BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Vandergriff Chevrolet?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vandergriff Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vandergriff Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Vandergriff Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 01, 1953 Business started: 05/01/1940 in TX Business started locally: 05/01/1940 Business incorporated: 06/24/1999 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78761
https://www.txdmv.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 302-2162
The license number is P33067.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard (Rick) D. Cantalini, General Manager/Owner Mr. Robert J. Holcomb, Owner Mr. Larry Van Tuyl, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard (Rick) D. Cantalini, General Manager/Owner
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS COLLISION REPAIR

Alternate Business Names
Vandergriff Chevrolet - Geo Vandergriff Chevrolet II, L.P. Vandergriff Collision Center Vandergriff Collision South
Industry Tips
Automobile sales

Additional Locations

  • 1200 W I-20

    Arlington, TX 76017 (817) 557-1200 (866) 956-6368

  • 1208 Commercial Blvd S

    Arlington, TX 76001 (817) 259-0154

  • 901 E Division St Ste B

    Arlington, TX 76011 (817) 259-0144 (817) 460-7870

  • PO Box 180189

    Arlington, TX 76096

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 956-6368(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I needed a new cluster for my 2005 Chevy Trailblazer so I called the shop and told them they said they will have to put it on their machine first to make sure then they can give me my truck they order the part thent eh next day I bring it in early to get the car repaired. It can take 24 hours so I can drop it off and pick it back up. So I did as they said I initially set up an appointment to go into vandergriff 09/04 so I took an hour off for lunch to go and I called ahead of time. When i got there the man said sorry no I don't know who told you that and we are swamped even though I had a ligitiment appointment and labeled what was wrong in that appointment. (I have documentation to prove the appointment) So I took time off for nothing. My husband ended up calling back and speaking with ***** who told me to drop the car off the next day 09/05 to ******* since he will be out for a funeral they will put it on the machine and give me back the car around my lunch at work later that day. I took off the reaminder of the day at work so I can me car. Here comes 2pm still no callback or anything, my husband calls and was told they are backed up by they gurantee it'll be checked by the end of my shift. I get off at 4:30 and mind you I dropped the car off at 7:30 am. Here comes 4 nothing so my husband calls again around 4:30 and they say they JUST put my car in the back and it should be fast they will have someone come and get me. Here comes 4:50 I have to get my kids BY 6pm and I still am at work. I end up walking to Vandergriff from work one of my coworkers saw me and picked me up halfway there to drop them off. I got my car by 5pm. The next day I drop my car off at 7 am and things went by smoother . I ended up getting my car by atleast 2 pm so no complaints there. Well I noticed a black part on the floor panel on my car moved or atleast it looked broke and I never had that issue before on the passenger side. It rained here in Texas recently Saturday 10/05 and it was leaking in my truck mind you I have never had this problem and I have had my truck since 2010 with no leakes no problems. I have had things fixed on my truck at Bankston Chevrolet (now autonation) nothing ever looked broke or ever got messed up and it has rained plenty of times in texas and my truck has NEVER and I mean NEVER LEAKED. I took my truck to Bankston and have records they checked everyhing on my car and I never complained about the rain coming into the passenger seat of my truck floor by the panel. That is because it never happened until I took my vehicle to Vandergriff. I went to them because I thought they would be good people to continually take my cars too and I even recently got a enw car I was going to go there but this left a sour taste in my mouth. The reason it makes it so bad is because I have called and told them and their response "we don't even have to go there to fix the cluster so it is nothing we did so if you want it fixed you will have to pay for this." This place fixes one thing and gives another because they want money. Mind you it's 2013 I had the car for 3 years NO problems anywhere or compaints and I am getting screwed for doing something right. I didn't curse or yell at the people when I had to walk. I was very frustarted and HOT and seating but I kept it professional. Just for them to come back mess something else up and I have to pay to get it fixed. I had to get my carpet in my truck shampooed so it wouldn't leave a mildew smell in mytruck from rain being in it.

