Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Vandergriff Hyundai

Additional Locations

Phone: (817) 557-6700 Fax: (817) 299-2307 View Additional Phone Numbers 1120 W I-20, Arlington, TX 76017 http://www.vandergriffhyundai.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vandergriff Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vandergriff Hyundai include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Vandergriff Hyundai
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2006 Business started: 11/04/2005 in 0 Business started locally: 11/04/2005 Business incorporated 11/04/2005 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 465-4129
The number is P128014.

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 465-4129
The number is P128015.

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Rick Cantilini, Dealer Operator
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Cantilini, Dealer Operator
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Alternate Business Names
Vandergriff Hyundai GP LLC
Industry Tips
Automobile sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Vandergriff Hyundai has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1120 W I-20

    Arlington, TX 76017

  • PO Box 180189

    Arlington, TX 76096

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I traded in my car at this dealer, Labor Day weekend (9/5/15). While in financing I inquired about the cancellation of gap insurance on the vehicle I was trading in ******* the employee informed me that that cancellation was going to be processed the paperwork for currently filling out and that I could call and to inquire on the status of the refund at any time. Three weeks after our purchase received a call from the dealer stating that they made a mistake on our paperwork and we needed to come back in and re-fill out all of our paperwork. At the second signing I inquired on the cancellation of the gap insurance and ******** assured me again that he will be processing the cancellation for the original purchase date of September 5. In mid October I called the provider for the gap insurance to inquire on the status of the cancellation it was then when I found out that the cancellation was never requested . I called ******** from mid October to November 1 when I was able to get him on the line advised of the situation he inquired if I had received a pay off paperwork from Wellsfargo, ******** advise he needed the paperwork in order to process the cancellation. I called Wells Fargo and have them mail it to me a week later I sent ******** two text messages and two emails with a copy of the payoff for the trade in vehicle and requested he send me a copy of the cancellation (on 11/17/15). On (11/19/2015) I received an email from Bernard stating that he was not at work and could not process the cancellation but when you return to work he would. I called and left a voicemail 11/23 11/26 1127 with the text message on the 23rd no response until 11/30 when I went to the location and spoke to ****** he assured me that he would have the cancellation done properly as ******** never filled out the form at the sell of our new veh. While at the location and w/ ****** wellsfargo was called and requested to fax the payoff to the dealer. ****** took my # & said he didn't get.

Desired Settlement: In a hr he would call me. I never got a call, on 12/1 @1030 left a message called back at 330 And he answered. Inquired on status & ****** advised he never got the payoff letter. I asked why he didn't call like he said he would, his response "it was the end of the month I was busy this is not the only thing I am doing and this is not my mistake its ********'s" I asked if I could speak to a manager, his response "my director is going to tell you the same thing" I asked If he could send me the doc. Via txt so I could process the cancellation agai he assured me would. As of 12:05am 12/2 I still have not gotten the document I requested This process/ cancellation is pending a refund of $500 or more and we are now 3 months post the sell I pray for : Hyundai to front me the refund and when they have time to process the paper to the provider they can obtain Their refund. I will also like an answer to my refund to prior warranties purchased - tire warranty and extended warranty.

Business Response:

 

Vandergriff Hyundai has reached out to the customer and has resolved the issue.  The customer received their refund and they were satisfied with the results.

 

 

 

12/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON 11/12/2015 I PURCHASED A HYUNDAI VELOSTER CAR FROM VANDERGRIFF . EVERYTHING WAS NORMAL , DECIDED WITH THE VEHICLE AND WAS TIME FOR MY PAPERWORK WITH THE FINANCE MANAGER . I WAS GREETED BY HIM AND THE VERY FIRST THING I TOLD HIM WAS I DO NOT WANT THE EXTENDED WARRANTY ON MY VEHICLE TO WHICH HE SAID OK . WE WENT OVER THE PAPERS AND THE AMOUNT I WAS GOING TO FINANCE AFTER MY DOWN PAYMENTS AND TRADE WAS $12,102.00 ( ACCORDING TO MY SALES WOMEN ) BUT IN THE PAPER IT WAS 13487.00 TO WHICH I WAS SUSPICIOUS BUT THE FINANCE MANAGER EXPLAINED ME ( ACTUALLY HAD LIED ) THAT WAS THE AMOUNT THE LENDER CAME WITH AND STUFF . I DIDN'T PAY MUCH ATTENTION ( MY FAULT ) AS I WAS LATE FOR WORK . HE TOLD ME THAT HE GOT ME INTO SOME MPP CLUB PLUS PROGRAM THAT I DID NOT HAVE TO PAY SINCE HE NEGOTIATED WITH THE FINANCING COMPANY THAT WAS ALLY FINANCIAL AND ASSURED ME THAT I AM NOT CHARGED FOR THE ADDITIONAL WARRANTY . I WENT ON TO SIGN ON THE PAPERS AND WE WERE DONE . IT WASN'T UNTIL 8-9 DAYS LATER I REALIZED AFTER GOING THROUGH MY CONTRACTS THAT HE INDEED CHARGED ME 1385.00 FOR THAT NO COST WARRANTY WHICH HE TOLD ME . I TALKED TO SALES WOMEN AND SHE REFERRED ME TO FINANCE DIRECTOR WHO ASSURED ME THAT IT WILL BE CANCELLED AND REFUNDED BACK TO MY ORIGINAL LOAN AMOUNT AND I THOUGHT IT WAS SETTLED . IT WASN'T UNTIL TODAY 12-07-2015 THAT I CALLED THE MPP COMPANY AND THEY TOLD ME THAT NO CANCELLATION REQUEST HAS BEEN RECEIVED FROM THE DEALER AND I HAD TO INITIATE IT BY MYSELF WHICH I DID .. MY VERY CONCERN IS 1. FIRST THEY CHEATED/UNWILLINGLY SOLD ME SOMETHING I TOLD THEM IN THE BEGINNING I DID NOT WANTED 2. THEY ASSURED ME TO CANCEL IT BUT NEVER DID THAT . THAT IS WRONG BUSINESS PRACTICE WHERE THEY TRY TO SCAM THE CONSUMERS OUT OF THOSE EXTENDED WARRANTY DEALS . I BELIEVE I AM THE VICTIM OF THAT WRONG SELLING PRACTICE OF THEM WHERE THEY FORCEFULLY CHARGE YOU AND LIE YOU THAT YOU HAVEN'T BEEN CHARGED . I DO NOT WANT THE SAME THING TO HAPPEN TO OTHER CUSTOMERS WHO SHOP THERE .

Desired Settlement: IN MY CASE I HAVE INITIATED A CANCELLATION ON MY OWN . ( HOPE THAT WORKS ) THE DESIRED OUTCOME I WANT OUT OF THIS IS NO OTHER CUSTOMERS SHOULD BE WRONGFULLY CHARGED FOR SOMETHING THEY TOLD THAT THEY DO NOT WANT . THEY CANNOT FORCEFULLY OR BY MEANS OF ANY TRICK OR LIES OR SCAM TRY TO SELL THEIR PRODUCT TO THE CUSTOMER WHO REPEATEDLY TELLS THEM THEY DO NOT WANT IT . THEY HAVE TO DO THE BUSINESS WITH ETHICS AND CREATE AN ENVIRONMENT OF TRUST AND UNDERSTANDING .

Business Response:

Vandergriff Hyundai has processed the cancellation paperwork for the customer to get their refund.  The customer is aware of this and they are completely satisfied. 

 

 

5/28/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2013 Hyundai Sonata Sedan that was advertised at $15,400 and was stated to be a Hyundai CERTIFIED Pre-Owned vehicle. The PureCars Value Report/Carfax online says CERTIFIED. I was then told by the salesman ****** Carter that the car had not been through the shop for them to completely CERTIFY the vehicle and if it was CERTIFIED then it would have be $2,000 more. When I questioned the finance person ******** ****** about the car being CERTIFIED, he said that the car was not CERTIFIED. I explained to him that online the car was said to be CERTIFED, he said that it wasn't and advised me to get the extended warranty. We went through the extended warranty process and discounted the rate of $1480 with my Sam's Club membership. After returning home I looked the car up online again and it was clearly marked as a CERTIFIED VEHICLE with a sale price of $15400. I called the salesman and he insisted the car was not CERTIFIED and stated I could speak to ******** when I returned to pick up the vehicle. Upon my return to pick up the vehicle, ******** was out of the office so I spoke to a gentleman who was introduced as a Finance Manager and he told me the same thing the car was not certified and I advised he and ****** that they should not advertise a vehicle as CERTIFIED when they know that it isn't and they aren't going to CERTIFY it. They both apologized but that is not enough. ****** said they could CERTIFY it for $2000 more and stated he knew I wouldn't want to pay that. I then advised him, Why should I have to pay for an extended warranty when the car was said to be a Hyundai CERTIFIED vehicle, with the price of $15400? If it was not CERTIFIED then that was false advertisement and I didn't like or appreciate that. I asked for a copy of the CARFAX report and haven't received it. My encounter with Vandergriff was good up until that point. I have a complete print out of the online sales ad, price and other listed information on the vehicle as my proof.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my vehicle to be CERTIFIED as advertised, I would like an official copy of the CARFAX report I requested but did not receive and I would like to be reimbursed the $1480 for the extended warranty I was tricked into getting because I was lied to. The Federal Trade Commission and the Department of Consumer Protection would not be happy with these kind of sales practices!

Business Response: I am writing in response to complaint ID 10615578. I personally spoke to Mrs ***** in the dealership on May 8th and apologized for the car not being certified as displayed online. I had the car certified at no cost to her and the extended warranty cancelled. I spoke with all staff members involved and reiterated our policy to honor all advertised prices. Regards, ****** * ********* ******* ******* *********** ******* ************ ********************

4/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a customer of Vandergriff Hyundai and own a 2012 Hyundai Sonata. I began to receive sales calls on my cell phone offering to sell me a new vehicle. I called more than once asking to be taken off of the calling list. Each time I was told I would be taken off of the sales phone call list, however the calls continued. I then wrote a letter to the General Manager ****** ********* requesting that the calls stop. I received a letter back apologizing for the calls. The letter said in part "We have taken your phone numbers out of our sales system and only the service department has the ability to contact you. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we've notified the staff of your complaint and we will all strive to correct the problem." Nevertheless, on 3/17/2015 at 5:18 PM, I received a call from Salesperson Torres asking if I still owned my 2012 Sonata and offering to sell me a new car. I called the dealership and verified that Torres is a salesperson who works for Vandergriff Hyundai.

Desired Settlement: As I indicated in my letter to Mr. *********, I do not want to receive any more sales calls unless I initiate contact and request the calls. I am still a maintenance customer and do not mind calls regarding my cars maintenance such as your vehicle is ready for pickup after I have brought it in for service.

BBB Response:

The complaint has been resolved.

 

Thanks,

 

****** ** ********* ******* ******* *********** ******* ************ ********************

Consumer Response:
Complaint should state unequivocally that the company agrees to not call me with any future sales calls unless I request them.  "The complaint has been resolved" is vague and meaningless.

 



3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my new Hyundai Elantra 2014 in for hesitation, shaking and attempting to go dead when idle. also my key gets stuck in the ignition and my heater makes noise. This was Dec 23rd '14. **** *****. Had me wait in the waiting room while he took a look. He came back 30 min later and said he: ran a software update, sprayed my ignition, cleaned my air filter and put it on the diagnostic machine, could not duplicate my heater noise nor get a reading on hesitation/dying out: the next time I get the oil changed ask them to change my air filter. I asked him was my car still shaking and hesitating like before, he said it should be better. I left and realized he did not give me a receipt documenting exactly what he done. I went back after Christmas and asked for one, he said no because he did not do anything to my car. I was in shock, so I asked him you just lied to me and had me waiting all that time? he said nothing more. This was the 27th of Dec. He treated me like I was stupid for buying a new car and bringing it back for service. If i paid money or not I need proof of what he siad he done. He has taken it out of the system I called corp office they don't see it, and I know what he told me and I know I waited. I have taken the car in 3 other times once (2 days) for the same thing still is not repaired. I am getting receipts, they keep playing games with the wording of my concerns, hesitation, shaking while idle, extremly and now, it spins out, they idle it too high. *** **** his boss thinks its a game not to give a receipt for what I brought it in for and her boss ***** *******. They cant fix the car and will not do the right thing, because i am a women, so they are trying to rip me off by not providingan accurate receipts, so I can move on. **** ***** owes me an apologize and an accurate receipt.

Desired Settlement: any time a customer brings a car in the service dept write down what the car is doing according to the customer. He wrote down everything I told him. They are supposed to put it in the computer for future reference. Isn't that illegal when they don' ***** needed for car facts. Does his boss *** **** accept that type behavior or her boss ***** *******. Is that the type business Vandergriff is running deceive the customer and treat them like they don't matter and talk to them any way? I went in on the 8th of Dec, but we only discussed me bringing it in and leaving it. I did not expect a receipt. But the 23rd of Dec I waited 30 min until he was finished working on my car. I want a documented receipt with date and repairs attempted, that i requested and my car fixed without drinking gas my car is only 7months been having problems for 7 months. I am tired of the games.

Business Response: Complaint ID: ******** Business: Vandergriff Hyundai Consumer: ****** ****** Mr. *****r, I am writing in response to the complaint identified above. We are very sorry for Ms. ******' experience at our dealership. We are willing to provide her with the necessary apology and provide her with all receipts for any repairs or work orders done at our store. We have contacted Ms. ****** and scheduled her to come out this Saturday, March 14, to drop off her car in order for a field Service Technician from Hyundai Motor America to come in and evaluate her vehicle. We are committed to make sure that her vehicle is repaired if needed. Sincerely, ****** * ********* ******* ******* *********** ******* ************ ********************

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: From: ***** ****** (mailto:********************) Sent: Sunday, September 07, 2014 6:37 PM To: Info Subject: complaint Since I can't file my complaint online, I am filing it here. My complaint is on Vandergiff Hyundai at 1120 I-20 Arlington. TX 76017 On September 3, 2014 I took my 2011 Sonata to Vandergriff because it was not starting on the 1st try, like it always had. The service writer, Allen Odell, told me it needed, an alignment, oil change, tire rotation, radiator flush, fuel induction service, spark plugs, AC flush,new air filter, new cabin filter and a new battery. He wanted to charge me $165 for a battery. I told him I would get it replaced somewhere else, less expensive. I indicated to him did not need an oil change or tire rotation because I had just had them done, He said I would need the spark plugs and the air fitler, the fuel induction service to fix the problem. I paid $657.54, drove off the parking lot and my check engine light came on. I immediately went back and asked them to fix it. After a while they said it maybe fixed, but it could happen again. It might be an issue with a sensor in the Sonata. This is unacceptable. They make you buy things that don't fix your car, and the car was not fixed. I still had the same issues. I replaced the battery yesterday for $110. and now it is working fine. I don't understand why they did not tell me to try to replace the battery first. I have lost total confidence in all Hyundai dealerships. This is proof they are taking advantage because I am middle aged woman that came by myself. Everyone needs to know what they are doing. This is very deceptive. ***** ****** 2409 Cypresswood Trl #1322 Arlington, TX 76014 8173205589 PS please fix your website -- ***** ******

Desired Settlement: Unspecified

Business Response:

 

I am writing in response to customer complaint ID#********.  I would like to apologize to Mrs. ****** for her experience while visiting our Service Department.  The Service Director and myself have met with the Service Writers and firmly explained our processes.  Our goal is to always correct the mechanical problem first prior to recommending any maintenance concerns.  We assure you that this is an isolated incidence that will not be repeated.  Please feel free to ask the Service Director or myself if you ever have any concerns.  We will fully reimburse Mrs. ****** the $657.54 that she paid.  Again our sincerest apology.

 

 

9/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repairs in my time of owning the vehicle 10/24/2013 - $19,900 Purchased vehicle 10/30/2013 - $198.75 Diagnosis 11/19/2013 - $624.68 Two new front tires because tires provided were safety risk 11/22/2013 - $33.25 Diagnosis 12/13/2013 - $631.24 Replaced Both Boost Controllers 02/04/2014 - $7,925.61 Replaced Oil Filter Housing Gasket, Replaced Both Front Thrust Arm Bushings, Replaced Oil Pan Gasket, Replaced Faulty Valve Cover Gasket, Replaced Both Active Leaking Turbos, Set Vehicle to BMW Specified Four Wheel Alignment, Performed Oil Service 04/01/2014 - $1,845.29 Coded to Vehicle Cleared All the Faults Test, Replaced OBD 2 Connector Wiring and Connector Housing, Replaced Electric Coolant Pump 04/21/2014 - $1,203.72 Replaced Drivers Front Windows Regulator, Replaced Mechatronics Sealing Sleeve 05/23/2014 - $151.55 Replaced Rim that has been vibrating since purchase of vehicle 05/23/2014 - $833.05 Replaced Rear Tires that had little life on them 07/16/2014 - $2636.16 Replaced Starter With Related Seals, Replaced the Alternator, Replaced BSD and Cleared Fault Memory 07/22/2014 - $281.83 Replaced Boos Pressure Sensor

Desired Settlement: I would like a vehicle exchange reflecting compensation on current amount owned on vehicle, amount paid to repair vehicle, and my mental stress endured with vehicle.

Business Response:

 

I'm writing in response to complaint # ********.  We have reviewed this complaint and found the following results.  We would like to apologize to Mr. ********* for all the cost that he has endured.  We are fully aware that there has been a lot of repairs to this vehicle.  I assure you that none of these issues were present when the vehicle was sold to him.  This BMW was a trade- in at our Chevrolet Dealership and went through a complete vehicle state inspection prior to selling to the customer.  After speaking to the previous owner and studying the Carfax Vehicle History,  it was determined that there was no major issues with this car.  We also spoke to BMW customer care and BMW of Austin where the car has been serviced.  Everyone seems to agree that these repairs can not be predicted.  We were told that a lot of these repair costs were paid by an Service Contract (Warranty) purchased by the customer.  We are willing to purchase this vehicle back from Mr. ********* for a price agreed upon by both parties.  Again, our apologies for all the inconvenience and please know that we want to sell quality vehicles to our customers.

 

 

Consumer Response:

I am looking to sell the vehicle back at a price equal to which I have invested on the car, warranty, and stress/headaches, $25,382. ****** I will accept the business response under these conditions.




6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car into my son in law's shop because my Santa Fe would apply the brakes and jerk to the right. They could not diagnosis it because it had to be put on a machine to test the wheel sensors. I picked my car up and took it to Vandergriff Hyundai and explained what was going on. Later that day they called me and gave me a list of problems with the anguler sensor (part 93480-3L002). I was quoted to replace that with labor around $630. I picked up the car and took it back to our shop and they replaced it for half that. While there we checked on all the others issues Vandergriff said was wrong and the shop found absolutly nothing wrong. The battery was fine, the brakes were fine and there was no steering wheel leak as Verdergriff said. So I picked up my car and took it back to Vandergriff to have the computer calibrated and all was fine. The next day the car did it again. I called the service manager ***** at Vandergriff where he said he wanted to look at it himself and to ask for him when we brough it back for the 3rd time. When my mother brought my car and asked for *****, no one would let her talk to him. The main person insisting on not speaking with him was the service rep we were dealing with ******* . Finally my mom left the car and a few hours later they called and said the car couldn't be worked on because the car couldn't be calibrated. We said but you just did that 2 days ago. They said well it flucuates. They said the part that was used to replace the bad sensor was not a Hyundai part and so it's defective. After going round and round I contacted the shop where we had the sensor replaced and was informed that the sensor was bought directly from the dealership Vandergriff and they still had the invoice and original packaging. All we are doing is getting the run around and my car is still not fixed and I'm scared to drive it. I've read of accidents happening and all Vandergriff wants is you to have these things fixed and pay thousands of dollars and they in no way want to acutally help you fix it.

Desired Settlement: I'm out $475 for a part replacement that isn't even the issue and i'd like to have Hyundai fix my car for free or my money refunded for the repairs I did that did not work as they state was the issue.

Business Response:

 

I am responding to the customer feedback ID#********.    I investigated this matter and spoke with all mentioned individuals. We had our shop foreman to diagnose and repair Ms. **********'s Santa Fe.  The part (Anguler Sensor) was not purchased from us, but from Allen Samuels per receipt. We reimbursed the customer for the part and got Hyundai involved.  We repaired the vehicle with no charge to the customer. We are very sorry for any frustrations that this may have caused Ms. **********.  If I can be of further assistance please don't hesitate to contact me.

 

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vandergriff Service Invoice 121959 5/14/14 Took daughter's car for visor repair & stop lamp switch recall. Consultant noted car needed alignment. When work completed, noted paragraph on invoice stating right front wheel damage, rim bent, tires cracked, customer "declined" estimate. Was never offered estimate for any repairs. Was told that tech originally thought "something was bent" but once alignment was completed, everything was fine, to disregard the paragraph, that NOTHING WAS WRONG. Took car to get two new tires at Firestone a few days later. Turns out alignment was NOT DONE AT HYUNDAI. Had paid for alignment & was told NOTHING WAS WRONG. Even called back & spoke with same consultant who laughed and said that he wouldn't have let me leave had he been able to sell me something else. Turns out car needed new control arm, new wheel, two tires, another alignment, brakes, two new sensors. Could have had that all done at dealership. Instead sent my daughter out in a dangerous car. When I called and spoke to the dealership service supervisor, he confirmed that the alignment was NOT done. They let me drive out of there with the car still out of alignment, having paid for an alignment not done.

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

 

I have investigated this matter and responded to Ms ********* by email and apologized for her experience with our Service Department.  We replaced a stop lamp switch, but clearly did not diagnose any other problems with her vehicle.  The charge for the alignment was reimbursed in full.  I am definitely sorry for any inconvenience that we may have caused and I am willing to discuss any further issues with Ms ********* at her request.

Thanks,

 

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought an oil change service agreement from Vandergriff Hyundai that was serviced by MPP. When it came time to get my oil changed, neither place I went to would accept my plan. I was told I could get a full refund for the plan. In November, I went there and filled out the necessary paperwork to cancel the agreement and get my refund. Three and a half months, multiple unreturned calls and emails, and 2 conversations later, I finally got my refund, but it was only a partial refund. I paid $995 for the plan and only received $706.14. I emailed ****** ****** on Monday, 3/31 as to why I never received a full refund and as usual, the email was not returned. An email is so easy to respond to yet, no one at that dealership does so, and I am not going to chase this down anymore.

Desired Settlement: I am owed 288.86

Business Response:

 

We have called Mr. ****** and apologized for any misunderstandings.  We have agreed to refund him the amount of $288.86 today.  He stated that he would come by today to pick up the check.

 

 

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After an appropriate credit rating was determined for the financing of the car (no down payment), all that was left to do was get the bank's approval. The only reason it did not get done was because the banks had closed on the first day of the "to be" transaction and the dealer was closed that Sunday. On the third day of negotiations, the only thing required was to bring income verifications and get with the financing folks. However, there were statements that questioned how a person as young as myself had such a good credit rating. Regardless the sales person did not hold the car as it should have been the case and the original sales person was replaced in the middle of the deal. My wife and myself was notified by what was the assumed "Sales Manager" doing this process that the said car we have been negotiating all this time was SOLD. This should NOT have been the case as I was under the impression, that we had started the process on this particular car. All we got was an apology. Rather than do the business appropriate thing and at least attempt to find us an equally appropriate vehicle, all we got was, "I AM SORRY".

Desired Settlement: The dealer should offer to locate an equally appropriate vehicle as the one we were in the process of obtaining was sold from under us. Not only was it sold from under us, the dealer most likely sold at the higher posted price rather than the cheaper internet price we negotiated.

Business Response:

 

I reviewed the attached complaint and we have apologized to Mr ****** and his wife.  We were able to find a vehicle that was a satisfactory replacement.  The customers took delivery last week and are completely satisfied.  I apologize for any misunderstandings and assure you that we will not intentionally sell a vehicle to another customer once a contract has been signed. 

 

3/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December of 2012 I purchased a Hyundai Sonata Limited from Vandergriff Hyundai.
Previously I had purchased a pre-owned 2008 Sonata Limited from Jerry's Hyundai in
Weatherford. I had enjoyed driving and operating the 2008 and felt like it was a good value for
the money. My purpose in sharing this information is that I felt and still feel that the Sonata is a
good automobile, therefore I purchased the second Sonata and chose Vandergriff since it was
closer than the dealership in Weatherford.
The initial purchase was pretty smooth (although time consuming) and the salesperson took
care of getting the vehicle delivered to me with all my questions answered. When I went to
finance I was guided through the paperwork and all of my options regarding other "additional
items" I could purchase. One of these items was the MPP which I purchased for $2720.00. The
purpose for me purchasing this item was that I was told the plan would cover the
"maintenance" for my vehicle. He mentioned that items like oil changes, tire rotations, battery
at three years (they usually wear out then) would be covered. For clarification I asked if I
needed an oil change every month would it be covered and the response was "yes" and I
agreed to purchase the plan since my understanding is that maintenance was covered on the
vehicle (yes I asked if maintenance was all covered). After all a Hyundai has a warranty of
60,000 miles and if this plan covers maintenance even though it is pricey I would have peace of
mind with the vehicle and minimal out of pocket other than tires, brakes, etc.
Since my purchase I have probably had five oil changes and tire rotations along with the free
car wash which is appreciated. Your service department (greeters, advisors) are friendly and
normally very prompt in greeting you as you arrive. Spending an hour and a half to two hours
for this service is a bit excessive, but since it is covered by my plan I plan my schedule
accordingly.
On my last visit which was February 1, 2014 I was informed by the service advisor that I need to
have the engine air filter and cabin filter replaced on the vehicle. I told the advisor to go ahead
and replace it since it would be covered under my plan. This is when I was told that my MPP did
not cover any maintenance other than oil changes, tire rotation, and possibly depending on
what I purchased some wiper blades. At this point I was not pleased and declined for the two
items to be changed and told the advisor that I would be reviewing the matter. I also told the
advisor that I was told "all maintenance would be covered" so I felt like I had been lied to and
the plan had been misrepresented. He was very kind and said he understood my concern. My
vehicle was completed and brought to the front, but then had to be taken back to service since
a "plug" was not replaced properly. The advisor did fill my tank with gas due to the issue which
was appreciated. Again, I left and hour and a half later, but this time extremely frustrated at the
information I was told.
Almost two weeks ago I received a call from a gentleman at the dealership who asked me about
why I had declined the tire rotation on my last visit. I explained to the man that I did not decline
the rotation and told him what I did decline (engine and cabin filter). He stated that from what
he saw I did decline the rotation and asked if I would like to have a Service Manager call to
discuss the tire rotation (I said yes). As of this letter no one has called. My paperwork says I
received a rotation, but according to the phone calli did not. So who really knows what was
done?
o main·te·nance
0 [ mayntenenss l
0
4. continuing repair work: work that is done regularly to keep a machine, building, or piece of equipment in
good condition and working order
5. upkeep: the general condition of something with respect to repairs
6. continuation of something: the continuation or preservation of something unchanged or unimpaired
Listed above is the definition of maintenance. In the service drive at Vandergriff Hyundai there
is an entire wall of recommended maintenance for vehicles. The finance department at
Vandergriff Hyundai sells "plans" that cover maintenance or at least you think so until you need
it. Basically what I was sold was a $2720.00 extended warranty that covers the car for 75,000
miles and the warranty (yes I know it is not bumper to bumper) on the vehicle is 60,000 miles.
As a consumer I feel totally ripped off, mislead, deceived, and lied to which is what angers me
the most. I have waited for a call from the dealership to clarify the tire rotation and it has not
happened. I do not expect Vandergriff Hyundai to replace my tires or replace my brakes as they
wear out, but I do expect them to do items like engine filter repairs, cabin filter repairs, etc.
which is plainly listed on their recommended maintenance items for vehicles especially when
they tell you that you are purchasing a plan that covers maintenance. Seriously, how many oil
changes would I have to have to come anywhere close to spending $2720.00! To be blunt your
finance department needs to be reviewed/audited and I will not deal with them again!!!
My request of Vandergriff Hyundai is a refund for $2720.00 less the four or five oil changes and
tire rotations they have provided. It is my intent to strongly consider another Sonata in the next
year or so when I trade vehicles. However, I will visit Frank Kent or Jerry's in Weatherford. I
have worked with Lynn Smith Chevrolet and Bruce Lowrie Chevrolet, and Jerry's Hyundai and
have not experienced this type of issue. One would think that a dealership as large as
Vandergriff would be more reputable. I suppose they have grown by selling $2720.00 plans that
do not cover what the consumer is led to believe. Great profit margins for oil changes and tire
rotation don't you think?
Perhaps since I am copying this letter to Hyundai Corporate and the BBB of Tarrant County I will
receive resolution. Obviously the management at Vandergriff is too busy to respond to my
concern over my last service visit. Even if they do I am not certain that the information I receive
would be accurate. Please advise as to when I may expect my refund.

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

We have reviewed the complaint from Mr. ******* and spoken with him on several occasions recently in regards to a resolution.  Mr. ******* has requested that we cancel his Service Contract and is requesting a refund.  We have agreed to his request and apologize that this coverage was not properly explained to him so that he could understand its value.  The Service Contract was cancelled and a refund of $1546.70 will be sent to the leinholder, Hyundai Finance, by the Mechanical Protection Plan company.  The oil changes and tire rotation services used came to a total of $255.00.  Vandergriff Hyundai will send Hyundai Finance a check in the amount of $918.30,  which is the remainder of the original $2720.00 charged to the contract.

 

 

3/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had sent emails to the company they should give an explanation to the faulty repair work , bait and switch part , life treating situations I had been put in by the dealership I have attached photos of damage to my vehicle, faulty parts installed to my vehicle, life threating tire pressure applied to my tiers, the damage to my tiers as a result of over pressure, and a white corrosion on the newly installed faulty transmission and on the cam head. All of these appalling events transpired as a result of your service center repair technicians work. A remanufactured transmission with casting defects and cracks was installed on my car. In the install process other engine parts were damaged, as well as the frame, engine compartment, and striped bolts. The air intake hose is loses and will not stay attached the mount for the air filter was not secured either. Cracks on the engine next the transmission that have obviously be made with power tools. The air pressure on all four of my tiers were at life treating level that would have resulted in the explosion of my tiers and cause the death of me, my family, or another motorist. Your service center has put my life in danger and preformed work that is well below standard. I have 3 more emails containing pictures of the negligent work, I would like you all to keep in mind that work done to my vehicle would have taken mine or some else’s life and should be reported. I have created a case with your corporate office on the matter so that no one else is put in the situation I have been in. I look forward to your organizations resolution plan for the danger, fear, and damage I have encountered as a result of your service group. Please contact me via email for documentation reasons when discussing any official business, any non-official can be made by phone. All,

Desired Settlement: IF my Vehicle can not be completely repair to the level it was before service. I will file for lemon law case action in which a new vehicle will be issued as a result of failure to repair my car

Business Response:

 

There has been no faulty parts installed or faulty repair work done to Mr. *******' automobile by Vandergriff Hyundai.  I have reviewed the work performed and the rebuilt transmission with Mr. *******, ***** ********* ( Service Director) and **** ********** (Shop Foreman).  There is no evidence of any faulty repair or damaged parts at the time of our investigation.  All parties were present and looked at the vehicle together and it is clear that the work was done properly and all parts were in correct working order.  All services were paid by the warranty company and approved by them.  The tire pressure was checked and shown to Mr. ******* to be correct prior to him leaving when he took delivery after accusing the service department of over inflating his tires the first time.  There has been no damage to his tires that could be seen as the result of over inflating his tires.  After threatening us with BBB complaints, Media attention, and lawsuits,  I encouraged Mr. ******* to take his automobile to any other Hyundai Dealership and we will be willing to work with them and the warranty company if faulty repair work is found.

 

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on February 15, 2014 I purchased a car from Vandergriff Hyundai. I informed them, I want the car to be finance with Fort Worth Community Credit Union. However, the Dealership pulled my credit with Suntrust. The dealership give me an interest rate of 7%. My mother who is in financing knew that was too high. My credit score around 760. My mother - ***** spoke with ******* ********-finace manager, and advised him to use Fort Worth Community Credit Union for the financing. We have done business with the credit union for years. We were told the loan got pushed thru for 2.05% with the Fort Worth Community Credit Union. I pulled my credit bureau today. The dealership never once tried running my credit application with Fort Worth Community Credit Union. All the paperwork I signed stated Fort Worth Community Credit Union. I got a temporary loan coupon in the mail today from Suntrust. That's not what all my paperwork states. This is deceptive practices / fraud. The dealership will tell you anything you want to hear. Just to make deal. We contacted the dealership on 2-28-2014. We were advised the loan is with suntrust. My contract states different. I am consulting an attorney.

Desired Settlement: I should be able to keep the car for free. No payment is needed.The contract is not right. The dealership needs to be held liable for any and all the damages with my credit report.

Business Response:

 

We have recontracted Ms. ******** at her request to Fort Worth Community Credit Union.  She has completed all necessary paperwork.  We apologize for all the misunderstandings and inconvenience that this may have caused.  The terms and conditions at Suntrust was exactly the same but the customer preferred to use Fort Worth Community Credit Union.  We did issue the customer a check in the amount of $250.00 as a goodwill gesture for her understanding.

 

6/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, On Monday May 27th I went to Vandergriff Hyundai and saw a 2006 Acura TL on their used car lot (VIN *****************) for sale. After test driving and looking the car over we started discussing numbers. after some negotiating with the salesman we agreed to a purchase price of 9100 plus tt&l for the car and a 6 month/6000 mile warranty. During the negotiation the salesman had mentioned that I wouldn't be able to take the car home that day as they had just gotten it on Friday and needed to run it through the shop to check out tires, brakes, etc. and fix up any issues for me to be able to drive it off......that was going to take until the next day. I was alone so coming back for the car was actually preferable. I finished the paperwork and completed the contract with the finance department that day, where I paid the full amount (9100 + 883.89 = 9983.89) and recieved a completed bill of sale along with the confirmation of the warranty payment. At this point everything was fine. On Tuesday May 28th I contacted the dealership to see when I could pick up the car. At this point the salesman proceeded to tell me that after getting it into the shop, they found some repairs that they had to do (rack and pinion and new axel), and they were no longer going to honor my agreement with them as they could not now sell the car for 9100. I explained to the gentlmen that this was not anything we had agreed upon. Our agreement was that for the 9100 + tt&l I was going to get the car with the 6 month/6000 mile warranty and they were going to fix up any issues they needed to address before I'd pick up the car. No where in the agreement that I signed did it say that the price was contingent on what shop repairs were going to cost. I know this as when we were negotiating over the price the day before the salesman had told me that his manager actually had to call some regional manager to confirm that they could sell the car at that price and still be "safe" with doing any repairs that the shop may ask to be done. After realizing there was nothing more the saleperson could do for me I had asked to speak with the manager. After speaking with his manager I was put in contact with ****, the used car sales director for the dealership. He proceeded to tell me that essentially they were not going to honor the terms of our agreement as he would not be willing to fix the car and sell it to me at the price we had already agreed upon the day before. His statement was that the car was now "unsafe" and he couldn't sell it to me without fixing it and now fixing it woud require a higher price so I could either pay more or get my money back. I explained to him that I did not care to do either. I just wanted my contractual agreement with the dealership to be upheld and get the car for the agreed upon price. At that point he proceeded to tell me that due to the unsafeness of the car he is actually not selling the car to anyone and that he was just going to take it to the auction. Well looking at their website (www.vandergriffhyundai.com) today (5/30) the car is listed on their website with photos and listed for sale as part of their used inventory. I have gotten my money back at this point; however, this company failed to meet its contractual obligation based on the information I shared above. I was not interested in a refund, but in purchasing this car at our agreed upon terms. They basically bait and switched me as they collected almost 10000 and then tried to get more before selling me the car. I will be pursuing further actions, but wanted to also file this formal complaint with the BBB. Thank you, ******

Desired Settlement: I just want the dealership to uphold their original agreed upon contract. 9100 + tt&l for the car (with any issues addressed) and the 6 month / 6000 mile warranty

Business Response:

 

I am writing in response to complaint ID#*******.  I have investigated this matter and personally spoke  with Mr. ******** on the 6th of June 2013.  After reviewing his complaint, I apologized for any inconvenience that may have been caused. I explained the process of reconditioning our cars and how important it is to the dealership to sell only safe, completely reconditioned vehicles.  I told him that we will honor the original agreement and meet his desired settlement.  He explained to me that he would like to speak with his wife and get back to me.  The car was placed in service and all repairs were complete and the safety inspection passed.  I have tried to reach Mr. ******** several times without success. We agree to the original contract and selling price of $9100 plus tax, title and licensing fees.  The vehicle will come with a 6 month/ 6000 mile warranty.  I will continue to try to reach the customer to resolve this matter.