BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Hawk Electronics

Find a Location

Phone: (817) 831-4295 View Additional Phone Numbers 5718 Airport Fwy, Ft Worth, TX 76117 http://www.hawkelectronics.com ! There is an alert on Hawk Electronics !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business is not currently rated. Business has filed for bankruptcy and is seeking to dissolve the business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 14

Additional Complaint Information

Complaints brought to the business attention by the BBB in it's three-year reporting period concern billing disputes and service issues.

Specifically, complaints allege difficulty in getting billing errors corrected, problems when trying to transfer service to another carrier, and trouble cancelling service.  Recent complaints allege consumers have received bills for being undercharged on sales taxes for services received several years ago.

The company has generally been responsive to complaints, resolving issues directly or providing sufficient documentation to support the company's position and efforts.  However, recent complaint been closed unanswered.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Hawk Electronics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 01, 1989 Business started: 04/01/1974 Business started locally: 04/01/1974
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 North Lamar Blvd., Austin TX 78752
http://www.txdps.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 424-2000
Private_Security_Bureau@txdps.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Dawn Fain, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Dawn Fain, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

ALARM, SECURITY & SAFETY SYSTEMS AUTO SERVICE - SOUND SYSTEMS SALES/SERVICE. CELLULAR TELEPHONE EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES CONSUMER ELECTRONICS RETAIL PAGING SERVICES SATELLITE ANTENNA SALES & SVC SATELLITE TV SALES & INSTALLATION

Alternate Business Names
Hawk Corporate Sales Hawk Internet Services PCI Marketing Progressive Concepts Inc Progressive Concepts, Inc. Teletouch
Additional Information

Customers should first contact the Customer Care department at the company before filing a complaint with the BBB.

In May 2010, the company was invited to meet with the BBB to discuss the pattern and volume of their complaints. The company responded in August 2010, with a plan of action designed to address the pattern and volume of their complaints which included a welcome e-mail to consumers containing several items including an area describing the contract terms and conditions in detail, and efforts to remind employees of the importance the terms and conditions of each contractual sale.

Industry Tips
Alarm systems

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    333 SW Wilshire Blvd

    Burleson, TX 76028 (817) 377-4295 (817) 426-5735

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3705 Highway 180 E

    Mineral Wells, TX 76067 (940) 325-7711

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    422 W Henderson St Ste A-b

    Cleburne, TX 76033 (817) 645-4295

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5718 Airport Fwy

    Ft Worth, TX 76117 (817) 831-4295 (817) 654-6100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5759 SW Green Oaks Blvd

    Arlington, TX 76017 (817) 572-4295

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6411 Camp Bowie Blvd Ste A

    Fort Worth, TX 76116 (817) 735-4295

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 6540

    Tyler, TX 75711

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (817) 654-6100(Phone)
  • (817) 654-6600(Phone)
  • (817) 831-6789(Phone)
  • (817) 838-4101(Phone)
  • (903) 595-1925(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

On 10/03/2013, the business filed for bankruptcy under Chapter 7 (Liquidation) of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case# 1:13-bk-12621. Those with monetary claims against the business are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to Delaware Bankruptcy Court 824 N Market St Wilmington DE 19801 for resubmission to that court. The case number should be entered on the form.


Complaint Detail(s)

11/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear BBB,I got a bill from teletouch/Hawk Electronics which was addressed to me and my wife. The letter stated that we owed Hawk AKA Teletouch $15.79 because Hawk miscalculated the sales tax for cellular service we had with Hawk from Jan. 2006 through Oct. 2009. We don't feel we should sent a bill for service from '06 -'09 in the year 2013 because of a mistake on their part with the State of Texas if that indeed the truth. We discontinued our contract for cellular service with Hawk because of their mistakes and the service we received can only be described as poor at best. We were constantly having problems with Hawk and so we finally were able to conclude our service with Hawk and we now another service provider which is much better.My and I have no intention of paying this 'BILL' from them for something which is not our fault for horrible service from over 5 years ago.I am not even sure this is a real business or address. Please investigate this matter and take appropriate action. Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement: Resending of said bill for State sales tax for their sorry excuses for service from years ago and no further bills or communicate of any kind regarding billing or debts from Hawk/Teletouch by letter, email, phone or any other media. Also for Hawk/Teletouch to resend billing anyone else for their mistakes regarding possible state sales or other billing problems or debts from past services.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recieved a letter stating that Hawk Electronics determined that sales taxes were not computed correctly by them for my cellular account from Jan. 2006 through Oct. 2009. Quote "as a result of a state sales tax audit the State of Texas assessed Hawk Electronis for this underbilled sales tax". They want me to pay for their mistake. I have responed to their request informing them that they are responsible for computing state sales tax not the customer. I also mentioned that I sumitted a complaint with the BBB as I can tell by their form letter that hundreds maybe thousands of these letters have been sent out.

Desired Settlement: Stop this unethical practice

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hawk Electronics has gone out of business and Teletouch is attempting to collect $14.74 in past due charges that date back to august, 2006. One of the cell numbers, 214-202-0010 has never been my number. You cannot get a live person on the phone and their web address offers no tabs for questioning the bill. Also, I have always paid my cell bill on-time and in full. They are threatening to turn this over to a collection agency. If they are able to scam enough Hawk customers out of small amounts of money, it will add-up to a nice return.

Desired Settlement: Stop sending me letters and threats for a bogus bill that goes back 7 years.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service was discontinued in April 2013 and a credit statement was mailed to us in the amount of $160.35. Hawk Electronics (###-###-####) has been called at least four (4) times and ******* said she didn't know why the refund had not been mailed. Then we call again and get the same response. I was first told that it would take six weeks to receive the refund check (now it has been five (5) months). I (****** ******) spoke with ********* today (0923/13), she gave me the phone number for ***** Corporate Office ###-###-#### and the number has been disconnected as they are going out of business.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am sure you have a record of all the calls I have made to your customer service
office regarding the very poor service your company has been providing. You
have not honored your contract to provide the service to all your clients.
I did not receive at least a half or more of the calls listed on the pages that were
Included with the invoice that is now being paid and the voice mails did not
appear on my phone until sometimes as long as an hour after the messages were
left for me. As a result of your negligence in getting and keeping your entire
network working properly, I have missed many opportunities to go out on "call
out" jobs such as diving to assist stranded boaters and other various jobs. My
phone is my means of earning a living.
In order for me to make a call, I have to drive a mile or two away from my home
to get any reception on my phone. This problem has existed for over a month and
is not acceptable. I have requested to be released from my contract to allow me
to sign with a more reliable company. I was advised I would have to return the
phone I bought in January 2012 or pay $250.00 to get out of the contract. I was
also told the phone was a $250.00 phone. I was given a discount to $199.15, I
suppose because of my long association with Hawk Electronics. That in alone
should give me some consideration for my requests. I have paid the full amount I
was charged for the phone, $199.15, in six monthly payments of $33.20 a month.
The last payment was on the statement I paid on July 5, 2012. I have paid this
phone in full, at the selling price, and you have no comprehensible reason to
expect me to return it.
There are two things that I believe must be corrected as soon as possible.
(1)I should be released from the contract without penalty due to your
company's failure to keep my phone and phone lines in proper working
order. Your people have told me that your services are connected somehow
with AT&T lines. Each time I called your office, I was assured they would
send a work order to AT&T. When I called AT&T, I was told by their people
that they couldn't do anything without the password that your company set
and that your people would not give them the password. These things are
vour problems, not mine. Your clients should not have to suffer because of
your negligence in partnering with some other company and then not
cooperating with them by giving them the password or making some other
kind of arrangement.
(2)1 believe you are responsible for my loss of telephone service (and my loss
of wages). I believe an equitable compensation would be to cancel at least
one month's charges (including all the extra charges and taxes). In other
words, give me a "free" month, providing all phone problems have been
corrected.
Please direct your employees to cancel my contract without penalties (no giving
the phone back and no charge of$250.00.) and repay me for my lost phone
service.

Desired Settlement:

Business Response:

BBB,

We have reviewed the complaint filed by **** ** ***** ********* regarding service with Hawk Electronics and found the following information.

On July 26, 2012, *** ***** called in to let us know that he was experiencing issues and stated there were buzzards on the tower and their excrement was causing corrosion on the tower.  We submitted a request to AT&T's technical team on July 27th, 2012 with this information.  On July 30, 2012 and August 4, 2012, *** ***** contacted us again regarding issues and status of the ticket.  AT&T had not found any issues so we put in another ticket with AT&T on August 6, 2012.  A Hawk Electronics customer service representative attempted to contact *** ***** on August 9th, 2012 to see if any improvement to service and left a message that ticket had been submitted.  On August 10, 2012 *** ***** called with same issues and on August 11, 2012 he requested another ticket be sent to AT&T.  Hawk Electronics submitted a third ticket to AT&T's technical team on August 14, 2012.

*** ***** called on August 16, 2012 and was still unhappy with level of service at home address and stated that other carriers in the area didn't have the same issues.  He asked that he be allowed to move his service to another provider without incurring an early termination fee as he is still in contract until December 31, 2013.  A supervisor reviewed his request and approved to do so; however with the return of his current equipment in good working condition.  This offer was given to *** ***** on August 16, 21 and 24; however he did not want to take this offer.  The representative and supervisor explained that Hawk Electronics normally doesn't offer to allow to break a contract; however since he was unhappy with the service we were trying to work with him.  The reason for returning the equipment was he was given a large discount of $350.00 for his agreeing to stay with Hawk Electronics for his full 2 year committment.

Hawk has since contacted AT&T and their technical team did find that there was an issue with 2 towers in *** *****'s area and fixed them by the middle of September.  However, these issues were found to be due to normal wear and tear and no bird excrement was found.

We feel that the offer we have made to *** ***** is a fair offer if he still wishes to move his service to another carrier.  I have attached a copy of *** *****'s most recent contract dated December 31, 2011 that gives his contract term dates and also explains on page 3, paragraph 4 that AT&T does not guarantee uninterrupted service or coverage. 

If we can be of further assistance, please let us know.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am in receipt of your statement in the amount of $109.19 which I challenge as well as
your integrity in sending it.
I entered into AT&T service via you on 8/28 this year and cancelled same on 9/7/2012;
cancellation confirmation **********. I dispute any charges prior to or after those dates.
While canceling said service I was informed I had "14 days" trial; I used (10), ten.
During the above time period I labored the better part of two full days attempting, with
YOUR HELP, to access your web site to no avail. This is NOT "service".
When I signed up I requested only regular voice telephone service. It was only while
learning my new handset I found you'd signed me up for Internet and other services I did
not order and were accessed purely by accident. I had to contact you after the fact to
remove said additional services.
At best, the only charge I am liable for is the $36.00 activation fee but nothing above or
beyond that.
I am forwarding copies of this letter and your statement to the Fort Worth BBB, asking
their assistance re this matter.

Desired Settlement:

Business Response:

BBB,

After reviewing our records we do show that *** ****** signed up for cellular service with Hawk Electronics on September 28, 2012.  The customer disconnected service on 9/7/2012.  Our records show that the account is in final billing and will final bill with the October 10th statement as it can take up to 30-45 days to final bill.  The balance on the account is currently $109.19; however there is a pending credit of $98.81 on the account.  The customer will need to wait to pay the final bill for any days of service they had from the October 10th bill statement.

Please let us know if further assistance is needed.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I am in receipt this day of your letter dated 9/24 this year regarding correspondence
of/from one "Hawk Electronics"; thank you.
For the record I want to point out they erred in the date I entered into service with them.
They show it as 9/28 when it should read "8/28". Nothing more than a typo, I expect, but
an error nevertheless.
I believe it is due to your intervention in this matter, the agency in question quickly
"found" an error in their original statement, (billing) and for your help I am eternally
grateful!
The $98.81 credit towards the original amount of $109.19 is reasonable and agreeable
with me.
Re their reply, I shall await their final statement before remitting payment.
Thank you again.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I canceled service from Hawk Electronics after my contract was up (8/15/2011) with them on 9/8/2011 at their Eastland, Tx. office and the agent there called the main office and canceled the service. I was put on the line to confirm the cancelation and was told I was paid in full and they would cancel service. I then started recieving bills saying I owed an October 2011 bill of $49.50 and that my account had not been canceled until 10/ 2011. I first e-mail their customer service and explained the situation and after several e-mails was told that I owed the bill. I then called and was told the same thing and when I protested was told "that is the way it is". Today, 03/28/2012 I recieved a letter from their Pre-Legal Coordinator that I must pay an estimated amount of $49.50 by April/23/2012 to avoid further collections.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to straighten out their records to show that I do not owe them anything and to quit harassing me.

Business Response:

Hawk Electronics is in receipt of the above noted complaint.
Hawk Electronics received a request to disconnect service on 9/08/11. Per your contract
the service is disconnected at the end of the billing cycle and is not pro-rated. The billing
cycle on your account ran from the 3rd of the month to the 2nd of the next month.
I have included a copy of your contract and the final statement for your review.
Please contact our office if you have any other questions.

Sincerely,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about October 23, 2011 persons I called using my old cell phone could not hear me. It was determined that the microphone was giving out. I contacted my cell phone service provider: Hawk Electronics, **** ******* ***** **** ***** ** *****. The representative advised me that they would send me a new upgraded replacement phone. I advised them that I was a long time customer and did not believe it fair to pay for one and through the approval of the representative's supervisor I was given one at no cost. I was mailed a phone to my ***** ***** address. I received a contract addressed to my ********** ** address dated October 26 in a envelope posted on November 23, 2011 (and forwarded to me by the postal service to ***** ***** address which I received December 9) stating I had 2 weeks from October 26 to return the phone if I did not agree with the terms of the contract (timeframe for return, therefore, elapsed on November 10). I first contacted Hawk Electronics on December 13 and spoke to ***** and explained that I was not advised that I had to sign a 2-year contract and Hawk did not send me notice in a timely manner. She was to review taped conversation between representative and me to determine if I was advised of required new 2-year contract. On December 20, I called and ***** advised me that representative "******" had told me that the phone was an "upgrade" and this "implied a new contract". I was not advised about the 2 year contract and Hawk Electronics has deemed that since the word "upgrade" was said to me, that I was to know that I don't get anything for free and that by receiving an "upgrade" it implied a new contract. I'm 64 years old and have never been advised by any business that an "upgrade implied a contract". Now, I can either pay the $150 to cancel the "implied contract" I received after the 14-day return policy or pay the $199.99 for the phone. Neither of these options is acceptable as Hawk did not verbally or in writing inform me in a timely manner. Product_Or_Service: Other //UNKNOWN Account_Number:************

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (Requires Explaination) No 2-year contract needed nor $199.99 fee for replacement phone. If the 2-year contract and fee for phone are not retracted by Hawk, Hawk is to email me a new 14-day return date contract with the date of the contract effective the date I receive it with my confirmation of receipt of said contract. The redated timely contract is to be emailed to me in a timely manner to afford me the time to decline the contract and return the phone, in neither

Business Response:

I have reviewed *** ********* account regarding the upgrade on October 26th, 2011.  *** ******* originally chatted with a representative online regarding getting into a new phone as her was getting old on October 20th, 2011.  The representative explained that couldn't hive *** ******* a new phone; however could upgrade into the AT&T F160 with only a $20 upgrade fee.  The representative then called the customer and went over the terms and options of devices with her.  On October 26th, 2011, *** ******* decided to upgrade into the new device as Hawk Electronics agreed to waive the $20 upgrade fee and the phone and copy of the contract for *** ******* was sent to her (see attached dated 10/26/2011).  On November 15th, 2011, *** ******* contacted Hawk Electronics as her new phone wasn't holding a charge.  A new device was sent to *** ******* with the understanding she would be charged $199.99 until the other device was returned since wasn't eligible for an upgrade or new phone as just upgraded on October 26th.  *** ******* agreed and the phone was sent to her.  On December 7th, 2011, the original phone was returned to Hawk and a credit was placed on *** ********* account for the $199.99 (see last 3 pages of attachment dated 10/26/2011).  During these calls *** ******* never asked why was sent a contract to sign and it was clearly explained why she wasn't charged for the first phone but was going to be for the replacement sent in November.

After reviewing the upgrade history on *** ********* account, I found that the contract she was sent dated 10/26/2011 is the same that we sent for her last upgrade on November 3, 2006.  Comments between *** ******* and that representative also referred to replacing an older device for little or no cost using an upgrade.  Hawk Electronics worked with *** ******* on that order as well and the contract was signed and sent back to Hawk Electronics for that upgrade (see attachment dated 11/3/2006).

I do apologize if there was any confusion regarding these transactions; however based on the conversations with the Hawk Electronics representatives and *** ******* it was mentioned several times the cost of purchasing a phone outright or upgrading and receiving at a free or reduced cost as she had previously had on April 20, 2002 and November 3, 2006. 

Please feel free to contact myself or customer service at ***** ******** if you need further assistance.

Thank you,

**** ****

Hawk Electronics

Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response:

The business failed to advise me that inorder for me to get a phone I needed a new contract. And that they back in October 2011 I called to upgrade my minutes to unlimited and they never mentioned a contract there either. The response does not address the issue of the call I made for my broken phone or the new 2 year agreement.


Regards,

**** ******* 

 

Business Response:

There is no contract extension for changing rate plans or features.  Numerous representatives explained that a new phone could not be given for free and that would have to upgrade.  The pricing to purchase outright as well as to upgrade (which requires a new contract) was given to the customer and she chose to get a free phone which requires an upgrade and contract extension.

At this time we would need for the customer to sign the contract that was mailed to them or print the attachment in our previous response so that we do not charge the customer full retail pricing for the phone at $199.99 plus taxes.

Thank you,

**** ****

Hawk Electronics

Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

2/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several weeks ago I brought an HTC ARIA phone included in my contract to Hawk to have the screen replaced. I had purchased the optional insurance previously and was told when I dropped it off that the repair would take 1 week and someone would contact me when the phone was repaired. The cost would be $50 per the insurance agreement. Week after week went by, I was never contacted, yet I called every Wednesday to check. Finally, after four weeks, I was told that it had been repaired and was ready for pick-up. I picked up the phone and took it home, as it belonged to my son and I wanted him to check it out because I was not as familiar with its operation. He immediately noticed that the screen was "off" slightly and the icons did not line up with the "touchpad" commands. He then attempted to make several calls, at the conclusion of typing the number and touching the "send" icon, the phone immediately began rebooting. I took the phone back to Hawk as soon as I was able, a couple of weeks before Christmas (2011). I was helped by a hispanic woman who's name I cannot remember, although she was very nice and apologetic. She offered a temporary phone and sent the original phone back to the repair facility, explaining that it would be ready in a week. During the time I was speaking to her, the manager was present. Again, after 2 weeks of no one contacting me, I called, Wednesday, December 21, 2011. I talked to the manager who explained that the phone was still not ready. I explained to him my dissatisfaction in what the repair time was to be and what it actually was. I told him that after this long perhaps a new replacement phone would be a better option than to have me continue to wait. I had paid the $50 and had insurance on the phone. The phone was operational at the time I dropped it off with only a cracked screen, but now it didn't work at all. I commented about having replacement insurance, and he advised me that the warranty on the phone was now void because the screen had been replaced. (I question the use of a repair facility that would not be a "certified repair facility" thus not voiding the warranty) He put me on hold, then came back and advised me that I could pay an additional $125 and upgrade to the newer model. I found this statement ridiculous as I should not be coming out of pocket with additional money because the repair facility damaged my phone. I asked him if I could get a replacement of the same make and model. He replied that HTC does not make the phone anymore. I asked him, "do they not make the phone, or do you not have any?" He then replied that he doesn't carry that model anymore. The conversation went for a few more minutes, however, there was no indication that there was any willingness to satisfy my complaint. On January 04, 2012, again after not receiving notification that the phone was ready, I dropped by Hawk Electronics to check on the repair. The phone was there! After checking the phone, it was obvious that the same problem still existed. Again the manager told me that I could come up with $125 dollars to upgrade or he could send the phone back for additional repair for the 3rd time!! He began to explain to me how Hawk was out $100 for the second repair as if that was somehow I would change my mind about the shoddy repair work. This conversation went back and forth about me being extremely unhappy with the customer service I was receiving, and ended with me leaving with a "loaner" phone and the assurance that the HTC would go back to the same repair facility that failed to repair it twice before, and again, I would be contacted in a "week" when it was ready. In the past 8 plus weeks I have had the phone 4 days.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of the original make and model of the HTC ARIA or a no charge upgrade to the next model that Hawk carries. Some attempt to make me believe that I am a valued customer.

Business Response:

I reviewed the account and did find the phone was sent in for service.  On November 18th, 2011 the phone was brought in as the screen was broken.  Due to the severity of the damage it was was sent offsite to a service center to be repaired and was returned on December 7th.  On December 12th, 2011 our records show that the phone was sent to service again due to the screen was locking up.  On January 5th, 2012 it was again sent in for service due to the speaker not working.

We do apologize for any inconvenience that the customer has experienced.  Due to the different times and issues with the phone we have sent to the service department to be repaired and only charged the customer for one repair although the issues were different each time.  Our store has offered the only option we have which is for the customer to do a full insurance claim to replace the phone with a new device.  In some cases the original damage to the phone causes more than one issue which may be the situation in this case due to the screen damage.  

To assist the customer I would like to offer to credit their original service repair *** if they would like to do the insurance replacement to get a new device.  The replacement deductible cost would be ****; however we would apply a*** credit to the account to offset what was paid for the service charge in December.  If they do not wish to do the full replacement there will still not be a charge for the additional service orders; however we can not guarantee that the device will be back to full working it was before it was brought to us with the screen damage and we wish to assist as best we can.

Thank you,

**** ****

Hawk Electronics

Customer Service Manager

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

1/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We canceled our cellular service with Hawk Electronics in early November due to their lack of customer support on the replacement of a cellular phone with the understanding that a $98 early termination fee would be waved due to the immense amount of difficulty we were having with the company. I discussed the waiver of the $98 early termination fee with a manager named ****** at the corporate office and she agreed to waive the fee due to the problems we were having with the company. Once I received the bill the charges were on there. I have called and tried to resolve this issue on numerous occasions. ****** is now denying that she agreed to waive the early termination fee. They claim the calls are recorded and they listened to all 5 calls, which total over an hour that I made to them in the process of having the service cancelled. Hawk Electronics claims the statement was not made by ****** that the charges would be waive. I assure you ****** told me they would be waived! I have requested to have access to listen to the recording and I was told I needed a court order to do that. I will pursue this in a legal manner if there is not a resolution through the BBB. Thank you for taking the time to ensure this issue is handled in a timely and appropriate manner.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the $98 be removed from my account and I be notified by letter that the charges were removed.

Business Response:

After reviewing multiple conversations between **** ****** and Hawk Electronics customer service representatives on November 8, 9 and 10th, 2011 we do show that the current contract dates as well as early termination fee on ###-###-#### was explained to her and the contract referred to is attached.

****** did explain this to **** ****** and offered to see what could be done to assist.  She offered to replace the replacement phone with another model and her offer was declined.  As the termination fee could not be removed ****** applied an accomodation credit to the final bill for unused access for a longtime customer as the customer did not wish to continue service through the end of bill cycle per the contract terms.

However, due to the tenure that *** ****** had with Hawk Electronics we have applied a credit of $98 for the early termination fee for ###-###-#### to the account for the final statement as an accomodation.

Please feel free to contact Hawk Electronics if any questions.

Thank you,

**** ****

Hawk Electronics

Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.] Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards, ****** * ***** ****** With the final bill to be available fo thatr us to view on January 10, 2012.

With the understanding we are waiting o the final bill to reflect the credits on Jan. 10th.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the past few months we have been having issues with our phones and service. There are a number of issues with both. We have done everything they have asked of us. Cooperating with this company has gotten us nowhere but, back to square one. They send us phones that are broken and expect us to pay extra for these phones along with our warranties. The internet works sometimes yet we have to pay for it every bill. We are sent invoices sometimes that are way higher than our normal rate. Everytime we call the company we get the run around. Our calls are constantly being dropped along with error messages to send to the company but to no avail. Both of our phones continually shut off and stop working. We pay too much money for so little service. Everytime we call we have to explain over and over again the problems we are having. I am sure we have talked to everyone at that company. No notes are being taken to better assist us when we call. getting a manager on the phone is almost impossible.

Desired Settlement: All we want is out of our contract s that we may go with another company. Everything they said they were going to do has not happened. They said they were going to adjust our bill and replace our pho9nes but they never have. Either that or the problems rectified and our bill greatly reduced.

Business Response:

Our records show that this issue has been resolved with the customer.  The customer was given a $175 bill credit and 2 free iPhones on 12/2/2011.

If you need further assistance please let me know.

Thanks you,

**** ****

Hawk Electronics

Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8825389, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. They were on top of our issue the whole time I appreciate everything they did to resolve our problem.

Regards,
Thank You
****** ********

 


BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/21/2011 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1