Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of RANDY HILEY MAZDA/VOLKSWAGEN OF ARLINGTON?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

RANDY HILEY MAZDA/VOLKSWAGEN OF ARLINGTON

Phone: (817) 493-5000 Fax: (817) 575-6140 View Additional Phone Numbers 1400 Tech Centre Pkwy, Arlington, TX 76014 http://www.hileymazdavw.com/ View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that RANDY HILEY MAZDA/VOLKSWAGEN OF ARLINGTON meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for RANDY HILEY MAZDA/VOLKSWAGEN OF ARLINGTON include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on RANDY HILEY MAZDA/VOLKSWAGEN OF ARLINGTON
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 02, 1990 Business started: 05/01/1990 in 0 Business started locally: 05/01/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas OCCC-Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner
2601 N Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78705
http://www.occc.state.tx.us
Phone Number: 512-936-7600
Fax Number: 512-936-7610
info@occc.state.tx.us
The number is 38370.

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jan Gilbertson, Customer relations manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS

Alternate Business Names
HILEY AUTO GROUP HILEY MAZDA/VOLKSWAGEN
Industry Tips
Automobile sales

Additional Locations

  • 1400 Tech Centre Pkwy

    Arlington, TX 76014

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (817) 575-6100(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my name is Jennifer an my complain is as follows on feb 12/2015 I purchase a new 2015 vw gli jetta the lady that did my financing her name was ***** ******** are verval agreement was to give her 5000 thousand dollars now an 2000 thousand dollars wen my incometax came 3 weeks in to that agreement the calls start it to come in from her stating that she was in hot water an that she needed the 2000 thousand dollars asap she did no care were it came from she needs them now my husband call her back an told her that she would have to wait till the incometax came in she told him she could not wait mu husband then decided to go to down to the dealership an talk to her ***** in person about the situation y weren't they honering there agreement my husband then proceded to ask her to log in her computer to go to the irs.gov web site so she can see for her self that the return of mine was still pending so he left Friday/13/2015 ***** calls again an sate that she needs the money before the day ends my husband calls her back an finally talks to someone other than ***** an individual by the name of ******* him an my husband come to an agreement that the car will be return that they will return my full downpayment to come on in on Saturday 14/2015 so I my self went there to do an unwind an drop of the car as soon as I go there they ask me for the keys an block my car inn told me wen can I give them there 2000 thousand dollars down payment I said I don't know wen.i cant control the irs they are not the owners of the car its capital one an they also summited an illegal contrac to capital one stating in deed I gave them the hole 7000 thousand dollars no were in the contrac states that I ow them 2000 thousand or its a deferred down paymneti never sign or committed to a date for this 2000 thousand dollars they also state that if they were to unwind my deal they would deduc miles an were an ter that's not right I work hard for my money ....thank you

Desired Settlement: I want my 5000 in full an for them not to deduct not one penny from my downpaymnet to pay off my car loan in full with capital one

Business Response:

3-17-15

The General Sales Manager, **** ******, has been in contact with the Perez family. The money will be refunded to them.

 

 

2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to hiley vw to have my 30,000 inspection done along with my car washed and vacuumed out, when entering my car after the service I noticed I was missing $3.00 in change,cologne, and my RayBan sunglasses I notified the dealership of the issue.

Business Response:

 

On Friday, 1-30-15, Mr. ***** came to have his vehicle serviced at Hiley VW. After leaving the dealership he contacted his service advisor, *** ****** and stated that there was  a bottle of cologne worth $35.00, and $3.00 in change missing from the vehicle. *** then contacted her supervisor, ***** Clare who in turn contacted Mr. *****.

***** apologized to Mr. ***** advising him that this was an isolated incident. ***** offered to issue  Mr. ***** a $50.00 Visa gift card to replace the $38.00 worth of missing  merchandise. Mr. ***** agreed. Later that day Mr. ***** called back and advised ***** that his Ray Ban sunglasses were missing from the vehicle as well. ***** advised him that he would be more than happy to replace the glasses . Mr. ***** texted ***** an invoice totaling $129.00 and a picture of the sunglasses. ***** got on line and found a pair like the ones missing but totaled $149.95. ***** sent Mr. ***** the information, and  Mr. ***** stated that since they were different he would rather Hiley cut him a check instead of replacing the sun glasses. After speaking to the General Manager ***** advised Mr. ***** that we would issue the $50.00 gift card and replace the glasses, but would not issue a check.

After reviewing the complaint this morning stating that the value was $350.00, ***** contacted Mr. ***** who advised ***** that he had made a mistake and meant to list the value at $250.00. Mr. ***** stated that the glasses were worth $180.00, the cologne was worth $50.00, plus the $3.00 in change. Mr. ***** is in total agreement  to the reimbursement of $250.00.  ***** has currently sent a request to our accounting department for a check in  the amount of $250.00. He has also advised Mr. ***** that it will take 2-3 days to be issued.

 

 

12/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2005 Volkswagen GTI from Hiley VW in July 2012. I've had the vehicle for a little over two years now and I understand it is a used vehicle there are going to be some problems just not this bad. I tried trading in the vehicle on 11/28/14 on a truck that I found. The dealership would not accept the car as a trade. They explained to me that the vehicle was listed as a "Total Loss Vehicle" on the Carfax report. I was unaware of this when I bought it. I did know that the vehicle was in a wreck in 2010 and the airbag did deploy but not totaled. Carfax did not report the total loss until 01/08/2013 of course after I bought it. Someone had to have known it was a total loss. Where the vehicle is financed through, told us that they would have never financed the vehicle if they had known it was totaled. The airbag light was on when I purchased it, but, was told that it was all there except the part that makes it inflate. Well, with the light on, the whole airbag system is shutdown and would not deploy in an accident. No one told me this. They were really eager to discount the vehicle $800, now I know why. I just don't know what else or where I can go to get help with this issue. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I'm not asking for more money than is necessary to rid me of this vehicle so It won't go against me (repossession) and the finance company having to deal with it. What I would like is for Hiley to buy the vehicle back from me and dispose of it properly and to pay the interest that I have paid in to it. I'm not trying to get away with driving a free car. I have used the vehicle, kept up with maintenance and all taxes and insurance on it. I just don't think it's right for me to have to surrender the vehicle and go against my credit and the finance company having to take a loss on it as well. Thank you.

Business Response:

 

The 2005 VW GTI was purchased by Mr. ****** in 2012. It is standard procedure at Hiley to pull all reports regarding the vehicle for the sate of Texas, along with the vehicle report from Carfax before offering a vehicle  to a consumer. When Mr. ****** purchased the Jetta in 2012 all reports stated that the vehicle had a clean title.  There was no information from the state of Texas, or Carfax, that reported the vehicle as a total loss. All lending corporations also pull the exact same information an any vehicle they finance. If the vehicle would have shown a salvaged title, not a clean title, Hiley would not have put the car up for sale, also no financial institution would have funded the loan. All reports pulled in the year of 2012 on the vehicle by both HIley and the funding institution at the time of purchase showed a clean title.

We are very aware of the concern Mr. ****** has. As a dealership it is also our concern as to why Carfax, nor the state of Texas , reported the correct information until 1-8-2013, which was after Mr. ****** purchased the Jetta from Hiley. Hiley is  investing the concern, and we have opened a report with Carfax. One of our managers, **** ****, has also placed a call to Mr. ****** regarding our concern, and our plans to help resolve the issue.

*** **********

 

 

 

Consumer Response:   They are working diligently on satisfying me I couldn't ask for nicer people. 

Regards,


***** ******

Consumer Response:

Hello I filed a complaint against Randy Hiley Volkswagen on 12/08/14 complaint ID ********. I thought it was resolved but it is not. They want me to trade in the car and my wife's car to resolve the issue. I cannot do that at this time. I have emailed the manager discussing the situation with no reply. 








Business Response:

 

 **** ****, our Internet Direector, has been in contact with Mr. ******.  Mr. ****** has scheduled an appointment  with **** for this Saturday, December 20,2014. **** is going to appraise the vehicle for Mr. ******.

Regards,

*** **********

 

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our car ran over a road debris creating extensive damage to the under carriage. We took the car for repairs at Hiley Mazda / Volkswagen of Arlington were they replaced bearings wheels and other items. After getting the car back I complained about road noise on the tires, so I took the car back to them and they informed me that the tires need balancing; I question how come it was not done when they replaced the wheels. They noise persisted at a liveable degree. Last week I took the car for an oil change , and during the regular inspection the service adviser notify me that the two tires involved in the accident had dangerously thin walls and needed to be replaced and not to drive on them. Once again I question how come they were not replaced as part of the repair from the accident They informed me that the insurance adjustor deny the tires; but after contacting my insurance company I was informed by them that a no time an adjuster was sent to Mazda and that they pay all of what Mazda submitted. Hiley Mazda has put my wife's safety in jeopardy by falling to properly repair our vehicle and performing all the necessary repairs and replacements.

Desired Settlement: I want Hiley Mazda to replaced and balance those tires that they failed to replace during the repairs. Hihley Mazda was paid a great deal of money ( above average) by my insurance,. Hiley Mazda was incompetence during the repairs failing to do all the necessary repairs to the car, and jeopardizing my wife's safety. I do not believe that I should have to pay for their incompetence.

Business Response:

 

***** ****, the service Manager at HIley Mazda, attempted to get in contact with  Mr. *** *** ******s' insurance company twice last week with no success. When an insurance claim is made, we are unable to proceed with any repair until it is authorized by the insurance company.  This morning he was able to contact *****, who is a representative for USAA insurance. Shane spoke to him about the tire issue, in which ***** stated he would contact Mr. *** *** ****** today in regards to geeting a field advisor to go inspect the tires on the car, and verify the issue. 

Hiley Mazda apologizes for any miscommunication.

 

HIley Mazda Arlington

Customer Relations Manager

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Hiley Mazda continues there deception by insinuating that they contacted my insurance, I have check with my insurance and no one has mention communication with Hiley Mazda.

I am submitting to you both estimates that they send to my insurance, in which neither of them mentions the tires, corroborating my of incompetence and deception on there part.

Regards,

***** *** *** ******




Business Response:

On December 23,2013, Mr. *** *** ******s 2012 Mazda Miata arrived at our service department for repairs that occurred when the vehicle was involved in an accident due to running over road debris. His insurance company, USAA had chosed a third party adjusting company, ASI, to review all damages made. Our service department faxed an estimate to ******* ******** with ASI who approved all repairs that were requested. Estimate included: right hub assembly, right wheel bearing, right hub, right front wheel, right rear wheel, mount and balance two wheels. Hiley did not find any problem with the tires at that time. The odometer read 15,637 miles at time of repair.

On March 28,2014 the odometer read 17,522 miles, and was returned to the dealership. Customer stated the vehicle had a humming noise from the rear area when driving at low speeds. The Tech test drove the car to duplicate the problem. He found that the noise was coming from tires which were starting to feather, which is due to possible lack of tire maintenance. Customer also stated that when turning either direction something slides from side to side. After further inspection the Tech found the noise coming from personal items left in the center console and in the doors. Customer also stated that on uneven surfaces the vehicle makes a metal on metal ratttling noise from the rear. The Tech test drove the vehicle and was unable to duplicate the noise. All information was documented and give to the customer. There were no charges for services rendered during this vist.

August 15,2014 the vehicle was brought in for an oil change. The vehicle odometer read 19,949 miles at this time. During the 99  point inspection of the vehicle the Tech found that the sde walls on two tires had nicks in them. Customer was notified and replacement of tires was declined.

***** ****, our service manager has tried on multiple occasions to contact ASI to try and see how we can get this resolved. He did speak to a gentleman by the name of ***** at ASI on Monday, 8-25-14. ***** stated he would contact Mr. *** *** ****** that day in regards to the tire replacement. We have not heard fro Mr. *** *** ******, or ***** so we are not aware of any contact between them. After further investigation, ***** **** has been in contact with **** at ASI and has confirmed that no paperwork involved with USAA, ASI, or Hiley shows any records or notes showing tire damage from the incident occurring in December, and stated that Mr. *** *** ******s should be the one contacting USAA for any supplement requests after original repair. With that said, in good faith we are going to try to submit a supplement claim with the third party adjustor ASI for 2 new tires. **** at ASI neither confirmed nor denied the supplement would be approved. Problem being the 7 month time period, and additional mileage of 4,312 miles since the original claim.

Mr. *** *** ******s stated that he has talked to his insurance company, USAA, and they have stated that we have not tried to contact them. Please take note that the contact information that we have is with ASI, the company that USAA chose to work the claim. Therefore ASI, who works for USAA is who we have been in contact with.

 

9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought the car less than 3 months from Hiley Mazda at Arlington, was told that it had been a bad battery. We were told that it was his fault with the miles on the car plus what he put on the car. We barely put 5,000 miles on the car, which is the recommendation for the oil change. The car was sold with the miles already in the high 60s. A battery doesn’t go bad within 5,000 miles. I have consulted other mechanics just to make sure I’m stating the truth. So the charge of $246.00 that the dealership asked my husband to pay was absolutely upsurd. That battery should have been replaced free of charge since their own mechanic admitted it had been a bad battery and should have been replaced when Hiley bought the car from the previous owner. I want the money for the battery credited back to my account. I will pay for the oil change and fixing the tire, and I’m appreciative of that service that was provided to us. However, as I said before, paying for something that was not our fault shouldn’t be our responsibility.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the battery

Business Response:

 

Our service department completed a used car inspection for the 2009 Mazda 6 which had acquired 68,736 miles on June 26,2014. Per our records the battery tested and passed at 500 out of 590 cranking amps. On July 9,2014 ****** and ***** ****** purchased this used 2009 Mazda 6. Hiley Mazda has a standard policy that if a vehicle needs repair within 30 days of purchase we will repair the vehicle, generally at no charge.

On September 8,2014 Mr. ***** called one of our service advisors stating that the battery was dead and the car would not start. During this conversation he stated that he was using an air compressor to air up one of the tires. The air compressor is an electrical device that he had plugged into the cigarette lighter. This in turn made the battery lose power which kept his car from starting. The service advisor suggested he bring the vehicle to our dealership so that the technicians could diagnose the problem. Mr. ****** jumped off the car and arrived at Hiley that afternoon. Mrs. ****** did not accompany him.

The technicians performed a battery test which failed at 436 out of 590 amps. The service advisor informed Mr. ****** that a new battery was needed, quoting Mr. ****** a price of $167.95 including parts and labor. Mr. ****** asked the service advisor if we would replace it for free. He was told that we could not replace the battery at no charge, and explained to him that the new battery would have a 3 year warranty. Mr. ****** told the service advisor he would need to contact his parents before authorizing the repair. After contact with his parents, Mr. ****** authorized the installation of the new battery, he also requested that his tire be plugged, and an oil change. At no time did  anyone in the service department, including his advisor, feel like he was upset by any charges given.

Mrs. ****** has stated that one of our techs told Mr. ****** the battery was bad when they purchased the car. We are not aware of any tech telling Mr. ****** that the car was sold with the battery needing to be repalced. Our legal records show that the battery was in good condition as stated above when the car was pruchased. With that being said, not out of obligation, but out of good will, our General Manager would like to offer Mr. &Mrs. ****** a refund of $100.00.

 

Consumer Response: We would like to thank Hiley Mazda for their quick response and appreciate the goodwill gesture.

7/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This dealership pulled a 'bait and switch' routine on me on a 2013 Fiat 500 sport. I called yesterday, was told the vehicle was there and available for sale, called this morning again to make sure it was still available for sale, drove the 35 minutes to the dealership to find the vehicle was not for sale. The salesman insisted on showing me a different, more expensive vehicle instead, and said they 'couldn't find the key' to the fiat. Then, 30 minutes later came back to tell me that someone had purchased the car that morning. I went home and called the dealership - not telling them my name - and was again told the vehicle was still there and that I could come see it. This is an illegal dealership practice and must be stopped.

Desired Settlement: I want the sales practice to be stopped. This actually happened with this same dealership, myself, and a separate vehicle about a year ago... I did not remember this until this happened. This is obviously an illegal sales practice the dealership is perpetuating.

Business Response:

Hiley Mazda would like to apologize for any misunderstanding involved in the complaint made by ****** ****. We would also like to point out that there are several misconceptions regarding the complaint that Mr. **** has made.  On June 25, 2014 Mr. ****s girlfriend, *****, arrived at our dealership to inquire about the Fiat. Mr. **** did not accompany her, and was not at the dealership at any time during her visit here. Our sales staff, including our sales manager, explained to ***** that the vehicle was in the possession of another customer who was also interested in the vehicle. The sales person at that time offered to show her other vehicles that would possibly accommodate her needs.  ***** made the comment that she lived in Fort Worth, and that it was a long drive. At that point our sales manager offered to bring the Fiat 500  to her if the customers who were currently in possession of the Fiat changed their minds. ***** was not interested and left the dealership. If Mr ****s had made an appointment to see the vehicle when he called the first time our sales staff would have made certain that it was pulled up and ready for him or his girlfriend to look at. We do have an appointment process in place which means that if a customer is coming to look at that paticular vehicle we hold that vehicle  untill the appointment time.  When Mr. ****s called after ***** left our dealership and we told him the car was available, we were telling the truth. The customers that had possession of the Fiat decided against the purchase. The Fiat 500 is a popular vehicle, and was sold this morning.

Customer satisfaction is our main priority at Hiley Mazda. In no way do we practice anything illegal. We would also like to point out again the Mr. ****s was not here at the dealership at any time yesterday.

Consumer Response:

It is true that I did not accompany ***** to the dealership to see the Fiat, however I was in close contact (via telephone) with the salesman both the day before and the day of *****'s trip to Hiley. We were both informed that the Fiat was currently at the dealership. When she showed up, she was immediately shown other vehicles which we both had made explicitly clear we were not interested in. The salesperson I was communicating with (via text message) told me that the car was at the dealership. The salesman that was helping her spent 20 minutes looking for the keys to the Fiat (her estimation) before coming back to tell her that it was at an inspection station because someone else had purchased it that morning. Later on the sales manager instructed ***** that the vehicle was indeed not in another individual's possession, but instead at a dealer auction. The salesman that was helping me over the phone (via text message) told me that it did not sell at the dealer auction and they were getting the car back the next day and could possibly drive it out to her house in Fort Worth. 
 
Possibly this is all one large case of Hiley's inability to communicate effectively with their employees. However, it nearly exactly resembles the 'bait and switch' tactic to get prospective buyers into a showroom floor to view other, higher margin vehicles. The fact that I had the same experience a year prior at the same dealership with an entirely different vehicle (if I remembered the details I would list them here, but I do not) pushed me to file this complaint. I believe if Hiley were not engaging in a deceptive practice, they would have immediately located the vehicle and there wouldn't be multiple, conflicting stories about where the vehicle was and who was in possession of it. I would recommend having Hiley submit to you the signed purchase agreement from the morning of that day showing that they sold the car to an individual. If they can prove that information, then everything else falls somewhere between the 'poor communication' and purposeful 'bait and switch.' If they did not sell the car that morning, this is proof of an effective 'bait and switch' program occurring at this dealership.
 
I hope this complaint is handled with the appropriate attention it deserves. 

Business Response:

Hiley Mazda of Arlington stands firm regarding our first response to Mr. ****s complaint. We in no way practice illegal practices, nor do we practice any bait and switch tactics.  Customer service is very important to us, and is a practice that we are proud of.

Once again we would like to apologize for any misunderstanding involved.  If we had known ***** was coming the vehicle would have been pulled up and ready for her. Without  her advising us of her arrival, we had no idea she was coming.  When ***** arrived at our dealership and the vehicle was not here we advised her that we would  bring the vehicle to Fort Worth for her to look at.  We offered a solution that ***** chose not to accept.

When a customer purchases a vehicle we obtain personal and confidential information from them.  It would be unlawful to show anyone a purchase agreement that did not belong to the party who purchased.  Protecting our customers private information is a priority.

4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My niece, ******** ******, visited the dealership to purchase a vehicle mid- February (I think it was either the 8th or the 15th). We selected a vehicle and proceeded with a conversation with the financing representative. We asked him what interest rate would they offer at the dealership. We informed him that she had already secured financing through her credit union and only wanted their rates for comparison purposes. She did not complete any financing application, as this was not necessary. The rate he quoted was almost twice the rate she will receive from her credit union, and if she somehow was mista*** on the rate, I told the gentleman I would finance it for her myself rather than pay the interest rate he quoted. However, she received a letter from Chase Bank thanking her for her recent application for vehicle financing, courtesy of Hiley Mazda VW of Arlington. Thus the reason for this complaint. Any application for credit was not authroized. She did not complete a credit application, she did request a credit application, and therefore this is fraud. I want a letter sent to all three credit reporting agencies identifying this fraudulent credit inquiry and a request to have the inquiry removed from her report. I also want a letter of apology sent to my niece for the inconvenience and rudeness of the gentelman (I don't even know his name, because he gave us someone else's business card!!) that we spoke with. *** - (the sales manager?), may recall our visit and subsequent conversation, although I have not spo*** to him about this particular situation. Please note - it did not appear that *** was part of the problem. I recall his name because he was actually the most cordial and helpful representative at the dealership.

Desired Settlement: I want a letter sent to all three credit reporting agencies identifying this fraudulent credit inquiry and a request to have the inquiry removed from her report. I also want a letter of apology sent to my niece for the inconvenience and rudeness of the gentelman we spoke with.

Business Response:

 

In reference to above case number ******, ******** ****** visited Hiley Mazda VW regarding a used 2006 Jetta on February 15 ,2014, and advised our company that she had $3,000.00 for a down payment. At that time her aunt, ****** ******** accompanied her. Ms. ****** made the decision to purchase the car. She then filled out a credit application, which we have on file. Once the credit application was filled out it was submitted to financial institutions. Both our sales manager and finance manager went over the interest rates offered by the financing companies with whom we had submitted her information to. Please take note that it would have been impossible to give her any information  regarding interest rates offered without the credit information that Ms. ****** had provided by filling out the credit application. Ms. ****** informed us that she intended to purchase the vehicle, but she declined our financing and decided to go with her Credit Union who could give her a better interest rate.  On a good will basis, and without retaining the $3.000.00 down payment we placed Ms. ****** in the Jetta. At this time it was agreed with both parties that funding would be place through her credit union.  The vehicle was kept in her possession for almost a week. During this time we were trying to get in touch with her Credit Union regarding funding for the vehicle, however they would not respond to our attempts of contact. Ms. ****** returned the car, and pointed out that the check engine light was on, requesting that we fix the problem. We agreed to fix the problem at no charge when the money was funded to us. Until that process took place she would have to leave the car at the dealership, we then took back possession of the vehicle.  Ms. ****** told our staff that she did not feel comfortable in the car and would like another one. We agreed to that since the money had not yet been funded.  The sales person found another vehicle that he thought would fit her needs, he tried several times to contact her with no response from Ms. ******.

Her aunt, Ms. ******** contacted our dealership and spoke to our General Sales Manager, **** ******, wanting information regarding Ms. ******. **** explained to Ms. ******** that legally he could not give that information to anyone other than ******** ******. Once a credit application is filled out bv a customer it is kept in a secured file, legally the information cannot be discussed with anyone other than the customer. We would like to resolve this situation, however we are legally bound not to share credit information or history to anyone other than the customer. If Ms. ****** would like to meet with a representative from BBB here at our dealership, and only with her permission, we can possibly resolve the matter by showing the credit application to the BBB and Ms. ******.

 

Consumer Response:  I will drop the issue and allow my niece to pursue further.

3/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have taken my vehicle for service/repair on the front headlight and had both bulbs replaced several times. In addition to taking it and having the bulb replaced, I have also returned within the warranty coverage period as an irate customer because of the frequency of the same issue and the service representative always says it was not in tightly. I have asked to have my vehicle inspected for faulty wiring and each time I was told the bulb needed to be replaced. I have called and asked to speak to the service manager and ***** has not returned my call. I feel that this location is taking advantage of me because I am a female. In essence, I have not received satisfactory service and my headlight is still not working.

Desired Settlement: I feel that the dealer should repair the issue and if they are not able, refer me to another location and pay for the repair.

BBB Response:

Our service manager, ***** **** contacted Ms. ********** this afternoon. She has an appointment with him to bring her car back tomorrow so that he can go over the issue she has.

Please advise if we need to take any further action to settle this complaint.

 

 

1/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November 2013, I contacted Hiley Auto regarding gap cancelation related to my Ford Mustang that I purchased in 2011. I was directed to Mr. **** in the finance departed. I spoke with Mr. **** regarding my recent trade in and he informed me of the documents he needed to cancel my gap insurance, as he also stated that the cancelation can only be done withing the dealership. I provided the information to him on November 26, 2013 to cancel my gap coverage. I followed up with Mr. **** December 10th to see how the process was going, he stated that he failed to start the process and apologized and stated that he was going to take care of this for me right then. He proceeded to cancel my extended mechanical warranty as well as gap coverage. I was fine with that and was pleased that he admitted to not processing the first time instead of making up any excuses. Mr. **** did state that the process takes 4 to 6 weeks to process and recieve your funds making my completion date of 01/16/2014. I made may attempts to contact Mr. **** during the past 2 weeks by leaving voicemails as well as emails in which he failed to respond. on 01/10/2014, I spoke with the manager on duty (******), who tried to find out information regarding my transaction but was unable to gather the information then due to accounting being closed. I have left messages with Hiley's accounting director, I believe her name was Mrs. ***** as well as the Genaral Manager to find out what was going on with my transaction and to just get information. NO calls have been returned. Working as a manager in the financial industry, I find this type of behavior very very poor relating to customer service. As of 1/13/2014, I spoke with Mr. ****, however today he stated that he does not handle the transactions once he initiates them and provided a contact in accounting, Mrs. *****. I left a message with Mrs. *****, not totally sure if she will contact me back.

Desired Settlement: I would like for someone to contact me regarding my transaction. I would like to know what stage my transaction is in at this time. I would like to know what address they have on file to mail my refund to. Though I will never do business with Hiley Auto anymore, I would hope that they do not treat any other past or future customers like this anymore. They have voicemail and emails for a reason, use your resources and follow through with followups.

Business Response:

 

On Saturday, January 11, Mr. ********* contacted our dealership and spoke to ****** ******* who is our Sales Manager. Mr. ********* voiced his concerns regarding his reimbersment check for the gap insurance. ****** explained to Mr. ********* that he would be more than happy to help him in the matter, however in order to do so he would need to get with our accounting department  on Monday morning because they are closed on Saturdays. ****** assured Mr. ********* that he would get with them on Monday morning and help to resolve the issue.  First thing this morning ****** did as promised and contacted Ms. ***** in accounting. Ms. ***** advised ****** that the check had been cut and handed it to him. At 8:45 this morning ****** contacted Mr. ********* and advised him the check had been processed and that he had possession of it. He asked how Mr. ********* would like for us to get it to him, and Mr. *********  requested that it be mailed .Because the mail is sent out first thing in the morning, ****** told Mr. ********* that the check would be mailed tomorrow morning  in which Mr. ********* agreed to. Ms. ***** did not contact Mr. ********* because she knew  ****** was taking care of the situation.  Please also take note that ****** talked to him more than once this morning regarding the issue.  It was our  understanding that Mr. ********* was satisfied with the outcome and that the issue had been resolved.

 

3/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold the wrong key to unlock my tires for the second time and had to have my car towed to the Hiley Dealership to change two flat tires. This was on a Monday or Tuesday in early January 2013. I was advised that I could call in Friday to get an appointment to have one of my tires replaced along with a few other minor repairs. During this visit I was assured the tire locks had been replaced with regular lug nuts and I would not have the issue with the tire key again. I was advised that the tire for my car has to be ordered and they would call me when the tire came in. A few days passed and I received no call, I called 2-3 times a week for the next four weeks with no success in obtaining an appointment for my cars repairs. I was repeatedly told I would be called back with no call back. I finally on February 14th, 2013 took my car to a place of business who wanted to help me. As they were preparing to remove the spare tire from my car they noticed I had a tire lock on all my tires, the same tire locks that were supposed to had been removed in early January. I called Hiley and the service manager ***** assured me that he would take care of my the following day personally at 8:30am. I was at the dealership the following day a little before 8am and patiently waited until 8:35am. I had the staff call ***** and he informed them he would not be in the office until 9:30am. A whole hour after he promised to handle the issues with my car personally. I was promised on the General Manager of the dealership would call me to resolve the horrible service issues his staff provided, but lying must run from top down, I never received a call from the GM. I still don't have a list of the minor repairs that need to be made on my car and I was forced to get a tire from another tire shop.

Desired Settlement: I feel the dealership should pay for me to have my car repaired at a different Volkswagon dealership. It is clear they don't want to take my money, provide good service, or keep their word. This is the least they could do for dragging their heels for a whole month and making me feel this may be a racial issue. I would hate to think they would think just because I am a black female, my green money isn't doesn't warrant respect and good customer service.

BBB Response:

 


On January 18,2013 Ms. ****** had her car towed to our dealership because of a flat tire that had wires sticking out of it . Ms. ****** was hoping to use her extended warranty to fix the tire, however the extended warranty company declined fixing it because it was due to wear and tear. At this time we became aware that she not only had the one flat, but another tire was very low  because it had a nail in it. Ms. ****** advised us that she would not be able to purchase a new tire until the following week.  As a good will gesture in trying to take care of our customers, we fixed the tire with the nail in it, and removed the worn tire and installed the spare tire for her. This was all done at no cost to her. While we were taking care of her tire problem we also found out that she did not have wheel locks . We offered to replace those with extra regular lug nuts at no charge as well. Our Techs have master wheel locks that they use on our customers cars. While our techs were changing out the tire and fixing the other one they forgot to replace the wheel locks with the lug nuts. Please take note that the service advisor was not aware of this mistake .  Ms. ****** advised us at this time that she would return the following week to purchase a tire.  If Ms. ****** had returned we would have caught this mistake.

On February 13,2013 almost a month later,  Ms. ****** called upset that the locknut was still on . She became aware of this issue because she went somewhere else to purchase the tire, and they did not have the master wheel locks for her car.  When speaking very  vulgar and screaming at our service manager, he  advised her to come back to the dealership and we would fix the problem.

On February 16,2013 Ms. ****** came to the dealership that morning. The service advisor  took her car and moved it to the service bay ,had the techs take off the lock nuts and put on the lug nuts. Once again, this service was done free of charge. Ms. ****** was in our waiting area with other customers. She demanded to see our service manager who had not yet arrived at the dealership. When the service advisor informed her he wasn’t in yet she demanded her car,  and while yelling and cussing  said many things about how we didn’t want to help her. She was also yelling how it was all a race issue and we did not want her business. When the service advisor brought her car to her he advised her that we had replaced them as promised, she stated that we were supposed to. Obligation doesn’t usually come when  giving someone something for free. She also advised our Customer Relations Manager to have the cops here next time she comes in because they would be needed.

As a dealership we did everything we could to make sure she was taken care of.  Knowing how dangerous driving the car would be with wires sticking out of the tire, and another one with a nail in it, we did the work at no charge when she told us she didn’t have the money at that time. The one thing we did not comply to was replacing the wheel  locks with the lug nuts, however if she would have returned in a week as promised the problem would have been found. It was a non intentional mistake . It was also a mistake that we offered to do for free, and still did so in the end.

 

 

Consumer Response:

 


*** has misrepresented the facts of my case. I have a tire warranty that covered the nail being patched in my tire. The other tire was covered under the warranty. That part is true and I had to get a replacement tire for that tire. I was advised by Peter, the service tech assigned to me, I would have to bring my car back as he had to order my tire. Since I had some other minor repairs that needed to be done,I wanted a list with cost so I could start tackling them when my tire was ready. I told him I wanted to get the car fixed that Saturday, he said okay he'd give me call back later that day. I never received a call and began calling 2-3 timesaver week over the next 4 weeks with no call backs or returned messages. When I finally took my car elsewhere to be serviced I learned the tire locks had never been taken off. I couldn't get Volkswagen to assist me. That's why I didn't bring the car back to the dealership.  If someone from the dealership would have reached out to me, they would have learned the horrible treatment I've been given by this company. Now I have spoken with *** and she hung up in my face. I will file a separate complaint for this issue. 

 

 

Business Response:

There has been no misrepresentation concerning the facts for Ms. ****** case. All documents were reviewed and true facts given. The concern Ms. ****** had was the wheel locks and  lug nuts, that situation was resolved on her last visit. Ms. ****** called yesterday after receiving my response from you.  At that time she was very upset and began  to scream at me. I had to ask her over and over again what  else we could do  to make the situation right with her , and she continued to curse  while telling me to shut up. Customer service is very important, however no employee here deserves to be cussed at and disrespected in such a way by anyone.  This month alone she has come to our dealership screaming at employees in front of customers, cussed out the  service manager while speaking to him on the phone, and advised our customer relations manager at VW to call the police when she returns because we will be needing their assistance.  Last night she got in contact with our Office manager, who knows nothing about the situation with  Ms. ******,  and screamed at her for quite some time as well.  Our General Manager is very aware of Ms. ****** and plans to contact her.

 

Consumer Response:

 

Once again *** is showing her unprofessionalism and dishonesty. I NEVER yelled, screamed, or cursed at her. I was speaking in a low tone and very respectfully as I was at work and didn't want to risk my employment on her ignorance. ***, however, was yelling, very disrespectful, over talked me, and plain did not want to listen to the facts of my complaint. I will accept nothing but a written apology from her. There is no need for her to continue responding to my issue as she has no interest in assisting me in resolving my issues. She instead is now part of the problem. Customer service is clearly not something she is skilled at doing and should not be in this role. I will only work with the GM of this dealership going forward. 

 

 

 

 

2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I began the leasing process with the company 1/29/13. The car was delivered 2/4/13. The reason was because I had a rental car until that date. The delivery of the car occurred and the sales person, ****** ***** handed me the keys. I became instantly concerned because there was no remote entry. I told him that this was a major problem. After saying that, I had to take delivery of the car because he had already made me late for my brand new job. I went to the dealer as soon as I got off of work that night (2/4/13) and spoke with *** ******. He asked me to give him time to speak with the general manager to get some assistance from him. *** contacted me the following day saying that they would split the cost of keyless entry with me. I declined. I brought the car in soon thereafter (the same day (February 5, 2013) deciding that I could not pay thousands of dollars for a car lease where the car did not have something as basic as automatic locks. I returned the car to them. The return of the car was February 5, 2013. *** ****** initially said that they may not take back the car; however, the same day he contacted me to say that they would relieve me of the car with no harm/no foul. I contacted him that night via email and requested a full refund of the first month's payment and fees which totaled $499.58. The following day (February 6, 2013), he emailed me and said that they would give me back the money and did I want the check to be mailed or to pick it up. I emailed him back to say pick it up; however, he did not respond. I emailed him again (Thursday, February 7, 2013) to say that I would be in the following day at 10:30 to pick up the check. Upon arrival I was met by an employee who asked if I wanted to see *** ******. I said, yes. *** said, 'you want to pick up the check. Let me get that for you.' I said ok. After a while he came back downstairs asking if I could have the credit card that I paid with to refund the monies. He takes the credit card with him back upstairs. He the returns and asked me to sign a form which is vague at best and clearly 'made up'. To date, the reversal has not occurred. It is also not pending. The company is not entitled to that money as the car was returned to them.

Desired Settlement: Immediate

10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a vehicle from this company. Upon purchase it was agreed upon that windshield would be repaired by August 5th. Have made 2 attempts to have this repaired to no end. The last attempt was made on Sept 15th drove up there from Fort Hood and was told the vendor could not do it.

Desired Settlement: Adjustment on the purchase price, reimbersment for gas. Will have the windshield repaired if they agree.

BBB Response:


We agreed to fix the windshield which had a rock chip in it when the truck was purchased. The customer arrived at our dealership on Sept. 15th, our busiest day, without an appointment which was  on a Saturday. In order to get the windshield repaired by our vendor we have to make an appointment with them. Our service manager apologized and explained to her that we could not get the windshield fixed that day. Mrs. ******  stated that there was a glass company by her house that could fix it. She and our service manager made an agreement that she would go to the local glass company near her house, and that we would reimburse her for the cost of the repair. The glass company told her that they could not fix the chip and a new windshield would be needed. Our sales manager, ***** *******, spoke to Mr. ****** today. Apparently Mr. and Mrs. ****** had not communicated to each other what we were trying to do  since he filed the complaint on Sept. 17th.  Mr. ****** was told that if he takes the truck to his local glass company we will reimburse him for the cost of  a new windshield. Mr. ****** advised ***** that he would contact you stating that the problem has been resolved.