Desired Settlement: I don't want them to give me free car washes or oil change I just simply want them to fix the problem that they caused. The person on the phone wasn't in the back when this happened so the explanation given was just an excuse. They had been busy for days so maybe the person who fixed the truck made a mistake and went to the panel and broke it moving too fast. That was an honest mistake we are all human and make them. I am asking though that since it was a mistake on that repair persons part they should correct it and that's it. I can't tel a company how to run it's business but this was nasty and unprofessional and all I did was try to give you my loyal business. I go to Bankston loyal for EVERYTHING, they are far and I wanted to go closer so I tried Vandergriff thinking I can be loyal to them. By the looks of things they don't fix their mistakes they say no pay for everything even if it's our fault.

Business Response: ****** ****** came in on 9/5 to have a instrument cluster problem checked and have a lube oil and filter change performed. The diagnostics was delayed some but was still completed by the time she going to get off work. ******* ***** called and left a message for her at 4:03pm to schedule a ride knowing she gets off at 4:30. It is unfortunate that she did not get the message or was unable to schedule the ride. If knowing she had no other way here than walk we would have made some sort of arrangements to get her picked up. The diagnostics showed the instrument cluster needed to be replaced. The customer okayed the repair knowing it would take 24hrs to get the part and that they would bring it back for the final install. They brought the vehicle back in the next day and we jumped on it and repaired the vehicle. To replace the cluster you remove a small trim part on the driver side and install the cluster and program it. We did not have to remove or adjust anything on the driver side of the vehicle to do this repair. After the repair was completed we sent the vehicle over for a lube oil and filter where we found that the battery was very weak and suggested replacement. The customer declined the repair at this time. After knowing of the issues from this visit the General Sales Manager contacted several times with no response. We do not believe that we broke or damaged any part on the passenger side of the vehicle during the repair process. If they would like to bring the vehicle back in we will be happy to assist them.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 2009 Chevy Traverse on 8/21/2009. I was told when I purchased the warranty plan that it was the standard 100,000 GM extended warranty. I began to receive cards regarding purchasing an extended warrant. I even asked the dealership if I needed to get one of these...I thought I purchased one. 'Oh yes, you did just don't worry about those". This week my car is in the service department of the dealership for diagnosis. The conclude that there are two issues that need to be fixed and that my warranty has expired. BUT GM has agreed to pay 1/5 since I am just a few miles over the 75000 policy that I purchased. So...I start reveiwing paperwork etc. to learn that in fact what they sold me was a THIRD PARTY warranty that was only for 75000 miles. Now I did not catch the miles part on the paperwork but I was led to believe this policy was a GM product and the best one. Now I find out that Mechanical Protection Plan company in Kansas sold their product to the dealership for one price and then the dealership sold it to me for a much higher price. And this protection company will not even discuss working with me and basically said my policy has expired and their is absolutely nothing they can do. After many many phone calls and headache I have been able to talk the service department into repairing my vehicle for no cost. However, the sales department will not return any of my phone calls or email to discuss the fact that they misrepresented the product they sold. I have reveiewed my father's warranty coverage he purchased in 2012 from GM and the cost was 1/2 the price for better coverage (100,000 miles)

Desired Settlement: I want an extedned warranty that fits the price I paid for mine. The dealership should extend warranty services for my vehicle to 100,000 miles since they sold me the wrong warranty and misled me to thinking it was a GM product. Consumers need to be educated that all dealerships do this as well.

Business Response:

Ms. **** came by the dealership and was upgraded to a 100K MPP.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer on May 20, 2013. My husband and I noticed that the car shifts to the left on our drive home. We also noticed that the passenger seat has a plastic piece around the bottom and is broken. The rear glass taillight is also broken, however it works. I contact Vandergriff Chevrolet back on Tuesday May 21 and spoke with my sales agent *******. He informed me that I can return the vehicle and they will fix it. I brought the car back on Thursday morning May 23, 2013 for the necessary repairs. After the car was there at least 2 hours, I was told everything was fixed with the exception of the tail light. Due to the car passing inspection they were not obligated to fix it. Ok, since the (supposably) repair the other issue we left it at that and we would get the glass ourselves. However, on my drive home the car was doing the same thing, and I noticed that they did not repair the seat. I feel as though if they promised me over the phone that the light and wheel alignment, etc would be repair. When I got there Thursday morning they told me the the clip on the seat was broken and they would put another one in. They did nothing they promised.

Desired Settlement: Repair what was originally promised at their expense. (wheel balance and or alignment, or whatever needs to be repaired to fix the shifting to the left, the rear driver side glass light and the passenger seat)

Business Response: My name is *** ***** I am looking into this and will contact you soon. We will repair the vehicle as agreed. Please contact me at ###-###-#### for more information.

Consumer Response:

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9554860, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. However, I did take the vehicle back for further evaluation and was verbally told by management that they have checked the entire car from top to bottom and that the vehicle is in good condition and that there is nothing wrong with it, including shocks, breaks, battery, etc... I requested the findings in writing and received in the mail on June 6, 2013 the report.  The report says different that what Vandergriff verbally told me. There findings were that the front shocks are very week. (over $1,000 to replace), the back light was replaced however, with a used light that is also, damaged!! I am very disappointed with Vandergriff because of their non ability to service customers. I have been lied to over and over again. We did not purchase a vehicle (used or new) to make drastic repairs within 2 days of purchase. I am willing to accept this offer if Vandergriff honor their promise to fix what is wrong. The report I received said shocks are week, then you need to fix. I drove the highway and hit a bump and  the car almost hit another car do to the imbalance of the shocks.!!

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I visited Vandergriff Chevrolet near end of November to assist my son in purchasing a car. We found a car and started to negotiate price agreed upon a price and submitted a credit application. The finance manager advised me the credit application was approved at an 11% interest rate due to my son's credit rating. I requested that they run my credit application with out my son's information. I was advised more than likely my credit rating would be high as well due to the fact that I had two other car loans. it was my understanding my individual credit application was never run. The deal was not completed that day; however an agreement was reached in that we agreed to come into office the following day to complete the transaction. I received a call from the dealer advising the car was sold. I decided not to do business with vandergriff because I feel their practices are not fair to the consumer. I went to another financial institution and received a 3% interest rate. It is my belief that this dealrship submits credit applications to those institutions that offers the highest interest rates so that profits will be greater for them. I have been receiving several denial letters from these institutions where my appliactions were submitted, which causes a negative impact on my credit score.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see a fair practice of submitting credit applications for the consumer offering business to the financial institutions offering lower intrest rates, rather than those bearing higher rates. I would also like to ensure that any negative impacts to my credit score be reversed due to the multiples submissions. I would also like this dealership to honor its word and act in good faith when a deal on a car is the process of being made or an agreement has been reached, rather than selling the car from under the customer's nose!

Business Response:

My name is *** ***** General Sales Manager here at Vandegriff Chevrolet and I am aware of and with the happenings during Ms. ***** visit here at Vandergriff.

Below you will find the documented note pertaining to this deal. We also have recorded calls to back up the explanation.

As you can see below in the notes this deal started as a request for a Corvette Convertible for her husband. The statement from Ms. ***** mentions her son. It was in fact her son that wished to purchase the vehicle. We did receive an approval but it was in fact on both her and her son together at a high rate due to the sons credit score and the fact that Ms. ***** had two opens loans at the time. The request in her statement to remove her son was not honored due to the state law pertaining to straw purchases as well as our lender relationship would be in jeopardy. A Straw Purchase to put it simply is where one person buys a vehicle and finances that vehicle in their name when in fact another person makes payments and drives the car. In her statement she claims she bought one in her name only at a rate of 3%. I am certain that if that dealer knew it was for her son they would have taken the same action. As far as selling the vehicle to another customer you will see below in the notes we were told in fact that her husband was not willing to part with one of the open loans and they wanted to wait until June. We then placed the vehicle back on the market and it was sold. We regret this happened and cannot really think of any other way we could have handled this particular case for a better outcome.

Thank you,

*** *****

Consumer Response:


I disagree with the dealer's response.  Once again they have twisted the facts. This was completely two separate transactions. The purchase of  the vehicle for my husband had nothing to do with the transaction for my son. As far as dealing with this dealership I would advise all consumers to be cautious.   There is nothing to be done to rectify this wrong other than making other consumers aware. 

Business Response:

We have all documents available for Ms. ***** to view. The entire record. The response from the lender showing Vandergriff submitted for approval with both her and her son to avoid a straw purchase. All are time and date stamped.
We did all we could to assist Ms ***** at the time and treated all parties profesionally. It is somthines a challenge to get customer to understand we are not the lender we are the selling dealer only and have no imput on the outcome of the car deal, apprval or rate. She would not have gained an approval from any dealer that knew she wanted to obtain a loan for a vehicle in her name only for the use of her son. Ms ***** stated in her complaint that she obtained a 3% loan in her name only. We have no record of two different transactions. Only one visit and only Ms. ***** and her son were present.


 

 

Consumer Response:


The recent loan obtained is in my name and son. Once again I disagree with Vandergriff and no longer wish to discuss it; however I refuse to allow them to provide misleading information as they have .  Often  times the small guy does not have a voice I will continue to say I was unfairly treated in this instance. I have already purchased a vehicle but wanted to voice my concern regarding my recent interaction with this company. 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

9/10/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called on a car that was advertised online and made an appointment to test drive it for later in the afternoon on the same day. When we arrived we were told that the car was sold and the salesman attempted to show us another car. The salesman took all of our information before he told us the car was sold. I never saw the car in person and was never contacted to save me the 60 mile round trip.

Desired Settlement: This was a case false advertisement and an example of poor business practices in which the public need to be made aware of.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this concern. We carry an inventory of 90 or so used cars all of which are listed on up to 8 different websites like autotrader and cars.com. We receive over 1100 leads and over 500 calls each month inquiring on these vehicles as well as new vehicles. It is a challenge at times to manage the customers that actually come in verses the customers that don’t. This is a highly competitive industry and we understand that customer change their mind and buy elsewhere. We track all the data in our BDC and average a show ratio in the 40% range. With this in mind we cannot hold vehicles for customers that may or may not show up on the set appointment. In regards to this particular case the vehicle did sell just after the customer call but before the customer’s arrival at the dealership. We try to keep in mind how far the customer is traveling and should have attempted to make the call.  The time between the call and the customer arrival was just a few hours. We do have a good record of pleasing customers that do understand and are willing to look at other vehicles. Very seldom do customers buy exactly what they originally came in for. We apologize for the inconveince and would be glad to reimburse for fuel.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/3/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car, drove it off the lot and was later told I needed more money down. I couldn't pay more so I was told to bring the car back. When I brought the car back I asked for my trade in vehicle back. I was given my older car back to find out an hour later I needed to bring it back because they own both cars. I was without a car. Then after they realized they messed up they somehow said the new car was available without more money down. I told them I felt uncomfortable and just wanted my old car back. They had me in a room with three supervisors. One named ***** ****, he threated me and said if I don't take the new car he would call the police on me. He would repo both cars and also go to my house if he had to repo them. He stated How stupid could I be and the stupidness doesnt make sense. I could only have my old car if I gave him 9k. He finally calmed down to say that if I took the new car he could call me after the money clears the bank. An find me the car I actually wanted and give me full trade in plus return the warranty towards it. I've called his personal cell and left 4 emails to members of his staff and haven't heard anything. They just wanted me to drive off the lot

Desired Settlement: Get me into the car he told me he would and explain all charges. Have there location investigated if these are the shady business practices.

Business Response:


As of March 22nd we are currently working with Mr. ******* to find a vehicle that will satisfy all the stipulations set forth by the lender. An attempt was made to secure financing on a vehicle March 21st when the lender responded, "Must have 6000 less miles for approval". We are working within very tight parameters due to credit rating that the customer understands.

The first visit was regrettable due to a misunderstanding as follows:
Until recently the customers income was misunderstood due to two separate checks paid from his employer separated by salary and commission. We were unable to secure funding after delivery due to this misunderstanding. We had no choice but to ask for the vehicle back. Upon the return of the vehicle we discovered that our office staff had inadvertently sent payment to pay off and secure the title on the customer’s trade. The customer was unable to provide the funds needed to retain his trade in. Finally our finance director was able to secure the deal with the lender and the customer took delivery of the new vehicle. It was agreed that we would attempt to find a different vehicle for in the process of this traction the customer decided he did not want the new vehicle after all. We are at fault and have no excuses for not finding a quick answer to his vehicle needs and for getting caught up in the situation and responding unprofessionally. We will continue to search for the right vehicle daily that fits the lenders stipulations.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/24/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After communicating via e-mail with Vanderfgriff Chervrolet about a 2011 Suburban I was interested in buying, I received an e-mail from the dealership. The from window indicated it was from ****** ********, a salesman at Vandergriff, but after opening the e-mail there was a note from *** ******, Internet Sales Director. The e-mail had a 2011 Suburban for $36,011. In the ad for that Suburban there was a link to "see photos." When I clicked the "see photos" link, it showed the vehicle with leather interior. I received the e-mail on Dec. 27. On Dec. 28 I specfically drove to Vandergriff to see this vehicle. When we went to see the vehicle, it did not have leather seats. I told the salesman that the one I had been e-mailed about had leather seats. At first he didn't believe me, then I showed him the e-mail with the pictures on my phone. He told *** ****** who came over and seemed like he didn't believe me either, so I also showed him the e-mail on my phone and that it was from ****** ********. He said that it was not their fault because the photos are computer generated. I told him it was a misrepresentation of the vehicle that they were trying to sell me. He offered to put leather in the vehicle but it would be at an extra cost. I told him that my trust level with them wasn't very high due to their misrepresentataion in the e-mail and the fact that they seemed to think I was lying about the e-mail. At that point we realized we weren't going to be doing business. I still have the e-mail if you would like me to forward it to you.

Desired Settlement: A new Suburban with the same features as the one in the ad with leather seats for $35,000, with the additional $1,000 reduction for the extra time I've had to spend with them and the poor customer service I had to endure. If a vehicle is not available then $1,000 for my time and what I had to endure from the dealership.

BBB Response:



Mr. *********,

I am writing you in response to you Better Business Bureau filing on 12/29/2011 case number 8862018. Although I am not looking for a response I wanted to explain our side of the opportunity.

To clarify the complaint and hoping I understand correctly you are stating that the email’s sent to you from us from Dec 6th through Dec 27th were misleading in that the stock images showed the availability of leather.

I will tell you in all the business we do this is the first issue we have experienced with our non specific auto responder that goes out to customers that are non specific to allow them to start formulating the options they would like to have. I underline non specific in an effort to show that there was no stock number associated with the request you sent us so a non specific auto responder was sent based on the trim level you chose as “LS”.

Please follow along with the email string below if you so desire for an explanation.

 

As you read the following I would like to say I apologize for the misunderstanding and further understand that you have found a vehicle at Moritz Chevrolet with leather included.

Otherwise, I would love to invite you in for below invoice pricing and leather installed at my cost. Our intent is not to confuse customers it is in fact only to sell vehicles as GM will build more.

 

Thank you,

*** *****

GSM

****************



Consumer Response:

Here is the reason I am not accepting the response.

In the last e-mail that I received from Vandergriff Chevrolet, it referred to a specific Suburban for $36,011.  Next to a brief description of the vehicle is a "see photos" link. When I clicked on that link, the first photo that shows up is of a leather interior. There is no indication that it is a stock photo. That is why I went to Vandergriff Chevrolet. When I asked the salesman about the Suburban that was $36,011, he knew exactly which one I was talking about and took me to it. Once we looked inside, we realized it wasn't leather. I don't know how it can get any more misleading than that.

I will forward that last e-mail that I received from Vandergriff Chevrolet so that you can see what I'm referring to.

 



 

Business Response:

 

This actually tells the whole story. There is every indication these are stock photos just by looking at them. It also states at the bottom of the generic response the following “We have taken the time to quote several versions of the vehicle you've selected in an effort to give you a comprehensive view of the different options and packages that are available. If you've inquired about a specific vehicle, we will be in touch shortly regarding that vehicle”. I do thank you for the reply and the honesty about paying more at Moritz. This is typically what happens. Since your visit hundreds of these auto response email have gone out with absolutely no confusion on the part of the consumer.

Thank you,

 

*** *****

General Sales Manager

Vandergriff Chevrolet & Preowned Center

 

 

 

Please note that the following email sent to Mr. ********* had complete images attached that are not shoing in this section of the BBB website response template.
*** *****

 

From: ******* **** ******************
Date: December 30, 2011 6:58:23 PM CST
To: ********************* *******************
Cc: "***************** ****************
Subject: BBBContact CASE # 8862018

Mr. *********,

I am writing you in response to you Better Business Bureau filing on 12/29/2011 case number 8862018. Although I am not looking for a response I wanted to explain our side of the opportunity.

To clarify the complaint and hoping I understand correctly you are stating that the email’s sent to you from us from Dec 6th through Dec 27th were misleading in that the stock images showed the availability of leather.

I will tell you in all the business we do this is the first issue we have experienced with our non specific auto responder that goes out to customers that are non specific to allow them to start formulating the options they would like to have. I underline non specific in an effort to show that there was no stock number associated with the request you sent us so a non specific auto responder was sent based on the trim level you chose as “LS”.

Please follow along with the email string below if you so desire for an explanation.

 

As you read the following I would like to say I apologize for the misunderstanding and further understand that you have found a vehicle at Moritz Chevrolet with leather included.

Otherwise, I would love to invite you in for below invoice pricing and leather installed at my cost. Our intent is not to confuse customers it is in fact only to sell vehicles as GM will build more.

 

Thank you,

*** *****

GSM

****************  

12/6/2011 9:59:50 PM; Internet Manager
Email Sent  New | Reply | Forward | View
To: ***** ********* *******************
Subject: Response from Internet Manager at Vandergriff Chevrolet

THE INFORMATION BELOW IS WHAT WE RECEIVED FROM YOU ON THE 6TH OF DEC.
THERE IS NO MENTION OF A SPECIFIC STOCK NUMBER OR LEATHER AND YOU ALSO SPECIFIED LS TRIM THAT DOES NOT INCLUDE LEATHER.
FROM THIS ENTRY AN AUTO RESPONDER IS TRIGGERED AUTOMATICALLY (SEE ABOVE) THAT IS NON SPECIFIC AND SHOWS THREE DIFFERENT TRIM LEVELS FROM LS TO LTZ.
AS A MATTER OF FACT IT ALSO SHOW’S DIFFERENT COLORS OF INTERIOR TRIMS AS SHOWED YOU BY MY STAFF. IT ALSO CLEARLY STATES
(ACTUAL COPY FROM EMAIL) “
We have taken the time to quote several versions of the vehicle you've selected in an effort to give you a comprehensive view of the different options and packages that are available. If you've inquired about a specific vehicle, we will be in touch shortly regarding that vehicle.” THIS IS IN FACT WHAT YOU WERE SHOWING MY STAFF ON YOUR PHONE DEMANDING LEATHER. THIS EMAIL WAS A SITE TO GET MORE ACQUAINTED WITH OPTIONS.

12/6/2011 9:46:26 PM;
Customer Comments: Current_Vehicle:;This request is for Personal use Request for:Request a Quote~

Information from the Submitted GM Sales Lead:
Request Date Time:
Partner Name: Chevrolet LAD
Lead Category: GM Internet
Sub Type: GM Native
Lead Classification: New
Lead Type:
BP - Please send me a price quote
Lead Source: Chevrolet LAD
Lead Score:
Purchase or Lease: No Answer

Prospect
Contact Type: Retail
Company Name:
Name: ***** *********
Address:
Preferred Contact Method: Home Email
Business Phone:
Home Phone:
Cell Phone:
E-mail: |
Fax:

Trade In - Vehicle
Year: 1993
Make: PONTIAC
Model: TRANS SPORT

Financing

This Lead was sent from: GM - BP - Please send me a price quote

12/6/2011 9:45:26 PM;
Sales Lead Vehicle Information
Vehicle Year: 2011
Vehicle Model: Suburban LS
Vehicle Make: Chevrolet
Vehicle Status (New or Used): New
Vehicle Code: N/A
GM Privacy Disclaimers: N/A

 

 

12/6/2011 10:04:08 PM;
Email Received  New |Reply |Forward |View
To: (duba8@hotmail.com)
Subject:ResponseLogix Quote sent to ***** ********* for 2011 Chevrolet Suburban 1500 LS 4x2

 

 

 

I DID NOTICE YOU SENT ANOTHER REQUEST FOR A UPSCALE TRIM LEVEL BUT IT TOO SHOWS  A  HIGHER PRICE AT 36,936 PLUS TTL.

THIS IS WHAT CAUSED THE MISUNDERSTANDING IN MY OPINION FOR YOU STARTED WITH LS AND THEN SUBMITTED A HIGHER TRIM LEVEL.

12/27/2011 10:48:07 PM;
This customer recently submitted an internet lead. The details of this lead are below. A duplicate sales event may now exist.

Email Subject: ******************** Sales Lead


Information from the Submitted Lead:
Source: **********
Marketing Source: DDC - E Pricer
Name: ***** *********
E-mail: *****************
Day Phone: ###-###-####
Eve Phone: ###-###-####
Cellphone:
Fax:
Address: ---

Vehicle Information:
Buying Timeframe: Unknown
Year: 2011
Make: Chevrolet
Model: Suburban 1500
VIN: *****************
Stock No: BR371905
Body Style: SUV
Trim: LL
Interior: 19C/
Exterior: Summit White
Transmission: Automatic
MSRP:
Quote: $36,969

I DO UNDERSTAND THAT THE MANY PICTURES LISTED DID SHOW BOTH CLOTH (AS BELOW) AND LEATHER IN SEVERAL
COLORS HOWEVER, IT WAS NEVER INTENDED TO MISREPRESENT OUR CUSTOMERS ONLY TO SHOW OPTIONS. WE HAVE SEVERAL
COMMENTS ON FILE FROM CUSTOMERS THAT EXPRESSED APPRECIATION FOR THIS FIRST LEVEL AUTO RESPONDER.

12/6/2011 10:06:40 PM; Internet Manager
Email Sent  New | Reply | Forward | View
To: ***** ********* *******************
Subject: Response from Internet Manager at Vandergriff Chevrolet

 

Thank you for your time, 

 

 

*** *****

General Sales Manager

Vandergriff Chevrolet & Preowned Center

o ###-###-#### c ###-###-####

****************

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

9/19/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1