BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AMERICAN PACIFIC POOL SERVICES INC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AMERICAN PACIFIC POOL SERVICES INC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Complaint Information

Complaints concern pool service issues. Specifically, some consumers allege company did not service pool when scheduled, or service was not performed properly, in addition to billing errors experienced by consumers. Company responds with notes made at the time of service and say they have GPS tracking devices on each truck that records vehicles whereabouts.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AMERICAN PACIFIC POOL SERVICES INC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 11, 1999 Business started: 12/18/1995 Business started locally: 12/18/1995 Business incorporated: 12/18/1995 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
JUDY LONTEEN, OFFICE MANAGER
Contact Information
Principal: JUDY LONTEEN, OFFICE MANAGER
Business Category

SWIMMING POOL CONST & DESIGN SWIMMING POOL RENOVATION SWIMMING POOL RESURFACING & RETILING SWIMMING POOL SVC & SUPPLIES

Alternate Business Names
AMERICAN PACIFIC POOL SERVICE, INC.
Additional Information

In August 2010, the company met with the BBB via conference call to discuss their pattern and volume of their complaints. The company agreed to submit a plan of action designed to address the pattern and volume of their complaints.

Industry Tips
**** Swimming Pools Swimming Pools

Additional Locations

  • 2317 Michigan Ct

    Arlington, TX 76016 (817) 275-5188

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The 1st time the technician from American Pacific was out to clean my pool he broke the lid to the skimmer and never called/email me to report it. Additionally, it appears that he was treating the pool with chemicals, but scrubbing the sides to remove the algae - as he claims he did. Furthermore, even after talking with 2 people in the home office to try get the issues resolved and hear about options for getting the pool cleaner, I never heard back from any representative. Even after a week.

Desired Settlement: I want the lid to my skimmer replaced. I've already cancelled any further service.

BBB Response:


 

I talked to the pool cleaner (******) with regards to the issue of the plaster and the cleaning of the pool, as well as my senior technician.  The problem is that the paint from the pool is flaking off in big chunks, especially when he brushes the pool.  With the small single cartridge that you have on the pool it is going to clog up quickly causing the pool to lose circulation and eventually the pool will turn green in this heat.  We cannot vacuum the pool as most of these flakes cannot go up through the hose, and the ones that did would only ruin the cartridge filter.  About all he can do would be to treat with chemicals, brush and net the pool, and clean the filter.  You would also still need to clean the filter out regularly during the week, probably one or two times a week.

 

****** also mentioned with regards to the skimmer lid, that it had a hairline crack running across the side of it the first time he serviced the pool.  The following week, on the 4th, he stated that a chunk was missing off the right side of the skimmer lid and the missing piece was nowhere around.  He assumed that it had broken when you or someone in your family had lifted the lid and that you were already aware of it since the piece was completely missing.  This is why he never communicated anything to you or the office.

 

If you would like me to get an estimate to get the lid replaced, please let me know and I will get some measurements and get you a price on a new skimmer lid.

 

Should you have any questions or suggestions, please feel free to contact me.

 


Consumer Response:

As far as the service goes, if the difficulties of cleaning the pool had been adequately communicated to me we could have looked at alternatives to cleaning the pool which could have resulted in more business for the company, and a remedy to my problem.  Instead, they chose not to communicate and, furthermore, to not even return my requests for more information.

In regards to the desired resolution, the company is offering to quote me a price for a new lid, not offering to replace my lid.  I was aware of the hairline fracture.  However, upon walking outside on a day that the pool technician had been there the skimmer lid was broken and 2 smaller pieces were laying upside down next to the lid.  I picked the pieces up and placed them on them window ledge for the pool tech to see.  Apparently he did not.  Yet even when I called the company to complain they, once again, did not get back to me.  Now it appears they are claiming innocence of the matter.  In fairness, I did not watch the tech break the lid.  To come to my conclusion I brought together the clues:  1) The gate to the pool is locked and only our pool technician knows where the key is, 2) The incident occurred on a day that the pool tech would be coming to clean the pool, 3) It was apparent from the water that the pool technician had, indeed, been there, and 4) The lid was intact when I was in the backyard the day prior.

So, to recap, the response by the company is not satisfactory to resolve the complaint based on their attempt to have me pay for a piece they broke, even after their service and communication did not live up to a professional level of service as well.

Business Response:

I received the follow-up from Mr. ***** in response to my answer on his complaint.  In addition to the email, I did have a telephone conversation with Mr. ***** explaining that on service we would not be able to vacuum his pool and that all our service would include was the chemicals, brushing, netting, emptying the baskets and cleaning the cartridge filter and explained that would be the best we could do.  He asked for any suggestions, of which I had none.  Short of re-plastering which would be costly due to it needing to be sandblasted prior to plastering, there would be no way to ever vacuum or leaf master the pool because of the potential for damage to either the customers or our equipment.

 

Mr. ***** states in his reply that he was aware of the hairline crack in his skimmer lid, which confirms what ****** told me that his equipment was cracked prior to us starting service on the pool.   I still believe that it was already broken as he stated when he arrived for the following service, as I would not have intended on reimbursing the client had ****** broken the already cracked lid on service.  These are incidentals, which no matter who (homeowner or pool cleaner) had broken the part, they are plastic and subject to both hot and cold extremes and will break over time.  We have to open the skimmer lid in order to empty the basket out underneath in order to insure that the pool functions properly.  With a crack already in the lid, it was only a matter of time with him emptying it, that it would break and he would have left a yellow door-tag for the customer letting him know what had happened.  It is not my intention to sound callus, however, plastic pieces break, and if we were responsible for replacing all of the customers equipment when it wears out and breaks, we would not be able to offer pool service starting at $30 per week, or we would not be able to touch customer equipment and perform full pool service.  If the lid had been broken due to our cleaner being reckless or careless with the customers equipment, I could see replacing the lid, but the lid was already cracked and worn, and I do not believe that we are responsible for the replacement.

 

The cost of a skimmer lids ranges anywhere between $15 - $80 depending on the size and the manufacturer of the skimmer.  If Mr. ***** would like to let me know the manufacturer and the size I will look into a price on getting him a new lid.

 

Consumer Response:

When a company representative enters a client's property it is the client's responsibility to ensure the safety of the representative.  In return, it is the representative's responsibility to take care not to damage the property and/or be responsible for any damage to it.  The damage in question is, indeed, referring to the lid.  The company and I both agree that it had a hairline fracture prior to hiring the company.  However, it wasn't a crevice or fault that would was at risk for breaking outside of normal, ordinary use.  As proof, the lid had the fracture when I purchased the home in October 2009.  From then to June of 2012 that same lid had weathered the elements and been handled weekly by another pool service technician, with no signs of deterioration.  Then, a new technician comes to service the pool (******) and the lid is broke, with no yellow tag left on any doors; as you indicated there should have been.  So how is that supposed to look, simply from a cause-effect perspective?  It is unquestionably apparent that the piece of equipment was broken by an American Pacific technician and he did not notify me about it. 

To make matters worse, American Pacific did nothing to help clean the pool.  However, after hiring a new pool company, we were instructed on how to care for the pool in between their visits (at $30 a week I might add) and have been out scrubbing, brushing, and vacuuming the pool for the past 2 weeks in a concerted effort.  Not once has the plaster "come off in sheets" as the American Pacific pool technician indicated, and the manager conveyed to me.  Within the first week we had a swim-able pool...something we never had after 4 consecutive weeks with American Pacific.  We were astonished and outraged to learn how much of a difference brushing the steps and sides could make, and how easy it was - realizing that there was no way the technician spent the time to even remotely brush anywhere around the pool.  This also proves the claim that the technician was unable to vacuum the pool due to the "chunks" that would come off are also incorrect, as we have had zero problems with our pool vacuum and have not seen any "chunks".

In a perfect world, I would receive the money back that I paid to have American Pacific "attempt to clean" the pool, in addition to the replacement of the lid their technician broke.  However, I'll settle for just the replacement of the lid and part ways for good.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/7/2011 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1