Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

CALIBER ROOFING

Additional Locations

Fax: (817) 284-0479 View Additional Phone Numbers 951 W Pipeline Rd Ste 317, Hurst, TX 76053 http://www.caliberroofs.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CALIBER ROOFING include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CALIBER ROOFING
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 2009 Business started: 03/01/2007 in 0 Business started locally: 04/15/2009 Business incorporated 04/15/2009 in TX
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Contact Information
Principal: JOHN MANCE, OWNER
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Fence Contractors Fencing Instruction Roof Structures Garage Door Repair Garage Doors & Openers Gutters & Downspouts Log Cabins, Homes & Buildings Painting Contractors Screens - Door & Window Roofing Materials Roofing Equipment & Supplies Skylights Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Swimming Pool Service & Repair Tile Restoration Glassware - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Industry Tips
**** Swimming Pools Guttering Roofing Swimming Pools

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5207 Rustle Leaf Dr

    Arlington, TX 76017

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    951 W Pipeline Rd Ste 317

    Hurst, TX 76053

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New fence was not installed according to verbal agreement nor was it ever completely finished. Large quantities of trash, old pieces of wood, scraps of wood from new fence pickets and nails were left all over yard. It has taken tremendous amounts of time to pick up the mess and I am still finding trash whenever I work in my yard. Beginning the replacement of the fence took months to begin and months to "finish". This, too, was a problem.

Desired Settlement: I either want a refund so I can pay to have work finished and repaired. Or, I would like for the job to be completed with mess completely cleaned up.

2/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My house was re-roofed in Jan/Feb 2012, and then the skylight started leaking in June 2012. I contacted **** ***** from Caliber Roofing. He said they would be out to look at it. They did -- he said they damaged my skylight when they re-roofed my house and would replace it for us. The last contact we had with him was in August 2012. He has stopped answering our phone calls, has not replaced our skylight for various reasons: "the one ordered was half an inch off", "the crew didn't show up? I'll get them out tomorrow", "don't worry, I'll get it fixed before the next rain". My insurance agency has been trying to reach him as well. Caliber Roofing has yet to fix their mistake, but they sure took the money.

Desired Settlement: I would like the skylight to be replaced.

BBB Response:

  BBB Ft. Worth Texas
1300 Summit Avenue, Suite 101
Fort Worth, TX 76102
Phone: (817)332-7585 | Fax: (817)882-0566
info@fwbbb.org

 

 

01/24/2013
 
 
  ****** ** ***** **** ****** ****** *** ********* ** *****

 

 


Dear ****** ** ***** :

This message is in regard to your complaint submitted on 12/19/2012 7:49:54 AM against CALIBER ROOFING.  Your complaint was assigned ID ********

The business has sent the BBB a message regarding this complaint, and we are passing it on to you.  The contents of this message are below or attached.  Please respond to this message at your first convenience.

Keep in mind that your response whether in whole or in part may be posted for the public to see.  If your response is posted for the public to see, consumers may use it to form an opinion about the consumer who filed the complaint more than the company on whom the complaint is filed.

Regards,

****** ****

Consumer Specialist/Autoline Coordinator
****** ***** ******** **** ***


 

 

 

 

MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

I received a phone call from Mr. *** ***** about the leak around their skylight.  I went over to the house and saw the skylight flashing.  The flashing was broken and I thought at first that it was done by our roofers when we roofed house.  I ordered a skylight to replace it and had my roofer go over there to fix it.  My roofer informed me that the skylight was not broken but that the problem is that when the roof was put on by the previous roofers, they made the opening an inch too wide and they tried to rig the skylight in place. They cut the flashing on the skylight and used caulk to fix it.  The new skylight that we tried would not fit because it was 48 1/2 inches and the hole is 49 1/2 inches, 1 inch too big.  What the previous roofers did was took a 48 and half inch skylight cut it and tried to put it in there and then filled it in with caulk to make it not leak.  In time, the caulk around that skylight started leaking.  That is the problem. They need to have a new skylight hole put in or a special order skylight ordered for that spot. Either of these options will be expensive and is something that our company will not absorb since it is not our fault.

 I have talked to Mr. ******** about this, my roofer talk to Mr. *** ***** about this and I've talked to Mr. *** *****e's insurance company about this. At first I was going to try to help Mr. ******** out with the situation and try to fix it however, I got a nasty call from him so at that point I decided not to do the deal with him anymore. I told his insurance company this as well as I sent Mr. *** *****e another text message. I really liked them and wish that this did not happen like this. I just don't appreciate my company being blamed for things we did not do. 

Thank you, 

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Our skylight was not leaking before our house was re-roofed. If this was the issue to begin with (1 inch difference), then why was this not disclosed to us before our house was re-roofed, so we could have made an informed decision about the cost of the job -- or that our insurance could have covered it? The size difference was finally shared with us when they tried to fix the leaking, in a voicemail I just re-listened to from August 25, 2012, along with these statements: "it doesn't change things", "it isn't a big deal", and "we're ordering one that will fit." We were never told it was not getting fixed, just many empty promises and then ignored phone calls. I'm sorry that it has taken to contacting the BBB to communicate.