BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Davis Door Service?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Davis Door Service

Additional Locations

Phone: (817) 572-2938 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.davisdoorservice.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Davis Door Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Davis Door Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Davis Door Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 08, 1997 Business started: 02/17/1995 Business started locally: 02/17/1995
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Glen Davis, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glen Davis, Owner
Business Category

GARAGE DOORS & OPENERS GATES & OPERATORS GARAGE DOOR REPAIR


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    106 N Denton Tap Rd Ste 210

    Coppell, TX 75019

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2201 Long Prairie Rd

    Flower Mound, TX 75022

  • 4275 Little Rd Ste 205-11

    Arlington, TX 76016

  • 4750 Bryant Irvin Rd Ste 808

    Fort Worth, TX 76132

  • 500 W Southlake Blvd

    Southlake, TX 76092

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5760 Legacy Dr

    Plano, TX 75024

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (817) 880-5103(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased two garage doors, and 8 foot wide and a 16 foot wide door from ***** Door Service. The purchase included two openers, two wireless lights, and two control panels. They installed the doors Saturday, July 12th. I contacted Mr. ***** July 17th: "Mr. *****, Thanks for the great garage door install. I noticed that on the smaller door, the wireless light is sporadic. It will come on for no good reason and stay on for a long time (many hours) and sometimes then turn itself off. Sometimes it won't trip when motion is detected and sometimes it will. It only supposed to stay on for at most 15 minutes. The other light is working beautifully though,and its motion controller is right next to the troublesome one. Can you please send someone out to figure out what is going on?" And I gave him my name and number, yet I didn't hear back from him. I called his office and he was on vacation, but his employee said he would send someone out to check it out. I never heard from that person. So I called **** and left two voice messages, about one per week and never heard back from **** himself. I sent another email the 28th of August and heard back from ****, who promised to send someone out that Saturday, but no one called or came. I emailed him again Sept. 7th and didn't hear back. All that to say that I'm not getting anywhere with ****'s company and although I'm sure it is a wonderful company, he needs to know I'm serious about getting this issue fixed. Also, one of the garage door panels is a lighter shade than the others. Where is the quality control on this product you said was a good product?

Desired Settlement: I'd like to have the wireless light come on when it supposed to, stay on as long as it is supposed to, and turn off when it is supposed to. Since it never has worked correctly, I believe Davis Door Service owes me a working product and should fix the light issue.

Business Response: The company has replaced the garage door opener and has ordered a new door. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
They have replaced the entire garage door opener, and the light now works properly.  They have promised to replace the entire door under warranty, in order to get 4 matching panels.  They have ordered the door and it will take a few weeks to come in.  

Thank you for your assistance in resolving this matter,
**** ******

6/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid to have repair work done to my garage door on March 22, 2012 in the amount of $310.20 to replace/tighten all bolts, hinges, and rollers. Within a week the top right roller of the garage door fell off and the garage door has not been able to raised since. My property manager has been in frequent contact with them to come and repair the missing roller on June 8, 2012 and that I was to be called and told when the repairman would be coming. After about noon I had not heard anything from Davis Door Service so I called personally about when they might be headed over to my house to fix the issue. I was on the phone with one of thier representatives and was informed that no phone call was required to be made and that a repairman had already been at my property and that no one was at the residence. I informed the representative that my wife and I have both been at the residence all day and have not met with any garage repair man yet, which the phone representative stated that it was important anyway to meet with the repairman because they were not going to fix the roller anyway. Long story short, voices were raised and when I accused them of bad workmanship my situation was compare to that of a vehicle engine and that even if they repaired the "piston" they would not repair the same "piston" even if it broke down days later. Frustrated and insulted I decieded against better judgement and hung up the phone. *Side note: the claim for the business not fixing my broken roller is because they claim that the foundation has shifted and that my foundation needs repair. This is not only an absurd claim to make considering they fix garage doors, but I actually have a foundation warranty on my home and I had my foundation check my home for shiftage via a engineer and they found no such claim warranted. I have paperwork both before the alleged "shiftage" when I had my home's foundation warrantied and after they repaired my door to see if the Davis Door Service's claim was valid and would have explained that and provided them with the documentation had the phone service represenative had not been so rude and obnoxious about the whole thing.

Desired Settlement: Please fix the roller on my garage door and an apology for the foul behavior and rude customer service. If no apology is given at least just fix my garage door that I paid to have fixed.

Business Response: First I want to start off by stating that ******* ****** is not the customer. Mr. ****** is renting the
property from the management company who is a customer of ours. Mr. ***** ******* is the individual
at the management company that contacted Davis Door Service.
Davis Door Service was contacted by ***** ******* on 3/22/12 to repair broken Garage door at *** ***** *** ***** ****** ***** *********** ***** ******
Service Technician, ******** ****** arrived at the location on 3/22/12 at 10:00 a.m.
******** arrived at the location and inspected the garage door.
The garage door was completely out of track. Door had to be completely disassembled, re-built and reinstalled
in the opening. We replaced the 2 bottom Brackets, 7ft vertical track, tighten all nuts and
bolts and lubed the door, hinges and all rollers.
******** completed a full service and inspection on the garage door and opener. ******** explained to
***** ******* at the management company {which is our customer) regarding the issues with the
garage door. Garage door would work fine for now, but that it needed to be replaced due to the
condition of the door. The garage door is shifting due to the unlevelness of the foundation, causing the
rollers on the garage door to pull out of the track. Mr. ******* told us to fix the door the best we could
and that he was aware there would be no warranty on parts, labor or service call for the garage door.
In addition, Johnathan completed an inspection on the operator and informed customer that the
operator was in bad condition. The gears and circuit boards are out; the operator failed the test and
needed to be replaced as well as the garage door.
All of this was discussed with Mr. ******* at the property management and noted on work invoice.
See attached copy of invoice and warranty for property. Please note Section 6 of the warranty
certificate. Service Technician indicated in writing on the invoice that there was NO Warranty on work
and that the customer needed a new door, but would go ahead and fix the door the best we could to
secure the property per instruction from property management.
Property management did contact me at Davis Door Service on April 12, 2012 to tell me there was a
roller out of the track again. At that time I reminded him that there was no warranty on the door, that it
needed to be replaced, but because they are a repeat customer I would have a service technician run by
the property and put the roller back into the door at no cost. I contacted Mr. ******, the renter that
afternoon and scheduled for my service technician, **** ***** to go by the property at 5:30p.m. to put
the roller back in at no cost.
**** showed up at the property promptly at 5:30 and waited until6:10 and the renter never showed
up. Both **** and I contacted the renter by cell phone and got no answer. **** left the property at
6:10. (See attached invoice regarding follow up)
The following morning Mr. ****** contacted myself and said nobody showed up. I informed Mr. ******
that **** did show up at the property and both **** and I called his cell phone but got no answer. In
addition, **** had placed a Green service sticker on the front door to let them know that we had been
there and no one was home. Mr. ****** said sorry he was not there, but wanted to know if we could
send someone out there again. I told Mr. ******, that I could not send another service truck out there
again without a service call. The door was not under warranty, but I was going by there the first time as
a courtesy, but could not continue to go out to the property without a service call. I did try to explain to
Mr. ****** what the situation was and did use the vehicle engine scenario to help him understand. I told
him that if he took his vehicle to an auto mechanic because the engine was wore out and the auto
mechanic told him he needed a new engine because the pistons, the crank and the cam were wore out,
they would not warranty the push rod because the rest of the engine was wore out and was still not
going to work properly. At no time was I ever rude with Mr. ******.
Mr . ****** got upset with me and said he would go back and contact the management company.
I then received a call back from Mr. ****** within 15 minutes wanting to know my address. At no time
did I or any of my service technicians get hateful with Mr. ******. Mr. ****** never mentioned anything
about the door after he spoke with the management company. That was the last I heard from Mr.
******, until I received the attached BBB complaint.
Again, Mr. ******, the renter, is not a customer of Davis Door Service. The property management
company and Mr. ***** ******* is the customer that contact Davis Door Service and paid the invoice to
Davis Door Service. Therefore, I do not feel like this should be a complaint listed against Davis Door
Service with the BBB, since the customer/property management fully understood the terms and the
warranty before the work was done, and they have not filed any complaint regarding this property.
Mr. ****** is simply a third party renter and needs to take the Garage Door issue's up with the property
management that is responsible for the garage door and any repairs.
If you need anything else from me, please let me know.