Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Leak Detection of Fort Worth meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Leak Detection of Fort Worth include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on American Leak Detection of Fort Worth
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 05, 2006 Business started: 12/03/2004 in TX Business started locally: 12/03/2004 Business incorporated 12/03/2004 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 East 41st St., Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (512) 936-5200
Fax Number: (512) 450-0637
The number is 36212.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Charlene (Char) Thompson, Vice President/Owner Mr. Gordon (Fred) F. Thompson, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Charlene (Char) Thompson, Vice President/Owner
Principal: Mr. Gordon (Fred) F. Thompson, President/Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
American Leak Detection Plumbing and Repair Trail Runners, Inc.
Industry Tips
**** Swimming Pools Hiring a plumber Swimming Pools

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Leak Detection of Fort Worth has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5600 Egg Farm Rd Ste 452

    Fort Worth, TX 76244 (817) 795-5325

  • PO Box 1735

    Keller, TX 76244


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A couple of months ago, I called about having this company check our pool for a leak. We scheduled an appointment, at which time I was told that they WOULD NOT come out without a signed work authorization and credit card on file. I told them I'd speak with my husband and asked them to send the necessary form via e-mail, which they did. After speaking with my husband, we decided not to use them. I did not call to cancel the appointment, assuming they would not come out without the signed authorization or credit card as they girl I spoke with was very emphatic about their policy. They subsequently sent three different e-mails (which I still have) reiterating their position. A few weeks later, while we were out of town and no one was home, they allegedly came out and ran some tests before making UNAUTHORIZED repairs, which they then expected us to pay for. Since we've refused to do so, they are now threatening to turn us over to a collection agency, which will add 33% to the debt, and file a mechanic's lien on our property.

Desired Settlement: They need to suck up the loss. They went against their own policy and made unauthorized repairs. We might have been willing to pay them something for their time, even though there's no way for us to know how long they were here since no one was home when they allegedly came out. But they've done nothing but demand payment from us and make threats, none of which leaves me feeling very warm or compromising toward them.

BBB Response: ***** ****** *** * ***** ** ***** ** *****

**** ***** ****** :

This message is in regard to your dispute submitted on 11/5/2013 11:13:00 AM against American Leak Detection of Fort Worth.  Your complaint was assigned ID ********

The business has sent the BBB a response regarding this dispute, and we are sending it to you.  The contents of this message are below or attached.  You have 10 calendar days to submit your response back to the BBB.  If you submit your response after 10 calendar days, the link provided will not work and you will need to contact the BBB Team member listed at the bottom of this letter.

The text of your dispute may be publicly posted on the BBB website (BBB reserves the right to not post in accordance with BBB policy). Please do not include any personally identifiable information in describing the nature of your complaint. By submitting your complaint, you are representing that it is a truthful account of your experience with the business. BBB may redact your complaint to protect privacy rights and to remove inappropriate language.


****** ****

Dispute Resolution/Ad Review
****** ***** ********


Unfortunately for our customers, demand for our services can be so great, at times, that they may have to wait one to two weeks for us to address their needs. Such was the case when Mrs. ****** called us with a pool leak problem and, when she advised us that she would be out of town on our first available service date, we stated we could still perform our service without her present if she supplied a credit card for us to have on file allowing us to process payment for quoted pricing in her absence. Mrs. ****** advised us, since she was driving at the time, that she would call us back with her Discover card information. Nearly two weeks passed. Sensitive to the fact that some of our customers are upset with us for having to wait so long for our service, we are hesitant to miss our scheduled appointment for anything within our control. Though we noticed Mrs. ****** had not called back with her Discover card information, knew she was going to be out of town which could explain why she had not responded to several confirmation phone calls and emails, and had not received a call to cancel the appointment, we assumed she still needed us to find her pool leak. We assumed wrong and for that we apologized to her in a phone conversation on November 15, 2013 (prior to receiving this complaint). The decision to proceed with the leak detection was made, in our judgment, in the best interest of the customer. Our authorization form does state that it needs to be signed and returned prior to our visit, but most customers are upset if you don’t show up, not if you do. We advised Mrs ****** that her leak detection and repair is free. She also apologized  and agreed that the issue is resolved to her satisfaction.



**** ********* *********

******** **** ************ ***** **** **** **** ** ****

******* ** ***** ************ ***

************ *** ************ *** ************** *** * *******


ald logo for email

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ********  While I find the resolution satisfactory, I am extremely disappointed with the tone of their response. 

The message that I've heard loud and clear in both their verbal and written response is this:  In going against their own policy, they somehow did me a favor; a favor for which I should be appreciative of the fact that they are sensitive to their customers and hesitant to miss appointments to the point of proceeding on their own assumption in my best interest.  Even more distasteful is the implication that they've done me an even bigger favor in advising me that the leak detection and repair that they authorized themselves while going against their own policy are free.  How very generous.