Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Vandergriff Honda

Phone: (817) 461-2323 Fax: (817) 801-5048 View Additional Phone Numbers 1104 W I-20, Arlington, TX 76017 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.vandergriffhonda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vandergriff Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vandergriff Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 35 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

35 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 12
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 19
Total Closed Complaints 35

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Vandergriff Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1986 Business started: 07/01/1963 in TX Business started locally: 07/01/1963 Business incorporated 06/24/1999 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 465-4129
The number is P35122.

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Charlie A. Evans, Vice President & General Manager/Owner Ms. Jennifer Christenson, Customer Relations Manager Mr. Robert J. Holcomb, Owner Mr. Brady Richardson, Ecommerce Director Mr. Larry (Cecil) Van Tuyl, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charlie A. Evans, Vice President & General Manager/Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Brady Richardson, Ecommerce Director
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Luke Motor Company Luke Motor Company II, L.P.
Additional Information

The BBB met with the business February 2012 to discuss the volume of their complaints relating to Advertising/Sales and Problems with Product and Service.  The business shared their process for identifying and resolving consumer complaints.

Industry Tips
Automobile sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Vandergriff Honda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1104 W I-20

    Arlington, TX 76017 (817) 275-3371 (817) 461-2323 (866) 716-6143 (866) 561-9067 (817) 962-2677

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchased multiple vehicles from this dealership and today I went to this dealership to get my oil changed. The service department does not close until 8pm and I pulled into the service area at around 650pm. It takes at least 10 minutes for one of the service advisors to even come to my car to acknowledge me. Note there are multiple employees engaging in horseplay outside of the service area and at least 4 employees standing around one car. In front of me is one vehicle and 2 others in front of the other bays. One advisor finally addresses me and asked what I needed which was an oil change. He tells me well it's going to be about an hour and a half wait. I said ok that's fine. Then he proceeds to tell me I will need to come tomorrow because they close at 8. I do not understand why I would need to come back if you just offered me service and I said the time to wait was fine. I do not understand where the disconnect is. You have multiple employees running around playing but you don't have time to complete a 20 minute oil change? I called and spoke to the mgr ***** ******** and I explained to him I do not understand why the advisor did not tell me from the beginning that although they close at 8 they would not be taking anymore vehicles due. I tell him I see 4 employees on one vehicle and a majority of them are talking and not working but I'm being turned away. He snaps and tells me that he knows what his employees are doing and that it takes longer than 20 minutes to change my oil. This is not my first time getting my oil changed here and there have been more cars and it has taken 20 minutes. His reaction caused a reaction out of me. I'm not going to be yelled and threatened to be hung up on. As a repeat customer at this dealership you need to shape up your service department. I'm coming from downtown Dallas from work to Arlington Texas for service and you turn me away after it's offered. Obviously you all do not believe in offering positive service experiences

Desired Settlement: I want a verbal apology. There is no reason that a customer should be treated this way. The respect you give is the respect you get in return which is exactly what ***** received today. Maybe your employees need to take courses in customer service because they obviously need it.

BBB Response:

Mr. ******* **** reached out to the customer and apologized several times and mentioned he would make sure to address each issue in the complaint. He also mentioned to call him anytime if she needed any assistance. 

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company constantly mails us their sales/marketing ads, and other materials, even though we have requested the mailings to stop via calling the dealership multiple times, writing on their Facebook and through contacting BBB previously. In the past, as we took our car to this dealership for service, we were told that our email address would only be contacted related to the one specific service appointment. Like fools, we believed what were told. This dealership does not keep its promises and/or deal in an honest manner as far as communications/unwanted mailings/unwanted calls/spam goes. Multiple calls to the management level personnel about the problem have not yielded any results! In addition, somehow they have now gotten hold of my private cell phone number, which is on the Government's Do Not Call list, and calling my private cell phone number. The call was made yesterday made to remind us to bring the car in for service. The call came from ###-###-####.

Desired Settlement: STOP CONTACTING US IN ANY WAY.

BBB Response:

We apologize and have removed your information from our system as requested.  We will continue to educate our staff as we take great pride in making sure we handle each customer’s request.  Sometimes it takes up to forty five days to completely remove from all marketing in our system. If you receive another call from us please notify me directly. Please give me a call at your convenience so we can discuss this Better Business Bureau complaint in more detail.

 

 

Business Response:

We have completely removed and it just takes a little time some mailers were already in process when we received the complaint. ******* has posted almost every day on facebook and other areas and we have truly reached out and notifying all marketing channels and sometimes it takes 45 days.

 

Please close this complaint as we have truly removed this person.

 

BBB Response:

We have completely removed and it just takes a little time some mailers were already in process when we received the complaint. ******* has posted almost every day on facebook and other areas and we have truly reached out and notifying all marketing channels and sometimes it takes 45 days.

 

Please close this complaint as we have truly removed this person.

 

Consumer Response:

 

The wording attached was not accurate.  The dealership is upset because I typed a negative review on their Facebook that they were unable to remove.   They even called me to ask me to remove it.  I explained why I would not remove it. 

As for posting 'every day' on Facebook, this is not true.   I placed a 'please stop spamming me' message on their Facebook timeline, which someone at the dealership quickly removed.   I tried a few times following the removal (during two days I believe), always with the same results with someone from the dealership removing my comment, with no one helping me.  Had the dealership taken the time to help me with my concerns and being responsible and honorable caring for their past customer, I would never have had to contact BBB.   But they did not.   Instead my cries for help were deleted each time!

This is not the first time I felt that I had to contact BBB with the same concerns  on this business with what I consider aggressive marketing efforts.  It happened before, but the mailings and the phone calls started all over again, even when we had not used this dealership for anything after the first bad experience. 

Please PERMANENTLY remove all my information from your records including all phone numbers and the spam mail by USPS to my house.   Additionally, I would like reassurance that I will not be spammed again any time in the future.  

 

 





4/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle over 2 months ago at Vandergriff Honda a 2012 Honda CRV I had my own financing with State Farm the Finance guy ****** told me he could get me a better deal and I agreed. I specifically asked if he would have o run another credit check and he told me and my witness NO, My witness and i was schocked to hear him say no so we asked again and was told no again. He told me Community Credit Union would finance my loan when i got in the car Wells fargo called me. They financed the loan. ***** **** witness. I have asked them repeatedly to withdraw the credit inquiries and havent had a responce in 2 months. I even wrote the corporate office and still no responce. Please remove the 2 credit inquiries from my account Community Credit Union and Vandergriff. Thank you -

Desired Settlement: Remove the credit inquiries from my account Community Credit Union and Vandergriff Honda Thank you

BBB Response:

We apologize for any misunderstanding that occurred during the finance process.  We will continue to educate our staff as we take great pride in making sure we are transparent with our customers. We will get with our accounting office and look into the credit inquiry. We continue to work with our staff in order to provide the best customer service and to make sure each customer leaves the dealership 100% satisfied. Please give me a call at your convenience so we can discuss this Better Business Bureau complaint in more detail.

 

Consumer Response:

 

I want the inquiries reversed and ***** lneed to stop calling me. While ***** and I was in ***** office a elderly man came in complaining about his loan and it broke my heart because ***** does this and has gotten tay with it for years . This has to stop he is a true salesman cunning, manipulative willing to do whatever it takes to get his job done.. Its sad because he lakes integrity and lies without a conscience he has lost his soul in this business and i weep for him nevertheless he need to stop ***** asked him and I asked him multible time if he needed to run another creidt check and he said No multible times and we wer both amazed at his responce he lied to us wiht a straight face.  I had to go back to the dealership to sign paper and he told me when i arrived to ask for him and he would come to the forn with the papers and i could sign the. When I arrives he was gone for the day and another person had to assist me. once again he lied to me and I

 

 am furious with the deceit 

4/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we purchased our Black 2011 Honda Civic from Vandergriff Chevrolet in March of 2014 we added Sky link to the vehicle. We were told by ******* ****** (the finance manager) that we had to pay the $400.00 to have it installed and we would have lifetime tracking service on our phones as well as the police would be able to locate our vehicle very quickly should it ever be stolen. At the beginning of March our service on our phones for tracking no longer worked. I called Mr. ****** on March 6 and left him a voice mail about this issue. I never heard from him so I text his cell phone on March 7 asking if he got my message. I received no response. I then called Sky Link to see what the issue was and I was informed there is a $140.00 a year charge unless the dealership faxed over paperwork stating otherwise. On March 9 I left Mr. ****** another message and received no response. On March 13th I called the dealership again and spoke to ****** (which is the salesperson who sold us the car he assured that ******* would call that day.)On March 17th I contacted the dealership through their online service . The associate assured me that someone would contact me that day to resolve my issue. As of today March 20th I have still heard from no one.

Desired Settlement: I want Vandergriff Honda to honor the agreement that they sold us. I want lifetime tracking on phones and police tracking.

BBB Response:

The GM **** **** at Vandergriff Honda informed me that Brandon Guzman has reached out to the customer in regards to the Sky link. He also mentioned that based on conversations that we were going to be paying for part of the subscription.

 

I just wanted to give you an update to this complaint.

 

3/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a complaint about the numerous phone calls that the dealership made to not only my personal cell but as well my work cell phone. This complaint was made via the BBB website towards the dealership. I was guaranteed that my the general manager last year that the calls would stop. The phone calls have picked up again a year later, and feels like harassment.

Desired Settlement: To actually stop calling me!

BBB Response:

 

Please accept our apologies. We have talk to all our sales staff and marketing agencies to make sure this does not occur again. Vandergriff Honda has always made customer satisfaction our #1 priority, and we are very sorry to see you are upset. Thank you for informing us about this recent event. If you receive another call please let me know.

 

 

1/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i purchased 2011 honda civic from vandergriff honda and was not told that my vehicle was in a accident and odometer was also wrong on my contract. i was told my vehicle had 44,000 miles on it which made me purchse the 100,000 warranty but my car actually had 60,000. I would not have purchased the warranty nor the vehicle! I was also promised an extra key which i never received due to my sales man moving to california. If possible i would like to return this vehicle and receive my 1500.00 deposit back! I will never do business with vandergriff again and i am also going to report them to the Texas department of motor vehicles ..

Desired Settlement: i would like my down payment 1500.00 and to return the vehicle

BBB Response:

I talked to the customer on Thursday. She is coming in this Thursday.

12/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My spouse and I bought a car two months ago through Vandergriff Honda and have had nothing but troubles. The car was scratched and they were supposed to fix it but every time we call they cant do it. We had to get our contract changed 3 different times on the way that they processed our bank loan and when we called to pay our first bill we found out our payment was 175.00 more than we signed for. This is the worst experience I have ever had buying a car and the company wont fix it. I even called to get a copy of the ne contract and they still haven't supplied me with it.

Desired Settlement: I honestly love this car but its not the price they said it was going to be and they are not upholding their part of the contract with repairs. I haven't had this car but 7 weeks and its not buyer remorse but this contract and payment is not right.

BBB Response:

A week or so back we actually FedEx all the contract information and even overnight the plates to the customer. As requested. Attached was the FedEx document.

 

 

Consumer Response: The issue has been resolved but the problem now lays in this company’s shady business practices. The General Manager threatened, took a harsh tone with me raising his voice and yelling in my ear about how the problem was mine now that I had bought the car so he really didn’t care.  The Financial Manager told me and my wife that we were signing only contract. He actually placed a huge stack of papers together and had us sign 4 different ones so he could submit them to many different financial companies. The multiple inquires that these companies made on our credit hit our credit report and took mine and my wife’s score down 20 plus points. If I had known that I would be harassed and lied to I would never had bought a car from them. I can’t even get them to schedule my oil change because they state they can’t do one on the weekend. This is not the only complaint that they have had and not the only BBB complaint filed. I have pulled numerous reviews about this dealership and they are horrible to everyone. 

The Sale person ***** ****** was the only one trying to help and made it easy for us. 






12/1/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a new 2013 Honda Odyssey van July 2013. Two months later the dealer was handed a written cancellation notice for the 72 month after-market warranty effective Sept 30 (2 months after purchase). This cancellation is allowed by the state of Texas under provisions of consumer abuse and provides for a prorated credit to be used to reduce the car loan balance. The credit refund took 12 months and a number of phone calls all the while paying interest on the $1,939.58 that should not have been in the loan balance. The complaint is because the credit was $532.68 short (70/72 mo x $1,995). Also the one year delay was not fair considering the interest cost of the inflated loan balance.

Desired Settlement: Apply credit to the loan balance in the amount of $532.68 plus one year interest cost of $1939.58.

Business Response:

Reached out to the customer, and left a VM... waiting for a response from customer so i can go ahead a resolve this issue once I get little more clarification.

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 19, 2014, I went into Vandergriff Honda to purchase a 2003 Nissan 350z they had in their inventory. The salesman(***** ******) and others said “You have nothing to worry about” with the purchase of the vehicle but we still requested and left the lot with a 6 month "Platinum" warranty. They did not give us a copy of any purchasing paperwork or contract because they told us it would be mailed to us, which it never was. On 04/23/2014 (4 days later), We were told by the Finance Manager(***** ***) that he had "great news" and that our interest rate and monthly payment on the vehicle had gone down and that we would need to drive back to the dealership which is over 2 hours away to re-sign the contract. On 04/26/2014, When we had arrived at the dealership, we were taken into a room with the finance manager(***** *****) and he made sure to point out the new interest rate and monthly payment. He then left the room while we sign the contract. After closer inspection, we then noticed they had removed the warranty on the second contract. When he had returned, we asked him why the warranty was no longer on the contract and his response was "The bank denied you the warranty because your car has too many miles on it." We then asked if there is any other available warranty for us to purchase, and we were told “No. There is no warranty you can purchase”. We then spoke with the used car sales manager(******* ******) about 2 m***r problems the vehicle had which were the passenger window motor, and passenger power seat switch and we requested these items be fixed. He agreed and wrote out a repair order for us to take to the Nissan dealership in Killeen. Again after resigning the contract we still never received any copies of purchase paperwork because “they will be mailed to you later.” Which they never were. On 05/05/14, We took the vehicle to the Nissan service department to get the car repaired. After numerous phone calls to Vandergriff Honda to have the repair authorized, we were constantly ignored and were left waiting for the dealership to authorize the repair. The car sat at the Nissan Dealership for over a week and a half while waiting for Vandergriff Honda to authorize the repair. Vandergriff Honda finally authorized the repair payment and we were able to pick up the car over a very m***r repair on 05/14/2014. On 07/01/2014, We were driving on the freeway when the A/C began to blow hot air. Seconds later, we heard a lot of loud noises coming from the engine and before we had the chance to pull over, the entire vehicle locked up in the middle of the freeway, in a construction zone. We struggled to pull the car over on the shoulder. I checked the oil and the oil level was fine. The car's temperature gauge never went up and the battery had power. When I attempted to start the car, all we heard was a single thump. The vehicle was unable to even crank. We had the car towed to our house and called the dealership and spoke with the salesman(***** ******) about what happened but he very rudely responded with "Oh well, That's too bad, We tried to sell you a warranty but you denied it." and he hung up. We then had the car towed to a shop to get diagnosed. We were told that the engine threw a rod and the car needs a new engine after only owning it for less than 2 and a half months and before the second payment of the car was ever made. We have tried everything to get this dealership to make it right. I spoke with the used car manager(******* ******) and told him the situation and told him how they tried to sneak the warranty off of the contract. He asked if the finance manager(***** *****) offered us to make payments on a warranty. When I told him what the finance manager told us, he said that he would make this right. We receive a call from him 3 days later and were told the only thing they can offer us is a discount on the repair from a Nissan Dealership. I reiterated the fact that it was wrong of them to sell me a car with a bad engine and he agreed. He said he would get back to me with a solution. The only other solution he could come up with was to trade us into a more expensive car and give us trade in value on the vehicle we just purchased to attempt to rip us off again. This dealership knew what was wrong with the car and purposely lied to sneak the warranty off the 2nd contract. They sold me a car with a bad engine and are now refusing to take any responsibility for the car they sold me.

