This business is not BBB accredited.

CJ'S MUFFLER & BRAKE AUTOMOTIVE

Phone: (817) 860-1887 Fax: (817) 860-1887 2103 W Pioneer Pkwy Ste 325, Pantego, TX 76013


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for CJ'S MUFFLER & BRAKE AUTOMOTIVE include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for CJ'S MUFFLER & BRAKE AUTOMOTIVE include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on CJ'S MUFFLER & BRAKE AUTOMOTIVE
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 25, 2004 Business started: 11/14/2002 in TX Business started locally: 11/14/2002
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Contact Information
Principal: JOSE VELAZCO, OWNER
Business Category

Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Auto Repair & Service Brake Service


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

CJ'S MUFFLER & BRAKE AUTOMOTIVE has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2103 W Pioneer Pkwy Ste 325

    Pantego, TX 76013

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over the past few months and weeks I have been attempting to work out a resolution with CJ’s Mufflers and Brake to resolve a few matters in regards to my vehicle, 2005 Cadillac STS. When the car was first brought to them at the end of September 2014 the car wasn't due to an issue with the engine. The repairs that allegedly have been completely in October 2014 did not fully resolve the issues with the engine, and as a result the check engine light is still on and nor is the car running to its full potential. At the end of October I picked up my car at CJ's and was told that the check engine light was still one due to a known issue with Cadillac STS older vehicles and that at times when repairs are made to the engine the computer may not register that repairs have been made and therefore I needed to take it to Cadillac to have them to flash it in order for the check engine light to go off. I took the vehicle to AutoZone to have the codes pulled as well as to the Cadillac dealership on three different occasions as well as. Both AutoZone and Cadillac's paperwork showed the same troubleshooting codes. I paid for Cadillac to run a diagnostic and to flash the vehicle; however, per Cadillac the reason why the check engine light is still on has nothing to do with the computer of the car, but because the engine has not been properly repaired. Therefore, after complying with instructions of the manager to have the Cadillac dealership flash the computer system, I reached out to CJ's for assistance in resolving the issue. I have made several attempts in communicating with them to work together to come to a resolution. I have yet to reach a mutual settlement or compensation due to reasons including, but not limited to; owner not showing up to the shop for a meeting that was supposed to be scheduled or returning my calls, management team not focusing on the issue, but other problems with car that does not pertain to stated repairs, or denial of any issues.

Desired Settlement: On April 8, 2015 I tried to make a final attempt to work with CJ's to resolve this matter. I mailed a certified letter to them requesting an itemized statement (paid in full invoice) of the $1,200 worth of expenses that was paid for regarding my vehicle in October 2014. I asked them to include within the statement full details of the services: cost of parts, labor hours, cost of inspection, and the name and number of the company that completed the inspection on 10/28/2014. I asked them to please return the requested information to the address listed in the letter within 1 week of receipt of the letter, but did not receive anything in returned. The desired outcome is to be fully reimbursed for what I paid in repairs ($1200) to CJ's. This issue has lingered on for 6 months. My car sat at their shop untouched when they claimed they were going to take a look and resolve the issue since the parts and labor was still under warranty. Thanks, **

12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased exhaust work on 09/08/14, including pipes, flanges, flange gaskets, hardware, welding, fitting and a workmanship warranty(I thought). I was informed on 11/15/14 that there were 3 separate exhaust leaks specific to the work performed by CJ's Muffler of ******** *** I returned to the exhaust shop on 11/17/14 and spoke to "****** the original service writer, I told him about the leaks. He had me drive the car onto the rack and he checked the leaks. **** had the original technician weld an unfinished weld(leak #1). **** then proceeded to tell me he could replace the leaking flange gaskets(leak #'s 2 & 3) with the same type, but they would end up leaking again. **** then told me I could buy copper gaskets and install them myself(that was appalling). When **** and I concluded our conversation, the technician negatively complained about the small leaks to ****, as if I were nitpicking(very insulting)! While my car was up on the lift on 11/15/14, I myself inspected the exhaust. I also inspected the pipe fitting of each joint and flange. There was 1 pipe joint going from 3 inch pipe to a 2 1/2 inch "Y" pipe without any reduction in the 3" pipe, or expansion of the 2 1/2" to 3", just the 2 1/2" pipe cocked at angle inside the 3" pipe(a major exhaust reversion source)(leak source #1), then the 2 exhaust outlets were 2 1/4" pipe cocked at an angle into the 2 1/2" "Y" pipe at the exhaust flanges(leak #'s 2 & 3) with no expansion or reduction of either pipes(major exhaust reversion sources 2 & 3). A reputable exhaust shop, should and would have tight fitting joints without filling in the gaps with weld and would not ***** the pipes inside other pipes too keep from having to make the necessary bends. The lack of care about carbon monoxide poisoning and minimizing ANY leaks as being trivial is just plain unethical, unprofessional, and dangerous, especially with my wife and kids that share the ride with me in my vehicle. Have you no conscience?

Desired Settlement: A full refund!

Business Response:

Mr. ***** ******

 

Thank you for your concern. First I would like to apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you Mr. ****** I'am not 100% sure on which vehicle we are discussing at this time but I believe the vehicle is a Subaru WRX STi. (If I'am wrong, please contact us and correct me). We advise our customers to please reach us thoroughly first before submitting a full review of our services, especially if there is an issue we should address to better help you. We are always here to help and we do our best to meet each customers needs and wants. 

 

We never advise our customers to "install parts them self". We would not be in business if we advised that. What I may have said was BUY the parts yourself, since we do not carry copper gaskets as the gaskets we have usually work but in some cases just don't hold up on high performance set ups, which I believe yours is. If that is the case, we can do the additional labor at no charge if you bring the correct gasket since ours did not hold up, it will be very quick and easy for us to swap the gaskets. As for the pipe fittings being incorrect, please bring the vehicle back and we can inspect what can be done. We do not do shoddy work and aim to be highly reputable around Arlington, Fort Worth, Dallas and throughout the surrounding areas. We do take yours and your family's safety into consideration as well. We are a family owned and operated business for 15 years and our techs have over 30 years experience so we understand your concern. If this is the right car I'm thinking about, the Subaru WRX Sti, worrying about carbon monoxide and family safety is one of our top priorities, but when a vehicle has no catalytic converter and is straight piped with no mufflers, carbon monoxide was already out of its safety range before we even touched it. A small exhaust leak is an easy fix that we will gladly take care of. If you are requesting a full refund, please stop by our shop so we can discuss what we can do. We will be expecting you soon Mr. ****** Thank you and have a nice day. Feel free to call us or stop by anytime during business hours.

 

******* *******

Manager - CJ's Muffler and Automotive

3/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my daughter's car into CJ Muffler and told then it starts and runs for a few block and then dies and then it starts again and run a few blocks and dies again. They said it needed a crankshift sensor that was $170.00. They replace it and it still did the same thing and then they said they couldn't fix it.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for $100.00, because I found the part that they replaced for $68.00 online and i don't feel it needed to be replaced to fix the problem, which it didn't.