Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Southwest Ford, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (817) 596-5700 Fax: (817) 597-4296 View Additional Phone Numbers 3000 Fort Worth Hwy, Hudson Oaks, TX 76087 http://www.southwestford.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Southwest Ford, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Southwest Ford, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Southwest Ford, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1987 Business started: 07/30/1982 in TX Business started locally: 07/30/1982 Business incorporated 07/30/1982 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 465-4129
The number is P15079.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles W. Gilchrist, CEO/Owner Mr. Jimmy Ogle, VP Service Operations Mr. Chad Slayton, IT Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles W. Gilchrist, CEO/Owner
Principal: Mr. Jimmy Ogle, VP Service Operations
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Southwest Ford, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3000 Fort Worth Hwy

    Hudson Oaks, TX 76087 (817) 596-5700 (800) 547-3495

  • PO Box 234

    Weatherford, TX 76086

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company sold me a 2013 Ford Expedition EL Limited in May of 2014. We have had problems with it since about 3 or 4 months after we purchased it. We have had to fight them on warranty issues and everything else, only to find out that the vehicle they sold me had been wrecked, and they did not disclose this information to me at the time of purchase. We actually asked if it had been wrecked because we could not believe that it had so few miles on it with that good of a price. We were told that it was not wrecked. As it turns out, per their own service department, they had done $5,000 worth of repairs to that vehicle prior to us purchasing it due to it being wrecked. When brought to their attention, they acted like they wanted to make it right with us. Instead, they have had my car for almost a month, "fixing" it. When my husband calls to get updates, they say they will call us back, and they never do. They asked us what we thought would make it right and we told them that we wanted another vehicle that was comparable to my current one or better. We wanted our payments to be the same and we wanted to pay only what was left on our current note. We were told that this would happen and they had a brand new 2015 Ford Expedition EL Platinum for me and asked when we could be there. We left almost immediately and drove an hour to get there, only to leave without the new vehicle because they wanted us to start all over and pay on this new vehicle for another 72 months. We were speaking with the Used Sales Manager at this point, and we talked to the General manager after that. We tried to talk to the owner, but was not successful. They told us that we could come back tomorrow to talk to the owner. My husband spoke with the owner that next morning and was basically told that they couldn't do any better than that. We are now paying $35.14 more than my old payment after they told us that our payments would be the same, and we have to pay for 72 months

Desired Settlement: We want to at least meet in the middle. They said that they could not take a $20,000 loss, so they have put that $20,000 on us, the customer instead. We would like to at least bump our $20,000 down to $10,000. I don't care if that means smaller payments for the 72 months, or making the note a shorter term. We would have never purchased the car had we known that it had been wrecked, and it is not right to make a customer pay for their mistakes. They are not going to be out any at all on this deal. They will re-sale my current expedition and get pretty close to what I paid for it to begin with and they didn't lose anything on my new one because we have to pay the full amount. We will NEVER do business with them again unless this is resolved

Business Response:

BBB Response:  ****** *******

These were the options that we gave to the customer.

  1. We offered to purchase back the 2013 Expedition for $40,000 which was the amount they paid for it a year and a half ago with no mileage penalty.  Keep in mind there were approximately 23,000 miles put on the vehicle.  This then would give them the option to go anywhere and purchase another vehicle.

  2. We offered them a brand new 2015 Ford Expedition Limited that has an MSRP around $63,000 for the same payment they had on their 2013 model.  The base payment was to the penny of their previous payment and they chose to take an extended warranty and Gap protection which added to the monthly payment.

  3. We offered to find them a similar vehicle with the same miles.  This option was given to them because they then decided that they were not willing to go any longer on the term than what they had left on their current vehicle.  This option could not be done at that moment which they demanded the night they came to the store.

  4. The customer also requested to purchase a $68,000 pre-owned vehicle for the same terms and payments from the previous $40,000 vehicle.  When told that we could not make the happen we were told that that was not acceptable and we need to figure out how to do it.  He then told us to figure it out, because if not he would contact his attorney.

There is no possible way that you can buy a $63,000 vehicle for the same payment for the price of a $40,000 vehicle with less payment terms than the $40,000 vehicle.  We gave them an outstanding deal and were repeatedly told that was not good enough. 

Consumer Response:


I would like to start out by saying that the response I received from ***** at Southwest Ford COMPLETELY missed the point.  The whole issue is not how cheap can we get a car from you or how good of a deal that you gave us.  The whole reason for this complaint is due to the fact that Southwest Ford made a fraudulent sale to us when they sold us a vehicle that had been wrecked prior to us buying the vehicle.  We asked, prior to our purchase of the 2013 expedition, whether it had been wrecked or had any other problems, and we were told no.  Knowingly, or otherwise, we were lied to and sold a vehicle that has caused us nothing but problems from the very beginning.  This is not just an everyday, "we want to trade our vehicle in for a newer model" type situation.  This is a "I purchased the vehicle that I really wanted and had absolutely no interest in trading my car in any time soon" situation.  I did not want another car.  However, we had no other choice because we were lied to with the purchase of our first one.  So this was not to ask you to "give us a good deal on a new car".  This was simply to ask Southwest Ford to own up to their mistakes and attempt to make things right.

Yes you did offer to purchase the car back for $40,000, but that was NOT the amount that we paid for it a year and a half ago.  When I made my first payment on that vehicle, my balance was a little over $48,000 after a downpayment.  Yes there were 20,000 miles put on it, but throughout that 20,000 miles, I spent a couple of months trying to get the car in to the shop to have everything fixed.  I kept being put off because supposedly, there were no rental cars available.  When I finally did get to put it in the shop, it was kept for 2 weeks and it was a constant battle to get those things paid for even though I had warranty.

Yes, you did offer me a brand new 2015 Ford Expedition EL Platinum, and that is what we went with because we didn't feel we had anymore options.  I love this one just as much, or probably more than I did mine, mainly because it's new, so I'm pretty confident that it shouldn't have the issues that the 2013 had.  However, the base payments was NOT to the penny.  My previous payments were $762.86 INCLUDING warranties and GAP insurance.  The paperwork stated that I would be paying $763 for this 2015 expedition, so to say it was to the penny, is not accurate.  The 762.86 included all of the warranties as well, so with my payments now being just shy of $800, I would say you completely missed the mark on this one as well.

You did offer to find me a smilier vehicle with the same miles instead of the brand new vehicle since we did not want to start over on payments.  However, there was absolutely nothing on your lot that even remotely compared to what my vehicle was when we purchased it in 2013 except for two SUVs.  One, I was not the least bit interested in, and the other one, although i did like it and would have taken it had Southwest Ford been willing to make that transaction, it was not what I ultimately wanted.  Yes, we did demand that something be done that day, but it was demanded earlier that morning after our car had been in your shop going on 3 weeks, no one returned my husbands phone calls for status updates, we had the car rental place contacting us to ask if we still had their vehicle because they hadn't received payment and couldn't get in touch with anyone at Southwest Ford.  Every time ****** said that he would call my husband back, my husband would have to call him back in the next day or so because he never heard back from him.  This was not an all of a sudden kind of thing like you are making it sound.  This was weeks of being patient, being constantly inconvenienced, and being ignored that finally made my husband call and say that we need it handled and we need it handled by end of business today.  It took him doing that to get anyone to do anything.  It still was not handled by end of business day.  It was the end of next business day before my husband came home with the new car, but in our opinion, none of this was handled properly.  Also, PRIOR to us driving an hour to the dealership that evening, we were told by ****** that the car was ready, the payments would be the same, there would be 0% interest for the entirety of the loan and it would be an even trade.  When we got there, the story was a little different.  Yes we could have 0% interest but our payments are going to be a little higher and we will be completely starting over on our note.  So, yes we were upset, because our time and gas was wasted.  We left that night without a vehicle and without talking to anyone that could resolve this.  So we didn't just "demand" anything "the night we came to the store".  We had been working on resolving this issue for 3 weeks.  

We did request to purchase the other used SUV that was priced at $68,000, but only because, as previously stated, it was one of the only vehicles on the lot that could come close to comparing to what mine was when I purchased it.  We were just trying to stick with used because we didn't know that new was an option at the time that we asked for that.  When we were told that they could not make that happen and explained that they have more control and more leniency with new vehicles that they already own, we completely understood and that is when we were offered the new vehicle.  Again, we LOVE the actual vehicle.  I have absolutely NO complaints about that vehicle.  It is all about how we got to this point.

I think it is also important to note that we were told that we could take our vehicle to another dealership and trade it in.  I have a problem with this, but I think it speaks to the character and integrity or lack thereof at Southwest Ford.  If we traded it in anywhere else, we would either have to lie to them like Southwest Ford lied to us, or we would be so upside down that it wouldn't be worth it.  Neither of those seem like good options to me, nor do they fix the problem, nor does Southwest Ford have to take responsibility for their mistakes.

I am perfectly aware of the numbers side of things and I realize that newer vehicles cost more.  I am not oblivious to any of that.  I know that if I purchased a $63,000 vehicle for $48,000, that means that Southwest Ford loses money.  Although I am not after anyone's money, I just don't see how it is right to dump the money that Southwest Ford would have lost due to their own mistakes and lies, on their customer.  This is not about getting a good deal.  This is about Southwest Ford lying to us and then making it out to be our fault.  How is it right to make us start completely over and pay more money because of someone else's mistakes?

We paid 1.5 years worth of payments on the expedition that I picked out and planned to keep for a long time.  I didn't want any other vehicle, I wanted that one.  I was pretty much forced into a new one, given the circumstances, and I am just asking that they at least meet me half way and take 1.5 years of the payments off.  At $800/month, that comes to $14,400.  I only asked you to meet me at 10,000.  If we were trading in our vehicle just because, or we were actually shopping for/wanting another vehicle, your "deal" would be an AMAZING deal.  However, that is not the situation.  We bought a car we wanted.  We were lied to.  We found out about it when our car died on the side of the road.  Southwest Ford does not take ownership of their mistakes/lies.  We as the customer pay the price for that.  THAT is the issue.  






Business Response: Please see attached

5/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I traded in a vehicle for a new lease vehicle on Dec. 17th, 2014. The trade-in vehicle had a balance with Toyota Finance. It took the dealership 26 days to send the payment to them resulting in Toyota flagging our credit reports for late payment. We were told by our dealer finance representative that it would take 20 days for us to get the equity from our trade-in, meaning they would have had to pay the balance of the loan, wait for the title to come from the lienholder and then cut a check for our trade-in. When I asked the dealership's business manager for a letter to try to clear up the credit issue, he agreed to provide one, but that letter has not been forth coming. I wanted the letter to explain that the dealership had not acted in a timely manner as promised, and that we didn't make our car payment because we were advised that the dealership would be paying off the loan before it became an issue. Today is Jan. 23rd, 2015 approximately 37 days since we turned over our trade-in and we have not received our equity check from Southwest Ford of Weatherford, TX.

Desired Settlement: I want the dealership to provide a letter that will hopefully clear our negative credit issue with Toyota Financial. Besides the letter, I would also like to receive, from the dealership, interest on the equity for our trade-in as they have not acted in a timely manner in getting that to us.

BBB Response: **** ***** came in to purchase a vehicle that was coming from the factory and we did
paperwork just to secure that vehicle contracting around the second of December.  There was a delay during transport, so we
located a different one and signed paperwork on the new vehicle on the
seventeenth of December.  During that
time a payment came up on her vehicle that was being traded in that became
late.  By the time we got the new vehicle
funded and paid off the trade in, 30 days had passed making them late on that
car payment.  We will be happy to talk to
the lender, but I feel it will be expedited best if they talk to the lender
first and then get us involved with a contact and case number.  The check for the equity was given to the customer
on January 28th.  We have a strict policy
that no refunds or money due back to the customer until we have been funded for
the new vehicle and the trade in title has been received at the dealership.  We do work hard to get issues resolved and I
will be happy to assist with this situation. 
I can be reached at ###-###-####.

9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have recently purchased a used vehicle from Southwest Ford at 3000 Fort Worth Hwy, Weatherford, TX 76087 on August 14th. This was the day that the contract was signed, however, the day before we had provided proof of income to a Mr. *** ******* at the used car department. After signing a waiver to allow us to drive the car off of the lot in promise to return in the next day to finalize the paperwork. My wife and I did just that; we took the car home for the night collected all the proper documentatioin that was requested and finalized a deal with this Mr. ******* salesman. I suppose it was the next day (15August2013) that Mr. *** ******* called to verify my wife's employment at ***** Drive-In, Elk Drive, Burleson, TX (after the deal was finalized and contract signedAn). My wife is legally prescribed a medication that makes her drousy and during her orientation she was just that, very drousy, so her manager let her go home and said to come back when she was off the medication that made her sleepy. She was never fired or taken off of payroll. Well, I guess this must have been when the salesman (Mr. *******) called to verify her employment there. I am unaware of the conversation that took place, but the next day I received a phone call from Mr. ******* concerning my wife's employment. Let me reiterate that this was all after all paperwork was signed and finalized. So I tell Mr. ******* to give me a week so that my wife could either get her meds in line or find a new job, and he agreed. It was today, 26August2013, that I started being harrassed by this Mr. *******. Below is the conversation that took place on 26Aug2013 via text message between myself and Mr. *******. Mr *******: "Anything new pressure building" Me: "I've been advised by my attorney that if there is a problem with the contract that was signed by the three of us then send it in writing. My buisness with you is done until then Mr. *******" Mr. ******* "If that's your position please bring the vehicle back today or we turn over to recovert dept you should have attrny read contract all costs incurr from down pay i was working with you but not now you have no intention of wife income you misled me. Me: "She just received a text from her manager at sonic asking if she is still able to work. She is calling him now to verify and once i get the go ahead you can calll to verify yourself. She is in (on) the phone with him now Me: "So she is still working at *****. We just now found out. His name is ***** and he is a manager at *****. His nuumber is...XXX--XXX-XXXX. Me: "He is aware that you will be calling to verify. No harm done...everything is as it was when the papers were signed. Me: " If necessary I can bring in paperwork once she returns back to work. But she has a job as of right now. Mr. Pickenns: "The funder will call sonics hr to verify her employment i need that info." Me: "Ok...but that's the number. Her manager goes in tomorrow. On her first day back I will have her make sure she fills out and tax info. I wasn't trying to do you any wrong Mr. *******. I was doing what my legal counsel told me to do. Me: "Once we have that information it will be sent to you. If she needs to go in tomorrow and have that done I'll send her up there to do that." Me: "I honeslty didn't know that this loan was through GM until I read the contract. She goes back to work tomorrow. We literally just found out." (She was on the phone with me manager while this was conversation was taking place." Me: "If you have any questions please call me and we can get this sorted out. He just told her he never took her off of payroll. So tomorrow she goes back to work at 11." Me: "This was all a simple misunderstanding on my part and for that I do apologize." Mr. *******: "it's not all right what time today will i have your wifes info." >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> It was after that text that I took it upon myself to call Mr. *******. He said " How bout you just bring the car back in if this is how you want to do things." We exchanged words (very uprofesssional words tossed at me on his part). So I hang up the phone and call GM Financial. During my converstaion with the first person I talked to, I explained everything that was going on and she stopped me and told me that this call is recorded for quality assurance. I said sure. After explaining my position on this deal she told me that both incomes were verifired through them. Once she told me that I went on to explain how upset I was she asked if I would like to speak to a supervisor and I said "yes". I believe the supervisor's name was ******...I explained to him the whole situation and simply asked "what do I tell this guy?" He told me to tell him that they have everything they need on their end. I hung up the phone and text Mr. ******* back. Me: "I just spoke with GM and they have all the info they need....this is what they told me to tell you." Mr. *******: "Who did you speak to" Me: "A supervisor...don't have their name" (I didn't recall the name until writing this complaint) Me: "It's in their notes. Both employments have been verified, the first lady told me, and then the supervisor told me to tell you what I sent." Mr. *******: "Give me the info on the hr contact" >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> This is where I am at. I feel as though I have been harassed by this man, threatened by this man, and I've simply had enough. Everything we have done, we have done legally. It is not my job to give a salesman the number for HR at any company. I want it to be known that MR. RAY PICKENS of Southwest Ford used cars department has harasseed me and threatened me with repsosession of the car and keeping my down payment.

Desired Settlement: I would like for this man to be repremanded for doing what he's done and I would also like him to finish the job himself. I don't think it's too much to ask for him to get ***** Drive-Ins HR number on his own accord. I would also like to an apology from the man as well as the first price that he quoted us $13,500. Thank you for taking a look at this and thank you for your time.

Business Response:

I personally handled Mr. ******* and we actually ended up putting him in a brand new Ford for the same payment.  Mr. and Mrs. ******* came in Saturday and took delivery of their new vehicle.  He and I have discussed at length the short falls we have and I have since then fixed the situation.  I am excited to have them as a part of our dealership and look forward to many years of taking care of them.  They were both extremely happy when they left.

 

Consumer Response:

  The vice president of Sales went above and beyond what he had to do in order to make this right.  *****, I will be calling the services department only because the car seat adjustment handles do not work on the driver side seat.  BBB, I would like for you to take this complaint against ***** *******'s company at Southwest Ford off of your books. Simply becasue he made everything right and was very professional about it.

 

 

 

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2012, I bought a brand new, 2013 Ford Explorer. Took all the warranties that were offered with it. Was promised to have and recieve outstanding service. It has been a nightmare since then. The service department has scratch and damaged my car since I have taken it in the last time. The warranty on my tires isn't be done, since I keep getting the run around on this matter with them. I paid $230 out of pocket for tires that were supposedly under a warranty that I paid for. My SYNC service is expiring in 23 days, it should be going on for another 2 years, but once again, something else I paid for yet the dealership messed it up and won't take credit for it. I paid $38000 for my vehicle, and I hate it more and more everyday. To many problems, to many lies, to many people never responding to my phone calls, emails.

Desired Settlement: I was the $230 returned for the tire that was covered in my warranty that Southwest refused to help me with. I want my bumper fixed that they damaged and the mark on the upper left side taken care of since I had that cleaning service done. And I want my SYNC services restored for the full 36 months its suppsoed to be, not for 12 months.

Business Response: We have tried to contact Mr. Christopher by phone and email.  We need information on the issues in order to resolve his concerns.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Southwest Ford, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart