BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Open Up Garage Doors, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Open Up Garage Doors, Inc.

Phone: (817) 399-9092 Fax: (817) 399-9305 View Additional Phone Numbers 10500 E Hurst Blvd, Hurst, TX 76053 http://www.openupgaragedoors.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Open Up Garage Doors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Open Up Garage Doors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Open Up Garage Doors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 02, 2004 Business started: 05/06/2000 Business started locally: 05/06/2000
Business Management
Ms. Colleen K. Roberts, President/Owner Mr. Bill Roberts, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Colleen K. Roberts, President/Owner
Business Category

GARAGE DOORS & OPENERS GARAGE DOOR REPAIR

Alternate Business Names
C & B Wholesales Charlie Brown Garage Doors

Additional Locations

  • 10500 E Hurst Blvd

    Hurst, TX 76053 (817) 399-9092 (817) 399-9392 (817) 831-1311

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (817) 399-9392(Phone)
  • (817) 831-1311(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American Home Shield, set me up with repairs to be done, by this company. I received a call, from Open Up Garage, and the date they had available, was January 17, 2012, between 1:00-3pm. Being that they have certain time frames they work, was okay, and I had to get approval at my job ahead of time, to be off, at the Post Office. I left work early, but before I arrived home, I got a call that they were a little earlier than 1:00pm. I told the man he was early and that I was about 10 mins. away. He said okay, they would wait. The men who were there name **** and ***, clamped the wire together, that was hanging and as I thought, tried to get more money from me, by saying I needed something else done. I told them I only had the service money. They said no problem, it may be a while, before I needed that work done. I gave them a $60.00 check, for my service fee. Well, to my surprise just shy of the 60 day warranty, I was told I had, the garage door messed up on March 6, 2012. I called from work, on my break and told them what was going on. I had to pull the emergency release, to get out and go to work. They said they had an opening between I believe 8:00-11 pm. I asked if they had anything later, because I had a required safety class that was 8:00 am to 11:00 am. Well, I got a call back from the company, and said could they move my time up, to around 11:45 am, I believe. I said yes, it would be just right, because I am to get out around 11:00 am or 12: pm. She said she would make it 12:00 pm. I said thank you, that would be even better, and that I could get out early, if it went to 12: pm. I received a call from ***** around 11:55 am on March 8, 2012. I told him I was about 10 mins away, and he said no problem he would wait. I was at my house around 12:07 pm, and called ***** on his cell phone, and said I was at the garage in the back. He came around to check the garage door. To my surprise, after he put the emergency clip back in place, he asked for the car remote. The garage door worked, with no problem. I told him, I had been using the emergency line to get out and go to work, since Tuesday. He said it happen like that sometimes. The eyes of the garage was checked and he oiled the door hinges. Also, he said I might need to be thinking about another garage door soon. It would cost over $600 if they did it, and that the home warranty did'nt cov er that. He said if I had anymore problems, I could call. He gave me his card. Well, the next day as I was getting ready for work, the door messed up again. I had to release the emergency string again. Around 8:07 am Friday March 9, 2012, I called the number ***** called me from the day before. There was no answer. I felt it was too early, so I called the compsny number the same day at 8:26 am. I told the lady what the problem was and she went on to try and set another time frame for Monday, which my work hours again. I told her, I can't keep taking off my job like that. And I the asked could they work with me and I was told that was the only way to get an appointment, by the time windows. I explained, to this man she had put on the phone, that they had already been paid for the job, and should meet me half way and come after 3:00 pm. Again the time frame came up again. I just said thank you, "I'll just call the American Home Shield, about the problem", and hung up. I called American Home Shield, on my lunch break. Open Up Garage beat me calling them and told them what was going on. The lady at American Home Shield, told me that was Open Up Garage policy and they can't make them change. I then told her " I have policy and rules on my job, and could'nt keep taking off, because they did'nt do a satisfactory job". She put me on hold and said she would call, to see if they could work with me. Well, they gave her a time frame I believe this time, for Tues day March 13, 2012, and said I had to call myself and confirm the appointment. I told the lady at AHS, that that time between 2-4pm, was still my work time, and again that I get off at 3:00 pm. Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, I had to still use the emergency release cord, to open and close my garage. The last time I tried to go out of my garage, was Sunday at 3:00pm, and the door had a loud pop, earlier, when I came in from Church at about 1:00pm, and the wire was hanging again. I could not lift the garage at all this time. I walked outside and to the back to try and lift it up from outside, and still could'nt It was not movable, from either way. I felt trapped, and called a friend of mine nephew, to try and get help, since I had to go to work Monday March 12, 2012. He was going to come Sunday night, but delayed. He came over at 4:44am March 12,th, to open up the garage and put the wire back in place. It took mhim about 10 mins. I had to pay him $40, since he came from Pleasant Grove area of Dallas. That was not fair to me, and money that I should'nt be out of. It was also a safety issue for me, I could have been trapped and that could have been the only way out, and the garage door could'nt be opened.

Desired Settlement: I feel Open Up Garage, should refund my service fee money back. I was stressed and confined and out of money, that I could'nt afford. They were paid and should have worked with me better, and not a time frame, since their job did'nt hold up.

Business Response: Open Up Garage Doors has been the Tarrant County American Home Shield vendor provider since 2001. We have serviced over 20,000 plus homes during that time with the same technicians that are currently listed in this complaint.  As required by our contract with AHS all of our technicians are employees in lieu of contractors and any additional sales are not commissioned nor do they receive any additional compensation. Although we understand the homeowners irritation at her product malfunction we do have a contract with AHS that makes all the final decisions of how to proceed with any of their homeowners' policy. As you have read our company did make several trips to the home based off the concern that the unit was malfunctioning although all paperwork will show that each time, even stated by the homeowner present, that her unit was working properly during each visit. Our technicians are not allowed to replace any part under assumption of being defective through AHS until the unit either completely stops working or they can pinpoint the cause of the malfunction.  The technicians are contracted and under the authority solely of the homeowner's home warranty company in which they have been contracted and must follow the guidelines accordingly. Unfortunately no home warranty contract covers any door sections, door tracks, cables, rollers, hinges or even the spring system in regards to this homeowner's policy. Upon arrival on January 17th, 2012 the technician's original paperwork states as well as on homeowner's white copy that it appears that the down limit wires had been cut. The wires were not frayed as to be binding and rubbing against something but had a straight cut. The technicians repaired the wires, ran and tested the door for proper operation. Technicians also noted that the non-covered item of the top panel of her door section had been damaged in the past and at this time had been repaired by a strut. The strut being added actually adds weight to a door and makes the door a little more heavy and effects the existing springs. On March 8th, 2012 (still within the homeowners 60 day warranty time period) our Field Supervisor who has been in this industry for over 20 years went back out to the home at the homeowner's request. Upon arrival, the Supervisor ran the unit with the homeowner present again and it did not malfunction at any time. The Supervisor rechecked the up and down limit switches, checked the adjusted the photo eyes, as a courtesy provided general maintenance. The Supervisor states that he did have a conversation with the homeowner that she would have to start thinking about saving some money to put into a new door this year. The sections had damage and the operation of her existing door product could be the cause of her operator system not consistently working properly. Again her home warranty company would not be involved in any door replacement expense or repair for that is all non-covered items, nor would they allow our company to move forward with any additional operator replacement expense if the 3 prior technicians felt the door would eventually cause undo stress to her new unit at their expense. On March 9th, 2012 the homeowner called to state again her opener was malfunctioning. Our office staff has noted that they offered her the following Monday March 12th to revisit for a third time to help accommodate her concerns but at this time understandably the homeowner was frustrated.  In regards to the homeowner's statement on Sunday March 11th, about the door having a loud pop and her emergency release cord not allowing her to open her door manually is a reference to again the non-covered door related items called the cables that control the operator of the door opening manually, they have nothing to do with the operation of her garage door opener and it would not have been an issue covered by her home warranty company. ALL garage doors must work manually by hand before any items contracted through us by AHS will be considered covered according to her contract coverage and the plan type coverage she has in effect. This is something that the homeowner would have to take up with AHS directly for she is their customer. The only part our technicians repaired on site was the openers down limit wires, this part did hold up and the homeowner is not understanding the difference in part terminology. Our company is not authorized to refund a required service fee to any AHS customer as stated in the contract that they signed as a customer with American Home Shield. This is a matter she must take up with her home warranty company directly and out of the hands of Open Up Garage Doors, Inc.

It is sad as a Business Owner who chooses to pay and be apart of a system that allows customers to file complaints and ruin a perfect Business record based on homeowners not understanding their own home warranty policies that we cannot control. We can only hope that the ratio of customers to customer complaints speaks for themselves.