Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LYNN SMITH CHEVROLET LLP meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LYNN SMITH CHEVROLET LLP include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on LYNN SMITH CHEVROLET LLP
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1992 Business started: 12/04/1991 Business started locally: 12/04/1991 Business incorporated 12/07/1998 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 465-4129

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Partnership (LLP)

Business Management
Mr. John Woollis, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Woollis, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
LYNN SMITH CHEVROLET-GEO INC LYNN SMITH COLLISION CENTER LYNN SMITH RV Lynn Smith RV Sales
Industry Tips
Automobile sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

LYNN SMITH CHEVROLET LLP has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8904 South Fwy

    Fort Worth, TX 76140 (817) 615-4888

  • 925 N Burleson Blvd

    Burleson, TX 76028 (817) 295-1102

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2009 Ford Fusion from this dealership, on February 3,2015. On the same night I purchased, I drove it home. The next morning there was something leaking under the left wheel on the drivers side. called Lynn Smith and told them. They told me to bring it up and they would look at it. So I did. They had it about an hour and a half and came back and said, everything looked fine. He said the car had been sitting for awhile so give it a few days and let us know if there is any more problems. And I told my salesman Darrell that I was concerned about it because as I had told him previously I would be making trips to Houston and back alone. He said that is was no problem and if they needed to take care of something they would take care of it. its not a big deal he said if we need to do a brake job or something like that. We want our customers to be happy and have a car they enjoy. So, I said ok, sounds great. Everything with the leaking seemed fine. Our weather had been pretty nice and had not really needed to try out the heater on the vehicle. Then when we had a couple of really cold spells I tried to use the heater. Never could get the heater warm. Have tried two more times to no avail. On the morning of March 3,2015, I attempted to go to the grocery store. I got the vehicle up to about 40 mph and something felt like it slipped,came off, rubbed, or something..started shaking and the check engine light came on. I couldn't accelerat more than 40 mph. Then it started slowing down and wouldn't let me accelerate to 25...I managed to get it home. I called ***** at Lynn Smith and told him of the problem. That was around 2:00 pm. Then he transferred me to ***** and I briefly spoke with her and told her everything that had happened. She said she would check on some things and call me back. I tried all afternoon making calls to ***** to find out what was going on. Finally at 6:16 pm I was told that "sorry there is nothing we can do for you".. And proceeded to tell me goodbye and hung up.

Desired Settlement: I would like my heater to work and to find out why after only 120 miles of driving that my car will not run. The engine light is on and can not go more than 35 miles per hour as it shakes.

Business Response:

Lynn Smith Chevrolet  has agreed with the customer to diagnose the problem with her car she understands that she bought the car As Is, Lynn Smith  will attempt to help the customer with her issue.

 

 

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was hit on 02/25/2014. I called **** ***** on 03/19/2014. I informed them that my vehicle had been damaged and it was not running and the other party's insurance would be responsible to pay for the repairs. They told me that they(**** *****) would get the vehicle running and make the repairs. They had a tow truck pick up the vehicle from my home the same day. I had recieved a copy of the original estimate from the other party's insurance which they also sent to **** *****. I went and called **** ***** several times trying to get a copy of the supplemental repairs but on got a copy after all the repairs that they say they could make were complete and they werealready paid for when I went to pick the vehicle up on 05/23/2014. I was only contacted by the service mgr 3 times after the initial delivery date of my vehicle to their shop about the repair once on 03/27/2014 to tell me they had to replace the rear end and in April when he asked me if I had worked something out with the insurance because they never could get the vehicle started and thought the damage occurred outside the scope of the accident . I even contacted the dealership and got the name of the collision center manager because I wanted to talk to her about what was going on. I left a voicemail but not return call and I was contacted on 05/19/2014 by ***** stating that I would probably get sent a letter to pick up my vehicle even though I was never notified that it was finished. I was also told by ***** that I owed something which I corrected her on for the second time because when I picked up the vehicle this was not my insurance. I also was told by Meador Jeep that it was delivered to them with one flat tire with glass in it even though the tires on the front of the vehicle were good and the tire that was damaged in the back had glass in it from were the other party had truck my vehicle. The two back tires had been replace according to the supplement. If they could get the car started then they should not have done the repairs. I was told by *** ******* and ***** my neighbor that it was unethical to fix a car that wouldn't run but they did it any way. So now I have a bad tire. A car that they did not check the suspension. A poor quality rim. Months of inconvience.

Desired Settlement: I would like either my old tire back that did not have glass in it or a replacement w/o glass. I would also like an apology becasue this is not right. I work at a professional shop for the city of fort worth in the compliance department so I know that the was this was handled in not right. I work with 50 ASC mechanics, State Inspectors, Body Repairs and look at estimates and Supplements all day long for the past 16 years. We even have a Napa store in our facility and I pay the bills. for it and our 3 other in-house stores. If any of our people did something like this they would be fired. This not what I am asking for but I was a good customer of **** ***** once and bought a car from them because of their kindness toward me when my daughters car that I bought from another dealership was in an accident. I have sent several people who bought cars because I've told them the story of the accident. I even have a friend Will Caston who recently bought a car for that reason but i will not longer have anything good to say.

Business Response: **** ***** Body Shop always tries very hard to perform and deliver outstanding workmanship and service to every customer that brings in there vehicles.  With all accidents that involve insurance companies, we perform and repair the damage that is authorized by the insurance company, if the customer wants additional work to be repaired that was turned down by the insurance company, they must accept responsability and pay for any additional work performed,  or get with their adjuster to approve the repairs. We are not authorized by any insurance company to repair any vehicle without prior approval. Unfortunately with ********* ******* vehicle the insurance company denied any additional work that she requested, we spoke several times with them, inspected the vehicle with them and the additional repair was repeatedly turned down. We have explained this to ********* ***** that the additional work that she requested had been turn down by the insurance company and she has refused to pay for the work personnally. **** ***** would be glad to repair any additional repairs requested but we need to know who will be authorizing payment for services performed.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed this information that they replied is not true anytime I tried to get with **** ***** employees they avoided me and they did not offer to any additional repairs.  This is was about them doing poor repair and lack of communication on their  and the insurances part.  Please anyone who sees this do not use **** ***** because they are a disreputable business and I know what I am talking about I do this for a living.  It is sad that they are so dishonest.  I have the pictures and the phone record of the calls to prove it.  I will just have take my complaint further.

Business Response: **** ***** body shop will again be glad to do any work on ********* *****'s vehicle, we just need authorization for payment from  the insurance company or *********, we suggest you getting back with your insurance company for any repairs that they have not authorized to be repaired. As stated in the first response we only repaired the damage that the insurance company authorized us to be repaired.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute. 
This response and the previous one still did not resolve the issue of them taking a good tire off my vehicle and replacing it with a bad one, them not communicating with me on the repairs and the poor job they did.  As far as them offering to do additional repairs I told them to have someone from the dealership look at the vehicle and if the damage was not caused by the accident then I would take care if it so this story about them only wanting to know who would pay or offering additional help is indeed lie.  This why my vehicle stayed in the shop for almost three months and they waited until they had been paid and the check cleared before they called me to say they were. Going to send me a letter but never told me they had completed the repairs.  Please to anyone reading this Do not take your vehicle to **** *****.  I have nothing to say bad about the dealership when it comes to purchasing a car but the body shop is poor run and the service manager is not telling the truth.  The sad part is that I have a record of every call they made to me because he was calling me at work and our phones record the calls.  I know now that they are not going to do the right thing and admit the truth but to anyone out there, Please Do Not Take You Car to these people.  Why do you think they keep giving the same generic response?

10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2004 Chevrolet Silverado from Lynn Smith Chevrolet on 2/02/2008. At they time they were aware that a silent recall/ warranty extention had been issued on this model vehicle due to a defective part which caused the control panel/speedometer to quit working. They had failed to replace this defective part or to even mention it to me. When my speedometer quit working I investigated and found out about the recall. Upon contacting Lynn Smith, I was told that that recall had ended two years ago and they refused to fix my vehicle. My contention is that they were aware of this problem and should have fixed it before selling it to me in the first place. I was told this repair costs between 600 - 800 dollars. I feel Lynn Smith is guilty of deceitful selling practices.

Desired Settlement: I want Lynn Smith to replace the defective part and make sure that my control panel and speedometer are repaired as they should have been before I purchased it. I want this done at their total expense. I have been told by others that Chevrolet will reimburse them so I feel they are just choosing not to make my repair.

Business Response:  *** ****** purchased his 2004 from Lynn Smith Chevrolet on 01/08/2008 with 47,667 miles on it, we had the vehicle certified which gave *** ****** another year of warranty,the dash issue that *** ****** is referring to was not a recall, General Motors provided a special coverage (07187) that extended the warranty on the dash till 08/30/2011 or 80,000 miles which ever came first. General Motors did not just replace every dash, not every vehicle had this problem, it was only repaired with vehicles that experienced this issue within this time and mileage period. *** ****** has driven the vehicle 2 years past the warranty period, we do not know how many miles are his vehicle. Lynn Smith Chevrolet was not deceitful in any form or manner when selling the unit, if *** ****** had any issues with his truck in the warranty period we would have been glad to repair it. Being 2 years over the coverage period we are unable to help with this claim  Sincerely **** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ******

You say that the warranty was extended on the dash until 2011 or 80,000 miles which ever came first.  My pickup only has 80,200 miles on it at this time.  The problem with the dash panel and speedometer arose on the 2004 p/ups and was being repaired as early as 2007.  GM knew this and changed the warranty to cover this problem. I purchased this p/up in 2008 as a certified vehicle.  I was never told about the problem nor was the vehicle fixed even though GM knew it was a problem.  I still consider this as a deceptive trade practice.  If you were not trying to be deceptive a "certified" vehicle would have been repaired before the sale, or at the very least, the buyer should have been warned of the problem. 

******* ******

 

 

Business Response:

*** ******

 

As I previously stated GM only repaired the dashes that became defective, they did not replace every dash. The GM Certified warranty gave you an additional 12 month 12000 mile warranty from your purchase date not an extension on the 80,000 mile

We are sorry again but we did not deceive you in any form or fashion, GM or any manufacture has set limits on warranties that include mileage and time, they periodlcally have special coverage as in your case but still limit the time or mileage and your vehicle is two years out from the extended date.

At the time of purchase your vehicle was performing as designed and there was no bulletin or request from the manufacture to repair your dash or it would have been done when we received the vehicle and certified it.  The bulletin only covered failed dashes. We are sorry about your dash problem and sorry we can

not assist you.

 

Sincerely

**** *******  

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

I concede that Lynn Smith Chevrolet is not going to do the right thing and help me with my dash problem.  You consistently put the blame on GM, but GM didn't certify and sell me a truck with a faulty part.  But that's alright.  I have 4 grandsons that will soon need vehicles and I know where NOT to go to purchase them.  I've always had good relations with your business until now but a little money can sure change things.  Please don't certify something then find out there is a problem and NOT tell the customer so they can have the repair done in a timely manner. 

******* ******