BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

CLAFFEY POOLS

Phone: (817) 488-5795 Fax: (817) 421-2670 View Additional Phone Numbers 1625 Brumlow Ave, Southlake, TX 76092 http://www.claffeypools.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CLAFFEY POOLS meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CLAFFEY POOLS include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on CLAFFEY POOLS
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 01, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1987 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated: 03/15/1993 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: CHARLIE CLAFFEY, PRESIDENT
Business Category

SWIMMING POOL CONST & DESIGN SWIMMING POOL CONST, SVC & SUPPLIES SWIMMING POOL REMODEL & REPAIR SWIMMING POOL RESURFACING & RETILING

Alternate Business Names
CLAFFEY ENTERPRISES INC
Industry Tips
**** Swimming Pools Swimming Pools

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (817) 329-2724(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The pool was started at the end of March the completion was 6 to 8 weeks weather permitting. As of July the pool is not finished dirt and mud are still on my house and drive way. The pool punch list has not been started or completed and no one has reached out to let me know when the problems will be fixed. My fence has plaster over spray and paint damage due to Claffey putting tools on the pool on the fence. I have requested on two seperate occasions a final break down of my bill and have not received the requested information. The orginal statements and promises about pool up keep were not followed thru from Claffey. We were asked to scrub the walls of the pool twice a week for 14 to 21 days. My wife and I were told we would not touch the pool for 1 1/2 to 2 weeks. My gate was taken a part by one of the contractors and not put back together properly. No one contacted me with regards to emails sent or any punch list issues. These issues and many more need to be made record for others that would like to have Claffey build a pool for them as well.

Desired Settlement: A complete break down of expenses from billing. I will only pay for items that I agreed in writing or verbal for the pool fill ($350). The punch list corrected to the best of Claffey's ability My house and drive way cleaned. The sealing between the deck and wall to ensure no staining will happen again. The stains removed between the wall and deck. The steps leveled where there is a 2" difference from side to side. Just finish the pool, the punch list is really not a true reflection of what is not up to standard with out the pool being completed!

BBB Response:

  BBB Ft. Worth Texas
101 Summit Ave., Ste. 707
Fort Worth, TX 76102-5978
Phone: (817)332-7585 | Fax: (817)882-0566
info@fwbbb.org

 

07/11/2012
 
 
  ******* ***** **** ******** *** ******* ** *****

 


Dear ******* ***** :

This message is in regard to your complaint submitted on 7/3/2012 12:10:33 PM against CLAFFEY POOLS.  Your complaint was assigned I* ********

The business has sent the BBB a message regarding this complaint, and we are passing it on to you.  The contents of this message are below or attached.  Please respond to this message at your first convenience.

Keep in mind that your response whether in whole or in part may be posted for the public to see.  If your response is posted for the public to see, consumers may use it to form an opinion about the consumer who filed the complaint more than the company on whom the complaint is filed.

Regards,

****** **** ******** ******************* *********** ****** ***** ******** **** ***


This letter is in response to the complaint filed by ******* ***** on July
3, 2012. Construction started March 23, 2012 and moved forward to
plaster on May 2~ 2012, rather quickly even with weather and ground
water challenges along the way. There were several miscommunications,
that and poor follow through with our subcontractors and the customer
after plaster.
On July 3, 2012 a detailed "flnish" schedule was coordinated with the
customer as well as the accurate account summery. Claffey. Pools met
with the customer on July 9, 2012 to review the finish items and
commence work as follows. Attached is a copy of the account summary
presented to the customer reflecting the amount owed upon completion of
the flnish items.
July 9, 2012 -Remove 2 sections of deck-Complete
July 10, 2012- Pressure test plumbing-Complete
July 10, 2012- Re pour sections of deck
July 12, 2012- Masonry repairs, fence touch up
July 13, 2012- Pressure wash, clean stonework, vacuum pool, cleart filter,
balance chemicals
July 16, 2012- Claffey Pools walk thru with customer
July 19, 2012- Replace mastic

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/23/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1