Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Family Christian Doors, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Family Christian Doors, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Family Christian Doors, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 14, 2010 Business started: 10/03/2003 in TX Business started locally: 10/03/2003 Business incorporated 11/10/2010 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Hendrix, Operations Manager
Business Category

Garage Doors & Openers Gates Parking Stations & Garages - Equipment & Supplies Door & Gate Operating Devices Doors - Installation Garage Builders Garage Door Repair


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Family Christian Doors, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3819 Rufe Snow Dr Ste 204

    N Richlnd Hls, TX 76180 (817) 224-2227 (972) 292-7144

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Complaint could have involved a health issue. On April 29th. 2015I went out to open my garage door. I could not get the door to come up.Only half way. I crawled under and tried and it would not come up. I called Family Christian Door where my room mate purchased the garage door opener. They said they would send someone out. My room mate is 73 years oldand taking care of her 95 year old mother in Cleburne Texas. It would have been a hardship on her to come up.The technician got here around 1pm. He climbed under the garage door and said it could be a spring are many things. I told him I did not want it fixed I just wanted to get my car out. He told me it would be $89.00. I said no I was not going to pay that. I begged him to just get it opened.My room mate paid $600.00. I said it should be free. He would not do it.I told him to leave. I would pay someone else but he was not going to get the money. I paid Action Door Co. $84.00 to mash a lever and it was fixedit tool him one minute. I think Family Christian Doors should reimburse me the $84.00 and also $20.00 for the trouble they caused by not doing the right thing. I think they are dishonest and I am reporting them for overcharging. I have never filed a complaint against anyone, but they are wrong.

Desired Settlement: To be reimbursed for $104.00 for paying someone else to open the garage door. Family Christian Doors as a courtesy could have done the right thing.So I am requesting reimbursement.

Business Response:

 

On April 29th 2015 Mrs Ke***** did call us out.  We had installed a Liftmaster 3800 for her roommate in early 2012.  The labor and install had been out of warranty for 2 years.  When our tech. arrived she stated she did not want to fix the door she just wanted it open. So we quoted her a minimum labor of 89.00 to open the door,  which is a industry standard and basically the same amount that she paid the other company to do the same job.  There is no basis to this claim.

 

 

Thank you,

******* *******


Family Christian Doors, LLC
**** **** **** *** ***** *** ***** ******** ****** ** ***** ************ ****** ************ ***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.

Please enter your reason(s) for rejecting the business response below.

Regards,

***** *******

 

I have not read a response from this business Family Christian Doors.  The man called my roommate in Cleburne Texas and she said it was resolved.  I would like to know why the Company charged $600.00

for a garage door opener that we have had nothing but trouble with.  I would also like to know why he did not open door, which my car was in there. I could not get out.  He wanted to charge $89.00 to push a lever

My roommate bought this door opener I did not know anything about how to operate it.  She was 35 miles away taking care of her 95 year old mother.  I used bad language because I was mad. I apologize for that.

I think by not opening the door was bad business.  He could have done it.  He wanted the money.  He did not want to lower the price for the call.  I called another company, he fixed it in one minute.  I paid him $84.00.

I have unplugged the system.



Business Response: Mrs ********* second response provides no additional information from her first complaint.  Our response is the same as well.  The 600.00 charged was for a garage door opener her roommate chose 3 years prior and has been out of warranty for 2 years.  The 89.00 of new charges was minimum labor to get her back into her garage.  This is basically the same amount she paid the other company to do the same work.  There is no basis to this complaint.  If we could have know that a 5 dollar discount would have made her happy, we would gladly have done that.  However, she was being profane and we simply left as to not escalate things further.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.

Please enter your reason(s) for rejecting the business response below.

Regards,

***** *******

Family Christian Doors is a company that takes advantage of women and elderly people.  The guy sold a garage door opener far to expensive.  My roommate is not street smart and can be talked into anything.

The Company could have come out as a courtesy and opened the garage door in a minute.  My roommate is living in Cleburne now taking care of her 95 year old Mother.  I do not know anything about the garage door.

I parked my car in there because of the storms.  I could not get out.  The door would open enough to crawl under. I did, tried and it was stuck.  I did not know to push a lever to open it.   The guy came out crawled under the door

He said that will be $89.00.  He said it could be a spring, many things that could be causing the door not to open.  I begged him to open it. I said I did not want it fixed.  He still wanted $89.00.  I knew it was something simple.

I was mad, he could have helped out.  If he told me the truth, and said I will open it if you can give me $25.00 for gas and trouble.  I would have complied.  I know I will not receive any money from Family Christian door.  I just want to voice my disapproval of there policies.  The other company that came out did not sell my roommate the garage door opener for $600.00.  You can buy one for $300.00 at Sears.   The matter is not resolved until this company is put on a list of bad Business practices.   Janet Kennedy 


2/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After seeing their coupons in the Dallas/Southlake/Keller Clipper Magazine, I called for a quote. As I was told by the other ads in the same magazine, a broken spring runs from $89 to $149. So far so good! Scheduled an appointment then gave the scheduler my coupon code of CM22. This was for $50 off Garage Door Repair. Still good!When the repair man showed up, he told me that my spring was $199. I explained that I was quoted $89-$149. I have a standard 10 yr old track home. Nothing special or custom. He called someone who authorized that I can get it for $149. Then I asked about the coupon and he said "Those prices are built in". I was never told that. I left several messages for Matt who is in operation. Never received a call back. Then someone else from sales called and basically said that's the way it is. WOW!The pride themselves on being a BBB Accredited Business. Bad business!

Desired Settlement: I would like my $50 for the coupon and for the coupons to be removed from all future advertising. I continue to see them published all over my area in various way. "100% satisfaction guaranteed!", "fair, honest".

Business Response: Mrs. *****

We would first like to apologize for any miss understanding on our service.  I have issued a 50.00 refund to your cc you paid with.  Sorry about not returning your call I was out of town.  I have tried returning your call since returning. 

Thank You,
**** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, assuming he issues a $50 credit as he stated.  As of 2/19/15 at 11:51am, no credit has been issued. 

Regards,


****** *****

12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had problem with my garage door. FCD technician shows up promptly. After assessing the situation, he says he will fix it for $119. Three parts needed to be replaced. Tracker, one limit switch which had a broken spring (causing the whole fiasco), and a motor-screw coupler. I agree. He replaces only ONE part; the coupler. He uses the new tracker that I had purchased (ok with me) and fails to replace the limit switch. Garage door operates and rattles during open/close. He says it is normal. He adds I need to change ALL ten rollers for $10 a piece! I reject that. My door was ok for its age with them rollers. Opener fails to open the door after he leaves. After couple of phone calls, he calls me. I am on the road and explaining that the opener stopped working after he left. Based on diagnoses that he makes with me on the phone, he is very sure that the motor is seized and dead. He recommends whole opener must be replaced. Once I get home and examine the opener parts closely, I notice the limit switch (that he did not replace) is not functioning properly again due to broken spring. I call the office but I have to wait till Monday for the office to discuss the situation with the technician. Wednesday he promptly comes back, and asks for $95 to change the limit switch! This is a $7 part that he should have changed to begin with. I reject his offer and he wants to leaves. I ask him to provide me the part and I will do the labor. He says ok. But he now asks for $45 (for a $7 part). I refuse to pay for a part that was supposed to be changed to begin with. HE LEAVES. They charged me too much and got the door operating in a manner that was deemed to break so that they can come back and make more money by replacing the whole opener! The very CHRISTIAN way!!

Desired Settlement: They charged me and did not fix it right. After he left me like that, I ordered the part for $6.50 and replaced the limit switch in 2 minutes. I fixed the door finally myself. I am asking for my whole money back and an apology letter. I would be ashamed to do business like that.

Business Response: On 11-8-2014 we were called out to **** ***** **** ***  when we arrived the garage door opener was taken apart some of it was on the floor and some was still hanging from the ceiling.  *** ******* had already tried to repair the garage door opener with parts he had purchased from the internet.  We suggested a new garage door opener because his unit was over 15 years old.  He did not want to replace the unit at the time so we looked at his unit and determined that we could reinstall the unit thou we did not recommend this.  *** ******* had already ordered 2 of the 3 parts that were needed from the internet.   We only provided him with one of the parts a Genie coupler and the install of the unit for 119.00.  On our invoice it states what service we provided for ********** and the warranty we provide for the part we sold him and the labor on reinstalling his unit.  We did not provide all the parts for the reinstall as I have stated previously. 
On 11-12-2014 we recieved a call from *** ******* stating that his unit had quit working so we sent the same tech out to his home to again access the situation and again our tech explained to him that it was in his best interest to replace the old worn out unit.  The part that *** ******* had ordered off the internet had failed  and he wanted us to replace it under warranty.  Our tech let him know that it was not a warranty issue because it was not a part he had purchased from us.  Our tech quoted ** ******* a repair price for a genie manufactured limit switch of 89.00 dollars.  He did not want to pay that for the repair because as he explained he bought one off the internet for 7.00 dollars.  We understand that anyone can order parts off the internet but I don't think they always understand the difference in quality and what it takes to warranty parts you install.  *** ******* then wanted to purchase the part from us and he would install it we quoted him 45.00 for the limit switch that he wanted.  *** ******* then called our office asking for a manager and spoke with myself and I tried to explain our view of the situation to him and he then told me that if we did not fix it for free he would call the BBB. I told him I understood and we hung up.  I am attaching the 2 invoices we gave *** ******* with his signature on them. If you have anymore questions please let me know.    

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.

They are is twisting the facts. The only part I bought new was the carriage part and I told the repair man that I added a spring to the limit switch to get it functioning again. I NEVER CLAIMED I bought new limit switch and he left that same old half fixed part in there. Yes the door is 15 years old. And yes, after refusing to pay additional $95 (and not $89) to fix it AGAIN, and after refusing to pay $45 for a part that I looked up on internet for $7, I ordered the part and put it on in 3 minutes and the door STILL IS WORKING. I am not going to gain anything by spending time on doing these reports. But I want OTHERS to know about these people (FCD or F. C. D. or Family Christian Door) and their tactics to take advantage of the situation  the most they can. He was so sure that he will be selling a new opener that he even brought 2 new trainees with him that last day to train them on my garage door! There is nothing CHRISTIAN in this.

Please enter your reason(s) for rejecting the business response below.

Regards,

** *******




7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On august 16,2013 i ordered a garage door from Family Christian Doors and paid $849.00 the door was not put up correct, and an adjustment had to be made twice in order for the garage door to work eg ( go up and down ) the repair man stated that my garage opener was out dated and i needed a new one. After he changed my code i was able to use my opener for (1) week .I called them back concerning my issue and the same tech came to my home with a new garage door opener for $ 299.00 on June 4,2014 and stated that he could fix the one i had for $149.00 but it might only work for a week or i could buy the one he had on his truck for $299.00. and he also unplugged my unit and stated that if i plugged it back in it would keep running. prior to him coming my door would open half way .but would not close. i don't know what he did but i do know that he wanted me to buy the new one, and i still can not open it based on what he di

Desired Settlement: For Family Christian Doors to come and repair my garage door opener or un do what their tech Trey M did .

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

We installed the door for ***. ***** on 8/16/2013 and notated on the invoice that the garage door opener motor was not working properly. We let her now that it would need to be replaced soon. She called back on 8/20/2013 and said her garage door opener was not working, we sent another technician out and did a band aid repair and gave her an estimate for a new garage door opener and we did not charge her. On 5/23/2014 ***. ***** called and said her garage door opener was not working, in the interest of customer service we sent another technician out and temporarily repaired the garage door opener and let her know she needed a new one for the second time at no charge.  On 6/4/2014 ***. ***** called and again her garage door opener was not working, We gave her another estimate for a garage door opener and an estimate for a temporary repair. She declined both the replacement and repair. We have tried on 4 different occasions to take care of the problem for her by replacing the garage door opener. Since this complaint was filed I have talked to ***. ***** on the phone and gave her another verbal estimate and explained every trip that we have made in detail. If you need any documentation we can always send that over to you.

Thank you

7/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/30/14, I contacted Family Christian Doors for service and maintenance for a garage door that was not opening properly. On 7/1/14, Family Christian Doors installed a new garage door opener, rollers, and performed a complete maintenance and service procedure on my garage door. This maintenance procedure included lubrication, door, cable, and spring checks and adjustments. On 7/3/14, the original problem occurred once. I did not contact the company at this time but chose to observe the door for a few more days. On 7/5/14, one of the door springs broke, rendering the door inoperable and partially open. I contacted Family Christian Doors, and they did respond promptly by phone. A technician arrived in a little over three hours. Upon arrival, however, the repair technician stated that the spring failure was unrelated to the work performed earlier in the week and requested an additional $400 for repairs. The technician refused to even secure the door in a closed position without an additional $189 charge. This left my property unprotected and my home vulnerable to intruders.

Desired Settlement: I request that all damage to my garage door and opener be repaired and restored to proper working order, at no additional cost. I also request an apology for leaving my family and my home vulnerable to theft and intruders.

Business Response: We resolved the problem directly with customer.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable