Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Davis Door Service

Additional Locations

Phone: (817) 572-2938 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.davisdoorservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Davis Door Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Davis Door Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Davis Door Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 08, 1997 Business started: 02/17/1995 Business started locally: 02/17/1995
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Glen Davis, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glen Davis, Owner
Business Category

Garage Doors & Openers Gates Fence Contractors Door & Gate Operating Devices Garage Door Repair


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Davis Door Service has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    106 N Denton Tap Rd Ste 210

    Coppell, TX 75019

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2201 Long Prairie Rd

    Flower Mound, TX 75022

  • 4275 Little Rd Ste 205-11

    Arlington, TX 76016

  • 4750 Bryant Irvin Rd Ste 808

    Fort Worth, TX 76132

  • 500 W Southlake Blvd

    Southlake, TX 76092

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband, *** ******, had called **** ***** and received a quote to install an automatic gate opener on our chain link fence. On June 30, 2014, a Service Tech from ***** Door Service showed up to install the opener. The tech had looked at the fence and told me that they do not normally install openers on the type of fence we had. He said the opener was too big for what we needed and that they typically have a separate post to mount the opener to. My husband was not home at the time so I tried calling him to see what he wanted to do since I was completely unfamiliar with these things. Before I could get in touch with my husband, the tech told me that he thought he could make it work but that he would have to cut a hole in the fence and weld it to the post but it might look ugly. I told him I was not worried about how it looked as long as it would work correctly. Not being familiar with the process, I thought they were installing a separate post and just welding part of it to our fence post. I did not know that the opener itself was being mounted directly on the top of the chain link fence and not to a post. My husband showed up as the tech was finishing up the installation. He expressed concern about the opener being so large and being attached to the fence and that it would eventually cause the fence to sag. He called Mr. ***** to express this concern. Mr. ***** told my husband that they would come out and install a 4x4 post to mount the opener to and paint it to match the opener. He also said they would repair the fence where the tech had cut the hole. My husband told Mr. ***** that we had plenty of fence material including a post that could be used for this repair work. When the tech came inside to have me sign the receipt, he told me that they would be coming back to install a separate 4x4 post to mount the opener to. He even wrote “**** says we will replace mount post w/ 4x4 thick wall post to mount operator.” Three months passed and no one ever showed up to install the 4x4 post and move the gate opener. On September 30 my husband called Mr. ***** to inquire about the status. He called several times and left messages that were never returned. Finally, on October 8, Mr. ***** called and left a voice mail informing my husband that he had stopped by the house, looked at the fence and did not see anything w***g. Mr. ***** said he was not going to do anything. My husband called him back to discuss the fact that he had told us this would be done but Mr. ***** still said he was not going to do anything. After they hung up, I went and got the receipt and showed my husband where the tech had written the statement on the invoice. My husband tried to call Mr. ***** back and he would not answer the phone. So, my husband took a picture of the invoice and texted a copy to Mr. ***** and pointed out the statement his tech had written. My husband spoke with Mr. ***** shortly after the text was sent. The call was on speaker phone so I heard every word. Mr. ***** was very rude and disrespectful. He would not stop yelling and arguing with my husband long enough to listen to his concerns. Yes, my husband was upset and used some words he should not have. Mr. ***** stated that he was not using cuss words and asked my husband to not do so either then shortly after, he dropped an F-bomb. Mr. ****** as a business owner could not be less professional in the way he handled the situation. He was screaming over my husband saying my husband had told him they messed up the fence post and he was not going to pay to repair our fence that had the w***g size post installed. He told my husband that he would never have put anything “so cheap” on his property and then made the comment “I know you don’t make the kind of money I do.” The kind of fence we have installed on our property has nothing to do with this. When my husband requested the quote he told Mr. ***** that it was a basic chain link fence with a 12 foot gate. If it was an issue, Mr. ***** should have never given us a quote and instead should have told us at that time that the openers he had would not work. Or, when the tech came out and realized the opener was too big, they should have refused to install it. If they had told me that they would not install it without a bigger post, I would have gladly paid to have a new post installed. But instead of telling me they could not install it since it was too big, they took my money ($1,859.50) and installed it anyway. Mr. ***** kept saying the gate was too big for the post it was mounted to and that is why the gate is dragging. That has nothing to do with the fact that they installed a heavy opener (that they knew was too big) to the top of a chain link fence and not to the post. (The heavy opener is mounted to the fence with an arm welded to the post.) Our concern (which my husband relayed to Mr. ***** on September 30) is the fact that the heavy opener is going to weigh down the fence itself which in turn will push the opener down. Since the opener is attached to the gate, it will affect the gate. They knew this which is why the tech wrote on the receipt “No warranty on function of gate due to insufficient mount post.” The following day (October 9) Mr. ***** replied to the text message stating that he had read the remarks the tech wrote but that my husband had told him on September 30 that they had damaged the mounting post when welding the gate opener. I was with my husband when that initial call was made and he never said anything about damage to the mounting post. My husband had stated that the heavy opener mounted directly to the fence was going to be an issue over time and cause it to sag. My husband did make a comment that the installation job was ugly; however, I was not concerned about that and I had already told the tech prior to installation. We are not asking for the gate to be repaired (there is nothing w***g with the gate.) All we are asking for is what Mr. ***** told us he was going to do…install a 4x4 post, mount the opener to it and return our fence to the condition it was in previously (using the fence materials we have here on property already.) If this was a problem he should not have made this offer. Regardless of any misunderstandings by either party, Mr. ***** said he would make this right and is now refusing to do so.

Desired Settlement: We want Mr. ***** to honor his agreement to install a 4x4 post, paint it to match the opener, mount the opener to the post and return our fence to the condition it was in previously (using the materials we have available.) And, although I do not expect it to happen, I feel that Mr. ***** should issue a written apology to my husband for his unprofessional behavior.

Business Response:

****

Yes, I did read the remarks **** wrote on your invoice.

However, you also informed me over the phone when we spoke the  day **** was installing your gate opener that we had damaged the mounting post when welding our gate opener.

The gate opener is not your issue. The size of the mounting post is where your problem lies.  Your mounting post is sagging due to the weight and length of your gate, not the gate opener. There was no damage to your mounting post due to the opener being installed.

**** spoke with your wife about this and she approved for us to go ahead and install the gate opener.

 

We did not install the gate or the mounting post and therefore we are not responsible for the gate sagging 

Our warranty is with the gate opener only, which comes with a one year warranty parts, labor and service call.

 

Thank you

**** *****

Davis Door Service

************



Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Mr. ***** did not respond to the complaint, he only referred to the issue he "thinks" we are complaining about.  My husband never said the mounting post was damaged, only that the weld looked ugly.  I am not concerned with the looks as I told **** at the time of installation.  And, we are not saying that the gate opener is causing the gate to sag.  Any issue with that caused by the mounting post we will take care of on our own.  The issue we are complaining about is with the gate opener being mounted directly to the top rail of the chain link fence.  The top rail is what is sagging.  The weight of the gate opener is pulling that straight down.  What we are asking for is installation of the 4x4 post and move the gate opener off the top rail of the fence to that post as my husband was told would happen.  And, to have our fence returned to its previous condition (using the materials we have available) as my husband was also told.


[To assist us in bringing this ****er to a close, we would like to know your view on the ****er.]

Regards,

***** ******




Business Response:

Due to the fact We did not install Mr. ******, Fence, Gate or Post,  and we received approval from Mrs. ******  to install the gate opener on the current post before it was installed,  we are not responsible for anything other than the gate opener which we installed. I installed the gate properly to the mounts that were already provided to us by Mrs. ******.

 

 

I am not willing to go out and install Mr. ****** post and incur the cost for his posts.

 

However, If Mr. ****** will agree to be responsible for installing his own 4X4 square post, as well as responsible for any cost of materials and labor for installing his own post., I will then agree to send out my installer once the post are installed, at no additional service call or labor cost to Mr. ******, and remove the gate opener control box from the current post and reinstall to the new installed post provided by Mr. ******.

 

Mr. ****** can contact me once the post are installed and ready for us to install the gate opener,  and I will schedule the job.

 

Thank you

 

**** *****

Davis Door Service

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.

Please enter your reason(s) for rejecting the business response below.

I was out of town this past week for a funeral. When I returned, I found the top rail of the fence to be broken from the weight of the box (see the attached picture). I will give in and agree to installing our own 4X4 post to have the box moved to since I had stated that had I known we needed a larger mount, I would have gladly paid for this. However, I feel that Mr. ***** should repair our fence to it's previous condition as he stated he would. The tech knew this box was too large to attach to that top rail and should have informed me of this prior to installation. Yes, I agreed to let them mount it to the fence but I thought it was being mounted to the post, not the tiny top rail. ***** Door knew the weight of this box, not me. I feel they should better inform their customers. I was only told it would look "ugly" not that it might weigh the fence down and break it. (We have excess fencing material that can be used for this repair.)

Regards,

***** ******




Business Response:

I agree to remount the control panel box to their new 4x4 square post. Will not be responsible for any repairs to the fence. Please contact me when the post is installed. I request this be handled in a civil manner. 

 

*** *** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.

Please enter your reason(s) for rejecting the business response below.

Their installation of the opener caused damage to the top rail of our fence so this is something that should be repaired by them.   I am not asking for the current fence post itself to be changed out.  There is no issue with the fence post at all.  It is just the top rail which has fallen down due to the excessive weight of the opener that was attached to it.

I am willing to compromise and install the 4x4 post ourselves (even though it was written on the invoice that Davis Door would install it) since that is something I would have gladly done before if they had simply refused to install the opener without a larger post.  It was their tech that said he could make it work with the post we had (never mentioning it would be mounted to the thin top rail.)

I can guarantee that this can be handled in a civil manner and can schedule the work to be done while my husband is out of town working to avoid any further confrontations.

Regards,

***** ******




9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased two garage doors, and 8 foot wide and a 16 foot wide door from ***** Door Service. The purchase included two openers, two wireless lights, and two control panels. They installed the doors Saturday, July 12th. I contacted Mr. ***** July 17th: "Mr. *****, Thanks for the great garage door install. I noticed that on the smaller door, the wireless light is sporadic. It will come on for no good reason and stay on for a long time (many hours) and sometimes then turn itself off. Sometimes it won't trip when motion is detected and sometimes it will. It only supposed to stay on for at most 15 minutes. The other light is working beautifully though,and its motion controller is right next to the troublesome one. Can you please send someone out to figure out what is going on?" And I gave him my name and number, yet I didn't hear back from him. I called his office and he was on vacation, but his employee said he would send someone out to check it out. I never heard from that person. So I called **** and left two voice messages, about one per week and never heard back from **** himself. I sent another email the 28th of August and heard back from ****, who promised to send someone out that Saturday, but no one called or came. I emailed him again Sept. 7th and didn't hear back. All that to say that I'm not getting anywhere with ****'s company and although I'm sure it is a wonderful company, he needs to know I'm serious about getting this issue fixed. Also, one of the garage door panels is a lighter shade than the others. Where is the quality control on this product you said was a good product?

Desired Settlement: I'd like to have the wireless light come on when it supposed to, stay on as long as it is supposed to, and turn off when it is supposed to. Since it never has worked correctly, I believe Davis Door Service owes me a working product and should fix the light issue.

Business Response: The company has replaced the garage door opener and has ordered a new door. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
They have replaced the entire garage door opener, and the light now works properly.  They have promised to replace the entire door under warranty, in order to get 4 matching panels.  They have ordered the door and it will take a few weeks to come in.  

Thank you for your assistance in resolving this matter,
**** ******