Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Acme Pest & Termite Management LLC

Phone: (817) 784-6838 1147 Mineral Springs Rd Ste 3, Arlington, TX 76001 http://www.acmepestpro.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Acme Pest & Termite Management LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Acme Pest & Termite Management LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Acme Pest & Termite Management LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 12, 2008 Business started: 03/15/2004 in TX Business started locally: 03/15/2004 Business incorporated 09/15/2011 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Agriculture
1700 N. Congress, 11th Floor, Austin TX 78701
http://www.texasagriculture.gov
Phone Number: (800) 835-5832
Fax Number: (800) 509-1159
pub.info@TexasAgriculture.gov
The number is 604485.

Texas Department of Agriculture
1700 N. Congress, 11th Floor, Austin TX 78701
http://www.texasagriculture.gov
Phone Number: (800) 835-5832
Fax Number: (800) 509-1159
pub.info@TexasAgriculture.gov
The number is 43659.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Donald (Donnie) W. Shannon, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald (Donnie) W. Shannon, Owner
Business Category

Pest Control Services Insect Control Devices Insecticides Termite Control Mosquito Control

Alternate Business Names
Acme Pest & Termite Control
Industry Tips
**** Pest Control Pest control

Additional Locations

  • 1147 Mineral Springs Rd Ste 3

    Arlington, TX 76001 (817) 784-6838

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I chose acme pest control because they provided a 100% money back guarantee they would completely exterminate your pest. Its plastered all over their website and they give it to you on writing. After I spend over $400 for their company to treat my house and a year passed of them doing so I still have pests. The first person who was treating my home, who has since been fired, was terrible. As it turns out he was using the wrong products and he was just very bad at his job in general. He was always trying to skip rooms or areas. I literally had to manage him. After he "finished" treating I had to tell him the rooms and spaces he missed, again. I did get a very talented employee after that (****) but by then I was half way through my services. When I called the owner, (*****)about it he treated an extra few times (which was pulling teeth to even get him to do that). I kept calling to reschedule and he would dodge my calls, never call me back, or schedule appointments and his employees would never show. I understand I was over the year, which we discussed many times. But he never got rid of my roaches like he "guaranteed"! I contacted him about it and he gave me a bunch of excuses like "well the roaches were worse than we thought". ***** says he's been in the industry for some time. I believe over 15 years. He inspected my house in the first place. So I'm sorry, but in that time period you don't know how to tell how many roaches someone has?? I'm just very frusterated. I over paid a crook. He comes off like a nice guy but clearly that isn't true because here I am with these disgusting pests, a year later, and $400 something less. Not to mention all of the time and money spent on the extensive cleaning they required, repackaging food, never leaving trash or dishes overnight, etc. I contacted ***** via email a week previous to filing this complaint requesting a refund since requesting their continued service had fallen So flat. No reply. So much for their

Desired Settlement: I want every penny back I spent on this service as they guaranteed. I still have pests and now am going to have to start being treated by a new pest company.

Business Response:  
   Mrs. **** is correct about our money back Guarantee services, And we have never denied giving back, on our money back guarantee. Mrs. **** has miss understood the guarantee that she read, signed and initial. On the day of her service on January 28th 2014. Me ****** ******* the owner of ACME pest control, sat down with Mrs. **** and I explained to her how the materials worked and the nature of her pest (German Roaches). This type of pest are transferred in from somewhere, the level of her infestation (on a scale from 1- 10) was maybe a 6. During the inspection I had time to sit down and showed her a small video of the treatment proses and showed her the bid on a service agreement, and also showed her a copy of the money back certificate. I was real thorough about the information I was giving her, I did not pressure her at any time during my presentation and I had encourage her to sit down with her husband and talk about choosing the company. On January 28th I send my technician **** ( that carries a technician license and has education on this type of pest). To do what we call a thorough clean-out to get the materials in place, and get the proses stared. I personally my self two months later  went to Mrs. ****'s house and at that moment I preformed an other inspection and I observed, that there was a lot of dead roaches, but did see a few small ones alive. Just three days later she called and requested a retreat which we did the next day. So with me seeing all those dead roaches I can tell that the material was working. To make it short and sweet Mrs. **** received twelve treatments and she only paid for six. On the marketing materials I provided her  where she says I have this money back guarantee plastered  all over on, she must have missed my money back certificate because if she would have read that this certificate it is for a LIVE-INFESTATION which was underlined. Also if she would read her service agreement (contract) it's good for twelve months. The last six  services we sent **** my other technician out there and he did treatments and retreats. For the amount all the treatments that we have preformed at that house goes to show that  we have responded to every call she called us on. Those last services that **** did he had not seen any sight of a live infestation of German Roaches. On the very last service (4/14/2015) that **** went out to do he encourage Mrs. **** to DO NOT STOP DOING PEST CONTROL. We had offer to renew her next year of service but she refused. We notice on the complain that she had shot us an email a week prior to this complain, for some reason the email was sent to my spam we didn't even know it existed. She was with our service for a long time and our number has not change so we do not know why she didn't call us to resolve this problem.
 What blows me away is that my technician **** has informed me that Mrs. **** had contact him on his personal number on 6/17/2015 which was yesterday. And was requested from **** (my technician the one that did her last six treatments at her house) to continue doing the service for her house with out going through my company.  At this time she does not qualify for a money back guarantee for this reasons:
 #1. The contract is way out.
#2. The papers we provided her with the money back certificate explains that the money back certificate is for.
#3. The last time we were out there we did not see any activity form the German roaches SO WE HAVE DONE OUR JOB.
 This is a case of wanting something for nothing for example: If she went to a restaurant and order a full meal and ate it all, but then requested to the waiter that the food was not good and she didn't want to pay! Do you think she should pay?
As owner ship to this businesses I feel like I have done a good job on building a relationship with Mrs. **** she gave me all the impression that me and her were on the same page. On her complain I see that she think I'm a bad person, and I'm sorry she feels that way. But if you look though my marketing you will see my happy clients 99.9%. Now I want to take this time to let Mrs. **** know that when she hires her next company to be sure to ask for a money back Guarantee and a singed contract but be sure to read thoroughly the contract and the money back guarantee for it's certification.  WE HAVE NOTHING TO HIDE.
         

Consumer Response:


I have never ceased having an infestation. I still currently have roaches, alive, in my home.   If you are trying to say still having roaches is not considered an infestation I feel like your service and contract are extremely misleading.  No, of course I did not renew my services because you did not do your job in the first  place which was to get rid of my roaches. I completely understand you did a lot of services in my home.  I am not discrediting that.  But if it was not possible to rid my home of an infestation in a year (6 treatments) don't guarantee me you will rid my home of infestation in a year (6 treatments).  Furthermore, for the record, your technician **** on the very first appointment in my house that he serviced gave me his business card to his side company "******** **** *******" asking that I "don't mention it to *****".   I did call him when I needed my home services, he did a great job!  If he had been servicing my house the entire 6 treatments I may not even have roaches to date but unfortunately 6 months were wasted with **** who is a "licensed" slacker and to my understanding (based on what **** has told me) is no longer is even in the industry after having been fired by Acme.  The end of the contract is twelve months and there is a contingency that you don't see the pests that were the issues within a time window.  I was still seeing those pests so the "end of contract" would not actually be applicable.   Every time you came out to retreat past the "end of contract" it was getting harder and harder to convince you to treat my home and you stated "I have to make my money up somewhere"  I got frusterated trying to convince you to hold up your end of the bargain at which point I eventually emailed you letting you know I would like my money back because I no longer wanted to pull teeth to get rid of the roaches you said you would.  You never replied, It is clearly not my fault it went to spam.  I want a refund or BBB to know you do not take care of your customers the way you "guarantee".  You did not do your job.  It's as simple as that.






Business Response: Sorry that you misunderstood the concept of our company  Mrs .****  we have a system that we go by. At the beginning I came out and I showed you all the paperwork and the contract of the service everything that I showed you has  to have a qualification of a money back guarantee the first time I went out I saw an infestation of German roaches ,you then decided to call us back in hire us to get rid of your infestation you were told to read and sign the contract there is no hidden information in our contract specially for German roaches. German roaches have to be transferred in they don't just come from outside. When we came out  out and applied  materials in your house we went according to the label of the material and it says it will break the lifespan.  We haven't done service for the last 2 months in your house so  honestly don't know what's going on in your property if you keep bringing them back. On the second treatment I came out with **** and I saw a lot of dead roaches that means that the material is in process and it's working. We are not stupid people we had to take state exam in order to rid in your home however the way you count it we did 12 treatments that means we did 12 applications of materials in your home I do admit that there was a couple of times I put you in the back burner but it was for your own good because when I sent **** my technician the one that did a GOOD job you, you were calling back in a weeks time for more treatments that's too soon so I was asking you to wait, sorry that you had to pull teeth to get me to do treatment so close together but I was doing it for your own good we want to get rid of your pest. Although the last few times **** came out the one that did a GREAT  job for you wold report it back to the office after treatment that he saw no pest. I do agree with you,  you might see one or two here and there which was probably brought into the house just like before you hired us. You need to find where they're coming from and need to stop that. To your complain that  you're writing us it's not all the truth of what you're saying at this moment you do not fall under the qualifications for a money back refund it's not happening
 
#1)  You're currently out of contract
 #2) As we did our inspection we did not see any signs of a German roach infestation
 #3) You had a to 60 days to request a money back guarantee guarantee which you did not happened
  If feel like you need to blast me on the Better Business Bureau you can go ahead and do that because I want this to be a warning for small business owners to watch out for people . People that want to take advantage of our company and services as they want something for nothing . As far as I'm concerned this matter has been resolved!

                

Consumer Response: This is silly,  I have never been roach free.  If you want me to take pictures of what I have left I would be happy to.  Yes, the products worked, I have much much less than what  I did when I hired Acme, but I still have living roaches in my home.  I don't go to a roach factory to pick up more roaches, none of my friends have roaches, I dont go anywhere with roaches, aside from my house of course.  

I started looking around for a definition of "live infestation" which I couldn't seem to find anywhere but on your website.  But I could find this.  
The dictionary defines infestation as: 

infestation

[in-fe-stey-shuh n] 
 
noun
1.
the act of infestingstate of being infested.
2.
a harassing or troublesome invasion:
Infested: 

infest

[in-fest
 
verb (used with object)
1.
to live in or overrun to an unwanted degree or in a troublesomemanner, especially as predatory animals or vermin do:
Sharks infested the coastline.
2.
to be numerous in, as anything undesirable or troublesome:
the cares that infest the day.
My remaining roaches are troublesome, okay.  All I wanted was to not have them.  That's all your company was supposed to do.  You had one job, you failed.  So at the end of the day will you or will you not genuinely stand by your money back guarantee? It says "no b.s."  "no weasel clauses" "no fine print, no risk"  I contacted you well within the 60 days for retreats thinking you would in fact take care of me with "no hassles".  But here we are.  
As far as the root issue it comes down to I feel as though **** didn't care about doing his job well (whether or not he knew how to do it well).  And my infestation may have been greater than what you had originally thought.  Your company hired and fired ****.  You did the inspection yourself and you have been in this industry a very long time.  Your company failed me which you guaranteed me not to happen.  It's frustrating I'm having to pay someone else, again, to fix the problem.  Even if you wanted to give a partial refund at very least it would help me pay for my new services elsewhere for these roaches.
*****, you seemed like such a nice guy.  I'm just really disappointed we are in this situation.  


6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought up front a yearly contract where they come out every three months and if there's a problem. This was our third year to use them. After they initially came out they didn't do a proper first inspection we still had cobwebs in the wash room and it was low ceilings. We called spoke to owner and he said he was overwhelmed. But would send someone out. They never did. Them we had a big issue. They said to keep them in a Baggie so they could see whst they were. The guy that came out had no clue what it was and we had this problem for months. Then the **** four months we called and never receive calls back and they didn't finish their responsibilities or ever come back out. We wasted money. Had bug issues then had to pay for another company to come out. Very upset about ****** the owners company. It was years ago amazing. Maybe they can't handle the amount of customers but not a reason to treat a customer of many years like they did. Thank you* **** *******

Business Response:

This is the response to complain #: ********

 

For customer **** *******  *** **** ***** ********** ** *****

 

Our first visit with **** was back in January 16th 2010. We offered **** a bi-monthly pest control service (every two months) for the amount of $437.40. This service was good for Jan. 16th 2010-Nov. 16th 2010. When the contract was done, **** decide to go with another company. She used them for some time and later came back to us in Sept. the 5th of 2012 for another year of pest control services, paid in full for the amount of $437.40.

 

Her pest problem didn't cease because she needed to remove all of the conducive conditions attracting the pests. Many times we explained that she needed to take care of the conducive conditions but she failed to several times. Her last treatment of her 2012 service agreement was done on Aug. the 26th of 2013. She received 6 services and 4 retreats all for the price of $437.40.

 

In her complaint she mentioned that the first time we were there that we were not very thorough. We doubt this very much because she chose to come back on with us two times after the first service agreement. We could not get **** to work with us. We do sweep up spider webs though we might miss some, we are not perfect but we do take care of anything we might miss on the next treatment.

 

As we were doing these services, we realized that we couldn't get rid of her pest problem. The conducive conditions were NEVER taken care of. 9 months ago when her last treatment was done on Aug. the 26th of 2013, we decided that **** would not be coming back with us. It isn't cost efficient for the company to keep treating for bugs when the conducive conditions are not getting taken care, we cannot make a profit at all when the customer doesn't hold up their end of the deal. We have not been contacted by **** or have tried to contact **** since her last treatment in Aug. the 26th of 2013. Attached is a copy of her service agreement, where she signed and agreed to the 6 treatments a year and also to take care of conducive conditions pointed out to her.

 

                                                                                         Thank you, ACME 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Acme Pest & Termite Management LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)