Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of 2ND OPINION AUTO CENTERS?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

2ND OPINION AUTO CENTERS

Phone: (817) 222-2678 Fax: (817) 222-2708 1936 CARSON STREET, FORT WORTH, TX 76117 http://www.2ndopinionautocenter.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 2ND OPINION AUTO CENTERS meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 2ND OPINION AUTO CENTERS include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 2ND OPINION AUTO CENTERS
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1984 Business started: 08/10/1982 in 0 Business started locally: 08/10/1982 Business incorporated: 08/10/1982 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: DAN G. HARRIS, PRESIDENT/OWNER
Business Category

AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO SERVICES

Alternate Business Names
2ND OPINION, INC.
Industry Tips
automotive engine repair

Additional Locations

  • 1936 CARSON STREET

    FORT WORTH, TX 76117

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I came to this business in need of repair for my dodge ram 1500 the day I had the truck picked up was the same day I explained what I wanted done I ask for a complete check of the truck I was having trouble with my transmission as well as multiple check engine lights I explained I wanted everything fixed I was given a estimate of over 3500 to 4000 to fix a number of problems after about a month passed I get a phone call saying the truck is ready for me to pick it up I come to the business on a Friday to complete payment and pick up the truck I wasn't even out of the parking space before I noticed the truck would not move when in gear I stopped the truck and proceeded to find the tech that worked on my truck he came and looked over the truck for less then 5 mins and then said there are more problems and they needed to be fixed and that they would start Monday morning I expressed my disapproval of the work and I got a sorry to bad I'll call you when I find the problem this is after the 500 dollar final payment and the month I had to wait he said I don't know ,I don't know I drove the truck I didn't have any problems I asked when he drove the truck and how far was the test drive he didn't answer the question and just pointed at the back of there shop witch was about 100 yards from where the truck was parked so he didn't test the truck when completed I stayed calm and left the business to do as they told me they were going to do.the next Monday afternoon I receive a call from the business saying there are a hole new list of other problems that I have to pay for but first they were sending my truck back to the transmission shop for repair on the brand new transmission I paid for after another week passed I receive another call from the business saying that now there's other problems that need fix of course more money was needed to fix what they told me the day before I headed up there to compleat payment I want a complete refund for what I've paid for as of now 3300.00

Desired Settlement: The complete amount I've payed as of now $3300.00 I waited over a month for the repairs and what was replaced isn't fixed

Business Response:

The customer came to pickup his truck on Friday may 2nd it still had a transmission problem which ended up being a electrical problem.We replaced the transmission

the electrical problem is another problem.We fixed the electrical problem for free.He pickup the truck on Monday may 5th.After we got the complaint we called him

he said everything was ok that he would stop the complaint.  

Consumer Response:

 
I did not say I would stop the complaint I told the business that I will have the truck looked over by another company to ensure everything that was done was done properly I have not gotten to getting the vehicle to another reputable Automotive Center as soon as I have the truck inspected by the dealer of my choice I will then make a decision upon my findings




3/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2nd Opinion Auto, after having my 1978 VW for 8 weeks, returned it to me where I have now had to put it back in the shop multiple times for various reasons having to do with the original work that they were supposed to do. They replaced a head and did some additional engine work which is now having to be re-worked. They left items undone and did not properly inspect the overall car which I was very precise in asking them to do. When they went over on the agreed budget, I called the owner, *** to discuss. He was very agressive and told me that what they were replacing didn't cost much (even though they were almost $600 over what I had told them I wanted to spend). I made it clear to him that his Service Manager, ***** had NEVER discussed anyting with me over the intiial $1,000 that I agreed to. Now I've taken it to an authorized VW mechanic to repair their repairs. I've had to have the engine dropped out of it agian, the same head repaired and some additional things that were not done at the time of the original repair (seals, etc). Interestingly enough, when the car was finally returned to me, it had a dead battery and their Service Manager thought it was hysterical. I did not. I don't think it's funny to spend $1600 on a car and show up to pick it up only to find it with a dead battery.

Desired Settlement: I want some of the almost $1600.00 I paid them in fees to be returned to me so that the addtiional repairs can be covered through the new mechanic.

Business Response: Customer ****** ********'s car had broken down across the street from our shop. Customer advised us that the car had been purchased on Ebay out of state. Customer was taken home via owner that day since she had no transportation. During the diagnositics customer was informed that this car had been coverted from fuel injected to carbuarated by a previous owner; with several parts detached. A prior quote was given to the customer for head work, and after the repairs were completed a rear main seal was found leaking and we advised the customer that this was a new problem and would be repaired at a courtesy no charge. The initial estimate that was given to the customer was for over $1800.00 and $1536.30 was the final bill. Customer works out of town so numerous attempts to contact customer regarding the repairs were delaying the process of completion and picking up her vehicle when it was completed. Car was completed on 11/29/12 and was picked up on 12/17/12. A follow-up call was made on 12/26/12 to check on the status of the vehicle and a voice mail was left. 2nd Opinion has been unaware of any problems the customer has stated prior to this complaint. Customer does have a warranty with our shop of 6 months, 6,000 miles. If she would contact us and bring the vehicle back to 2nd Opinion we would be more than happy to determine any allegations she is referring to.

Consumer Response:

 

At no time did I agree to $1800 to fix this car.  At the time it broke down, the only thing that appeared to be wrong with it was, according to 2nd opinion, the gas tank needed to be replaced which they quoted to me at around $300.00.  I talked in deptth with the owner and felt comfortable with his knowledge of vintage cars and asked him to do a one-over on it as I had bought it out of town and had not been home enough to drive it to see if there were any major problems--I expressly told him that my goal was to make this car my every day driver.  The figure we agreed on was to keep it about $1000.00.  The head was replaced, gas tank was re-ionized.  At the point where the discussion was had about the leaking oil, I was angry with them for not involving me at all regarding all of the repairs.  The owner told me that the fuel injector was only $38.00.  It didn't matter to me how much it was, the fact that they were doing work that they didn't expressly discuss with me was the issue.  Then, I was told about an oil leak that now existed after the head work was done on the engine.  I was quoted another $250.00 to fix it and my response to them was that it didn't have an oil leak when I brought it to them.  My confidence level in whether I would get this car back, even running dropped drastically.  I asked them to make sure when I drove it off the lot that I could get it inspected in the state of TX and pass it.   When I went to pick it up, I asked them whether the right headlight had been fixed and was told by Sunny that they attempted to fix it and could not - it was an electrical problem.  When I further investigated, I realized that they had attempted to put the wrong fuse in it and that was the problem.  I was able to fix it myself and there was NO electrical problem.  In addition, when it was returned to me, the battery would hold no charge--evident by the fact that they had to jump it when I came to get it.  This left a very bad taste in my mouth as I felt as though once I confronted them about the other problems, they just stopped working on it.  Yes, the owner and his wife took me home when I broke down.  That was very nice of them and I very much appreciated it.  However, I did not appreciate Dan talking to me the way he did when i confronted him about the budget, not making process in the car repair (I called them every week for status and was treated as thought I was a burden) and the fact that they were not discussing anything with me about what they were doing as they were doing it which I made very clear.  I could have just had them fix the gas tank and be done.  The engine/head work was a bonus I was giving them because the owner made me feel comfortable.  I would not bring this car back to them for warranty work as they way it was given back to me--barely running--was unacceptable and if they couldn't get it right in the 8 weeks they had it, and had actually done damage to it, why would I consider a re-repair.  Obviiously, these guys didn't know what they were doing and instead of admitting that they didn't know how to work on vintage VW's, they let me walk with a car that wouldn't initially start, idoled badly and was in desperate need to go back in the shop - not theirs.  I told them on the front end that I travelled for my job frequenty.  In the last 16 months, I've literally been home 4 weeks.  I did not hide this from Dan or Sunny and told them that I was not only available by phone, if they needed some additional resources for original VW parts, to please let me know.  I also offered, because I knew my schedule of travel would make this difficult to manage, to forward monies to them during this period and was told that was not necessary.  I have an authorized VW mechanic working on it now because when I first took it to him, after spending another $800 on it to pass inspection and get it tagged, he looked at th engine and laughed at me.  He said that what I spent on getting this engine (and the gas tank) was ridiculous.  My air cooled engine was not properly sealed - you could see through to the ground when you open the engine compartment.  He told me that in itself was a problem becuase if it got hot, it would overheat.  He's now having to drop the engine out a 2nd time because the head that they replaced is potentially damaged. 

 

 

Business Response: As stated in our previous reply, the 1978 Volkswagon Beetle had been converted from fuel injected to carburated by a past owner; which in hence 2nd Opinion would not have quoted anything to the customer for a fuel injection. Considering this conversion was done, the car had come to the shop with missing pieces and parts left undone. Unfortunately, 2nd Opinion cannot further investigate on this issue without being provided itemized paid invoices from the customer. These invoices would help fully understand her situation and what is believed to have been an incorrect repair at our shop. The collection of these invoices would be much appreciated to help aid in the determination of any type of monetary.