BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Southwest Nissan, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Southwest Nissan, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (817) 596-3811 View Additional Phone Numbers 3050 Fort Worth Hwy, Hudson Oaks, TX 76087 http://nissan.southwestautogroup.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Southwest Nissan, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Southwest Nissan, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Southwest Nissan, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 15, 2010 Business started: 07/30/1982 in TX Business started locally: 07/30/1982 Business incorporated: 06/02/2010 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78761
https://www.txdmv.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 302-2162
The number is P111753.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Charles W. Gilchrist, President & CEO/Owner Mr. Denny R. Ewing, Treasurer/Owner Mr. Chad Slayton, E-Commerce Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles W. Gilchrist, President & CEO/Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Chad Shelton
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Industry Tips
Automobile sales

Additional Locations

  • 3050 Fort Worth Hwy

    Hudson Oaks, TX 76087 (817) 596-3811 (800) 707-5180

  • PO Box 234

    Weatherford, TX 76086

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 707-5180(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a flyer in the mail stating that they could trade in my car with lower monthly payments no matter what your credit is like. That was right up my alley because I have had my car for a year and a half and was ready to trade in my 2005 Nissan Altima. I called and made an appointment for Wednesday 7/17/13 at 7:15pm and then rescheduled to the following business day same time because of something that came up on my end. I was to meet with one of the managers ****. When I got there everyone was very friendly but I didn't think it would take a turn for the worse so disappointing. **** asked me if I had received the flyer I replied yes he said ok and sent me to Andy and told me that they were going to make the process smooth and easy. Andy took me to his cubicle where we started paperwork while **** took my car for a spin which was apart of the appraisal process no big deal. Waited and waited then Andy went to check on my car he came back and handed me my keys and said all the lenders were gone for the day and they would call me the next morning its been a week and I have heard nothing. I called and left a message with **** and have yet to receive a phone call.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to finish trying to help me an apology for their poor customer service and if nothing can be resolved as far as my trade then we can let it be but I would like a detailed explanation as to why

BBB Response:

 

 

MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS: We have been speaking with Ms. ******** for the past week in hopes of reaching a resolution. 

10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ******** *******, two months ago I purchased a 2008 Mazda 3 at SouthWest Nissan in Weatherford, TX. After a couple weeks of the purchase I began to have complications with my car. It jerks and hesitates when i try to accelerate. I took it back to the Nissan Dealership to see if they could do something about it since I just bought the car and had not even made my first payment or received my license plates yet. After all the phone calls and complaining the manager Rick finally agreed to help so he told me to take it to the Bankston Mazda Service Department since they didn't have the appropriate equipment to run a full diagnostic on my car. I took it to the Bankston Mazda Service Department for the jerking reason and they ran a full diagnostic on the car. A code popped up for the weight sensors for the air bag system so Nissan agreed to reimburse me for the charges. Well that turned out not to be the issue because a couple days later my car was still jerking. My AC went out which locked up my car twice in the middle of the highway with my little nephew in the back which put us in a very unsafe situation. I figured it might need a tune up so I went to get one and again that did not solve the problem and i was not reimbursed for those charges. I continuously call the dealership over and over trying to get some help with the car that I purchased from their dealership and was constantly given the run around. I would call and then get told I would receive a phone call in an hour or so and would get nothing. This happened several times. After finally getting in touch with the manager **** ******* he tells me there is nothing he can do because the car is now my responsibility and i made an irresponsible purchase. After being treated like crap by this guy **** who did not even TRY to help and basically made me feel undeserving i decided to get in contact with the General Manager **** ****s and told him about his unprofessional manager **** and he to gave me the run around! **** did not try to make himself available for me until 3 or 4 days later. When we finally got to talk he told me to take the car back to Mazda and to see what we can do from here. I go back to Mazda and they again run the diagnostic test and now the computer is telling them that i have a defective fuel pump and motor mount. I let **** know whats going on and he again becomes unavailable while my car sat in services for 3 days. **** finally calls ****** ********* (assistant manager for service dept) and confirms the issue with the car. **** then tells me to go get my car from Mazda and bring it back to the dealership and he will take care of it. Thinking **** was my savior I was wrong. We finally meet up at his Nissan dealership and he disappears once again and does not make himself available. Not even for 5 minutes. He led me to believe that he was going to handle all of the financial liability with the lemon that he sold me but that was not the case. **** sends someone to tell me that he was only going to pay for the motor mount and not the fuel pump. After Nissan service dept looks at my car they told me there was nothing wrong with my motor mounts. I tried to talk to the service department about the fuel pump and they were told by **** that the fuel pump will not be taken care of and that it is my responsibility. Long story short they sold me a horrible car. I was really hoping SouthWest Nissan would give me better service considering I am a first time buyer but they did absolutely nothing to help. I would like to resolve this issues by making SouthWest Nissan responsible for my car getting fixed which is going to cost $1,145. SouthWest Nissan 3050 Fort Worth Highway Weatherford TX 76087 817-596-3811

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

BBB Response:


We sold Ms. ******* a 2008 Mazda 3 on May 30, 2012 with 119,413 miles.  We have tried to help Ms. ******* with her concerns on several occasions and have paid for repairs on her vehicle that occurred after the purchase. At the time of our presale inspection we completed a State Inspection, the vehicle will not pass the State Emission test with the check engine light on, but we did reimburse her for the repairs.  Ms. ******* has never had a complaint of an engine stalling condition on any visit to our service department. 

 

I am enclosing all of the information that I have concerning our contacts with Ms. *******, and copies of the repair orders that Bankston Mazda faxed to us.

 

On April 27, 2012 we performed our presale inspection which included; oil and filter change, State Inspection with Green Sheet, air filter, and a detail.

 

Ms. ******* returned to our service department on June 18, 2012 with a complaint of engine surging when trying to go into high gear when cold.  With the vehicle in a warm state we were unable to duplicate her complaint.  We informed her that we would need the vehicle on the first start of the day to diagnosis her concern.  We supplied her with a rental vehicle at our expense for four days, due to the recent purchase.  We were able to duplicate the concern only on the first start of the day, but did not have the proper test equipment to diagnosis the

September 17, 2012

Page Two

 

 

concern with certainty.  We informed Ms. ******* that she would need to take the vehicle to a Mazda dealer for a proper diagnosis.

 

Ms. ******* took the vehicle to Bankston Mazda on June 27, 2012 with a complaint of the check engine light being on.  Bankson Mazda determined the cause for the check engine light was a SAS control unit, which is part of the airbag system, with no complaint of surging when trying to go into high gear.  She called our sales department and they agreed to reimburse her for the repairs with check #16448 for $578.84.  She returned to Bankston Mazda on August 28, 2012 with a complaint of the vehicle jerking after repairs.  The diagnosis at that time was an engine mount weak and a weak fuel pump.  She declined the repairs.  She brought the vehicle back to us on August 30, 2012 with a complaint of vehicle stutters while driving seeming like it could be starving for fuel.  We were unable to duplicate her concern.  The motor mount was not broken.

 

We feel as though we have worked with Ms. ******* and have been fair in our reimbursement to her for the repairs on the SAS control unitairbag system which caused the check engine light to come on after her purchase.  We have no way of determining when a fuel pump will become weak or go out on any vehicle.

 

10/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 25, 2012 I purchased a 2007 Ford ranger that was listed ( advertised on the dealerships web site.I submitted my credit information to the salesman at which time he returned after talking to his manager, He informed me that due to my credit scores that the only financing instution that would handle my loan was Santander finance but was going to charge me a 5000.00 premium for doing so.The price of the vehicle was 8995 of which i paid down a 1000. plus a grand cherokee jeep that i was given 1400.00 to go towards down payment.I spoke with Santander Finance and was told that their company does NOT charge a premium for handling a loan. I have asked numerous times for the car facts on this vehicle and have NOT been given them, I have several issues with the vehicle thatneeds to be serviced and every time I contact the service dept. I am told that they willhave to talk to the general manage and will call me back but never do. I feel that this dealership isvery deceptive in its business practices and want this to be rectified.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the amount that I was over charged for this premium amount taken off the price of the vehicle. I recieved a loan offer from Chase Bank 2 days after I purchased the vehicle for a less amount of intrest rate and less amount of life of the loan of which they never told me that they would take the loan.

BBB Response:


We sold Mr.******** a 2007 Ford Ranger Truck on June 25, 2012 with 82,297 miles.We have checked the NADA on line service, concerning the pricing of the vehicle, and found our pricing to be the price that NADA recommended.  I checked our website, we never had the vehicle price at $8998.00.  After speaking to Mr. ********, he said he may have been thinking or another vehicle on a different site. We have also mailed a copy of the car fax to Mr. ******** on September 21, 2012.

 

We did the presale inspection on the vehicle on June 11, 2012,  which included; oil and filter change, replace air filter, replaced wipers, replace front brake pads and turned the rotors, replace 2 tires and balanced all 4, replaced two tire pressure monitor sensors, performed state inspection with green sheet, and completed a full detail on the vehicle.

 

Mr. ******** returned on July 17, 2012 with a complaint of the front and rear windshield glasses leaking and requested his first free oil and filter change.  We sublet out the windshield repair to A-1 Auto Glass and performed the oil and filter change, all at no cost to Mr. ********.

 

September 25, 2012

Page Two

 

 

Mr. ******** returned again on August 1, 2012 with a complaint of the check engine light being on.  We sublet the vehicle to Southwest Ford to have the vehicle repaired.

 

Once again, we paid for the repairs relative to the check engine light being on.  We performed a state inspection on this vehicle prior to the sale to Mr. ********.  The vehicle will not pass state inspection with the check engine light on, however we still paid for the repairs.

 

We called Mr. ******** on September 19, 2012 and asked him to bring the vehicle in for us to inspect his air condition blower concern.   He agreed to bring the vehicle in the following day.  When he brought the vehicle in he also wanted us to check for a rattle in the right door and also stated the rear glass was still leaking. We checked the vehicle and found the screen at the air intake for the blower motor to be covered in debris, which we cleaned.  The right front door rattle was a striker that needed to be adjusted, which we adjusted.  We provided Mr. ********a phone number to A-1 Auto Glass in regards to his rear glass concern.

A-1 Auto Glass is mobile and itwould be easier for Mr. ******** to make arrangements directly with them for a time to have them recheck the rear glass.  Again, we did not charge Mr. ********.

 

I am enclosing all of the information that I have concerning our contacts with Mr.********.

 

We feel as though we have worked with Mr.******** and have been fair.  We have paid for several repairs on the vehicle that have occurred after the purchase.  We have also provided him with all of the information we have on his vehicle.

 

 

September 25, 2012

Page Three

 

 

 

12/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable