Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Pest Control, Termite Control, Full Bed Bug Services, Animal Removal, Mosquito Control, Rodent Control, Fire Ant Control, Specialized Ant Services, Roach Treatments.  One Time and Annual programs available.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Metro Guard Termite & Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Metro Guard Termite & Pest Control include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Metro Guard Termite & Pest Control
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1991 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1991 Business incorporated 01/01/1991 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Agriculture
1700 N. Congress, 11th Floor, Austin TX 78701
http://www.texasagriculture.gov
Phone Number: (800) 835-5832
Fax Number: (800) 509-1159
pub.info@TexasAgriculture.gov
The number is 711616.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Darren E Lowe, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Darren E Lowe, General Manager
Business Category

Pest Control Services Pest Control Supplies & Equipment Termite Control Animal Rescue Relocation Bed Bug Removal Bed Bug Inspection Service Mosquito Control Animals - Nuisance Control - Trapping Bee Removal Animal & Wildlife Removal

Products & Services

Metro Guard Termite & Pest Control sells the following brand(s): All popular brands

Metro Guard Termite & Pest Control offers the following product(s): All popular products

Method(s) of Payment
Credit Cards, Debit Cards, Checks, Cash
Refund and Exchange Policy
All requests for refunds are accepted and reviewed
Alternate Business Names
Metro Guard Corporation Metro Guard Pest Control
Industry Tips
**** Pest Control Pest control

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Metro Guard Termite & Pest Control has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1100 W Pipeline Rd

    Hurst, TX 76053

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5000 Intersate 635, Suite 100

    Dallas, TX 75234

  • 5500 E Loop 820 S

    Fort Worth, TX 76119

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We wanted to have rat snap traps to take care of our rodent problem when we purchased a foreclosure. Metro Guard told us they only do poison but not to worry because the rats will eat it and go look for water. We now have a horrible smell in our house due to multiple dead rats in the walls. Metro Guard will not fix the problem. We wanted a full refund since they lied to us. We keep getting promised a manager will call us back, but they never do. They lied about their services (we were told on the phone they DO snap traps). Not to mention after they sprayed our house 3 times for bugs we still have live bugs. They have lied about their services, and now we have a horrible smell we have to deal with when we were promised this would not happen. We want our money back to pay for another company to do the work properly.

Desired Settlement: We want a full refund of all money we owed and no further payment to this company. We have paid $302.95 plus we have another $43.28 pending on our credit card that we want removed. Thank you!

Business Response:

We are willing to provide this customer a partial refund.  This decision is based on Ms. ******'s desire to stop service.  I have spoken with the technicians involved and they state that they absolutely did not promise that all rodents will die outside.  Many times they do die outside but to promise that any and all rodents will always die outside is something they tell me was not said.  As the complaint states, we originally serviced the home on 5/21 and it wasn't until the complaint date that the homeowner states they "now have a smell".  We had done 2 full services by that time plus one follow up service.  Those services include more than just rodent control.  We propose to give the homeowner a full refund of all monies paid less $150.00 for services already rendered.  This home was a foreclosure and many times it takes several services to get all pests under control.  Also, given that their home is located near warehouse type buildings, rodents may be an ongoing issue.  We do provide snap trap type products but they are not always as effective with large populations and many homeowners don't want to deal with removing the dead rodent or paying the service call fee for us to come remove it.  Our manager, ********* *****, spoke with the homeowner on 8/26 and offered snap traps as an alternative.  The customer declined this solution and requested a refund.  Let us know if this is acceptable and we will provide the refund promptly.

Consumer Response:


We definitely were told, by the original technician that came, that the rats would leave our house and head towards water, which is why we allowed the poison in the first place.  We also were told that the summer is too hot for the rats to enter our attic, which was also a lie.  We were told that they put down some stuff that was like a "magic line" that would kill the bugs that tried to enter the house, yet we have found a number of live bugs inside even after 3 treatments.  The first technician said it could take up to 30 days for all the bugs to die, so this has been much longer than he said it would take.  This company has lied about a number of things and are now lying about their lies.  We are charged $43.28 per month for this service.  So we will allow this company to keep $86.56 for 2 months services rendered, but they need to stop charging our credit card or we will have to dispute those charges as well.  






Business Response:

I agree to Ms. ******'s offer to settle.  I think it's important to note that I'm not disputing what the Ms. ****** says she was told.  I was only stating that I spoke with the technician involved and he stated that he did not tell her in absolute terms that the rodents always die outside.  I also think it's important to note that when Ms. ****** spoke with our manager she was offered the option of replacing the bait system with snap traps but she declined.  She was covered by a warranty on our services that states we will return as needed if covered pests return.  We were called on 6/10 for a warranty service and that was the only call we received.  If Ms. ****** was still having a problem with bugs - she did not let us know until this complaint.  Calling us all liars does not sit well with me.  We did everything we were contracted to do and we offered solutions to solve each of Ms. ******'s complaints.  I understand that she is upset about the rodent dying inside her home and I apologize that we did not explain well enough that it could happen.  That is the only shortcoming I find.  We will refund her credit card this week. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10786155, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  However, I would like to state that we have tried a number of times to get a hold of the manager there, only to be told she would call us back the next day.  We never received a call back from her on any of our calls, and only managed to speak with her the one time because she happened to be in the office at that time.  She said she would contact the District Manager and get back with us and we never received a call back from her on that as well.  


8/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Metro Guard came over to spray for bugs just like normal. When the technician was finished He handed me an invoice that said "no Charge" on it. A week later I got a bill from them for services rendered. I never could get in touch with anyone the phone there, so I wrote them a later explaining the situation. I never heard - just got another bill in the mail. I feel like this is a bait and switch charge directed at elderly people to cheat them out of their money. Is Metro Guard that desperate for money that they would deceive their customers? I will never do business with them again.

Desired Settlement: I think they should return the check to me since I will never do business with them again.

Business Response: I spoke with *** ****** and we discussed the misunderstanding that led to this complaint.  Our technician had made an error and told her that there was no balance due.  When his paperwork arrived that the office the error was discovered at which time we billed for the service.  *** ****** has always paid us and has been a great customer for many years.  I explained that our technicians do sometimes make mistakes and that if she did not want to pay I would waive the charges if she felt they were still unfair.  She told me that she preferred to pay since we did provide service and earned the payment.  *** ****** was very kind and polite and was clearly frustrated by our mistake.   Thank you.   ****** **** * **


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Metro Guard Termite & Pest Control
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart