BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Vandergriff Hyundai?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Vandergriff Hyundai

Additional Locations

Phone: (817) 557-6700 Fax: (817) 299-2307 1120 W I-20, Arlington, TX 76017 http://www.vandergriffhyundai.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vandergriff Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vandergriff Hyundai include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Vandergriff Hyundai
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 23, 2006 Business started: 11/04/2005 in 0 Business started locally: 11/04/2005 Business incorporated: 11/04/2005 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78761
https://www.txdmv.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 302-2162

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Rick Cantilini, Dealer Operator
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Cantilini, Dealer Operator
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS AUTO PARTS AND SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
Vandergriff Hyundai GP LLC
Industry Tips
Automobile sales

Additional Locations

  • 1120 W I-20

    Arlington, TX 76017

  • PO Box 180189

    Arlington, TX 76096

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: From: ***** ****** (mailto:********************) Sent: Sunday, September 07, 2014 6:37 PM To: Info Subject: complaint Since I can't file my complaint online, I am filing it here. My complaint is on Vandergiff Hyundai at 1120 I-20 Arlington. TX 76017 On September 3, 2014 I took my 2011 Sonata to Vandergriff because it was not starting on the 1st try, like it always had. The service writer, Allen Odell, told me it needed, an alignment, oil change, tire rotation, radiator flush, fuel induction service, spark plugs, AC flush,new air filter, new cabin filter and a new battery. He wanted to charge me $165 for a battery. I told him I would get it replaced somewhere else, less expensive. I indicated to him did not need an oil change or tire rotation because I had just had them done, He said I would need the spark plugs and the air fitler, the fuel induction service to fix the problem. I paid $657.54, drove off the parking lot and my check engine light came on. I immediately went back and asked them to fix it. After a while they said it maybe fixed, but it could happen again. It might be an issue with a sensor in the Sonata. This is unacceptable. They make you buy things that don't fix your car, and the car was not fixed. I still had the same issues. I replaced the battery yesterday for $110. and now it is working fine. I don't understand why they did not tell me to try to replace the battery first. I have lost total confidence in all Hyundai dealerships. This is proof they are taking advantage because I am middle aged woman that came by myself. Everyone needs to know what they are doing. This is very deceptive. ***** ****** 2409 Cypresswood Trl #1322 Arlington, TX 76014 8173205589 PS please fix your website -- ***** ******

Desired Settlement: Unspecified

Business Response:

 

I am writing in response to customer complaint ID#********.  I would like to apologize to Mrs. ****** for her experience while visiting our Service Department.  The Service Director and myself have met with the Service Writers and firmly explained our processes.  Our goal is to always correct the mechanical problem first prior to recommending any maintenance concerns.  We assure you that this is an isolated incidence that will not be repeated.  Please feel free to ask the Service Director or myself if you ever have any concerns.  We will fully reimburse Mrs. ****** the $657.54 that she paid.  Again our sincerest apology.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repairs in my time of owning the vehicle 10/24/2013 - $19,900 Purchased vehicle 10/30/2013 - $198.75 Diagnosis 11/19/2013 - $624.68 Two new front tires because tires provided were safety risk 11/22/2013 - $33.25 Diagnosis 12/13/2013 - $631.24 Replaced Both Boost Controllers 02/04/2014 - $7,925.61 Replaced Oil Filter Housing Gasket, Replaced Both Front Thrust Arm Bushings, Replaced Oil Pan Gasket, Replaced Faulty Valve Cover Gasket, Replaced Both Active Leaking Turbos, Set Vehicle to BMW Specified Four Wheel Alignment, Performed Oil Service 04/01/2014 - $1,845.29 Coded to Vehicle Cleared All the Faults Test, Replaced OBD 2 Connector Wiring and Connector Housing, Replaced Electric Coolant Pump 04/21/2014 - $1,203.72 Replaced Drivers Front Windows Regulator, Replaced Mechatronics Sealing Sleeve 05/23/2014 - $151.55 Replaced Rim that has been vibrating since purchase of vehicle 05/23/2014 - $833.05 Replaced Rear Tires that had little life on them 07/16/2014 - $2636.16 Replaced Starter With Related Seals, Replaced the Alternator, Replaced BSD and Cleared Fault Memory 07/22/2014 - $281.83 Replaced Boos Pressure Sensor

Desired Settlement: I would like a vehicle exchange reflecting compensation on current amount owned on vehicle, amount paid to repair vehicle, and my mental stress endured with vehicle.

Business Response:

 

I'm writing in response to complaint # ********.  We have reviewed this complaint and found the following results.  We would like to apologize to Mr. ********* for all the cost that he has endured.  We are fully aware that there has been a lot of repairs to this vehicle.  I assure you that none of these issues were present when the vehicle was sold to him.  This BMW was a trade- in at our Chevrolet Dealership and went through a complete vehicle state inspection prior to selling to the customer.  After speaking to the previous owner and studying the Carfax Vehicle History,  it was determined that there was no major issues with this car.  We also spoke to BMW customer care and BMW of Austin where the car has been serviced.  Everyone seems to agree that these repairs can not be predicted.  We were told that a lot of these repair costs were paid by an Service Contract (Warranty) purchased by the customer.  We are willing to purchase this vehicle back from Mr. ********* for a price agreed upon by both parties.  Again, our apologies for all the inconvenience and please know that we want to sell quality vehicles to our customers.

 

 

Consumer Response:

I am looking to sell the vehicle back at a price equal to which I have invested on the car, warranty, and stress/headaches, $25,382. ****** I will accept the business response under these conditions.




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car into my son in law's shop because my Santa Fe would apply the brakes and jerk to the right. They could not diagnosis it because it had to be put on a machine to test the wheel sensors. I picked my car up and took it to Vandergriff Hyundai and explained what was going on. Later that day they called me and gave me a list of problems with the anguler sensor (part 93480-3L002). I was quoted to replace that with labor around $630. I picked up the car and took it back to our shop and they replaced it for half that. While there we checked on all the others issues Vandergriff said was wrong and the shop found absolutly nothing wrong. The battery was fine, the brakes were fine and there was no steering wheel leak as Verdergriff said. So I picked up my car and took it back to Vandergriff to have the computer calibrated and all was fine. The next day the car did it again. I called the service manager ***** at Vandergriff where he said he wanted to look at it himself and to ask for him when we brough it back for the 3rd time. When my mother brought my car and asked for *****, no one would let her talk to him. The main person insisting on not speaking with him was the service rep we were dealing with ******* . Finally my mom left the car and a few hours later they called and said the car couldn't be worked on because the car couldn't be calibrated. We said but you just did that 2 days ago. They said well it flucuates. They said the part that was used to replace the bad sensor was not a Hyundai part and so it's defective. After going round and round I contacted the shop where we had the sensor replaced and was informed that the sensor was bought directly from the dealership Vandergriff and they still had the invoice and original packaging. All we are doing is getting the run around and my car is still not fixed and I'm scared to drive it. I've read of accidents happening and all Vandergriff wants is you to have these things fixed and pay thousands of dollars and they in no way want to acutally help you fix it.

Desired Settlement: I'm out $475 for a part replacement that isn't even the issue and i'd like to have Hyundai fix my car for free or my money refunded for the repairs I did that did not work as they state was the issue.

Business Response:

 

I am responding to the customer feedback ID#********.    I investigated this matter and spoke with all mentioned individuals. We had our shop foreman to diagnose and repair Ms. **********'s Santa Fe.  The part (Anguler Sensor) was not purchased from us, but from Allen Samuels per receipt. We reimbursed the customer for the part and got Hyundai involved.  We repaired the vehicle with no charge to the customer. We are very sorry for any frustrations that this may have caused Ms. **********.  If I can be of further assistance please don't hesitate to contact me.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vandergriff Service Invoice 121959 5/14/14 Took daughter's car for visor repair & stop lamp switch recall. Consultant noted car needed alignment. When work completed, noted paragraph on invoice stating right front wheel damage, rim bent, tires cracked, customer "declined" estimate. Was never offered estimate for any repairs. Was told that tech originally thought "something was bent" but once alignment was completed, everything was fine, to disregard the paragraph, that NOTHING WAS WRONG. Took car to get two new tires at Firestone a few days later. Turns out alignment was NOT DONE AT HYUNDAI. Had paid for alignment & was told NOTHING WAS WRONG. Even called back & spoke with same consultant who laughed and said that he wouldn't have let me leave had he been able to sell me something else. Turns out car needed new control arm, new wheel, two tires, another alignment, brakes, two new sensors. Could have had that all done at dealership. Instead sent my daughter out in a dangerous car. When I called and spoke to the dealership service supervisor, he confirmed that the alignment was NOT done. They let me drive out of there with the car still out of alignment, having paid for an alignment not done.

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

 

I have investigated this matter and responded to Ms ********* by email and apologized for her experience with our Service Department.  We replaced a stop lamp switch, but clearly did not diagnose any other problems with her vehicle.  The charge for the alignment was reimbursed in full.  I am definitely sorry for any inconvenience that we may have caused and I am willing to discuss any further issues with Ms ********* at her request.

Thanks,

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought an oil change service agreement from Vandergriff Hyundai that was serviced by MPP. When it came time to get my oil changed, neither place I went to would accept my plan. I was told I could get a full refund for the plan. In November, I went there and filled out the necessary paperwork to cancel the agreement and get my refund. Three and a half months, multiple unreturned calls and emails, and 2 conversations later, I finally got my refund, but it was only a partial refund. I paid $995 for the plan and only received $706.14. I emailed ****** ****** on Monday, 3/31 as to why I never received a full refund and as usual, the email was not returned. An email is so easy to respond to yet, no one at that dealership does so, and I am not going to chase this down anymore.

Desired Settlement: I am owed 288.86

Business Response:

 

We have called Mr. ****** and apologized for any misunderstandings.  We have agreed to refund him the amount of $288.86 today.  He stated that he would come by today to pick up the check.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After an appropriate credit rating was determined for the financing of the car (no down payment), all that was left to do was get the bank's approval. The only reason it did not get done was because the banks had closed on the first day of the "to be" transaction and the dealer was closed that Sunday. On the third day of negotiations, the only thing required was to bring income verifications and get with the financing folks. However, there were statements that questioned how a person as young as myself had such a good credit rating. Regardless the sales person did not hold the car as it should have been the case and the original sales person was replaced in the middle of the deal. My wife and myself was notified by what was the assumed "Sales Manager" doing this process that the said car we have been negotiating all this time was SOLD. This should NOT have been the case as I was under the impression, that we had started the process on this particular car. All we got was an apology. Rather than do the business appropriate thing and at least attempt to find us an equally appropriate vehicle, all we got was, "I AM SORRY".

Desired Settlement: The dealer should offer to locate an equally appropriate vehicle as the one we were in the process of obtaining was sold from under us. Not only was it sold from under us, the dealer most likely sold at the higher posted price rather than the cheaper internet price we negotiated.

Business Response:

 

I reviewed the attached complaint and we have apologized to Mr ****** and his wife.  We were able to find a vehicle that was a satisfactory replacement.  The customers took delivery last week and are completely satisfied.  I apologize for any misunderstandings and assure you that we will not intentionally sell a vehicle to another customer once a contract has been signed. 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had sent emails to the company they should give an explanation to the faulty repair work , bait and switch part , life treating situations I had been put in by the dealership I have attached photos of damage to my vehicle, faulty parts installed to my vehicle, life threating tire pressure applied to my tiers, the damage to my tiers as a result of over pressure, and a white corrosion on the newly installed faulty transmission and on the cam head. All of these appalling events transpired as a result of your service center repair technicians work. A remanufactured transmission with casting defects and cracks was installed on my car. In the install process other engine parts were damaged, as well as the frame, engine compartment, and striped bolts. The air intake hose is loses and will not stay attached the mount for the air filter was not secured either. Cracks on the engine next the transmission that have obviously be made with power tools. The air pressure on all four of my tiers were at life treating level that would have resulted in the explosion of my tiers and cause the death of me, my family, or another motorist. Your service center has put my life in danger and preformed work that is well below standard. I have 3 more emails containing pictures of the negligent work, I would like you all to keep in mind that work done to my vehicle would have taken mine or some else’s life and should be reported. I have created a case with your corporate office on the matter so that no one else is put in the situation I have been in. I look forward to your organizations resolution plan for the danger, fear, and damage I have encountered as a result of your service group. Please contact me via email for documentation reasons when discussing any official business, any non-official can be made by phone. All,

Desired Settlement: IF my Vehicle can not be completely repair to the level it was before service. I will file for lemon law case action in which a new vehicle will be issued as a result of failure to repair my car

Business Response:

 

There has been no faulty parts installed or faulty repair work done to Mr. *******' automobile by Vandergriff Hyundai.  I have reviewed the work performed and the rebuilt transmission with Mr. *******, ***** ********* ( Service Director) and **** ********** (Shop Foreman).  There is no evidence of any faulty repair or damaged parts at the time of our investigation.  All parties were present and looked at the vehicle together and it is clear that the work was done properly and all parts were in correct working order.  All services were paid by the warranty company and approved by them.  The tire pressure was checked and shown to Mr. ******* to be correct prior to him leaving when he took delivery after accusing the service department of over inflating his tires the first time.  There has been no damage to his tires that could be seen as the result of over inflating his tires.  After threatening us with BBB complaints, Media attention, and lawsuits,  I encouraged Mr. ******* to take his automobile to any other Hyundai Dealership and we will be willing to work with them and the warranty company if faulty repair work is found.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on February 15, 2014 I purchased a car from Vandergriff Hyundai. I informed them, I want the car to be finance with Fort Worth Community Credit Union. However, the Dealership pulled my credit with Suntrust. The dealership give me an interest rate of 7%. My mother who is in financing knew that was too high. My credit score around 760. My mother - ***** spoke with ******* ********-finace manager, and advised him to use Fort Worth Community Credit Union for the financing. We have done business with the credit union for years. We were told the loan got pushed thru for 2.05% with the Fort Worth Community Credit Union. I pulled my credit bureau today. The dealership never once tried running my credit application with Fort Worth Community Credit Union. All the paperwork I signed stated Fort Worth Community Credit Union. I got a temporary loan coupon in the mail today from Suntrust. That's not what all my paperwork states. This is deceptive practices / fraud. The dealership will tell you anything you want to hear. Just to make deal. We contacted the dealership on 2-28-2014. We were advised the loan is with suntrust. My contract states different. I am consulting an attorney.

Desired Settlement: I should be able to keep the car for free. No payment is needed.The contract is not right. The dealership needs to be held liable for any and all the damages with my credit report.

Business Response:

 

We have recontracted Ms. ******** at her request to Fort Worth Community Credit Union.  She has completed all necessary paperwork.  We apologize for all the misunderstandings and inconvenience that this may have caused.  The terms and conditions at Suntrust was exactly the same but the customer preferred to use Fort Worth Community Credit Union.  We did issue the customer a check in the amount of $250.00 as a goodwill gesture for her understanding.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, On Monday May 27th I went to Vandergriff Hyundai and saw a 2006 Acura TL on their used car lot (VIN *****************) for sale. After test driving and looking the car over we started discussing numbers. after some negotiating with the salesman we agreed to a purchase price of 9100 plus tt&l for the car and a 6 month/6000 mile warranty. During the negotiation the salesman had mentioned that I wouldn't be able to take the car home that day as they had just gotten it on Friday and needed to run it through the shop to check out tires, brakes, etc. and fix up any issues for me to be able to drive it off......that was going to take until the next day. I was alone so coming back for the car was actually preferable. I finished the paperwork and completed the contract with the finance department that day, where I paid the full amount (9100 + 883.89 = 9983.89) and recieved a completed bill of sale along with the confirmation of the warranty payment. At this point everything was fine. On Tuesday May 28th I contacted the dealership to see when I could pick up the car. At this point the salesman proceeded to tell me that after getting it into the shop, they found some repairs that they had to do (rack and pinion and new axel), and they were no longer going to honor my agreement with them as they could not now sell the car for 9100. I explained to the gentlmen that this was not anything we had agreed upon. Our agreement was that for the 9100 + tt&l I was going to get the car with the 6 month/6000 mile warranty and they were going to fix up any issues they needed to address before I'd pick up the car. No where in the agreement that I signed did it say that the price was contingent on what shop repairs were going to cost. I know this as when we were negotiating over the price the day before the salesman had told me that his manager actually had to call some regional manager to confirm that they could sell the car at that price and still be "safe" with doing any repairs that the shop may ask to be done. After realizing there was nothing more the saleperson could do for me I had asked to speak with the manager. After speaking with his manager I was put in contact with ****, the used car sales director for the dealership. He proceeded to tell me that essentially they were not going to honor the terms of our agreement as he would not be willing to fix the car and sell it to me at the price we had already agreed upon the day before. His statement was that the car was now "unsafe" and he couldn't sell it to me without fixing it and now fixing it woud require a higher price so I could either pay more or get my money back. I explained to him that I did not care to do either. I just wanted my contractual agreement with the dealership to be upheld and get the car for the agreed upon price. At that point he proceeded to tell me that due to the unsafeness of the car he is actually not selling the car to anyone and that he was just going to take it to the auction. Well looking at their website (www.vandergriffhyundai.com) today (5/30) the car is listed on their website with photos and listed for sale as part of their used inventory. I have gotten my money back at this point; however, this company failed to meet its contractual obligation based on the information I shared above. I was not interested in a refund, but in purchasing this car at our agreed upon terms. They basically bait and switched me as they collected almost 10000 and then tried to get more before selling me the car. I will be pursuing further actions, but wanted to also file this formal complaint with the BBB. Thank you, ******

Desired Settlement: I just want the dealership to uphold their original agreed upon contract. 9100 + tt&l for the car (with any issues addressed) and the 6 month / 6000 mile warranty

Business Response:

 

I am writing in response to complaint ID#*******.  I have investigated this matter and personally spoke  with Mr. ******** on the 6th of June 2013.  After reviewing his complaint, I apologized for any inconvenience that may have been caused. I explained the process of reconditioning our cars and how important it is to the dealership to sell only safe, completely reconditioned vehicles.  I told him that we will honor the original agreement and meet his desired settlement.  He explained to me that he would like to speak with his wife and get back to me.  The car was placed in service and all repairs were complete and the safety inspection passed.  I have tried to reach Mr. ******** several times without success. We agree to the original contract and selling price of $9100 plus tax, title and licensing fees.  The vehicle will come with a 6 month/ 6000 mile warranty.  I will continue to try to reach the customer to resolve this matter.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: So I have been to numerous car dealerships looking for the right car 2 weeks to be exact. I finally found what I wanted at Vandergriff Hyundai, or so I thought. I arrived Saturday Jan. 26th and I had everything I needed with me for I had found 8 or more cars online that I wanted to look at and how much they were and I also had already been approved through a finance company with a down payment of $600 not a penny more or less. Now I found 2 cars I like 1. a 07 Chevy Impala for $8,996 with 91,000 miles. I called my finance company and made sure that I would be able to purchase this vehicle with the loan that was promised and they said everything was a go. So from Sat. afternoon till 7 p.m. that night I waited for them to work out paperwork to which I was finally told that something was wrong and to come back Monday. I had no problem with that at all even though I told them how bad I really needed a vehicle to move around so I would like to make sure everything is done Monday. So I call early Monday morning and speak with my sells guy, who I honestly think was just doing what everyone was telling him to do although he did not want to. So he tells me that they are going to call my finance company to figure it out. So around 12 p.m. I call back and now he is telling me that I need to put down $1000 dollars in order to finsih the deal even though my finance company said I only needed $600. On top of that they began to move me towards another car which I did not originally want that had a cracked winshield and I was told that I could take it but the windshield would not be fixed or anything else that was needed on the car as well. So far not only can I get the car I want although I was told by my finance company that they would do it, and they are trying to put me in a car with a broken windshield. Now I show up at 3 maybe a little before figuring that everything should be sorted out. Wrong again! It took them 3 and a half hours to tell me that they could do the deal on the other car after trying to get me to put down anything more but $600 asking for $1000 then $700 and not even for the car that I wanted and told me I could get the car like I was suppose to be surprised by that for some reason. Luckily I was missing some paperwork or I would've made a huge mistake because I realized it was all a game that they wanted to play to try to take my money and get me in a car that they had been trying to get rid of for a while. So there was no way that my finance company is telling me that everything is fine and then all of a sudden I need $1000 for a down payment out of no where. On top of that they kept me there for a total for 8 hours or more over two days just to tell me that instead of just being up front to begin with. I found other cars on there that I would rather have and told them I wanted the impala that I was told I could get or a 07 sonata for $1000 less the one they tried to sell me which should not be a problem, but now they do not want to respond. So It seems to me that they are all just trying to get what they can from you by making you wait up there knowing you need a car so that way you have to get what they try to put you in instead of what you want even though the finance company told them over the phone that the deal could be done, they just chose not to do it! So I can honestly say that I feel cheated and like I wasted a lot of time up there just waiting so they could put me in a car that they wanted me in without even fixing anything and act like they were doing me favor.

Desired Settlement: The ONLY way that this can be resolved if at all is for them to not only put me in a car I want as long as it is within my Loan Agreement, but also I want a manager to personally oversee it. And not one of the young kids they have, but someone who actually cares whether or not their customers are happy! The young guys they have and even some of the older ones are all up there coming up with ways to make people pay more in stead of thinking of ways to bring customers back! They have guys walking around joking and playing and it seems that whoever is in charge in the used area is probably just as fishy as the people who I dealt with in the finance department! Its amazing what I can get my Lodge my to do with you take veterans for granted! And it may not mean much when one person is upset but when more than one starts to speak up it can become a problem for whomever is the one doing the disrespecting! I expect people to treat me the way I would treat them, and I didn't feel like that at all except from Kirby my sales guy who would tell me the truth and have to come back and lie because that is what his boss told him to do.

Business Response:


I have spoken to Mr. ****** in regards to his complaint.  I will email you a memorandum of our conversation.

Thank You,


Business Response:

I am writing in response to complaint ID#*******.  I have investigated this matter and personally met with Mr. ****** on the morning of 1/29/2013.After reviewing his complaint, I apologized for any inconvenience that may have been caused. I explained the process that we must follow with the bank. The bank can require more money down in order to approve a loan based on the individual credit and value of the car that is being financed.  He told me that he understood.  We then determined which car he wanted to purchase and he stated that he wanted the windshield replaced.  I made sure that the windshield was replaced and he was sold that car with a down payment of $600.00.   Customer Service is extremely important to us and we strive to not only meet, but exceed our customer’s expectations. He told me that he was satisfied with the way everything was handled and I have followed up with him a few days later to make sure that everything is still ok.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into Vandergriff Hyundai on 9/23/12 to buy a Hyundai Genesis R Spec. I called them on Thursday to make sure they had the sedan I wanted available. They said that they had 3 or 4 of them so I decided to come in on Saturday morning. The person I talked to was ****** ******** but he was busy with another customer which was fine. I was greeted by ******* ***** who asked what I was looking for and I told her the specific vehicle I was looking at and wanted to test drive it. She said great what color am I looking for and I subsequently told her silver or black. She comes back 5 minutes later saying she had a great V6 I could drive. I was very clear that I did not want to drive the V6 I wanted to test drive the R Spec as it was already told to me that they had several. She said that was untrue. She kept pressing me to try to the V6 and when I told her again I did not want to do that, she told me to stop getting argumentative. This is when I mentally checked and started asking about the price that posted online. She told me that was with a lot of assumptions. I asked her to show me the assumptions online and she could not. She simply showed me a recklessly done excel rebate sheet. Basically, they did not have the car they told me they did over the phone and they did not have it at the price I was eQuoted online either. I was also generally dismissed seemingly due to my young age (29) and looking at a car at the price I did.

Desired Settlement: I wish to have an apology from the GM/Managing partner as well as the company being held more responsible for their advertising practices, ie they cannot advertise a car they do not have not only in their possession but also not at the their advertised price.

Business Response: This is not the way we do business, I will investigate immediately. **** *********

BBB Response:


I am writing in response to complaint ID#*******.  I have investigated this matter and would like to offer Mr. **** a sincere apology for his unpleasant visit to our store.  Customer Service is extremely important to us and we strive to not only meet, but exceed our customer’s expectations.  The vehicle (2012 Silver Genesis R Spec) was available and sitting on the showroom floor.  This is the vehicle which was also priced with all available incentives or rebates.  However the showroom door was blocked by a customer’s car and the salesperson tried to offer Mr. **** the opportunity to drive a different vehicle that had a smaller engine.  I have counseled with her and explained the importance of allowing the customer to drive the vehicle that they want to purchase.  The New Car Manager, ***** **********, did call Mr. **** to address his concerns, but he stated that he purchased at another dealership.  I would be happy to go over any pricing or quotes given to Mr. **** and thoroughly explain all the incentives or rebates. 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable