Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Vick Autosports, Inc.

Phone: (817) 483-9933 Fax: (817) 483-1104 View Additional Phone Numbers 5200 Vesta Farley Rd, Fort Worth, TX 76119 http://www.vickauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vick Autosports, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vick Autosports, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Vick Autosports, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 31, 2009 Business started: 01/19/1989 in TX Business started locally: 01/19/1989 Business incorporated 01/19/1989 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jerry L. Phillips, Owner Mr. Kenneth (Ken) M. Tubman, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry L. Phillips, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Alternate Business Names
VAS
Additional Information

Per the company’s website www.vickauto.com:   “If we ship you a defective item, call for a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number. Return the item within 30 days, along with a copy of your invoice, for a refund or exchange. We ask that you use UPS whenever possible for your returned merchandise. Prepay and insure the package. Be sure to save the receipt.”   “…specifying the part that will work on your specific car can be confusing. As the largest importer and distributor of parts for Italian car parts in North America, we have thousands of items on our shelves and with any operation we will occasionally pull a part from the wrong shelf. Or a part number may be incorrectly entered on paper work by VAS staff or the purchase.”   “Regardless of cause, call for a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number. Return the item in re-sellable condition within 30 days, along with a copy of your invoice, for a refund or exchange on the part.”


Additional Locations

  • 5200 Vesta Farley Rd

    Fort Worth, TX 76119 (817) 483-9933 (800) 466-3428 (817) 572-7793

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The product I purchased was defective,Customer service failed to provide assistance ,The failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support. We purchased a alfa romeo spyder dash according to the Vick autosports dash it was to be of High Quality, hard plastic reproductions, Add your gauges, switches and heater controls and away you go. The dash was made of a soft composite material, not hard plastic, in order for our gauges to work, we had to reshape part of the dash, that's when we found out it was not made of hard plastic. After the dash was installed we found out the dash was 1/2 inch too small. We contacted Vicks, who requested pictures and measurements of dash, they told us since they were dealing with a european country, they had no idea when they would get back to us, because the european companies basically don't care. We gave Vicks the information they requested, then we never received a response from them, once we had told them we would dispute the charge on our credit card, because it was getting close to 90 days of when we can dispute charge (when the europeans would be back from their summer vacation. Vicks did not come up with a satisfactory resolution. This is what **** said in email to us:I did hear back from the manufacturer about the 1/2" width difference. To which they responded they made it narrower to make installation a bit easier. I am still pushing for a full coverage of warranty. I hope to have resolution very soon. I will say I feel they are trying to push this off until after August and they have their Holiday. So, sorry if this is slow, but we are still working on this issue. Thanks ****, which we have not heard, Did Vick's receive a refund and decide to keep our money? since they reported it to the manufacturer.

Desired Settlement: To Be refunded $1000.00, which includes price, labor for inferior product and misc supplies.

BBB Response:



Upon reviewing the customer’s complaint, it appears the customer is making a claim based on the assertions the product was 1) not as advertised and 2) defective.

 

Alfa Romeo replacement dash, part number 50-2885, was shipped to Mr. ******** on April 24, 2012 and received by the customer on April 28, 2012 (FedEx tracking number ***************).  Door panels included on the same invoice were shipped May 24, 2012 and the date of May 24, 2012 is reflected as the shipping date on invoice number 3904.

 

This product is sold by several vendors worldwide. The dashes are high-quality. They are composed of hard plastic as advertised by Vick Autosports.  The dash was presented for inspection by the customer when it was delivered on April 28, 2012. The customer could have returned the item for any reason and gotten a full refund less shipping prior to installation/modification per our Terms of Service.If the dash were found defective, shipping would also have been refunded.

 

In an email dated July 10, 2012 the customer states he broke the dash when installing it.

 

To date, dashes from the same mould have been installed satisfactorily in hundreds of Alfa Romeo Spiders.

 

Using measurements provided by the customer, we 1) checked with our supplier and 2) compared measurements with stock on our shelves. We verified the dash received by the customer was consistent with the manufacturer's specifications and the same in size as dashes on hand.

 

We at Vick Autosports have received no refund from our European supplier. We do we expect a refund as the dash was not defective.

 

We have not delayed resolution of the customer’s claim. The product was sold as advertised and not defective. No refund is due.

 

 

Consumer Response:


I have included for your reference the emails between us and Vick's, please take note that according to **** at Vick's he spoke to the manufacturer, who told him they made the dashes 1/2 inch smaller, thus the fitment issue of the dash being too small for the car.  Per  my husbands email dated 7/10/2012 he did not break the dash when installing, he was installing one of the seats and heard the crack, which later was to be found to be the dash, by the glove box area (which you have pictures of), appears to be a stress crack.

***** can't even seem to get his dates correct, we originally placed our big order on April 24th, the dash was on backorder from the manufacturer, and was not shipped until May 24, 2012,  and the door panels were not shipped with the dash, the dash was shipped separately from the door panels, because of the bulkiness of the dash.

Don't forget the fact the dash was not as described, since it supposedly it was quality hard plastic,which it is not. Hard plastic, is consistent color thru-out, this is not. This material is of some kind of composite material.

If Vicks's is willing to pay for the shipping of this dash to be returned to them  and replace with a dash and pay for the shipping of the new dash, as described in the catalog as resolution that would be great if not I would like my $ money refunded.


Business Response:

About the dates for the shipments that I provided in my previous response, I would state I provided them to simply to provide a timeline. If the dates are reversed that has no bearing on the complaint.

To correct the record, in the email from our salesperson to the customer **** does not say that the 1/2 inch smaller dash posed a "fitment issue of the dash being too small for the car." He said plainly "they made it narrower to make installation a bit easier."

 

To be clear the replacement dash we sell has no working parts. The sizing of the mould for the replacement dashes is uniform. This same dash is available elsewhere and is sized exactly as the one we sent to our customer.

 

It was my impression the customer’s complaints were that the product was 1) not as advertised and 2) defective.  Since the customer will accept a free replacement for the one broken during installation, it appears the customer finds the quality acceptable.  Simply put: The dash broke during installation and the customer wants a new one free.

Our warranty does not cover products broken due to improper installation.