BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of A & B POOL SERVICE?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

A & B POOL SERVICE

Phone: (817) 498-3690 4316 Garland Dr, Fort Worth, TX 76117

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A & B POOL SERVICE meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A & B POOL SERVICE include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A & B POOL SERVICE
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 01, 1982 Business started: 03/01/1979 Business started locally: 03/01/1979 Business incorporated: 03/06/1980 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: CELA SANDERS, Office Administrator
Business Category

SWIMMING POOL CONST & DESIGN SWIMMING POOL CONST, SVC & SUPPLIES SWIMMING POOL REMODEL & REPAIR SWIMMING POOL RESURFACING & RETILING

Alternate Business Names
A & B GUNITE
Industry Tips
**** Swimming Pools Swimming Pools

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A&B Pool Service contracted to remodel my pool. The remodel was completed on May 17, 2013, at which time they required full and final payment on the remodel. Final payment was made by check on 5/24 (when manager came by to pick it up). The full cost of the remodel was $7,853.00. During the course of the cleanup around the pool area, they power washed the existing, stained aggregate pool decking, resulting in various areas where the stain was removed down to the bare aggregate. The color of the pool deck is now very uneven, and subject to further deterioration since it appears that the sealer was removed in addition to the stain. They assured me that they would take care of the problem and "make it right". They came out and attempted to patch the areas where the stain was removed, which provided an unacceptable result. They decided to call in a decking contractor to assess the situation to see what could be done. It has now been almost 5 weeks since the remodel was completed, and nothing has been done. The options they have provided to me are: 1) they can attempt to "even out" the stain discoloration through further power washing and attempt to re-stain with no guarantee that the results would be acceptable or even an improvement to the existing condition; or 2) the deck can be resurfaced by the decking contractor at a cost to me of $1,675. So, in essence, they want me to pay for the repair of damage they caused to my property. When I spoke to the manager (***** on Monday, I indicated that while I know the damage was unintentional, they caused it and I didn't think I should have to pay the cost of the repair. I offered to pay half of the cost, in an attempt to bring this to resolution, but have been told today by **** that they are unwilling to share the cost. The only thing they will do, is the first option shown above, with no guarantee of successful results. Just as further information for you, when I was required to pay the balance due on the pool remodel, I asked what assurance I had that they would handle the repair of the damage appropriately, and was told that they would -- after all, they've been in business for twenty-something years . . . . I contacted them by phone re: the issue described above on the following dates: 5/17/13, 5/23/13, 5/28/13, 6/3/13, 6/11/13, 6/13/13, 6/19/13.

Desired Settlement: I want the deck repaired in the immediate future in a manner that will have a guarantee of success (option # 2 in the complaint above). I believe that they should pay the full cost of such repair, since they were unwilling to accept what I thought was a generous offer on my part to pay half (for the damage they caused) -- which they rejected.

Business Response:

July 10, 2013

****** **** *** **** ****** ***** **** ****** ****** ***** *** **** ****** ** *****
 
RE:  Consumer Complaint ******** 
Dear ****** ***** 
I have received the consumer complaint to BBB from ****** ******** regarding her concerns about a deck issue.  The deck issue has been resolved per ****** ********** demand for resurface to existing pool deck by an independent professional deck contractor.
 
In response to the issues cited in the complaint, we wish to present our side of the story as follows:
 
We power wash pool cement decks after we complete any pool remodel process as standard clean up activity.  In more than 30 years of continuous operation, we have never experienced stain removal from power washing since pool deck stains used are typically deep penetrating and non-water soluble.
 
In this instance apparently Ms. ******** had purchased her home with a pool deck that had been colored with a non-penetrating water soluble stain, perhaps by the previous owner.  She was unaware of the issue and we had no way of knowing either as we contracted to do the remodel with Ms. ********.
 
Upon completing the pool interior work, we power washed the deck to remove construction residue.  When the power wash was completed the deck was still wet and no one noticed change in coloration until we were called back by Ms. ******** with her complaint.
 
We dispatched a manager to the job site to inspect the deck appearance.  Since we are not a deck company, we were not willing to attempt to correct the areas of concern with some other type of stain, so we solicited a professional deck company to inspect the deck to determine what the stain was made of as well as how to best correct the appearance in a professional manner.
 
The deck company was delayed in responding to our request due to an extremely busy time of the pool season.  Nevertheless, I was under the impression my assistant Cela had been in frequent phone communication with Ms. ******** explaining our schedule including unfortunate delays.
 
When we finally received the report from the deck company, I asked ****** the job supervisor, to call Ms. ******** to explain the options available as we learned from the deck company.  I fully understood Ms. ******** was acting in a prudent and honest manner and believed we were as well.  I have now learned from her complaint that our company intentions were improperly expressed by ***** and he has since been reprimanded accordingly.  I apologize to Ms. ******** for this miscommunication.
 
I fully understand Ms. ********'s concerns at the time of her complaint.  The extended delays in completing the deck resurface were due to seasonal workloads were inexcusable but unavoidable due to supply and demand issues in the marketplace.
 
The original deck discoloration issue was called to our attention May 17th, 2013 and a complete deck resurface was completed July 3, 2013 by an independent deck contractor.
 
If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
 
Sincerely,
 
*********** ** ******
General Manager/Managing Partner

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is completely satisfactory to me.   

Regards,

 

****** ********