Desired Settlement: I want them to accept full responsibility of the bad car they sold me by covering the repair and towing cost. Or a rescind of the contract all together.

BBB Response: **** **** met with the customer and looked at trading in the vehicle. The goal was to put the customer into another vehicle and work out a monthly payment. After looking over the many options the customer felt the monthly payment was too high. We tried to do our best to make this current situation right. 

Consumer Response:

Their sole mission was to put us into a vehicle that cost MORE THAN 2X the cost of the original car. We feel this was grossly unfair to us. We tried to work with the dealership on an equitable solution but their only interest was to remain profitable. We feel we were cheated out of thousands of dollars and didn't want to be cheated out of thousands more. We made 1 payment on the vehicle before the engine failed. We STILL never received ANY copies of ANY paperwork or contract, even after we notified the General Manager that we never received a copy they still neglected to give us a copy of the sales contract. The dealership offered us only $1500.00 trade-in value on the vehicle and then wanted to add the balance of the original car loan onto the replacement vehicle cost. This isn't including the extra thousand from taxes and licensing.  
The bottom line is we were sold a vehicle with a 6 month "Platinum" warranty. Only to have the dealership call a few days giving us revised terms and using the decrease in the interest rate to distract us from the fact that they removed the warranty without our consent or knowledge. When we asked about the warranty we were told there were no supplemental warranty options available. We found out later from the dealership's sales manager that there were multiple warranty options available. 
Since the complaint was filed we have moved to California. We were forced to pay $860.00 to have the vehicle shipped to California since we were unable to drive the vehicle. 
The only acceptable solution is for reimbursement of at least half of the shipping cost and half of the engine replacement.



9/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On aug 9, 2014, i purchased a brand new honda odyssey EX model from the dealer. After 4 hours of negotiation late that evening, we agreed to a ***e price of $32500 for the vehicle inclusive of state tax (6.25%), title, registration, documentation AND dealer options. I was subsequently taken to their finance department where their agent (*****) tried selling me a whole bunch of dealer products and services that i declined (recorded on their camera). He then left the room and another finance agent (***) tried to pitch Gap insurance for the Honda finance loan i took for an extra $20/month added to my monthly loan payment. Given that it was 10-30 pm already, i agreed to have that added to ***es contract as i was told i can cancel that at any time for a FULL refund. In addition, my family and kids were too tired from lack of food and dinner (we came to dealership at 4-30 pm that day) and we did not want to haggle over the gap insurance ***es pitch. When the final purchase agreement had to be signed, i noted that price of vehicle was jacked up to $34700. I asked why it exceeded $32500 and ***** said it is due to the gap insurance i took that can be cancelled at any time for a full refund of $2200 (back to agreed ***es price of $32500). I called him back following tuesday when i noted unfamiliar product items (ZAKTEK ULTIMATE, ZAKTEK UPGRADE) that i never wanted or agreed to pay extra with dealer, and price discrepancies on that contract document and asked that gap insurance be cancelled immediately to restore original ***es price of $32500 I was asked to come back to dealership and sign papers for cancellation of Gap insurance and Master protection plan that dealer tacked onto my contract (by mis-representing it as the Honda STANDARD 3 YEAR/36K FACTORY WARRANTY). I was told i will get a credit for $1500 only and not $2200. The extra $700 supposedly is for a ZAKTEK clear coat sealant product that i had NEVER SIGNED UP FOR nor asked to be added to contract ***e price. The dealer is refusing to budge and unwilling to settle the dispute professionally. I have spent 3 weeks without any success to get the dealership to refund me $700 for the ZAKTEK PAINT PROTECTION product they have added on WITHOUT MY CONSENT AND PERMISSION OR AGREEMENT AND BY MISREPRESENTING IT AS PART OF THE GAP INSURANCE DEAL. The finance individuals have simply ignored my DOZEN phone calls after telling me it is NON-negotiable product applied to every new car or vehicle they sell. If that indeed is the case, the final all-inclusive ***ES PRICE should have been declared to me as $33200 and NOT $32500 that the dealership pitched so aggressively to me to clinch the ***e. Clearly VANDERGRIFF HONDA is not being TRANSPARENT on HIDDEN COSTS and is intent on MISLEADING AND MISREPRESENTING AGREED TO ***es price with its customers using every possible DIVERSIONARY tactic to make more profit for dealership at my cost. it is not possible to read all the fine print and question dealer on every item on the final ***es contract at time of a long ***es process. I did challenge the dealer on the final $34700 price (recorded on their camera) only to be MISLED completely.

Desired Settlement: $700 refund to my loan principal with HONDA finance corp and apology for wasting so much of my time, energy, and effort towards a simple straightforward direct settlement with them.

BBB Response:

We resolved it, we gave them 3 years of basic maintenance.  All is well! 

 

 


9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I attempted to purchase a vehicle from them, We were told we were "pre-approved" for a vehicle. We selected a vehicle and were told to sign the contract and were allowed to drive the car home. A couple of days later, we were contacted by the salesperson, **** ****, that they lost my paycheck stubs and asked if I had them with me. I told them if I turned them in to them, as they requested, then I wouldn't have them, and THEY should have my check stub. A few days later, we were told that we had signed the contract in the wrong place and that we needed to re-sign some paperwork. When we arrived, there was an entirely different contract with a different finance company. We, again, signed another contract, and were asked if everything else was fine with the car, We replied, "yes. We love it." No problem was ever brought up by them. We then received a call tonight asking us to return the vehicle, because the bank would not fund the vehicle. The reason we were given, was that the bank would not fund the vehicle because my wife doesn't have a drivers license. My wife does not drive, as she has cataracts and will need surgery to fix. She is excluded on the insurance for the vehicle for this very reason. The dealership knew my wife didn't have a license the first night we signed the contract! After almost 2 weeks, they have pulled the rug out from underneath us. If the lack of a license was what the problem is, that should have been addressed BEFORE we signed any contracts! We are very unhappy with the dealership and are filing this complaint in an effort to force them to stop this practice.

Desired Settlement: If they would go ahead and do what they promised, we would be happy customers, and let others know that they honor their word. If they do not honor the contract, we will do EVERYTHING in our power to warn others of their deceptive practices and hopefully, no one will ever have to go through what we just did. Shameful!

BBB Response:

**** did reach out to the customer and they both agreed to wait 30 days and then we would try to get them into a vehicle.

 

 

7/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several months ago, we took our Honda to the service department at this address. We were asked for our e-mail address so that the service appointment could be confirmed. We agreed and this turned out to be a big mistake. We started receiving junk/spam mail from this business. After many phone calls to this business, the e-mails finally stopped.Now, we are still receiving spam/junk/advertising mail via USPS. I have called and asked to talk to the general manager of this business. He seems not be available. Instead I spoke with **** who promised to take our address off the list. The communications received seems to be a memo from ******* ***** to **** **** about why there was no deal made with us...We typed a question about their advertising practices on Vandergriff Honda Facebook site as to why we were not removed from their mailing list. There was no answer from the company. After several attempts for an answer, we were blocked from their Facebook site. Since that time we have received robo calls, a minimum of 3 times a day to our home telephone number. The phone will ring only once each time.I put a call to the office manager at this business for help yesterday morning, no return phone call.This business doesn't seem to understand about privacy and customer's rights!

Desired Settlement: This company clearly does not deal with their customers in a professional manner. We would like a sincere apology from the top management of this company. The harassing robo calls must stop, as should the local and now also national Honda advertising mailings to our address.

Business Response:

 

Vandergriff Honda has always made customer satisfaction our #1 priority, and we are very sorry to see you are upset. We take pride in providing complete and competent service, while always maintaining the highest level of respect and business ethics. It usually takes about 45 days to completely remove you from all aspects of our system. We did receive your request around June 4th. I have personally called our marketing team and talked to my sales staff. They have assured me you have been completely removed out of our database.  Please feel free to contact me directly with any questions or if you receive another piece of marketing.  Thank you for working with us to get this resolved. Thank you, **** ****, GSM, ###-###-####


 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10098541, and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I had requested to be removed from Vandergriff's e-mail and mailing lists several times prior to June 4th.  Yet, we still continued receiving marketing materials.  Also, the issue of blocking me from Vandergriff Facebook site after my posted question, rather than providing me with an answer, remains unresolved.

Robocalls issue was not addressed either in the response.  

Furthermore, I did not detect any information in their response that would indicate that we wouldn't we be spammed in multiple ways, as happened in the past, if we had to bring our vehicle back to this business for service.  I.e., I did not detect any wording to indicate a change in their policy.





Business Response:

Vandergriff Honda has always made customer satisfaction our #1 priority, and we are very sorry to see you are upset. We take pride in providing complete and competent service, while always maintaining the highest level of respect and business ethics. We have completely removed your information from our system as you requested and will be mailing you a gas card in good faith for your trip out to our dealership. We try very hard to satisfy every customer, and would welcome the opportunity to prove ourselves to you in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly with any questions. Thank you, **** ****, GSM, ###-###-####

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10098541, and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute. We are still receiving the mailings, last one arrived just last week from Vandergriff Honda. None of the promises to be removed from their mailings have worked. Also, no gas card has been received. Regards,


7/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Friday, 6/20/14, Vangergriff Honda called my wife ****** ****** and left a voicemail on her phone. They said that we were pre-approved for a buyback program for the 2013 Honda Fit and that they could get us into a 2015. We didn't question it because this was the dealership we bought it from. They know how much we paid for it. We decided to go down after work. We arrived and spoke with *****. The salesman was friendly. He showed my wife the new 2015 Honda Fit. She test drove it. She asked about the color, because there weren't very many choices. She wanted to know if they had sold one that was a different color, trying to flush out her options. He said no they were brand new, just came out, they hadn't sold a single one. We went inside and he collected our information. We signed a paper giving them permission to run our credit. He looked over our credit and the amount we owed on the car. He explained that given the car's condition and the amount we owed on the car, that the GM would have to approve the buyback and sale. My father was with us and was getting tired. We asked the salesman if he could have the GM look over everything and make a decision and then call us. We didn't want to have to make another trip for a maybe. We also emphasized that the only way we would do this is if he was able to pay off our 2013 fit and get us in the new fit for the same or smaller monthly payments. He said sure. Saturday, 6/21/14, around 4:30 p.m. we hadn't heard from him. My wife decided to call him. He told her that he was with a customer and took down her phone number and would call her back. He did not. They were closed on Sunday so my wife waited till today. 6/23/14, she calls him and leaves a message. He returns the call and says that he spoke with the GM and that we were good to go on the Honda fit. She clarified asking, what do you mean by good to go? that you (vandergriff) would buy my fit and we would buy a 2015? He said yes and that he wanted to know if we would come by this evening. We said sure. We headed out. We get there, he has us take another test drive. We get back and he has us sign a paper saying if the terms are satisfactory that we would do business with them. He goes off to the finance people to find out what our payments would be. He comes back after about 20 minutes. He tells us that in the case of the fit due to it having such high demand, that we would have to pay a mark up on the sticker price. I told him that didn't make sense because #1 he had said that no one was buying them. #2 he told us on the phone that we were good to go. He then tells us that he can get us in a 2014 civic, a car that is priced $4000 more than the MSRP of the fit. I told him no absolutely not that he lied to us and I wanted my keys so we could leave. We drove a total of 44 miles based on lies. The phone call lied. They offered a deal on the phone telling us we were pre approved. We found out when we got there that we weren't. We were told that they would crunch the numbers and wouldn't ask us back down there again unless everything met our criteria. Then they turned around and lied to me raising the price on the sticker after we had already discussed everything. He claimed it was because we had a "high risk loan" None of this makes sense that they would "approve us" for a civic for 4k more rather then the car we were told we were qualified. We were lured in by false claims which were solidified by a lying sales person.

Desired Settlement: #1 Stop contacting me or my wife for sales purposes; no letters or phone calls for sales. #2 I would like an the dealership policy to change. We had issues with the gentleman that we bought the car from originally at the same dealership. The salesmen are purposefully deceitful or under trained/educated on the product or car buying process. #3 I would like an apology from the GM for his sales personnel. I would like the apology in writing as I have no intention of speaking to him or his staff in person. #4 with the letter I would like a check/voucher/coupon for gas. I had to waste my time, my frustration, and most importantly my gas to come down there and be subjected to lie after lie.

BBB Response:

Our dealership participates in the BBB program and we are committed to providing high quality customer service, but based on your complaint we will be doing an internal investigation. We pride ourselves on our customer service and this is certainly no way to show that. We have a zero tolerance rule here at our dealership and we do apologize for any misunderstanding that has occurred. We will address this situation. Through this program we have an opportunity to resolve this concern mentioned as we value all our customers. Please feel free to contact me directly by phone or email. Thank you, **** ***** **** ************ ***************

 

Consumer Response:


Though I appreciate your response I did want to add that from the time that I placed this complaint to today, we have recieved 6 additional phone calls from different reps offering the same deal. We even spoke to the "general manager" the 2nd time asking him to verify if this was an offer that was approved in responce to this complaint or a general sales inquiry. He said he would research and get back to us. He never did. We have asked repeatedly for your staff not to contact us about this "great offer". I would assume that their time is valuable and that you wouldn't want them persueing someone who has applied and been denyed before. Not only is it harassment, but in poor taste. My wife is heart broken because every time we get a call she gets a little hope that maybe they figured out a way to work around our credit history and the conditions of the buy back program.  Your response also does not address any of the points of resolution.

 





4/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 02/17/14 my husband and I purchased a 2014 Honda Accord LX. . We signed a contract for 0 down and left with the vehicle that day. One week later I received a call from the saleman stating the loan was not approved by the finance company. They then stated that I would either have to put down 2,500 or seek a co-signer. My husband and I make 7,600 a month and did not need a co-signer. They then stated that I needed to return the car and get something cheaper. Also, they did not give us a copy of the contract stating that they would need a copy of the insurance card with the new car added.

Desired Settlement: I am desiring for Vandergriff Honda to honor the contract as signed.

BBB Response: **** **** the GSM talked to the customer this morning. **** mentioned she wanted us to resubmit her loan in April. From the conversation all is good and he will continue to work with the customer. 

3/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been getting calls from Salesman from Vandergriff Honda regarding refinancing my vehicle. I told them that I am not interested. I still to this day keep getting calls about this offer. I have called twice to the dealership and have asked them not to contact me and to remove my phone numbers from their system. It has gotten to the point that I have put the number they call me from on my reject list, then I delete the voice mail they leave. This issue has been going on for a month now, and feel like I am being harassed.

Desired Settlement: To receive proper acknowledgment by mail that I will no longer be contacted regarding any special services by phone.

BBB Response:

 

We went into our system and removed Mr. ******** from all marketing and talked to our sales team. We apologize for any inconvenient and will monitor this for the next 30 days to make sure this issue is addressed.

2/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* *****, the General Manager, has persisted in sending me advertisements in the mail after repeatedly being asked to take me off their mailing list.

Desired Settlement: I would like Vandergriff Honda to take me off their mailing list.

Business Response:

 

We do apologize for the experience you mentioned in the BBB submission and we can assure you this will be taken care of. We completely removed your information from our system and working with our marketing team to make sure you don’t receive other marketing material.

If you have any questions please feel free to give me a call or send an email. 

 

Consumer Response:

This is my second complaint to the BBB about the same thing. I have repeatedly asked Vandergriff Honda; specifically ******* *****, to cease from trying to contact me and they/he has refused. I
 
I want ******* ***** and Vandergriff Honda to take me off their mailing list and never contact me again by any means except to apologize for harassing me for 7 years.




Regards,

Philip Cain



Business Response:

 

Vandergriff Honda would like to apologize for the multiple mailers you have received. We submitted your information to be removed from all future mailers based on your first BBB request in January and it can take up to 45 days to make sure you have been completely removed. We have contacted our marketing department and instructed them to to make sure your information has been removed.  Thank you again for working with us on this.

 

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vandergriff Honda called me and asked if I wanted to trade in my car on a new Honda. I went in and chose a car. I told them I would not pay more than my current payment of $565. They finally after two days came back with $574 and I signed the contract. After two more days, I received a phone call from the dealership again, and told me I needed to come back in because a document was not signed. When I arrived, I was told that the contract had to be completely redone and now the payment is $584, where they were originally when negotiations started. I was also promised a card for $500 which I did not receive. This is the second time this dealership has done this. They also had this same type of practice last year when they called and wanted us to trade the other car in. They no longer had my old car so I was stuck with the new higher payment that I told them I would not do, forcing me to take the new car and the higher payment. I feel I was deceived and tricked by this dealership. I will not deal with them again. I was told that I had to sign the new contract because they were loosing too much money on the deal.

Desired Settlement: I want a settlement in the amount of the contract that was increased over the period of the note, plus interest. They have wasted my time and have taken advantage of me.

Business Response: Our General Sales Manager has reached out to the consumer and left a voicemail. We await his call back so that we can get this matter resolved.

1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from Vandergriff Honda last week sometime. 1st problem: There was noone to show you how to work any thing on the car. 2nd: They didnt have a front Vandergriff tag on the car we almost had to beg for one. 3rd: The car looked like it had over spray on it, like it had been repainted. My husband took it back today, they stated all their cars are like that when they are used. They took the car to the the back for about 20 minutes and came back and said its done. I rubbed my hand across the top and hood still feels gritty. They stated thats the best that they can do. I some how believe thats not true. If thats their best, I hate to see the worst!

Desired Settlement: I just want them to know this is not how you sell a person a car, then after the transaction is done you act they dont exist. They tell you to come back the next day when you go back the person you spoke to is not there. Nobody knows anything! Nobody even knows your coming. I think if you sell a person something take accountability for the problem.

Business Response:

**** **** the GSM contacted the customer today and we will be looking at the vehicle this week.  We will do everything we can to try and make the situation right. We appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention.

 

11/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/12/2012, I purchased a certified pre-owned 2011 Honda Civic from Vandergriff Honda. At the time of purchase, I was given the CarFax report and there were no reports of car accidents. The dealer highlighted the great record on the CarFax report as a selling point. Furthermore, the dealership’s 150 point inspection for the pre-owned certification did not signal any damage to the car. I purchased the car for $14,046 with a total loan of $16,483.88. The car started having mechanical malfunctions (covered under the warranty) not long after the purchase. During the second visit that I took the car in for these malfunctions, the service center representative indicated that the car looked like it had been in an accident because of slight ripples in the door; this news was shocking since the CarFax said the car had never been in an accident. Several months later (8/5/2013), I was called to the dealer to hear about a special offer. When I arrived, I was listening to what they had to offer, but at that time Vandergriff Honda told me that my car had been in accident and would only trade-in the car as if it had been in an accident. After I explained the situation, they brought the trade-in up $11,000 and claimed that was the best they could do by the KBB trade-in value. I was insistent that they sold the 2011 civic to me under false pretenses and I would like the full price exchanged, but they would not do this. I was under the impression that I was purchasing a car that had never been in an accident, so Vandergriff owes me a full refund of a car that had not been in an accident. I ultimately purchased a 2013 Civic with the $11,000 trade-in, but Vandergriff Honda still owes me the difference between the amount I paid and the trade-in. Furthermore, since the 150 inspection did not show any problem with the car, this was also false pretenses because their own service department realized that there had been damage done to the car when I took it in to get serviced – if this was not noticed in the inspection process, then that is gross negligence; if it was noticed, then the 150 point inspection was fraudulent.

Desired Settlement: To resolve my complaint, I expect Vandergriff to refund me the amount of the loan minus the taxes I owed on the purchase and minus the 11,000 trade-in. $16483.88 (loan amount) - $877.88 (taxes) – $11,000 (trade-in) = $4,606. Once Vandergriff Honda refunds me $4,606 this issue will be resolved.

BBB Response:

Prior to, and during the initial sales process it was unknowing to both parties there was any prior damage to the retail unit.  Unfortunately some of the payoff balance the customer owed to the bank is due to rolling in TT&L and additional optional coverage for the vehicle at the point of purchase that has nothing to do with the value of the vehicle.  When notified of the situation the dealership did attempt to rectify the situation by offering more money for the trade in good faith.  Ultimately mutual parities came to agreeable terms and conditions to trade out of the old and into the new.  I believe if the terms were not satisfactory to the customer then we would have known it at the point of the second sale.  Although our goal as an organization is to keep every client that visit our store a satisfied client, in this particular case we believe we offered a fair deal given this unusual circumstances.  Once again the difference in the amount given and owed on the trade is a combination of multiple different factors from the initial purchase (financing in the TT&L, finance charge, optional VSC, GAP ins. And etc.…) and we believe that’s not something the dealership needs to be responsible for in any deal.  

 

Consumer Response:

 

When a car dealership sells a certified vehicle under the pretense that the vehicle has not been in an accident backed by a 150-point inspection and a CarFax report, it is making a commitment to the consumer that it fully backs the car. If it were only the CarFax report that was false, I would find Vandergriff’s malfeasance reprehensible and primarily negligent. However, since the dealership (Vandergriff) did a 150-point inspection, Vandergriff is going beyond the CarFax report and claiming that the car has a clean bill of health. Yet, a service advisor from the same dealership (Vandergriff Honda) noticed the damage to my car on a walk-around when I left my car there for service. This means that the 150-point inspection was either not conducted or it was and Vandergriff falsified it. In this case, Vandergriff went beyond negligence and actually sold the car under false pretenses. Again, the issue is the 150-point inspection. Vandergriff sold me a lemon and they knew it.

 

At the time that I purchased the new car, I was clear that I was not absolving them of their negligence. In fact, the manager I spoke with said that he was eager to get the car back so that they could settle with the entity that sold them the car. It was plain to me that I needed to get rid of that lemon as soon as possible. We did not come “to agreeable terms and conditions to trade out of the old and into the new.” I never signed anything saying that I was absolving Vandergriff Honda of willfully selling me a car under false pretenses. In order to rectify the situation, I still expect Vandergriff Honda to refund the purchase of the car in its entirety. Vandergriff sold a car to me at full value at the time of purchase under the pretense that the car had not been in an accident – they knew otherwise because of the 150-point inspection. For that reason, Vandergriff owes me a full refund of the car that they sold to me. This is not a matter of trade-in value, it is a matter of what they sold to me under false pretenses and that requires a full-refund of the purchase price of the 2011 Honda Civic.

 

 

 

11/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: - I Purchased a new vehicle on 8/30/2013 and traded in a 2012. I received a postcard advertising no money down. I went in and discussed the postcard with my salesperson. I purchased my new vehicle with no money down only used my trade-in. - About a week later I contacted a company that I had purchased a vehicle protection plan from in 2012 on the vehicle that was used as a trade-in so that I could cancel the plan and get a pro-rated refund. The company is MPP located in Shawnee Mission, KS. I was told by them that Vandergriff Honda contacted them and said the refund for my vehicle protection plan on my 2012 vehicle should be sent to them because I had used it for my down payment. - I contacted **** in the finance department to discuss this matter with him and he was so rude and nasty. I even asked to speak with the general manager, ******* *****, and **** put someone on the phone that was supposed to be ******* ***** and I explained the issue to him and told me to get an attorney and that they couldn't help me - he was rude as well. - I was a repeat customer and will never go back there and have told everyone I know about this incident, I would like to get my MPP warranty refund that they basically stole. I never even told them I had the protection plan, they had to pull my information from my vehicle purchase in July of 2012. The protection plan that I had on the trade-in was never discussed.

Desired Settlement: To get my refund back because the warranty company told me to contact the dealer.

BBB Response:
The refund on the warranty was
applied to the new vehicle on their behalf therefore there was no refund. The
GM has talked to this customer. If there is a more reasonable solution that’s
obtainable then the dealership is open to listen and accommodate.

 

Thank you!

 

 

Consumer Response:

 
I did not even mention my extended warranty to Vandergriff Honda during my entire purchase. Since I had purchased my trade in a year prior to this purchase, Vandergriff used that information in order to know that I had purchased an Extended Warranty on that vehicle. I would like to get my money for my warranty otherwise I will take them to court. 




10/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Yes,I cancel a mechanical protection plan,to SPP 303 East Wacker Drive,#230,Chicago,Ill.60601-5219 before the first payment on Aug.22,2013,so they said call Vandergriff Honda that you cancel the plan I do it.Vandergriff Honda,haven't refund my $150.00 I also have a certified mail receipt that I have cancelthis plan,I also call the Vandergriff Honda in say that I am cancel the plan on Aug.01,2013.I have all my receipt,copy of my letter that I send to SPP (mechanical protection plan) about cancel the plan.So I need my $150.00 back from Vandergriff Honda.

BBB Response:
The refund on the warranty was
applied to the new vehicle on their behalf therefore there was no refund. The
GM has talked to this customer. If there is a more reasonable solution that’s
obtainable then the dealership is open to listen and accommodate.

 

Thank you!

 

 

BBB Response:

I talked to our business office and ******* ***** is getting her check for the $150. Sorry for the delay
the lean holder had the money for this and now we should be good. Thank you everyone for working with us.

 

10/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Today I went to Vandergrift Honda to get an oil change. I informed them my daughter was picking me up to go to lunch and they could contact me when my vehicle was ready. Upon leaving I received a call that my belts needed to be replaced and I was given an exact price over the phone of $1,044. I gave them approval to get started. When I picked up my car I went to the check out and was given a higher, different price. This was very up setting and I voiced my concern. The clerk took off $40 dollars but this still was not the price we agreed on over the phone. There was nothing more she would do. Had I known the price was higher than what I was told I would have advised them to not proceed with the service. This was no longer an option since they already replaced the parts.. I bought my car new from them and I have received every past maintenance from them in the past 4years. This is not a way to conduct business and I am very upset.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund

BBB Response:

We first made contact with the daughter (assuming she is the daughter because she was not the same person that dropped off the vehicle nor authorized the work).  Venny diaz apologized for any inconvenience for the price discrepancy and discussed a resolution to ensure the customer was satisfied. 

After reviewing the recorded phone calls We did inform the customer that the Mother that dropped the vehicle off clearly was informed the amount was $1044 plus tax.  Although, we still made a mistake of $56.85 on the bottom line total we still offered to refund the customer $106.85 to accommodate the misunderstanding with the taxes.  Customer agreed but stated she wanted to review the phone call via email;  we emailed the link and customer requested us to call back on 9/14/2013 at 7am.

We attempted to call on 9/14/2013 and left a message, 9/15, 9/16 and I personally called the mom on 9/17/2013 and never received a call back.

Customers daughter finally called back late 9/18/2013 and said she did review the call but will not remove BBB complaint until discussed with her family.

As a reputable dealership/Business we feel that we did everything we possibly could to ensure that we took care of the customer and offered to correct our mistakes. 

I have attached the phone call that was authorized by the “mom” and clearly stating the amount disputed was before taxes.  The amount was disclosed at 10:08m mark on the attached phone call

Thank you for your assistance. Please let me know if there is anything else you feel needs to happen regarding this complaint.

Please let me know if this can be removed.

 

9/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into the dealership on june 7th to look at a new pilot that they had on their web site and of course when we got their of course that car was sold the night before, but I could pick another one that was the same but different color for the same price. they let me drive the car home that night not knowing if they had financing, and called me before I got home to tell me that they got financing for me at the terms I gave them. went in june 7th and signed all the papers. then they called me 3 weeks from june 7th telling me that they could not find financing, funny 3 weeks ago they had fininicing. ok I gave them their car back. in the 3 weeks they had my car they damaged it and also ran over a screw with my left tire. they fix the the left front tire with screw in it. now i am trying to get them to fix the damage to my car and replace my rubber mat in the back that was their when I left it with them. also I cant get them to give me my handicap tags on my car back. I also spoke with mrs evans and he also told me on june 28 th when I took they car back that the new car was mine I guess not cause I am driving my old crv.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor what they advertised the 2013 blue pilot on their web site and also give me 22.500.00 on my trade like they said would. and stop doing a bait and switch on all of they coustomers

BBB Response:


Will be glad to work on the pricing on any vehicle in stock, but in this particular case it was more or less being able to obtain proper financing to secure the loan.  The rubber mat is replaced.  Had communication with the customer as late as last Friday, and waiting for proof of income to resubmit for financing. 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

 

 

they have damanaged my vehicle while it was in their possision,andnow they are saying it was done when we traded. I don't think so . yes they did replace the mat that was taken but not the damage. and they have not offered me any other deal like we had in place

 

 

 

 

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When going to Vandergriff Honda for service on Friday June 28th and asking for diagnosis of a potential oil leak I was ordered to leave. The order of events are as follows: After leaving the car at express service and getting a drink coupon, I went to the restroom, and, after spending a minute looking at the new cars, I went to order my drink. When placing my order I was approached by the GM/Partner ******* *****. He asked me for my name, which I provided and he then ordered me to leave. When asked for explanation, I was told that the last time (on about June 10th for other service) I recommended another customer take advantage of the sales department at Frank Kent Honda as they offered better treatment and likely better prices than they were being offered by Vandergriff. After the customers reassured me they were aware of the difference, they told me that they would likely leave for another dealership and that they appreciated the suggestion. That day when I told the customers their alternatives, I was approached by a manager and told that I may not do that. The events on the 28th completed with the ******* ***** ordering me to leave, threatening to call the police and then declaring that he had called the police. In the interest of transparency and ensuring peace, I called 911, asked for instructions, and left as ordered by ******* *****.

Desired Settlement: I ask that ******* ***** welcome my patronage should I chose to return and I also ask that the BBB review whether this business entity is worthy of its accreditation.

BBB Response:


Vandergriff Honda works hard to make sure we provide the best service to all of our customers.  The GM has requested to not do business with this customer at this point in time. This decision was based on multiple occurrences in the areas of recommending others in the Vandergriff Honda service area to take their business to another establishment. 

 

 

If you have questions please feel free to call us and we can discuss in more detail.

 

Consumer Response:

 

I asked for an apology from the business on behalf of their actions, and have not received one. Nonetheless, my recommendations actually sent customers to the service department of Vandergriff Honda, but away from the sales department. I have been given no answer as to whether my business is welcome at the establishment save a vague "The GM has requested to not do business with this customer at this point in time." I ask for clarification. Thank you for your assistance with this matter.

 

 

6/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a new vehicle from this distributor the Friday before Memorial Day weekend (5/24/2013). Returned two weeks later to finish "Delivery" of the vehicle and was treated poorly. Salesman vaguely addressed my concerns and left without returning or giving reassurance of the car being taken care of. To finish the delivery I personally had to walk to the receptionist and ask for the salesman to be paged. The receptionist had to ask another salesman to assist me and also locate the original salesman helping me. Once "Delivery" was completed I discovered DEEP scratches in the plastic siding located below the seat belt area. I filed a complaint with the manager who assured me that parts, a 'loaner' vehicle and customer satisfaction would be guaranteed. I informed them that I would be able to return the following Saturday for the replacement part but that a 'loaner' car would Definitely be needed. Needless to say, upon return this was not the case. I was told that 'loaner' cars were not available and to return later when I had time. The entire time I struggled with this difficulty the Service Manager sat by without approaching or offering any resolve to the situation. As we speak, my own mother had to take the car in since I have not had the time available to revisit the dealership. Of course, she had to go in without an appointment since I could not reach anyone or received a return phone call. Meanwhile in the background, Honda had still not cashed my down payment of $9,500. I had already made several attempts to contact the Financial Manager, upon which I would only receive voicemails and ZERO returned calls. If it were not for owning a Honda Accord prior to this purchase and already knowing how reliable and wonderful a car it is, I would not have purchased this vehicle from ANY Honda dealership. The car stands up to its reputation but unfortunately the dealerships selling/representing these cars do not. I was very tempted to return this car due to the treatment I received from the Sales Reps and the frustration received within the first THREE weeks of ownership. I would not ever recommend this dealership to anyone, even those I greatly dislike!!

Desired Settlement: I would like this dealership to acknowledge their flaws, actions or LACK of actions. Most consumers expect some hassle from purchasing a new car but this was absolutely ridiculous! A phone call and apology from the manager or Owner of this sloppy company would be the least they could do on top of improving themselves from within.

Business Response:

Reached out to the customer regarding the incident to formally apologize... This isn't a normal practice for these situations to happen therefore I wanted to take ownership for any incovience as a repsonsible dealer.  Offered an open invitation to let us know if there's anything we can do in the future to keep her happy. 

6/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During a visit with a friend of mine to Vandergriff Honda, where she had already experienced horrible customer service and had signed papers for a car which could not be sold to her, and then waited for another similar car to be found for her,I had asked to speak to a manager since the sales assosciate didn't seem to care about her problem with the car. The sales assosciate by the name of **** ***** responded with "WHO ARE YOU?" And said "No, I will not go get the manager" repeatedly. He was rude, immature, and severely unprofessional about how he handled the situation, getting in my face and even responding with laughter after he had been "briefly spoken to" by the manager who claims he had only been there less than a month and could not do anything because it was a "he said she said situation" he also continuously rolled his eyes, and while we were speaking quickly ushered us outside so as to "not cause a scene" which is also extremely unprofessional. It disqusts me that this horrible customer service will continue and that Mr. ***** was clearly not disciplined and took the matter lightly as if he were speaking to child when he spoke to me. The actions of his superior were also clearly unprofessional, which is how I mainly view this establishment at this point. Even my friend was shocked at the way this assosciate handled the situation, even though it was not me who purchased the car I am still a customer and no one should be treated like this.

Desired Settlement: I would like a written apology stating why I was treated this way. I would also like an explanation as to why this salesman Main Hoque still has his job after treating customers like this.

Business Response: reached out to the customer to resolve issue at hand, and was unseccessful getting hold of the customer.  did leave a voicemail to create two way communication, and will make more attempts to get in touch with the customer.

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from Vandergriff Honda 12/2011. During the buying process someone from Vandergriff Honda called me and they were very vague on the phone pertaining to deal being submitted to finance. When I asked questions, this person did not have any answers. My complaint was that someone/salesperson would call, but did not have any answers to my questions. I had already taken possession of the vehicle, but I would not have if for any reason I or Vandergriff Honda thought the deal would not be financed. This person should have found out more information before calling me or had someone call me that had information to the phone call being made to begin with. I was ready to cancel the deal. ***** *******/ salesperson now finance manager & Vandergriff Honda received an unsatisfactory survey because of this. On 4/20/13 I went into Vandergriff Honda to cancel any warranties that I purchased 12/2011 because I no longer have this car. My request was handled by ***** *****. ***** ******* just happened to be outside of ***** *****'s office and I assume he is the person who told ***** ***** about the unsatisfactory survey that I gave Vandergriff Honda. When ***** ***** came back into his office, he did not hesitate to mention the unsatisfactory survey from 12/2011 and how it negatively affected Vangergriff Honda. ***** ***** was very rude and condescending, just down right unprofessional. I guess ***** ******* is holding a grudge and finally had a chance through his co-worker, ***** ***** to let me know how unhappy he was about the unsatisfactory survey. Vandergriff Honda acted very unprofessionally about something that happened 17 months ago. The survey was not even on my mind until ***** ***** bought it up.

Desired Settlement: A Letter of Apology

Business Response:

Hi Angela,

I spoke to the customer, and this complaint is resolved. Thank You

 

4/25/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Certified 2010 Honda Odyssey from Vandergriff Honda on 3/28/13. The vehicle was missing a floor mat and another in poor condition which does not comply with the Honda Certificatio standards. I contacted various individuals at Vandergriff on multiple occassions over the past three weeks. Vandergriff has failed to follow through and has failed to correct the problem. Honda certification states, "Floor mats - replace mats, unless in good condition."

Desired Settlement: Replacement of the floor mats with a set in good condition that matches the vehicle and fits correctly. Or, a matching new set of floor mats intended for the 2010 Honda Odyssey

BBB Response:


We just wanted to let you know we have reached out to  ******* **** **** today April 19, 2013 and all was resolved. ******* mentioned he would retract his complaint from the BBB.

 

Please let us know if you have any questions!

 

 

4/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday in March, we bought a Honda Accord LX. We secured the term, payment, and interest rate that we felt comfortable with. The finance consultant stated that he would mail my finance papers to me. After 10 days of no contact, I tried to contact the finance department. After unseccessfully contacting the finance department I called my salesperson. He said he would take care of it and call me back. About an hour later, a finance consultant called me and stated that he needed me to come back in to the dealership and resign some papers. I get to the dealership and find out that there was several changes to the contract and finance terms. They went from 72 months to 60 months. They changed the interest rate. Because of this my payment increased by $50 per month. Needless to say I was not happy with this occurence. At this time they would not honor the contract that I signed. I was so upset that I got my nephew to return the car and get my trade back. When he was at the dealership trying to return the car, the staff at the dealership were exceptionally rude and made him wait for a long time. Salah Hoque, the finance manager, was especially rude and had a very poor attitude. He was not willing to make this right. I will never buy anything with a Vandergriff name on it. Also, went to a different dealership the next day to try to find another car. I then found out that over the ten days we had the car, that they had shopped my credit at several places and times. I now have many denials for credit on my credit report. My score went from 680 to 611. This is totally unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: The desired outcome from this incident, should be the termination of the responsible parties. The business should honor the contract that was originally signed. As a business, you have to honor what you told the customer.

BBB Response:


Vandergriff Honda has contacted **** ******** with a  resolution for purchasing a vehicle. The conversation went well and **** wanted to think over the resolution.

Consumer Response:

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9484698, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Although the dealership apologized and tried to make the car deal work, I will not do business with any Vandergriff dealership. If a business does customers wrong, then they should lose them.

 

 

 

4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When i first bout my 2009 Honda Accord it was new. They treated me great and gave me excellent service and deal. But when the sales person told me when i bought the car i was purchasing a clear sticker that protect your car from dings. The sales person did advise and confirm that i can replace the sticker twice a year. So i said ok. But everytime that i been going there they failed to replace the sticker. The only time they replace it was when i first bought the car the sticker was peeling off. But the sticker has turn yellow but decline to replace sticker. I paid over 600+( it might be 1000) for lifetime replacement and can replace twice a year. But they have not honor what the sales person told me and what i paid for. I was considering buying another car with Vandergriff but kind worry if everything they tell me is true.

Desired Settlement: Since i have not use it. I would like full refund on this clear sticker product. I have been decline mutiple times.

Business Response: I contacted Mr. ********* and agreed to replace the clear shield on his 2009 Honda Accord. Customer is due in tomorrow April 11, 2013 to have work done at "No Charge".

1/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Vandergrift Honda to purchase a Certified Pre-owned Honda. When I picked up the car I was told that it was certified and that the paperwork was in the glove box. Since my father was on the loan, the finance department fed ex’ed the paperwork to El Paso. We also asked them to fax a copy of the purchase order to our bank so we could compare financing. After looking around several places for the certification paperwork, I called the dealer who advised me that the certification paperwork was in the fed ex package to my dad. Again, nowhere to be found. I called the service department and the mechanic for the Honda dealership advised me that he did not know what Certified Honda meant, instilling in me a sense of un-trust. After several phone calls back and forth hearing several different answers as to why we could not see the certification paperwork we advised the dealership that we were going to return the car since it was not certified as promised. Amazingly the next day the sales manager provides us with the authorization showing that he had just had the car certified. I’m still not sure how he got the car certified since they could not provide us with the 150 point inspection required by Honda to qualify for the program. I took the trip back to the dealership today (an hour drive) after advising them what time I was going to be there and that I expected to get a full return from my down payment and they screwed me around for another hour wasting my time just to tell me that he wanted to charge me $50 a day while they fumbled around not able to produce the paperwork promised me. Items that were told to us: I Spoke to ***** in the Vandergrift service department and asked him if the car was certified. He asked me for the VIN and proceeded to search his database and found that the car had not been certified. I asked why the sales personnel told me that it was and he said he did not know, but he was sure that the car was not certified. Tom from Vandergrift on one occasion told me that the certification was in the glove compartment of the car. It was not. Another time he said that the certification was to be sent to the Credit Union. It was not. I also called El Paso Honda and they told me that the car should have been certified upon Vandergrift purchasing the vehicle, not upon selling the car. Again I asked El Paso Honda to search the national database to verify the car was certified and they could not find any evidence of the VIN signifying the car was certified. I called two other Dallas area Honda dealers and asked them if I bought a used Honda from them if they would disclose the certification documents before purchase and give me a copy of the certification. Both dealers acknowledged that they would print out the certification document and allow me to have a copy prior to purchase. On my conversation with Brian from Vandergrift, he told me that the certification statement was on the financing papers I was to sign. I asked him to send me the certification document that Honda accepts and he sent me a computer generated of work orders. I send them to El Paso Honda for review and they said this was not the certification and in fact it was only a headlight repair that was done on the car. I was told by El Paso Honda that this seemed like Deceptive Trades Practices and to be aware of the dealer integrity. El Paso Honda has always rendered a coy of the “Honda Certified Used Cars 150 point Inspection Checklist” which is the required checklist for certification. At no time did Vandergrift even acknowledge knowing what this document was nor did they offer to have it for me to review prior to purchase. I am in custody of incorrect and misleading documentation that Vandergrift sent me trying to pass an uncertified car as certified. And to add insult to injury, the car was advertised online at 11995 and when my father received the paperwork they raised the price to 12995 and stuck a $90 accessories charge with out telling me about it. VERY dishonest.

Desired Settlement: we want a full refund of the down payment, with no more of our time wasted

Business Response: The complaint was resolved at the dealership level, and customer agreed to retract the complaint from BBB. Thnx! **** ****

11/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my 2010 Honda Insight to have an oil change per my purchased maintaince agreement. They drained the coolant in the radiator and did not replace it. The car started heating up just after the oil change took to a lube place and they said that the coolant had been drained and not replaced. The radiator was empty and the over flow was empty. Called Vandergriff Honda asked to talk to ****** but he was unavailable. The person I talked to said they did not drain the coolant and it was not on the work order. I asked him what do you think happened to the coolant. His words were, you probably had a rock hit the radiator on the way home and all the coolant ran out. At the lube place they filled up the radiator and over flow bottle and I had it inspected no holes or leaks. Called another Honda dealership and they said since the car had heated up that the thermostat should be replaced.

Desired Settlement: The thermostat should be replaced and would like it replaced at another Honda Dealership (John Eagle Honda)

BBB Response:



MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS: The consumer is scheduled to come in on November 7th. We will replace the thermostat and have lined up a rental car for her use.

10/19/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I went went to Vandergriff Honda to trade in our 2007 ChevyTahoe in exchange for a 2012 Honda Odyssey. We decided to lease the vehicle instead of purchasing. A man named "*****" (not sure of the spelling) was the person helping us with our financing. He did not go over any paperwork, and continued to say "just sign here". After I was finished signing, he had me sign a blank credit app, and also wanted to go back out to the vehicle with me, to have my husband sign. When I questioned and asked him why, he said some of the figures were incorrect, and this would allow him to correct it without us waiting. It was late, and the dealership was closing, and we knew we would need to return next day for a few things. The next morning, my husband was reviewing the documents, and noticed several errors in many of the figures. When he called the dealership to explain these things, they agreed and said that there were some clerical errors, but they would draw up new documents, and we could sign them. We received the new documents, and before signing them, reviewed them closely to make sure things were correct. The numbers still did not add up, and were incorrect on multiple documents. This time my husband decided to go to the dealership and speak with a manager. The finance department had "slipped in" multiple charges on our contract, increasing the price. Charges that had been already negotiated out of the purchase price. We were told it was all items that we went home with because they are on the vehicle. We offered to bring the vehicle back so that they could remove the items, including the window tint that they wanted to strip off the windows. After much arguing and debating, our contract was rewritten yet again. Before signing, the manager had the audacity to say "how about I give you a check for $500, and we just call it even"

Desired Settlement: I would like to see a line by line explanation of my charges, including my trade, taxes, title transfer fees, etc. These things are NOT listed on my contract. I still feel cheated

BBB Response:


I met with *******’s husband yesterday to get whatever concern they had regarding the contract.  We went over the figure on the contract to be true with ****** *******.  We also purchased some of the accessories the customer didn’t want.  At the end the customer left our store at ease and satisfied!