Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rick's Automotive Inc

Phone: (817) 558-2523 Fax: (817) 517-5495 1110 N Main St, Cleburne, TX 76033 http://www.ricks-automotive.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rick's Automotive Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rick's Automotive Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Rick's Automotive Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1994 Business started: 04/01/1984 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated 06/23/1993 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
920 Colorado, Austin TX 78701
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
Fax Number: (512) 463-9468
The number is 0513758VSF.

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
920 Colorado, Austin TX 78701
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
Fax Number: (512) 463-9468
The number is 0000038058.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick A Ruback, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick A Ruback, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Transmissions - Automobile Towing - Automotive Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Rick's Wrecker Service
Industry Tips
automotive engine repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rick's Automotive Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1110 N Main St

    Cleburne, TX 76033 (817) 558-2523

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint 2 of 1(2nd complaint). Charges are believed to be false and/or overcharged,overpriced regarding verbal estimates and narrative estimates. 1) Technician narrative report states that adjusted was the alternator belt,air conditioning belt and power steering belt when indeed this is a single belt,easy accesable and was listed as multiple charges and over 2 hours of labor. The vehicle was kept over the weekend as customer service rep reports that the belt is just to difficult to get to. 2) Technician narrative report lists that the humming noise meant that the rear differential needed to be replaced when indeed the humming noise has since to be found to be from front(in engine) by another individual that inspected it at customer request pending Rick's Automotive. Verbal estimate of $1100 for the rear differential and this was not even the issue. They report that the rear end of car would need to be taken off. Once taken off then they would not even be able to repair it! Hence...customer would be charged extensive labor for an issue that Rick's can't even repair. 3) Ignition switch is NOT in need of replacing. It presents with brake light on,but is not in need of replacing entire unit. Report lists $139.25 labor for ignition switch and $223.62 for parts. List states that customer declined the switch and this is not accurate. The receipt reads as though this was already charged to the customer. 4) Replacement of cabin filter labor and part charge was indeed over priced> $46.42 labor and $46.78 parts with a subtotal of $92.83. This is a $10-15 dollar filter that is easily replaced by an individual that would replace themselves as oppose to taking to an automotive business. 5) Return call from owner was never placed to customer as requested. Total bill in labor @ $464.16. Since this,the car has been inspected by another individual that proved charges were indeed over priced,possibly false and or altered to meet the desired extensive amount of money company needed or wanted. Explainations to customer were poor when asked,phone reps were not completely knowledgeable to give answers needed regarding charges.

Desired Settlement: 1/2 of charges to be reimbursed,apology and extensive itemized print out of labor time involved for each issue including part charges.

Business Response: Hello, I spoke to you on the phone this morning. I am attaching a phone conversation between my service writer **** & our customer and a diagram of the 2 belt system. The Cabin Air filters come in a twin pack & sold as one part. Attached is a letter breaking down what we did on our customers vehicle. We had many phone calls on this vehicle from I believe the mother and daughter. It was kind of confusing as we had to repeat our self's and they were speaking to 2 different service writers **** and ****. **** also spoke to our customer. Our customer said to **** that she was having regrets that she purchased this vehicle. If I can answer any other questions or if you want me to describe anything differently please call me. I have very little experience with unhappy customers. If you look at our reviews on our web page we score very highly. Thanks, **** ******

Consumer Response:

1) I am the customer,the car belongs to me but my mother presented the car for repairs(******* ******). She was the only one that made the calls that are being referred to. The complaint however is coming from myself. The only conversation that came into play with me was when we physically presented in Rick's to pay the $547.60 bill. And yes....at that time more questions were asked by myself and my mother. If the confusion lies with questions and not knowing who you were taking to and having to repeat yourself then maybe you should consider this-------a $547 dollar bill is without a doubt worth questioning especially when you are dealing with 2 female customers that do not understand the terminology that is being used. Maybe getting to know your customers on a more personal basis would have cleared up any confusion everyone had.  Just because a business is listed/registered with the BBB does not mean they supply "better business" or even good business/fair business.

 

2)After further investigation and inspection of my vehicle by my husband and another Automotive facility, we discovered that the labor time involved was not broke down as requested. Did it take an hour to change a(dual) cabin filter? Labor $46.42 x2 as the receipt reads and parts of $46.78(total of $93.20). Did it honestly cost $92.83 for the technician to determine that the ignition switch needed to be replaced? The receipt reads as $92.83 x2 on labor for technician to determine it needed to be replaced. This appears that we were charged $92.83 twice for the same conclusion(ignition). I want hours of labor/minutes involved on each issue. The receipt is confusing so if there is confusion on their end as to the multiple questions asked by myself and my mother,it is fault of their own. Total labor charge was $464.16 and anyone has a right to question this amount of money ....anyone. I don't expect anyone work for free,but I do expect fair prices and honest prices including an EXACT breakdown of labor,time involved and prices.

 

3) The belts adjusted: technician listed that the following belts were adjusted/tightened----drive,alternator,power steering,air conditioning. My husband reports that this is all from the same belt(single belt). The grand total for this on the receipt reads as $92.83 x2 under labor. Subtotal is listed as $92.83 x2 on receipt. So-----were we charged x2 for the same thing?

 

4) I want this receipt to be broke down as I have requested. As it appears now,we were charged x2(92.83) on the diagnostic labor for the ignition switch and the belt adjustment.

 

5)Supply fee was $30.66. What does this pertain to?

 

6) I stand firm----we are owed money back. If not for faulty charges,it would be for the outrageous amount of money we payed in the first place. Someone needs to investigate this other than myself. I will take to higher ground if needed.

Also-----fyi. The technician at Rick's determined that the rear differential needed to be replaced. They informed me and my mother that this was not even a for sure thing,and that the whole rear end of my vehicle would need to be taken off to indeed determine this................. It has since been determined since I took elsewhere that it was indeed not the rear differential rather the  transmission fluid was the problem. Estimated cost per their words(technician: ****)-----a whopping $1100 to replace. Regrets or not in buying the vehicle,this assessment was wrong and outrageous.

 



Business Response:

******* ******'s vehicle was brought in to us on Friday morning. 

 

 Customer  requested us to diagnose the following problems with her vehicle & repair.

1. Low volume of air flow from air conditioning vents.

2. Brake light coming on & off by its self while driving & air conditioning air flow would stop while driving                                 when light comes on.

3. Customer hears a loud noise at 50 & 60 MPH.

4. When starting vehicle customer hears loud screeching noise under the hood.

 

 

Air Conditioning  vents had low air flow. We checked the blower motor resistance & checked the cabin air filters. The glove box assembly was removed to check and to change the cabin air filters and they were extremely blocked. The air filters were saved and we showed the filters to the customer. The glove box was reinstalled and  we did have better air flow. The air conditioner evaporator is most likely dirty as the filters were in such bad shape.  We charged  $92.83 diagnoses and $46.42 labor on replacing the filters and $ 46.78 for the 2 cabin air filters.

 

Electric problems with the vehicles brake lights and air conditioning blowing was dropping out?  Found that customer had faulty Ignition switch which is related to the problem stated. **** ****** Suzuki took 2 hrs to call us back with pricing on the ignition switch. We were questioning  if this was the correct part as we needed to buy a whole ignition including the  cylinder lock with ignition switch.  The estimate given for the electrical repair involved tear down of the steering column. Diagnoses & repair estimate came to $92.83 diagnose & labor to do the job is $139.25 & $223.62 for part. Suzuki says that to expect a 2 week wait on the part. Customer declined repair.  Charged customer the $92.83 for diagnoses.

 

Road Test vehicle for loud noise at highway speeds.  We hear a humming noise coming from the rear differential.  On return from the test drive we put the vehicle on a above ground lift and ran vehicle. We listen again and used stethoscope listing for humming noise. Pull inspection plug on rear differential  check fluid level and no sign of water contamination. We advised customer that the noise was coming from the rear differential & we recommended if it got worse that replacement may be necessary. We charged $92.83 for the diagnoses on this item.

 

Engine compartment was inspected for loud screeching and we found both serpentine belts were loose. Tech  loosened both belts further. Inspected the pulleys and listen with a stethoscope for a bearing noise coming from any moving components.  Tighten the adjusted tension on both serpentine belts.  We charged $46.42 to tighten the belts and we charged $92.83 to diagnose where the noise was coming from. The noise was coming from incorrection belt tension.  SEE DIAGRAM  for 2 belt system.

Customer called at approx 3 p.m. Monday  and we advised that the vehicle is ready for pick up other than the electrical repair. We were told to order the parts and on Wednesday  she advised that she learned that the vehicle is no longer being made and regretted making the purchase of this vehicle. We called Suzuki and canceled our order.  Customer was asking a lot of What if Questions on the phone and we were telling her some rough estimates from the  top of our head answers during the phone conversation. I have all the calls recorded and we had calls from ** ***** & ******. Both parties were speaking to the Tech **** and both service writers **** & ****. **** our tech is an ASE MASTER TECH with 14 years of experience. Certificates are available upon request.

This vehicle was purchased used and it appears that the routine maintenance was lacking.

**** ******

President

 

 

Hello,

I spoke to you on the phone this morning. I am attaching a phone conversation between my service writer **** & our customer and a diagram of the 2 belt system. The Cabin Air filters come in a twin pack & sold as one part.  Attached is a letter breaking down what we did on our customers vehicle. We had many phone calls on this vehicle from I believe the mother and daughter. It was kind of confusing as we had to repeat our self's and they were speaking to 2 different service writers **** and ****. **** also spoke to our customer. Our customer said to **** that she was having regrets that she purchased this vehicle. If I can answer any other questions or if you want me to describe anything differently please call me. I have very little experience with unhappy customers. If you look at our reviews on our web page we score very highly. Thanks,

**** ******

Consumer Response: 1) A $92.83 per diagnosis is an outrageous amount and this information should have been revealed to the customer/customers before touching the vehicle.....used or not,repairs needed or not,regrets in buying vehicle expressed by customer or not. This is my main issue---if you plan on diagnosing an issue then this outrageous diagnosis amount should be revealed immediately. I am requesting a refund of the 2 diagnosis charges in the amount of $92.83>> $185.66. 2) There are no phone conversations present that I am aware of in speaking to me(****** Watson). I never spoke with anyone regarding any estimate. The phone conversations occurred with ******* ****** and the payment was made soley by her. I NEVER spoke to **** over the phone. This information is FALSE. Certificates of **** not needed as offered. Years of experience and certificates don't necessarily equal honesty,authenticity,fairness in price,and a correct or even honest diagnosis. If you charge $92.83 per diagnosis then why should I believe any different?? Thank you all the same though. 3) I look for resolution because I have come to these conclusions.... ** this is a "free enterprise" state/world we live in and a company can obviously charge what they want and charge JUST BECAUSE THEY CAN. This does not present good or fair business practice to a customer at all. It is not "pro customer". I am not aware of any recorded conversation that the diagnosis of anything would cost $92.83!! This is of the up most importance to inform a customer. *** It is obvious to me that the measly fees paid by a company to the BBB mean nothing between the 2 parties and are not "pro-customer". These correspondences are simply monitored rather "baby sat" to resolve nothing on behalf of the customer. The company obviously stands their ground on any outrageous charges that pile up. 4) I am not seeing a diagram attached as referred to 5) I will NOT refer anyone to this company. I will simply take it to who I trust and advise my mother(******* ******) to do the same. I have since had it inspected elsewhere and by multiple family members who are ACE MASTER TECHS in what they do as well. I stand firm----the labor charges,diagnosis charges are unbelievable and the rear differential DOES not need replacing. 6) The multiple questions asked by customer that were referred to----it is our right as a customer to question a whopping $547 bill! Rick's Automotive should answer any questions asked at any time. It is of no matter what is asked,how it is asked or how many times. IT IS YOUR JOB to explain the overpriced charges.

4/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter's vehicle needed repaired. My husband requested an estimate before ANY work was done on the vehicle. We agreed to pay the $50.00 towing charge. Person my husband spoke to on the telephone did not disclose there was a charge for an estimate, nor did he say it was free. There is nothing on the website that says they charge for estimates. When we were told it would cost $1700 to repair the car, we made arrangements to get the car somewhere else. Before they would release the car, we had to pay $266.00, with the charges being a total for replacement of the battery (not authorized), the tow charge of $50.00 (authorized) and the charge for an estimate. As a side note, another company has given us a total estimate of $450 for the same repairs that this company stated the car needed.

Desired Settlement: I agreed to the tow fee. I did not agree to the replacement of the battery, hence requesting an ESTIMATE before work was performed. The battery DID need replaced and I would have to have paid for it regardless, so I am willing to pay for the battery, but I feel a partial refund of the charges are in order. I would like to see a refund of the labor costs and part of the estimate fee since work was performed without authorization.

Business Response: Hello, I have attached 3 audio phone calls between Mr. ****** & Rick's Automotive staff. In audio #2 Mr. ****** authorized us to install a battery. He also requested us to find out what his vehicle needed to make the brakes safe. His daughter will be driving this vehicle. We told him we would check out what needs to be repaired before we start doing any repairs. We have a minimum fee for checking out a vehicle. Mr. ****** should have no expectation that we work for free. The brake system had a foreign fluid in the brake lines that has contaminated the hydraulic from the Master Cylinder, Brake Lines, Wheel Cylinders & Calipers. The $46.42 charged to Mr. ****** is a very reasonable rate. Charles ********* ASE Master Technician preformed the inspection & diagnosis. We use Quality parts at Rick's Automotive Inc. We have a 98% customer satisfaction score as we are a AAA approved auto repair facility as well our A+ rating with the BBB. Mr. ****** never spoke to us about being over charged. He just stated that he "couldn't go that route". He asked how much it would cost to pick up the vehicle & if we charged storage. In retrospect Rick's Automotive Inc. doesn't feel that we made an error in our handling of Mr. ****** request. Sincerely, **** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Rick's Automotive Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart