BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Speedee Oil Change & Tune Up?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Speedee Oil Change & Tune Up

Phone: (817) 306-4300 Fax: (817) 306-1110 6605 N. Beach Street, Fort Worth, TX 76137 http://www.speedeeoil.com/locations/OilChange-TuneUp-Fort-Worth-TX.aspx View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Speedee Oil Change & Tune Up meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Speedee Oil Change & Tune Up include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Speedee Oil Change & Tune Up
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 09, 2001 Business started: 07/28/1999 in 0 Business started locally: 07/28/1999 Business incorporated: 07/28/1999 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Jim L. Field, Owner
Business Category

AUTO LUBE & OIL - MOBILE AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO SERVICES AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS

Alternate Business Names
Field Enterprises, Inc.
Industry Tips
automotive engine repair

Additional Locations

  • 6605 N. Beach Street

    Fort Worth, TX 76137

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle to SpeeDee Oil Change for an A/C performance check. My A/C has been blowing warm air from time to time. I wanted to do this performance check since we are in the heat of the summer. My A/C was blowing fine with COLD air. An employee got in my car (that was running) to do the performance check. He got in my vehicle and I told him that now it is blowing COLD and that I thought it might be a switch or I might need more Freon. He came back with a “yea” and then pulled my vehicle into the shop. My vehicle was still on. A different guy came in and asked me a few questions about my vehicle. They were yes/no questions. He went to the shop and came back in telling me they couldn’t get the compressor to turn on. I told him that it was JUST on and blowing COLD air. He came back in and said he tried to hotwire the compressor. I did not ask them to do that. He came back in and said “yea, it is the compressor & we can not get it to start”. I spoke to the owner and told him the issue. The first employee told him that the air was on but it was NOT COLD. This was a false statement or I would have been pouring sweat. Then they said they found a leak. I asked them to put my vehicle back to where it was and I left. They did not charge me but they aren’t taking responsibility for what they did to my car. I came in with it working and left with no A/C. How can someone help me?

Desired Settlement: I would like for my A/C to run like it was when I brought it in!

BBB Response:

I have received your memo dated 8-9-2012 regarding the case mentioned above. The following will review the
circumstances involving the matter in detaiL
Ms. ****** visited our store on or about August 6, 2012 with a problem with oil leaking from her engine. She
explained to us that she had her oil changed at Just Brakes down the street which resulted in the oil leak. She
further explained to us that she had returned to Just Brakes to correct the problem and they told her that there
was no leak, that she simply had residual oil coming down from the oil change that had not been cleaned off and
that she brought the vehicle to us for a second opinion. We looked at the oil pan condition for her and found
that the oil pan drain plug had been compromised and that a large amount of silicon sealer had been used to stop
the leaking with poor results. We explained the problem to Ms. ****** and advised her to take it back to Just
Brakes to resolve the problem. She was not charged for our time and efforts.
Ms. ****** returned to our store on or about August 7, 2012, she explained to us that she was experiencing
problems with her A/C system. She continued hy describing that her AJC system would intermittingly stop
rum1ing and provide only hot air and then without explanation start working and blow cold air. She also
explained that she had had Freon added at another service eenter recently. At that time, she asked us to do an
AJC Performance Check (ACPC) to find out what the problem was. At that time, one of our tech"s did look
under her hood and found that the compressor was not engaged. She was advised at that time that she could
have either a Freon issue or a compressor problem. We had to let her know that our mechanic was booked for
the remainder of the day and that we were unable to handle the service that day. We suggested that she make an
appointment for a later time and she made an appointment for 4 pm in the afternoon on August 9, 2012.
Ms. ****** returned to our store around 1:30pm, earlier than expected on August 9, 2012 requesting the
(ACPC) because her A/C was not working. Our greeting tech took Ms. ******'s request forilll (ACPC) and
drove the vehicle to our bay tive for our mechanic to work on leaving the vehicle running which is our standard
method of operation when our mechanic is available for immediate service (there was no "it's now blowing
cold" or "Yea" exchanged during this reception). Our mechanic began the requested (ACPC) within 2 to 3
minutes of arrival at bay five. The first item to be checked when beginning an (ACPC) is to check to see if the
compressor is working. Our mechanic found the compressor to be idle upon initial inspection. This means that
there can be no cold air blowing inside the vehicle. Often when the compressor is not working, the Freon has
leaked out and that causes the compressor the go to idle mode to protect it from destroying itself.
The next step in the (ACPC) is to search for a freon leak in the system; our mechanic moved to this step and
found a probable leak at one of the A/C Flex Hoses. Our mechanic had our inspection tech advise Ms. ******~
that a possible leak had been found and that we would continue the (ACPC) by checking to see how much had
been lost and advise. The next step in the ( ACPC) is to hook up our AJC equipment to the vehicle and measure
the Freon remaining in the system. This was done and less than 113 of the Freon had escaped from Ms.
******'s AJC System. The fact that this A/C system had enough Freon to initiate the AJC compressor to
running status indicated that there was another problem to be dealt with.
The next step in the (ACPC) is to find out if the compressor would run if it had power sent to the clutch
mechanism. The correct power was sent directly to the A/C clutch from the vehicle battery through our Power
Probe Tool and the clutch did not engage. This indicates that the compressor clutch is no longer dependable and
needs replacement. The tenn "hotwire" was never related to Ms. ******, she has made this up.
At this time, I gathered all the pertinent information regarding the (ACPC) that had been performed and relayed
everything that had been done and the result of the work was provided to Ms. ******. I advised her that she
should replace the AIC compressor on her Jeep because the labor to replace the dutch was excessive (there was
no "Yea, it is the compressor" ever spoken). She immediately blew up at me and told me that the AJC was
working when she arrived and that she wanted me to make it work before she left. I advised her that she had the
intermittent issue prior to arriving and that I couldn't make it go away without authorization to do the repair
work. Ms. ****** got ugly with me and advised me to give her vehicle back, she wanted to leave.
Due to the negative situation that Ms. ****** created in my waiting room in front of my wonderful customers, I
made the decision to move her out as soon as possible by letting her leave without payment of any kind for the
services rendered.
By her own admission, Ms. ****** admits that her A/C problem pre-existed her visit with us. At no time while
she was at our store did her AJC system work properly. At no time has Ms. ****** paid us for any of the time
spent on her vehicle relating to this issue and we have never been given the opportunity to repair the AJC system
for this vehicle. We have merely done a diagnostic (ACPC) on this vehicle, no work or repairs have been done.
Because if all of the above, we do not accept responsibility for the issues relating to the AJC system in this
vehicle. Her claims are not valid and are inappropriate due to the fact that the AJC system was not working
upon arrival.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.