Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Sewell Cadillac of Grapevine?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sewell Cadillac of Grapevine meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sewell Cadillac of Grapevine include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sewell Cadillac of Grapevine
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 14, 2008 Business started: 10/31/1953 in TX Business started locally: 10/31/1953 Business incorporated: 10/29/1981 in LA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78761
https://www.txdmv.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 302-2162
The number is P51484.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Beth Fitzpatrick, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Beth Fitzpatrick, Controller
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS

Alternate Business Names
Sewell Village Cadillac Company, Inc.
Industry Tips
Automobile sales

Additional Locations

  • 1001 E State Highway 114

    Grapevine, TX 76051 (866) 598-9827 (817) 778-8615

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my vehicle diagnosed for an oil leak at Sewell Cadillac in Grapevine, TX, 76051 on Friday, September 19, 2014. I dropped off my vehicle at approximately 5 PM, with Service Advisor ****** ****. On Saturday, September 20, **** called me and Informed me the front cover needed to be resealed, and also recommended changing the water pump and timing chain. I asked **** how much the work cost, **** said approximately 30324.44. I told **** I decline at this time and I'll pick up my vehicle on Monday, September 22, **** said OK. On Monday, September 22, 2014, at approximately 12:30, I picked up my vehicle and paid $62 for the diagnoses. I asked **** what's the cost for just having the front cover resealed, **** said approxiamtely $1500. I took my vehicle to ***z Auto Works in Ponder, TX 76259 on Friday, March 6, 2015, at approximately 1 PM. I Informed *** I wanted my front cover resealed based on Sewell Cadillac Service Advisor/Techician diagnoses. I asked *** how much the work was going to cost, *** said $700 plus parts, *** and I purchased parts. *** called me on Sunday, March 8, 2015 and Informed me he resealed the front cover, but my vehicle was still leaking and it was leaking from the oil filter housing. *** stated it was a bad leak and suggested I have it fix before the engine blow/lock up, I asked *** how much is it going to cost, *** said $175, I agreed to have it fix. *** called me Monday< March 9, 2015 at approximately 18;00, and said my vehicle was ready, I told *** I'll pick up my vehicle on Tuesday afternoon, *** said Ok. I paid *** and picked up my vehicle on Tuesday, March 10, 2015 at approximately 4 PM. I spoke with Service Manager **** ******, on Friday, March 13, 2015, at approximately 4:30 PM. I Informed ****** I had the front cover resealed base on the diagnoses from his Technician, and was notified the leak was coming from the oil filter housing. I asked ****** to compensate me, ****** said no. ****** called at 5:15 and said he call me on Mon

Desired Settlement: I want to be compensated for the misdiagnoses and having work done base on Sewell Technician i did not need. 1. Front cover resealed. Labor $700 Parts $211 Total $911

BBB Response:

 

I talked to Mr. ****** about your car.  He informed me he already explained that since you did not have the work performed here nor did you buy the parts from here, we are not responsible your car or  other companies work.  He also explained when you are dealing with a vehicle over 10 years old and with over 190,000 miles, once you start tearing it apart you could easily discover other items that have worn and need replacement.

 

If you feel **** **** ***** did not repair your vehicle correctly, you should talk to ****.

 

I wish you would have chosen us to work on your vehicle.

 

Consumer Response:

Sewell Cadillac misdiagnosed my vehicle and cause me to incur additional fees based on their technician's diagnoses. I took my vehicle to Ray's repair shop and had Ray too reseal the front base on what sewell Cadillac findings. After Ray resealed the cover he phoned me and told me the voil leak was coming from the oil filter housing and not the front cover. Sewell should compensate me for providing me with false information, which I paid sewell for.







11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had to take my Vehicle since last year, the number of times I've had to take it for the same reason its unbelievable, for the same noise that is still making an ongoing noise, and the service technician always returns my vehicle in the same condition. Since last year, My vehicle has been having a loud old car noise like a groaning noise, at first, in mid last year, it was a noise that I would hear from the front. Now, it's gotten to the point where you can hear the noise so much, it's all over the car, it makes the car sound horrible! Now what I don't understand is why NOW, they are trying to charge me almost $360 when they NEVER fixed my vehicle right from the start. I have lost so much work time, gas time and this has caused me many headaches and sleepless nights because I do not have a working vehicle when I'm paying for it, it's spent more time at the dealership than with me. I have talked to different people at the Cadillac and no one an answer my questions/concerns "Why didn't you detect the that issue when it began last year? And I had been bringing my car in for the same reason since then. So then the Cadillac policy is to WAIT for customers policy to EXPIRE and then charge extra money????" I do not agree nor do I find it fair that I have been taking my vehicle to the dealership for the same reason numerous times. Since last year, and also this year without any solution and now that you guys waited until my " warranty expires, and then BY MIRACLE detect the actual problem, and then repair it, to be able to charge that extra money?? " you guys want to charge me extra money. I know what I'm Saying about cadillac grapevine is true, they are scamming me, because with my dents You guys always" forget" to repair my dents or you tell me I didn't show u the dent so This is a scam! Every time I have gone to Cadillac there is always headaches and bad times with the customer service I have also had many problems due to the clumsiness of your employees. It was around my first time I took to get my seat serviced, you guys damaged my dashboard, chipped it off and "attempted to fix it", my dashboard never looked the same, in simple words, it was a CHEAP repair. I'm being scammed every time I take my vehicle to you at the Cadillac service department. When I purchased my vehicle in May 2013 from Mr. Mariss, as he stated we will be covered for any repairs/damages in the vehicle. Cadillac Sewell of grapevine, made it sound All nice when we bought that extended warranty and now they do not want to cover the damages, which the Cadillac grapevine obviously caused for not being able to find the problem from the start. And how could I forget, the service airbag light problem, They have never been able to leave it right, they are doing that because they want me to keep going back to them and using my warranty that I have left without leaving my car running properly. This is also the same thing that has been going on with my dent repairs, they tell me when I pick up the car "oh you didn't tell us about these dents" when I've showed them the dents for many many times, they fix what they want, and do what they want to my vehicle. I hope I don't have to also contact the warranty department which covers my vehicle to inform them of the malpractice the Cadillac grapevine is having, and doing.

Desired Settlement: Repair my vehicle without me having to pay out of pocket.

BBB Response:

The repairs needed to repair her most recent concerns were not covered under her warranty.  As a goodwill gesture, we performed the repairs with her prior approval and only charged her a small portion of the repair.  To perform the repairs would have normally been over $1200.  We do not “wait” for a customer’s warranty to expire before we try to repair the vehicle.  If we don’t find a concern with a vehicle, we do not charge for it.  So therefore, it doesn’t benefit us to intentionally ignore a problem.  As for the concern about the “dents”.  We do not have an “in-house” dent or PDR (paintless dent repair) technician so we outsource that to a vendor.  He services our dealership every Tuesday.  Again, there is no reason not to have the “dents” repaired.  Ms. ********* has an insurance policy that pays to have small dents or dings repaired. 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: I do not agree with the response I received  from the Cadillac Sewell of Grapevine, I find it unfit that I had to pay out of my pocket, after I had been going to that dealership since last year and this year continuous times and the problems were never fixed, even after paying $354, the service air bag light still comes up. 



Regards,

***** *********