 days to fix the problem. He is an unethical business manager. They are messed up as an organization. I wasted months being patient with them and in return they do a "SHAKE DOWN SCAM". Total crap. Be warned. These are bad business people. TOTALLY UNETHICHAL

Desired Settlement: 1) REFUND the deposit check. 2) Start to BEHAVE ETHICALLY...Stand behind your quotations and contracts. 3) Develop good business / quotation practices...and don't blame your customers for your own problems... You know the phrase ..."do unto others..." Well, how would you like to be treated like this? Shameful behavior. You wasted 5 months of my time. If you have management and communication problems and delays at your company, keep them internal. Don't let them spill over and affect your customers! I complied with your crazy, long, drawn out quotation process and was patient with your very slow sales guy...then signed the contract HE prepared and provided you with a deposit check...only to have you issue an after-the-fact price increase! Total BS. For Ross to support / condone this behavior reflects poorly on the management of this company. Poor judgement. You tried a "shake down" on the wrong person! If you cashed my check it is also a legal matter

BBB Response:

To Our Prospective Clients,

 

During the process of selecting a builder you, as a homeowner, have the right to choose and build with any contractor you like.  Here at Mid City Custom Pools we feel the opposite is also true; we as a builder have the right to select our homeowners.  That is exactly what we decided to do with the homeowner that wrote this complaint.  We felt that it was in both parties best interest for my company to withdraw our bid.  Therefore, we have not actually done any work on this homeowners property.  If you, as a prospective client, would like any further information on this complaint then please feel free to contact our office at ###-###-####.  Thank you for considering Mid City Custom Pools, Inc. for your outdoor living needs.

 

 

Consumer Response:

 

 
1.  I require my deposit returned.

2.  Aside from trying to put their best face forward, the company's explanation is NOT what occurred.  They requested a price increase 1.5 weeks after signing a contract and accepting the deposit check.  I refused and demanded my deposit back.  That is the true situation.  No...they did not make any decision to not build my pool...they explained to me they had an end of March 2016 price increase and they wanted me to pay more since this increase was not included in my quote and contract.  I naturally refused...a deal is a deal once it is signed and deposit is paid.  Their approach is unethical.  Even now, they cannot admit error on their part.  Saying sorry and admitting an error was made is sometimes the best way to move on!

 

It seems their best case to deal with this publically is to try to characterize the situation in a manner that did not actually occur. 







Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Mid City Custom Pools, Inc. & Outdoor Living
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart