Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.


Phone: (682) 518-7660 Fax: (682) 518-7658 3221 E Broad St, Mansfield, TX 76063

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for KWIK KAR LUBE & TUNE OF MANSFIELD include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 27, 2010 Business started: 08/12/2008 in 0 Business started locally: 08/12/2008 Business incorporated 08/12/2008 in TX
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Stephen M Cooper, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen M Cooper, President/Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names

Additional Locations


    3221 E Broad St

    Mansfield, TX 76063 (682) 518-7660


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Kwik Kar to get a state inspection completed on my car. The service guy came to the car asked what I needed and then ask me to get my insurance out. He went back in the center and talked with an American Man that worked their. I could not here the conversation but then the service guy came back out and said that his manager said that they could not service my car. I asked to speak with the manager who I thought was the African American man but a Caucasian lady appeared and said that they have the right to refuse service. I asked her why was she refusing my service all I needed was a state inspection. She then says that the owner does not want to do business with me or my husbands vehicles. I said since when I come here all the time. I get my oil changes there and they completed my brake system service on my car. I have always gotten work completed on my car. I don't understand why now I can't get a simple inspection completed on the car. I have NEVER had any problems with getting work completed on my car. But she never explained to me why they would refuse service. She just said that she didn't ask her boss why. Very weird situation. Has never happened to me before. Especially since you can not tell me why. My brake system is still under warranty so if something goes wrong (they are squeaking right now by the way) will you honor the warranty or refuse to service me?

Desired Settlement: I just need an explanation as to why they refused my business today (March 14, 2015).

Business Response: During the prior visit by the complaint’s family member, this family member apparently did not like hearing the explanation regarding the condition of the vehicle that was brought to our company even though we did not charge for this service. This family member has always being monopolizing of our employee's time and we have always tried very hard to cater to this family’s every need and request. However, during this particular visit, this family member became quarrelsome, offensive, and rude to our company and employees to the point of slamming the car door in an employee’s face. This unfavorable action was reviewed and determined to be unacceptable. Thus, a business decision was made that it would be best for both parties to separate and go different directions. After that incident, we really never expected to see anyone from this family again. It was a slight shock when the complainant was seen in our driveway asking for service on the date recorded.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10532819, and find that at least I somewhat now know why I was not serviced that day.  His manager could have told me that while I was there.  It would have been better when they made the decision to not take business from all of my family members that they notified us of the decision.  Since we are repeat customers and one of my family members works for your store.  I don't think that they are showing any respect by their decision based on one person.  I talked with my husband about the situation because I had no idea any disagreement had happened when I took my car there for a simple inspection.  My husband told me that you guys completed an oil change on his car that day the owner is referring to but when he went to get the car it would not start, no one came to offer help or to see why he had no left the premises for an hour but I am guessing the mechanic and manager did not tell you about that part.   So any person in that situation would question what was completed on the car.  The mechanic at the time whom I believe no longer works for the company (got fired)  told my husband that it was not the starter on the car. My husband then had it towed to another place were they found that it was the starter and they replaced it. But it looks like you got rid of the problem which was the mechanic.  But had I known that we were not allowed to return to Kwik Kar I would have never shown my face in an establishment that does not want to deal with me.  Like I stated before I did not know and was embarrassed and could not believe that I (my husband was not with me at the time....I was in my car not his) was being turned away.  And now I know it was because of someone else's actions not my own. Definitely not the way I would do business.  Kwik Kar is conveniently right up the street from my home and good for basic work...oil changes, inspections, brakes (that cost to much and only give one year of warranty). I would not recommend any major work on your car from this establishment because they can not handle anything other than the basics that I have stated above.  

10/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car was taken in 8/30/14 to replace front headlight lamp. They said they could replace the headlight and offered an oil change. Since we were there for the headlight we decided to get the oil changed also. After the oil was changed they informed us that they could not change the headlight. We later spoke to the manager, ******** who stated that they did not have the correct tools to change the headlight. A car maintenance business should know whether or not they have the capability to peform a service they offer. It seems that lied about their ability to change the headlight to sell the oil change. This is a deceptive business practice. Also, our car is not exotic it an a Honda Accord.

Desired Settlement: Kwik kar should refund the full balance of the oil change.

Business Response:

On the morning of August 30, 2014, Ms. ****** came to our establishment for a malfunctioning headlamp. It was determined that the light bulb was burned out. According to our records, her car had never been to our business before. After escorting her to our lobby and driving her car into our service area, we discovered that her car was due for an oil change according to her reminder sticker on the windshield. One of our service technicians went in to the lobby and explained that we noticed her oil change was due according to her reminder sticker and asked if she wanted us to perform this service while waiting for her car’s bulb to be replaced. She initially declined. A little while later, she opted to proceed with the oil change service.

We spent almost an hour attempting to replace this bulb. During which time, we discovered that we were missing a short, stubby screw driver that was needed to change the bulb. We knew another one was located in an employee’s locked toolbox who was off work for the day, but had no access to it. We tried to perform the bulb replacement without the short screwdriver, but was unsuccessful. This type of screwdriver is needed due to the precarious location under the fender and on the grill where the bulb is located inside the headlamp housing. Because this location is so difficult to access, one can only get their hand wormed in there to access the bulb, thus the reason for the short, stubby screwdriver.

While attempting to change the bulb, two other service technicians performed the following activities on her car:

Vacuumed the front floor, checked the working condition of all the other lights on the vehicle, and washed the windshield. We also checked and adjusted the tire pressure in all four tires. Additionally, we checked the levels of the transmission fluid, engine coolant, brake fluid, and power steering fluid. We checked the conditions of the engine air filter, serpentine belt, the wiper blades, and the battery. We added windshield washer fluid to the washer reservoir because it was low. We also checked the currency of the State of Texas inspection sticker. And lastly, we changed the oil and oil filter. After we made a full assessment of the condition of the vehicle, the customer was escorted from the lobby to her car where we reviewed the condition of her car’s fluids and maintenance components.

We pride ourselves on honesty and integrity and take every allegation seriously. While the customer car was in our care, we serviced it to our industry’s highest quality standards. We have successfully serviced many headlamps while being in business, many of which was this same make and model. Our staff is well-trained and experienced in almost all makes and models, especially this one. If we had realized ahead of time that we were missing a tool and unable to change the bulb, we would have explained that to the customer ahead of time. We continued working on changing the bulb the entire time, even while the customer was present when we did our review. We worked relentlessly on her car with three service technicians and one supervisor. All our work was done while still trying to replace the bulb.

We humbly apologized and respectfully asked the customer to return when this small screwdriver was available. We did not like doing so, but thought that was a better option rather than spending the customer’s time unnecessarily waiting for us to drive to the nearest store to get this tool. Given that this was Saturday morning with beautiful weather, it was a destination day. Meaning many people would be on the roads and in the DIY stores creating crowds and congestion. Because of this, it would have taken an extra hour. We respect our customers and their time too much to make them wait unnecessarily.

The customer was only charged for the service that we performed and no more. Ethically, and in good conscious we would not, could not charge a customer for the time that we spent trying to perform a service that we were unsuccessful in performing. Unfortunately, there are businesses who do, thus giving our industry a bad reputation.

Later the customer returned to our business. Apparently during her daily travels she had gone elsewhere to have the bulb changed. At that time, the customer demanded her money be refunded for the oil change service that we did perform.

While it displeases us that this customer is not satisfied, we have not done anything wrong or out of character with our high quality standards. We have exhausted all measures in gaining this customer’s satisfaction. We performed other services on Ms. ******’s while trying to replace the bulb. No extra time was used in doing so and thought we could replace the bulb. We even asked the customer to return when we found that we did not have what was needed to replace the bulb. If Ms. ****** had remained with her initial decision of not changing her oil, we would have respected that and still spent the same amount of time trying to change the bulb. There would have been no difference.

We do not lie nor do we scam customers into services they do not want. Employees’ employment would be terminated if they do otherwise as it is against our policy. We only hire employees who fit our process of taking care of our customer. We feel it is our responsibility to educate and inform customers of the condition of their vehicles. Customers have come to depend on us for this and have repeatedly told us how much they appreciate us for this process.

Consumer Response:
When I arrived at the station, I asked the service technician at check in if they could change my headlight, to which he responded "yes". The owner's account is accurate initially. They did ask if I wanted an oil change and I declined at first. But when the second technician asked me the same thing I decided to go ahead and have my oil changed while I waited for my headlight to be replaced.  For reference, the sticker on the windshield did show I needed an oil change by the mileage, but the indicator in the car was still at 15% oil life remaining. 

I am not sure whether they did the routine checks the owner mentioned in his response. I only saw them cleaning my windshield. No one mentioned that they had to add fluid to my windshield washer or anything else. The service technician brought me out one time in an attempt to sell a pricier oil filter and synthetic oil.  At no point during the service, did they inform me that there was any issue with changing my headlight.  
As I was checking out, the technician told me the charge was $36 and some change for the oil change and then he added that they could not change my headlight.  He then suggested I go buy a bulb from an auto supply store, because it would be cheaper.  And then, he said, I could take it to another mechanic to replace my headlight. And he just apologized for the inconvenience.  
At this point I am no longer concerned about the money. I did feel that they could have made some sort of offer at the time of service for my inconvenience, but they did not. When I went back to the shop to express my concerns about what happened, the manager's only reply was that I "received a service". And after our discussion she offered $5.00 back, which I did not accept.  From my perspective this whole issue boils down to the technician's / manager's lack of communicating to me that there was any issue with providing the service that I went there to receive in the first place.