BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of PrintPlace.com, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

PrintPlace.com, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (817) 701-3555 Fax: (817) 701-3700 View Additional Phone Numbers 1130 Avenue H E, Arlington, TX 76011 http://www.printplace.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that PrintPlace.com, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PrintPlace.com, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on PrintPlace.com, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 22, 2006 Business started: 05/26/2006 in TX Business started locally: 05/26/2006 Business incorporated: 02/27/2008 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Shawn Petersen, CEO/Owner Ms. Wendy Vanderpoel, Director of Customer Experience
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shawn Petersen, CEO/Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Wendy Vanderpoel, Director of Customer Experience
Business Category

PRINTING DESIGN CUSTOM OFFSET PRINTING PRINTING


Additional Locations

  • 1130 Avenue H E

    Arlington, TX 76011 (817) 701-3640 (817) 701-3555 (877) 405-3949

  • 4545 Cambridge Rd

    Fort Worth, TX 76155 (817) 868-0200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9820 Bell Ranch Dr Ste 100

    Santa Fe Spgs, CA 90670

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (817) 701-3640(Phone)
  • (877) 405-3949(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Website & online registration for job did not clearly state postage costs upfront, only quoted after artwork processed, customer rep. admits no error Online ordered postcards and mailing with coupon, paid up front online, received job summary that indicated that it included "Mailing Services: Postage First Class" and other details. Lengthy process getting artwork approved, after approved, a bill came for postage, along with the mailing list mockup. Called customer service for clarification and to complain about the cumbersome process, and lack of honesty in not providing that quote up front, was firmly but politely told that the info. was on the page originally signed, nothing wrong with the company's process.

Desired Settlement: 1. Correct website to reflect that quote for mail will only be provided as a bill, after artwork is approved. 2. Teach customer service representatives to record complaints and offer some kind of service, rather than defending the company

Business Response:

 

We attempted to call you yesterday but were unable to reach you by telephone regarding your postcard order and I would like to clarify the situation to see how we can help. The postcard order is scheduled to finish printing on Monday.

I received a notification from the Better Business Bureau that you were unhappy with PrintPlace.com. I truly apologize for the confusion. We are not trying to be dishonest. Our website is designed to provide as much of the printing and processing fees as possible before an order is placed, as well as on the final screen before the customer checks out the job, but we are unable to estimate postage until the list is uploaded and processed after checkout.

The mailing fees that are required at the time the order is placed is for the processing of the mailing list, inkjetting the names onto the printed piece, sorting the finished product and delivery to the post office. We do not request or collect the postage costs up front since we cannot predict the number of names on a list before we receive and process the list. Once the list is processed, an email is sent with the final accurate address count and the calculated postage costs.

The printing costs for the postcard were $66.00 and the mailing services fees were $97.00 for 500 postcards. That would amount to .19 per piece to process and mail, not including the cost of postage, which is quoted separately as shown in the shopping cart.

We would like work with you on the project. We can waive the 5% administrative postage fees to balance out some of the cost of the postage. This would put your postage right at about $145.00, which is a lower rate than you would receive if you were to stamp and mail the postcards separately.  Please let us know how you would like to proceed.

 

 

4/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an email that said Vistaprint, that I would get 250 Business Cards, and 250 more free.When I clicked it, it took me to a site called Print Place.com and had different stuff on there.I fell for the gimick.They had me pay for my order before the design was placed.After all my uploading(as they didn't have designs or anything like Vistaprint does), they made it seem as they were processing and printing my business cards.The next day ,and for the next few days up to today( even after I cancelled the order yesterday, Friday 4/5/13),they still sending reminders of an order being on hold that I nolonger want.They said my picture is low quality and doesn't meet their standards.They said they don't fix them that I had to get better.It has already been a week of waiting on them to print and ship, so I don't want the order and want my money back now.They have cost me money that was paid to me to do a favor for a friend.

Desired Settlement: I want my $21.45 put back on my credit card that I used.I need that money to use on vistaprint like I should've from the start.

Business Response: The customer placed her order on 3/30 and uploaded and approved artwork on 4/4/2013. We stopped her job during our routine quality check, because her artwork did not meet our minimum design requirements for quality. She repeatedly uploaded bad artwork, which we stopped in order to give the customer at chance to correct her files. She would also be able to waive the art suspect notification and have us print the job as-is.  On Friday 4/5, she called us upset about the hold, and demanded her money back. Our representative ***** ****** submitted a cancellation/refund request to our billing coordinator at that time. His note on the job reads: Sherrie called upset that her job is on hold for resolution. Explained that the file is very low resolution and would not produce a good print job. She then requested to cancel the job. Informed her that I would submit a cancellation/refund request for this job to billing dept.

On Saturday 4/6 at 6:51Pm the customer emailed us threatening a lawsuit and notifying us that she had placed a complaint with the BBB. Her email reads as follows:

Client Question

4/6/2013 6:51 PM
I called the ###-###-#### number and spoke to a representative.Clearly the job that the customer wants is not good enough for your company!I'm not tolerating the foolishness from nobody and clearly ya'll are not like Vistaprint! I want my money back.I have reported your company to the Better Business Bureau for poor service.If I don't receive my refund to my card, I will proceed with a lawsuit against ya'll for false advertisement as vistaprint, and taking my money without providing guaranteed service.I don't appreciate being told that my quality didn't meet ya'll standards and now ya'll trying to force me to keep the job!I said cancel it because I want my money now and don't want no business with your company!

She then emailed us again at 7:31PM on the same day:

Client Question
4/6/2013 7:31 PM
I need a response about my $21.45 refund going back on my credit card.My order was cancelled since Friday April 5,2013!

PrintPlace.com does not operate over the weekend, so our representative responded this morning, 4/8, at 7:58 AM as shown below:
*******,

Thank you for contacting PrintPlace.com. I am responding to your online support request for Job #960203. A cancellation/refund request was submitted to our billing department for this job on Friday 4/5. It can typically take up to 24 business hours before the job shows as cancelled in your online account. This cancellation request should be completed sometime today. Once the job has been cancelled and refunded, you will receive an email confirmation. Please keep in mind that it could take between 48-72 hours before the funds are returned to your credit card. If you need any additional assistance, please contact our Client Services Department at ###-###-#### M-F 7am-8pm CST.

Best regards,

***** ****** I Client Services Representative

It is unclear to me why the client believed she was ordering from Vistaprint.com, but she did use a promotional code which shows she came to us through an affiliate marketer. Affiliates will often place several similar offers on the same webpage, so while it is possible that there were offers from PrintPlace.com and Vistaprint.com on the same page, I can neither confirm nor deny it either way. Affiliate websites are responsible for their own layout. PrintPlace.com cannot control ad placement on affiliate websites. However, we do not and never have represented ourselves as Vistaprint.com, nor do we claim any similarity between their website & product, and ours.

The receipt for this job indicates that the customer used a coupon for $6.50 off her business card order, which was $15.50, resulting in a price of $9.00. She additionally paid $5.95 for shipping, making the total for her order $14.95. This amount has been refunded to her card. Ms. Watkins's order was cancelled and refunded per our policy and in a timely manner.

Below is a screenshot snippet of her receipt:







Consumer Response:

Hello, I accept the response, but look at it like this, sure use my email that I sent which was not a threat.It was a promise because people with companies like Print Place play people, take their money and don't deliver a service that was paid for.And they pretend to give refunds that never are received. The only reason why they say it's a threat is because they were mad because I said I reported them to ya'll, and just to save face they decide to send my emails.They didn't believe me when I said I reported them.Trust and believe they not the first company who took money and ran, even though I'm demanding my refund,the next person might get played worst, and lied too .They might tell them they don't give refunds. They kept sending me emails about an order on hold and it got irritating.Also, that 14.95 was not the amount I was charged.The only way to get your order is to pay for shipping and handling otherwise it will not ship. It's not free and they know it.Yes I still look at this company as a gimmick, but might be the only one who will speak up and tell the truth in an email about how they carried me and made me feel.They didn't even send no editing link to help me fix what quality it needed.All they sent was an Adobe reader copy with some lines through it that I could not move.I also read where they said they sent my refund on my card, it's not there.If it's still not there tomorrow(Wednesday), I will email again being as when I called the guy who answered the phone seemed highly irritated when I was asking him questions about what was wrong with my upload.Don't paint me out to be a monster and not tell what you did.Choice words go a very long way and telling someone their stuff doesn't meet your standards is hurtful so to speak when your not even trying to help that person fix whats wrong.It's funny how it was left out that I asked why they couldn't fix the problem then.Poor customer service so I want my money back. Sad people in this world.Please post everything right if your going to post anything.Don't leave nothing out.                             

5/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service