Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

T C M AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR INC

Phone: (817) 275-0653 Fax: (817) 275-0654 2201 W PIONEER PKWY, ARLINGTON, TX 76013 http://www.tcmautomotive.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that T C M AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR INC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for T C M AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR INC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on T C M AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR INC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 19, 1996 Business started: 07/21/1994 Business started locally: 07/21/1994
Business Management
Mr. TOM GROSS, PRESIDENT
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. TOM GROSS, PRESIDENT
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Services Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile

Industry Tips
automotive engine repair

Additional Locations

  • 2201 W PIONEER PKWY

    ARLINGTON, TX 76013

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/15/11, I took my 1999 Subaru legacy outback to TCM to check it out and paid $148.26 for diagnostics and checking the a/c. They came back with an estimate for over $500 for the a/c and $5,000 for a new engine due to a piston not firing. No one in their right mind would put that kind of money in that car, so I decided to just keep driving it until it died. I put $40 worth of freon in it and did nothing else but oil changes, and my car has been running good, with cold a/c for two summers. TWO YEARS this car has been fined. I feel like they tried to take advange of me, especially since I am a woman.

BBB Response:   Ms ******* came in and was concerned with the ticking noise in the
engine, an oil leak and the ac not cooling.

 

  We performed the diagnostics on all 3 items and found that:

 

   1) The #3 cylinder had only 45 psi. It needs a min of 137 psi. to
fire the cylinder. That was telling us there is a dead cylinder. The engine is
running on 3 cylinders not all 4. The repair for this problem is
major engine repair, we suggested a used engine be installed at this point due
to the high milage on the vehicle.

 

    2) We found the high side hose for the ac disconnected
from the  compressor. we reattached and charged so we could find any other
problems. We found that freon was leaking from both the high and low side
hoses. At that point we discharged the system and told the cust our
findings. As TCM Automotive Repair policy, we do leave freon in 
leaking systems. No freon was charged to the customer.

 

    3) The oil leak is the axle seals leaking on the trans. They
need to be replaced.

 

    After our diagnosis we discussed the needed repairs with Ms.
****** and she declined to do any repairs. She was charged the diagnostic fee
that was discussed with her before any diagnostics were done and we did not see
her for two years.

 

    She showed up her a short while back and told us she was
still driving the car and felt she was not treated fairly on her only visit.

 

   We explained to her just because the engine was still running it
did mean it is running well. A cylinder with low compression does not fix
itself. She agreed it was still running rough, which it would since it is only
running on 3 cylinders.

 

    She said that she charged the ac and it is still cooling.
The compressor was good so it should have. The hoses are still leaking, we
don't know how many times she has charged it.

 

     She didn't comment on the leaking axle seals.

 

     Ms. ******* was not treated unfairly here. She came in
with specific requests and we adressed them all completly. She was not
charged for anything that was not agreed upon before her car was pulled in
the shop. At this point we gave her all the information she needed to make the
proper decision to repair or not repair the vehicle.

 

    We do not  decide if a vehicle is to be repaired or not
,the customer does and she choose not to repair it.

 

    If we can be of any further assistance please let us
know.

 

                                                             


 

Consumer Response: It was not a "short time" later;   IT WAS TWO YEARS later.   I am complainining that I paid for an estimate (over $100!), just to get a request for thousands more dollars, which I am so glad I didn't pay!  This is a 1999 Subaru Outback and was not even worth the $6000 they were aking to fix it and they told me not to drive on any long trips or anything.   So, they were trying to get all this money from me for a car that has worked just fine for the last two years! 

Regards,

******* *******



5/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car from TCM on 4-13-13 and on 4-20-13 the engine quit working. I had it towed to my mechanic on 4-20-13. they told me the next monday morning that the engine was toast. My mechanic said that there was probably bearings spun on the crank shaft as well as the cam shaft. The oil level is good and oil is good. However my mechanic noticed that the heads had been removed and concluded that the engine has been opened up and obviosly the work done was inproper. So, i immediatly called *** at TCM. He is the one which actually sold me the car, He won't speak to me. yesterday or today. Instead, i got to speak with a ******, and he would not give me his last name. He also lied and said he was in sales. I asked to speak to ***. He said no. I asked then to speak with an owner, first he said no, then he said he was the owner, then he hung up. During the back and fourth banter, i asked (3) time for them to help me fix this car, each time i asked the reply was no. Also he (******) said that they had been driving the car every day for months before we purchased it. Well when we bought the car fro ***, he said they had just bought it at auction and they have not driven it except to test the repairs that were made. which he told me and my wife that the "timing belt had just been replace as well as all the fluids". I said " so no major engine work then" *** replied, "No", like he was proud of that fact. Also, (3) three of 4 tires were flat. I made them air them up before my wife drove the car. That doesn't sound like the car was driven daily before i purchased it. Also, (3) three of 4 tires were completly wore out. Un-inspectable and dry rotted. In a nutshell, my problem is this, They sold me a lemon. Some one has done major work to the engine and the damage was terminal. I wasn't made aware of this. The salesman has lied to me and won't talk to me and left my familiy stranded on a major highway on a Saturday night.

Desired Settlement: Just dealing with the un-friendly staff at TCM, I don't want a new motor, I would like a full 100% refund of my money spent on this car $3,889.38. The $600.00 in tires, the $100 in hood struts, the $50 coil pack, and the $130 spent on a towing service, well i obviously would love to have that back but, i would settle for the princaple amount.

BBB Response:

Mr. ***** did not buy a vehicle from TCM Automoitve Repair, Inc. The vehicle was purchased from TCM
Vehicles, inc.
The vehicle in question was bought as is, as you can see from the enclosed paper work. The as is
documents has Mr. *****'s signature on one and his initials on the other. It was also explained to him that it was
as is and absolutely no warranty.
As for him calling here, one of the owners tried to talk to him but his belligerent language and accusations
forced us to terminate the call. We never refused to talk to him, but we will not carry on a conversation in that
manner.
Mr. ***** said that he had a pre purchase inspection done elsewhere. As to the tires, the price of the
vehicle was lowered to help compensate him for the upcoming expense.