Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Patterson Kia of Arlington

Additional Locations

Phone: (817) 375-2700 Fax: (817) 375-2793 1501 Interstate 20 E, Arlington, TX 76018 http://www.pattersonkia.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Patterson Kia of Arlington meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Patterson Kia of Arlington include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

11 Customer Reviews on Patterson Kia of Arlington
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 9
Total Customer Reviews 11

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 21, 2011 Business started: 12/02/1957 in TX Business started locally: 12/02/1957 Business incorporated 12/02/1957 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 465-4129
The number is P110253.

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 465-4129
The number is P12221.

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 465-4129
The number is P56038.

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 465-4129
The number is P56052.

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 465-4129
The number is P6011X.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joe Johnson, General Manager Ms. Brenda Patterson, Owner Mr. Harry E. Patterson Jr., President/Owner Mr. Paul Tigrett, CEO/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Johnson, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Patterson Auto Center, Inc.
Industry Tips
Automobile sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Patterson Kia of Arlington has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1501 Interstate 20 E

    Arlington, TX 76018 (817) 375-2700

  • PO Box 180339

    Arlington, TX 76096

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/14/16 we purchased a new car from patterson kia. After we took delivery we found a second added item sticker in the glove box for dealer added items that we were charged for but clearly are not on the car such as tinted windows. I have made several attempts via email to address with dealer with no response even after allowing reasonable time for a response.

Desired Settlement: I would like refund of the amount of the added times that were never added to this vehicle.

BBB Response:

We are contacting customer. Will offer him what it costs us to tint car as a refund or make sure he gets window tint. Thank you!

 

8/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealership has failed to provide a second set of keys for a vehicle purchased on 6/30/15, despite my repeated requests.

Desired Settlement: Dealership should provide second set of keys for my vehicle.

Business Response: ****** ***** our new car manager contacting. We know he needs the keys, taking steps to get them for him. Guess he didn't have confidence we were taking action or wanted to speed things up. We are on it. Thanks!

Consumer Response: This response tells me nothing.  All they have done is acknowledge there is a problem, not that they are doing anything to correct the problem.


****** *******




6/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the past 2 weeks, I have been getting phones calls every day from Sales Consultant ****** ****** asking to refer a friend, I spoke with him on May 19 to please stop calling- he agreed. On May 21- I received another call from him asking the same thing, once again told him to please stop with the sales calls.. After hanging up I call the dealership and spoke with Kyle (sales supervisor/manager), he told me he was going to flag my phone number so I wouldn't be called again. On Monday May 25th, I received an email from ****** ****** asking the same thing to refer a friend.

Desired Settlement: I want my name and information (phone and email) to be taken away from ALL future sales calls.

Business Response:

We have executed her requests. ****** is new and was calling off of an orphaned client list. :)

Consumer Response:

If they executed my requests. ..please explain why I got another email today.






6/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday May 15, 2015 I came into Patterson kia around 1pm because I had got a 25$ Visa debit card offer earlier that morning and decided I would like to come and redeem it and check out a 4wheel drive used ford they had advertised for sale. I showed up and this sales man berry came up and introduced himself and I explained him about the advertisement I came in for and he took my paper and had me put my address on it and said he will give it to tom...He advised me it would take 5-6 weeks for it to come in the mail, and I told him that on the paper it said 10 business days....He smirked and walked off rudely. I asked another sales man if he is returning and he said Idk but that's all I have to do ON that paper I should be receiving a 24 hour notice that my visit was verified and I have not because its been 7 business days, telling me they probably threw away my paper... AT NO POINT DID THE SALESMAN SHOW ME THE CAR I CAME TO LOOK FOR....RUDE STAFF JUST LOOKING FOR SALES. Good thing I am having my family shop elsewhere and telling my friends not to buy there cars that they went and looked at that location. OH I will be following up with reviews on cars.com and dealer rater and google warning people about this bait and switch tactic , had me drive all the way to Arlington to get my gift card and review a car and neither was done.

Desired Settlement: I want my 25$ gift card that I drove to Arlington for, and a apology on how the salesman acted.

BBB Response:

He came in an used car. We gave him the gift card anyway. 

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: dropped car off for warranty repair on 10/07/2013 at 5:30. Picked up rent car at the dealership. Front axel replacement. picked up car on 10/8/2013 at 5:30pm and returned rent car. credit card was billed for 7 day rental from the car rental agency Enterprise as the car was not returned to them from the dealership and 392 miles were logged on the car at its return and I drove the car less than 50 miles. Enterprise reimbursed me for the rental after I told them when I retuned it and that the dealership did not return it and obviously put the miles on the car. I was charged 90.00 by my bank for being over the credit limit on my cc due to this error and I still had to pay for the one day rental even though it was a warranty repair. The car is pulling to the right so front end alignment needs to be done after the axel replacement and asked them to fix that and all the general manager asked for was my zip code and he would get back to me. I want the front end aligned and I want reembursement for the credit card fees and the car rental as this was all errors made by the dealer ship. no one should have put 392 miles on the car while still in my name and me paying for the car insurance nor should I bear any of this additional expense. General Manager says he is working on it but still no resolution. He did tell me I should find another Service agent and not work with the one I have been. I asked that they view video tapes to see who had been driving the car but no results at this point he said he has been too busy to look into it. The customer service here is horrible and will find another Kia dealership to work with hopefully with better results.

Desired Settlement: Refund of any additional charges I incurred during this process. d ay car rental and the over charge fees to my credit card for the whole week rental.

BBB Response: We have already reimbursed one
day’s rental. If we can get something showing the bank charge we will reimburse
that as well. We will also do an alignment for no charge. As far as the miles
on the car. We don’t know who, if anyone from here for that matter, ever drove
the car. Their contract is with the rental company, we operate in the capacity
of ambassador in that area only as a courtesy. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]  I spoke with ****** ***** on the Phone Friday the 15th of November and he did not tell me they would do the alignment.  I got the feeling and impression from him that he was surprised that I would even want  to continue to do business with them after I complained to the BBB. And he told me that in those exact words.  He in no way mentioned the realignment of the front end of my car.  He did tell me I could see a different service tech if I wanted to come in and have my car looked at as it is vibrating  and they would try to duplicate what I am experiencing in the car. At this point all I want is the front end to be realigned and oil changed and I will go elsewhere in the future.  Per the car rental agency the car was not returned for a week and there were over 300 miles put on the car.  I only used it from 5:30pm Monday to 5:30 pm on Tuesday and put less than 50 miles on the car.  I got caught up in the middle of the problem between the car rental agent and the car dealership at my expense.  I never even received an apology from kia dealership.   will let you know when the car has been rescheduled and the job has been completed although I am not sure how safe I feel about taking my car there to have it done due to the attitude of Mrt. ****** *****.
Regards,




Business Response:

We reimbursed her for the rental. Offered the alignment at no charge. And said she could bring it whenever it was convenient to her. I am sorry for her inconvenience. Steven did say he was surprised after the way she went on prior that she was bringing it here. If she would like to take it somewhere else we will reimburse her for the alignment. Thank you.

 

 

BBB Response: Joe Johnson
Patterson Kia of Texas
PO Box 180339
Arlington  TX  76096    


Dear Joe Johnson:

As a service to your business, this message is in regard to consumer feedback submitted to the BBB about your business on 10/28/2013 2:54:48 PM by Gail Henry .  This feedback was assigned ID 9781327.

Although the consumer has not expressed satisfaction in the resolution of the complaint, the BBB has determined that the response from your company addresses the disputed issues and exhibits a good faith effort to resolve the complaint.  Therefore, this complaint has been closed.

Please understand that the customer's complaint and your response could be publicly posted on the BBB website (BBB reserves the right to not post in accordance with BBB policy). Please do not include any information that personally identifies your customer.  By submitting your response, you are representing that it is a truthful account of your experience with this customer.  The BBB may redact the complaint of your response to protect privacy rights and to remove inappropriate language.

If you have any questions, however, we are happy to assist you.  Thank you for your cooperation in this matter and for your support of our goal of voluntary self-regulation.

Regards,

Steven Glover

Dispute Resolution/Arbitration
Phone: 817-882-0553



[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]  I spoke with ****** ***** on the Phone Friday the 15th of November and he did not tell me they would do the alignment.  I got the feeling and impression from him that he was surprised that I would even want  to continue to do business with them after I complained to the BBB. And he told me that in those exact words.  He in no way mentioned the realignment of the front end of my car.  He did tell me I could see a different service tech if I wanted to come in and have my car looked at as it is vibrating  and they would try to duplicate what I am experiencing in the car. At this point all I want is the front end to be realigned and oil changed and I will go elsewhere in the future.  Per the car rental agency the car was not returned for a week and there were over 300 miles put on the car.  I only used it from 5:30pm Monday to 5:30 pm on Tuesday and put less than 50 miles on the car.  I got caught up in the middle of the problem between the car rental agent and the car dealership at my expense.  I never even received an apology from kia dealership.   will let you know when the car has been rescheduled and the job has been completed although I am not sure how safe I feel about taking my car there to have it done due to the attitude of Mrt. ****** *****.
Regards,





8/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a vehicle that was involve in an accident and was never told about it prior to purchase. I also thought I was the first owner of vehicle, when come to find out I was 2nd owner. Kia Patterson never disclose that.

Desired Settlement: Proper disclosure of any prior accident and ownership to customers.

Business Response:

The car was sold with 6,111 miles on it. There is an as-is and a pre-owned disclosure signed in the deal. The car was previously a rental car. the customer tried to come in and trade but had damaged the car after buying it and we were unable to work it out. Thank you.

Consumer Response:

 

 

 That still does not resolved the problem I have with kia Patterson. Did kia Patterson knowingly sell me a vehicle that was involve in an accident prior to me purchasing the vehicle? I knew my car had spoiler damage, I told that to the sales person that I have front damage to the spoiler and paint chips on hood. The sales person comes inside after inspecting the vehicle and tells me it was involve in an accident, than pulls a car fax report showing an accident reported under my ownership but did not have a date when it was reported. I than told sales guy I never reported an accident and told him I would do my own investigation on this matter. If I knew the vehicle was in an accident prior to purchasing vehicle I would not have purchased vehicle. I contacted car fax and asked them to tell me the date it was reported and they sent me a new car fax report with a date prior to me purchasing vehicle. I also found a maintenance report that car was in the service dept out of dallas kia dealership with tech stating "car was in a front to rear collision causing car to over heat causing damage to motor". Kia failed to add that to car fax report? I have documentation of everything listed. I was contacted first by kia this year to participate in a vip exchange program they were offering me , if it wasnt for that i would have not known all of this. 

8/20/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was under the impression that i had a warranty that i purchased when i got the car. my original contract shows i did. my deal was reworked and i was told the only change was the interest rate and payment amount. I do not remember ever getting a copy of the paperwork for the new deal but I still have the original showing i have a warranty and now that i have a problem, im being informed i do not and when i was referred the finance manager he actually said i was stuck and nothing they could do. i feel that as a customer who purchased 2 cars and have paperwork showing i did have a warranty but somehow didn't get it on the reworked deal. i just can't believe they would not take care of the customer

Desired Settlement: Fix my car for the price it would cost if i had the warranty i thought i had.

Business Response: *** ******* that runs our finance department sat down with Mr. *******. Mr. ******* stated that he had to come in resign, and was making a payment of $110 less a month than he had signed up for in the beginning. *** pulled the deal jacket which had the original paperwork voided, along with the new contract he and Mrs. ******* signed. We had retained our copy, and quite honestly aren't certain what he has done with his. He has been making the same payment for over two years without any questions which means he was receiving the payment he expected. And now when he has an issue he has tried to present his original contract in hopes to get a free repair. He recontracted without a service contract on this car, and is well aware of that as confirmed by his payment without concern being $110 less than the contract he originally signed and tried to present.

Consumer Response:

 

I did recieve a lower monthly payment and I was told the only thing that changed was the interest rate. There was no mention of the warranty being removed. The original contract I signed was a done deal, meaning I agreed to the terms and the payment which was more than the current payment. I'm not trying to get anything for free. I thought I had a warranty on both cars that were purchased that week. You seen the paperwork showing I purcahsed a warranty on my car. Why would I agree to remove the warranty for a lower payment when I originally agreed to the higher payment?

 

 

Business Response: Thank you for your work on this. And I am not trying to draw a line in the sand, and would be willing to possibly discount the repair. However, I still believe it to be true that they did know they did not have the service contract when they resigned the paperwork were aware of that at the time. They may have forgotten since they have not had a need to use it, or had it mixed  up with their other purchase.  I also believe that the $110 a month they have saved over the term of the loan would be close to $3,000 since they purchased the car and it would be no where close to that for the repair. We value our standing with you guys but at the same time need to make a decision based on the facts. I would be willing to try and trade them out of the vehicle giving a trade value for the vehicle that did not take into consideration the problem it is currently having. Or, as I mentioned earlier, I would be willing to provide a discount on the work performed.

Consumer Response:

 

I really don't appreciate being called a liar. I would not be wasting my time or anyone elses if I knew I didn't have a contract. Again, I was told by **** *** that he got us better deal and got the interest rate lowered. No mention of the warranty being removed. I would not have purchased a car that I drive everyday without purchasing an extended warranty.    

Regards,

*** *******

 

 

Business Response:

We are more than willing to work with the customer on the cost of the repair. Again, I will reference the $110 a month savings and the cumulative effect over the term of the loan that would more than cover the repair. We want to sell a service contract to everyone, the lender apparently would not finance it. And the customer would be $3,000 out of pocket additionally at this point. And obviously, more changed than an interest rate to drop a payment that amount.  On a 72 month loan that's about an $8,000 reduction that was made.

Again, we are more than willing to work with the customer on the cost of the reapair. I would be happy to do it as close as I could to our cost which would be going above and beyond from my point of view.

I'm not sure what protocal is on these back and forths, but I'm respectfully withdrawing from the conversation and my offer to be of assistance for this particular problem will stand. This is putting our best foot forward.

 

Thanks.

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

11 Customer Reviews on Patterson Kia of Arlington
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart