Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Offers Pool and Spa Renovations


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Pacific Pool Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Pacific Pool Services Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on American Pacific Pool Services Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 11, 1999 Business started: 12/18/1995 in TX Business started locally: 12/18/1995 Business incorporated 12/18/1995 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Judy Lonteen, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Judy Lonteen, Office Manager
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Service Area
Arlington, Azle, Bedford, Colleyville, Crowley, Euless, Everman, Forest Hill, Fort Worth, Grapevine, Haltom City, Haslet, Hurst, Keller, Kennedale, Lake Worth, Mansfield, North Richland Hills, Pantego, Rendon, Richland Hills, Saginaw, Southlake, Watauga, White Settlement
Alternate Business Names
American Pacific Pool Services, Inc.
Industry Tips
**** Swimming Pools Swimming Pools

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Pacific Pool Services Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2317 Michigan Ct

    Arlington, TX 76016 (817) 275-5188 (972) 988-6833

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted American pacific pool to replace the plaster in my pool. They were also supposed to tile the jacuzzi and change the wall between the jacuzzi and the pool to tile. Also replace all jets and drain covers. I agreed to purchase the higher quality Quartz stone finish instead of regular plaster. After the completion of the resurfacing there were multiple problems. There are lines that look like cracks throughout the pool. I had the manufacturer of the Quartz material they used come to look at the problem. They did a test and said it wasn't cured properly and there was a slim chance that it could be fixed without tearing it out and replacing it properly. Also the wall between the jacuzzi and the pool didn't work because it was built so low that there was no separation between the pool and jacuzzi water. They agreed and put it back as it was originally. There is a problem with the jets not working properly for the jacuzzi. The airator only works with the jets removed. They didn't install the lights properly and they fall out. The tile was raised around the pool to the point that the skimmers don't work properly. And the new tile is very scratched from the cleaning process. I learned later that all the crews that are involved in the work process are sub.contractors. They all blame each other for the problems but agree that it was done wrong.

Desired Settlement: I don't believe American pacific pool is capable or willing to correct problem. I am in the process of getting estimates to repair the problems that they created. I believe they are responsible for the cost to repair these issues.

10/13/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this company to clean our pools weekly, which is suppose to include chemicals. Our service date was supposed to occur every Monday. I noticed that after his so-called cleaning my pool still was not clean and have called the company several times to complain. The person came again on Monday, 8/25 and I watch him vacuum the pool but he did not put chemicals in the pool. I took a sample to ******** and discovered that my pool has absolutely NO chemicals in it. That's what I was paying them for. I faxed the report to American Pacific on 8/26. I had to keep calling them to have someone talk to me and have been told by **** that they will have him come to my home, add some chemicals and CANCEL my contract and she hung up. The issue is I recently plastered my pool and now have permanent stains because he did not add Chlorine or Cyanuric Acid during his visits.

Desired Settlement: I expected to be completely refunded for services they did not perform. I will take the other issue (i.e. ruined plaster) in court if necessary.

Business Response: ******** ******* ***** ********* ** **** **** ***** ***
******** **** ********* ***** **** **** ******** **** ********** ** ***** ***** ********
****************** * *******************
Response to Complaint from ***** ****
To Whom It May Concern:
On August 1st, Ms. **** signed up and paid for weekly pool service with us, and Monday, August 4th, was
her first service date. The normal cleaner ******* was out sick, and our technician ********) cleaned the
pool. The following Monday (August 11th) ***** went out to clean the pool, but was unable to because
the water level was low and all the return jets were plugged off. We left a voicemail for the customer to
call. On August 14th' Ms. **** contacted us to let us know that she was in fact having some work done
on the pool, but that it would be ok to service by the following Monday (8/18/14).
He went back out on the 181
h, but the system was down for repair, and she stated that she was having
Home Warranty out to fix the pump. She called back later that week and stated that Home Warranty
had told her the pump issue was from "not properly lubbing the lid oring", which she stated our guy
must have not done. When I tried to explain that this could not possibly have happened from 1 service
and that Home Warranty was most likely not wanting to pay for the repair; she became very combative
and insistant that this had to be our fault and it was now costing her money to repair her pump. She did
not want to hear that something along these lines could only happen over a period of months (not one
visit- as we have only been able to service the pool once since taking it on).
In addition, during this time period, we had bad weather (Wind & Rain) on August sth, lOth, 161
h, 17th &
18th-the beginning of which left dirt in the bottom of her newly plastered pool which we were not able
to clean up due to the leak and equipment problems for 2 weeks. It was also later discovered that the
company which had done her plaster had apparently never put start-up chemicals in the pool upon
completion, as when she had her water tested at *******s, it came up with 0 cyanuric (stabilizer) in it, and
the pool was not holding the chlorine we were putting in.
When ***** went out on August 251
h to clean the pool, after 2 weeks of no service, he was not
surprised that it had no chlorine in it, and did not test the cyanuric (the only reason a pool would have
no cyanuric is if it were drained completely and no start-up chemicals were added- or if the pool had
been continually filling with water, which the customer stated that she was not doing). He added shock
and chlorine tablets and adjusted the Ph, vacuumed, brushed and netted the pool and recorded all the
readings. His GPS tracking showed him there from 9:36am through 10:13am.
Ms. **** called while I was out on August 26th for a personal matter, but had talked to the girls in the
office and let them know that she had her water tested and he was not adding any chemicals. They
informed her that upon my return I would contact her. Both ******* and ******* stated that she had
been very asngry and combative when she called. Apparently she called the office 6 times before I
returned on August 27th, and called again at 9:06am on the 2th. She had faxed a copy of her chemical
readings from *******s and preceeded to accuse us of not putting any chemicals in her pool. She said that
it read no cyanuric and no chlorine (which it will not read any chlorine if there is no cyanuric in the
water). I tried to explain to Ms. **** why it was reading no chlorine and that possibly she may have a
leaking problem if there was no cyanuric at all in the pool, but she continued to talk over me. She
started going over the lack of service that she believed she had received (of which in a 4 week period we
had only 2 opportunities to actually service the pool) and that our cleaner had come out on an
additional Friday. I explained that we had GPS on all our vehicles and I had already pulled the records
for her address and no one from our company had been to her property on a Friday. She then told me
he must have come out in his personal vehicle (which he does not have one ... he either walks to work or
gets a ride), and argued with me that it had to have been him. I informed her that if she wanted I could
send someone out there to add cyanuric to her pool, but that we would then be terminating the service
as this was obviously not a good fit for either party. She then got even more upset with me and said:
"you are going to cancel my contract?" I said that we do not have any contracts, but that we would not
service the pool anymore and she would have to find someone else. She then told me not to bother
sending anyone else out.
We then voided the invoice for services and refunded her money back to her credit card on 8/27/14 (see
attached).
If you should have any additional questions, please feel free to contact me.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The company has misrepresented the facts stated in the response. 1) When I hired their services it was made clear to them that I needed them to put all chemicals in the pool; 2) when they started services on my pool it was sparkling and there was no dirt in the pool, as it was just newly plastered; 3) he person DID IN FACT, come to my premises, regardless of what her JPS tracking states, my husband saw him and he admitted this to me, when I tried to explain this to her she called me a liar; 3) there is NO WAY to separate cyanuric acid from a pool and at no time since they started service had the pool been completely drained. I called several times and several days in a row because I and my concerns were being totally ignored. The office manager would not return my calls and she was in the office supposedly handling other customers and would not come to the phone.  I wish I had read the other complaints on them prior, which is exactly what I went through, to establishing service with and we would not be in this situation today.

I have subsequently found a better service who is providing excellent service. I wish no further contact with them, which includes receiving their mailers.

The only thing correct about their statement is they have in fact refunded our money.

Regards,

***** ****



Business Response: ******** *** * * ********* ******* ***** ********* *** **** **** ***** ***
******** **** ********* ****** **** **** ******** **** ********** ** ***** ***** ********
****************** * *******************
2nd Response to Complaint from ***** ****
To Whom It May Concern:
Mrs. **** is now stating that she represented to the American Pacific that she needed start-up
chemicals put into her pool. This statement is completely false. In addition, start-up chemicals are
completely different for each type of plaster, so not following the plaster companies recommendations
for start-up procedures will void her plaster warranty. We were NEVER given any instructions from the
customer on her new plaster start-up or told they were not done, as we would have immdiately
requested the documentation on what was needed and given her a price for chemical start-up.
I have not "misrepresented" any facts stated in my initial response, and have the documentation to back
up all of my statements.
Ms. **** also states that there is NO WAY to separate cyanuric acid from pool water, but that is NOT
true. Water loss WILL dilute cyanuric levels in the pool. This is why I informed her that if she had done
start-up chemicals- then the pool had to have lost a significant amount of water in order for it to have
no cyanuric in it. Since on her 2nd service with us and the water level was low and all the return jets
were plugged off (which is done for a leak detection - which she verified was being done)- this is what
we thought had caused the cyanuric loss.
However, Ms. **** has now contradicted herself. She has now stated that she "made clear to us that
she needed all the start-up chemicals put in the pool" Which she did not.
Additionally, what I told Ms. **** with regards to the fact that there was no cyanuric in her pool was the
following: "the only reason a pool would have no cyanuric is if it were drained completely, had no startup
chemicals added-or if the pool had been continually filling with water."
Again, Ms. **** was refunded her money back to her credit card on 8/27/14, and she was removed from
our mailing list after we cancelled her service.
If you should have any additional questions, please feel free to contact me.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on American Pacific Pool Services Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart