Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Klement Chrysler Dodge Jeep, LP

Additional Locations

Phone: (940) 627-6700 Fax: (940) 627-2516 View Additional Phone Numbers 500 N Highway 287, Decatur, TX 76234 http://www.klementcjd.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Klement Chrysler Dodge Jeep, LP include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Klement Chrysler Dodge Jeep, LP
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1993 Business started: 07/29/1987 in TX Business started locally: 07/29/1987 Business incorporated 12/29/1999 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 465-4129
The number is P12061.

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Karl Klement, President/Owner Mr. Derek Sugg, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Karl Klement, President/Owner
Principal: Mr. Derek Sugg, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Klement Chrysler-Dodge-Jeep, LP
Industry Tips
Automobile sales

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    500 N Highway 287

    Decatur, TX 76234 (940) 627-6700 (800) 723-7227

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 995

    Decatur, TX 76234

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was in the market for a new 2015 Unlimited Jeep Sahara when I came across one on the Internet from Klement Chrysler Jeep in Decatur, TX for $37,274. It was a great price and just what I wanted, so I called and spoke with *****. He told me the car was available and he confirmed the price of the vehicle. I told him that I was interested in the vehicle and I was pre-approved for a loan and could pick the car up the next day if he could get the price down to $36,500. He checked with his manager named ***** and said that it was already discounted below the MSRP and that they could not get the price down that low. I told him I would call him the next day, but wanted to see if they could make it an even $37,000 and I would drive up there to pick it up the next day. The next day I spoke with *****, he told me that the vehicle was still available, but when I asked about getting the price to an even $37,000, he told me that the price was put in incorrectly on the internet and that he thought he could give it to me for that price, but would have to talk to his manager. When he got back on the phone, ***** told me his manager could no longer give me the $37,274 price because it was entered into the internet incorrectly. I informed him that it was not my fault they entered it in wrong and that I wanted to speak with *****. We went back and forth about changing the price when it clearly states the price of the vehicle on the internet. We were not getting anywhere and I reminded him that it is against the law to bait and switch the price that was already set and advertised. I asked to speak with the owner named ***** who wasn’t available at the time. ***** called back and told me how upset he was that his staff didn’t catch the mistake and that he could not give me the vehicle for $37,274 and was going to raise the price up to $38,000. I asked him how is it my fault they entered the price wrong and how can you now take the deal off the table and raise the price. That is considered bait and switch. He told me if I came in he might be able to lower the price. I asked him, what is my incentive for driving all the way over there for you to tell me, you can’t give me the price that was advertised and that you are going to raise the price to a higher price than advertised. It made no sense to me and here I am writing this because it is truly unethical to speak with a person who blames his staff for their wrong doing and then forfeits the deal that was advertised. What is interesting about the situation is the fact that after 3 weeks from speaking with the owner that the deal never changed to $38,000, but was still being advertised at $37,274 on their website. I have the photos to prove it. I was very upset about the entire situation and cannot believe this man runs this dealership and basically advertises his prices on the internet for people to call or come in and then they bait and switch the price and blame it on someone not entering a number correctly. It is disturbing to know there are people who are so deceiving in the world and will try to make an extra buck to get ahead, but doesn’t mind shaming his own staff.

Desired Settlement: I would like the BBB to know of this unethical business. ** ********** ************* *** *********** **** * ** **** ***** ** ******** ** *** ** *** **** *** ** ** ** ********* *** *** **** ** **** *** ***** ** **** *********** **** **** **** **** ********* ** *** ********* *** **** *** **** *** ***** ******* **** ********* **** **** ** *** ***** **** *** ********** ********* *** **** *** ****** ** *** ********* *** ******** ********

Business Response:

We do honor our prices online but as all of our disclaimers state you must qualify for the incentives and/or discounts listed on the site and it is the responsibility of the consumer to verify that they qualify for those discounts.  Our disclaimers also state that in order to qualify for the advertised discounts the customer must finance through a Klement Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram lender. Our disclaimers are located on the Legal Notices & Disclaimers page, each of the vehicle inventory pages, and every individual vehicle page. We do not have any manager named Percy and the owners name is Karl Klement. Our GM’s name is *****. There was no wrong doing on our part, there was no “bait and switch” tactic because all of our disclaimers are abundantly and clearly displayed throughout the website. Please see attached document for reference to all disclaimer locations and content.

8/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 5, 2015 my wife and mother in law flew to Decatur, Texas to buy a Chrysler 200S Convertible from Klement Chrysler Dodge and Jeep that my wife saw while searching for this particular car on the internet. When she spoke to the dealership, they explained that there were 7 dents on the trunk from a hail storm and they were taking money off of the price of the car. My wife and I were housed by the dealership at a hotel and then taken to the dealership to complete the deal. My wife and mother in law noted that the trunk had more than 7 dents on it from hail damage as well as damage on the hood of the vehicle as well. My wife still went to complete the sale and handed Klement a check for $37,000 and they drove away. While driving down the road, the vehicle had started to chug and run very poorly. She took the vehicle back and I demanded that she rip the check up. Klement had been dishonest with us about the dents on the vehicle and had enough time to run the car to find out that it had an issue. I did speak to the manager that told me that the vehicle chugged due to having to be "Re-Flashed" then it was to be driven over 20 miles to reset. However, that is a total crock. They attempted to sell a vehicle that was damaged more than they said as well as having mechanical problems.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the $800.00 it took for my wife and my mother in law to be covered by the dealership. We learned a very big lesson.... I would also appreciate that they not do this to any one else. The vehicle is still for sale on the internet. They need to get rid of that POS!

BBB Response:

MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

In response to Complaint ID# ******** filed by ***** ****** *****:

The customer is from Idaho and saw the vehicle online.  She contacted the dealership via email which progressed to phone calls.  It was disclosed to the customer in this initial interaction that the vehicle had hail damage. The customer was emailed pictures of every panel of the car clearly showing the damage. With this knowledge, the customer agreed to proceed with purchasing the vehicle. The price of the vehicle was determined with the knowledge that the hail damage was accounted for accordingly in the price. She agreed to the price and proceeded to make arrangements to fly down to purchase the vehicle.  The dealership agreed to cover the cost of the hotel room for the customer but the customer never ask that the dealership cover the flight. The customer and a family member arrived and she loved the vehicle upon arrival.  She then test drove the vehicle at which point it began to cut out/misfire.  The General Manager then immediately took the vehicle to service. It was determined by our Certified Chrysler Technician that the PCM (vehicle’s computer) required a flash, which happens occasionally with vehicles. The flash was completed. The customer then completed her purchase and took delivery of the vehicle. She left in the vehicle and approximately 10 miles down the road the issue occurred again.  The vehicle is backed by Chrysler Warranty and, at this point, the customer owned the vehicle and the concern was a warranty issue on a purchased vehicle. We, however, do our best to make sure our customers are satisfied and were inclined to do what we could. When the vehicle returned the General Manager spoke directly with the technician who performed the flash and was informed that in order to complete the flash and reset the PCM fully the vehicle would need to be driven at least 20 miles.  So the General Manager took the vehicle and drove the 20 required miles for reset.  We do acknowledge that these 20 miles should have been driven and the reset insured before the customer left with the vehicle and apologize that wasn’t completed at that time. The total service time was approximately 45 minutes and the vehicle was performing as it should with no other issues. When the General Manager arrived back at the dealership with the vehicle completely ready to go the customer had been in contact with her husband and was very emotional. She informed the General Manager that her husband would not allow her to purchase the vehicle.  So as not to cause any further issue for our customer in dealing with her husband over the phone and to insure that the customer trusted our business we returned her check and voided her contract.  She then ask for transport to the airport for her and her guest.  We took them to the airport. Two days later the customer’s husband called the General Manager and ask for a reimbursement of $800 for the flight for his wife and her guest.  The General Manager declined his request for reimbursement, sighting that the dealership had paid for a hotel, transportation, and cancelled a transaction they were not legally bound to cancel.  The dealership and its employees made every effort to accommodate our customer and keep her satisfied.  The vehicle was in full new working condition and ready for the customer to take home.

***** **** ******* ******* ******* ******** **** ***** *** ****************** *******************

BBB Response:

MESSAGE:

I found the convertible online and called the dealership to ask questions about the car.  It was several conversations before the disclosure of hail damage on the trunk.  Specifically, I was told there were 7 hail spots on the trunk of the car.  I requested photos of the damage and received 4 photos of the trunk only.  I am not sure they are even of the correct car because the photos show nothing, which was significantly different than what was actually on the trunk of the car or the rest of the car.  There was damage all over the car not just on the trunk as I was led to believe.  Had I known there was hail damage all over the car I never would have gone down to Texas.  I was told there were 7 spots but there was extensive damage all over the car.  In making the plans to go down to Texas it was agreed that the dealership would pay for my plane ticket and the hotel for the night.  When we were taken to the dealership I was so excited to see the car.  I was disappointed in the condition of the car with the hail damage but decided that I had come so far and didn’t want to walk away from it.  When I took it for a test drive the car ran horribly, I took it back and said the deal was off, and I was told it just needed an update and to wait to decide.  We drove it again and it still was not right.  Finally the dealership promised they had fixed the problem even though no sensors indicated what the problem was.  The car had been sitting on the lot for almost a year.  I was given the miles on the car as 52 miles when I called, I was told that the car was taken the day before I arrived to be filled and driven to make sure that it was all ready however, when I took the car for a test drive the mileage was still at 52 miles.  The dealership said that the car was fixed and there were no more problems.  I was stupid enough to believe them.  We finished the deal and we headed out.  We were 10 minutes down the road when the car started chugging again.  We turned around and went back to the dealership.  My husband called to check on our status and I told him what had happened.  He was mad that I did not walk away from the deal when I first saw that the dealership had lied at the status of the hail damage on the car.  He insisted that the deal be cancelled and I agreed with the state of the engine, I did not feel comfortable driving it across the country.  I was asked by one of the employees, “Well what are you going to do now, fly home?” in a very sarcastic tone.  It was then that I realized that they had figured that since I had come so far with a one way plane ticket that there was no way that I was going to walk away from the deal and that they could unload that piece of crap car.  I asked to be taken back to the airport where I rented a car and drove back home.  I was completely disappointed in the failure of this deal and that the dealership was not honest to begin with.  While I was there I was told that there was a dealership that wanted the car but they said that they held it for me, yet I see that the car is still on their lot.  I guess that dealership didn’t want a car that doesn’t run properly either.

Thank you!  
**** ****** 

Business Response:

The existence of hail damage on the vehicle was disclosed and pictures of every panel of the specific vehicle she was looking to purchase were sent to the customer.  There are no other vehicles of this model and trim line on the lot so the pictures were of the correct vehicle.  We had a hail storm in 2014 and there was never a count taken on the specific number of hail dents on any vehicle, and no specific number of dents was disclosed to the customer.  The dealership agreed to pay for the hotel stay for the customer but never agreed to paying for the plane ticket itself because in discussion with the customer on price she ask if any further discount could be made to accommodate her travel expense and she received an additional discount on the vehicle, on top of the discount for the disclosed hail damage, to help cover that cost. The salesman picked the customer up at the airport and took her to the hotel and paid for it, he also picked the customer up the next morning and brought her to the dealership. All of her transportation needs were taken care of by the dealership while she was here.  The customer did not drive the vehicle a second time until after she had chosen to purchase the car, completed all paperwork, including a hail damage waiver, and produced a check for the vehicle.  At this point she took the vehicle for the 2nd time.  The vehicle is a 2014 model and had been on the lot for a year and in that time a flash had come out for that vehicle and unfortunately didn’t get performed until the customer arrived. This is not something that “sensors indicate” this is just like a recall or update that comes out for the vehicle that needs to be performed.  The flash (which was what was required to fix the vehicle) requires that the car be driven 20 miles to reset the PCM (car’s computer). As we stated in our previous response, we should have taken the car for that 20 mile reset drive before it was given back to the customer.  When the vehicle was brought back after the purchase, the GM took the vehicle and completed the flash with the 20 mile reset drive. Upon returning from the drive the GM found the customer upset and wanting out of the deal.  He obliged that request no questions asked, returned her check, and voided her contracts even though the vehicle was at that time and still is in proper working condition. No employee was sarcastic with the customer, the question was genuine in that they wanted to help her get home.  Several employees were instructed to get on the phone and find a rental company for the customer.  A rental company was found an hour away at the airport and the customer was taken to the airport so she could rent a car. No employee would ever assume a customer is just going to take a car deal, and we were in no way trying to “unload” a vehicle on the customer. We were honest from the start with the hail damage and have continued to be throughout this process.  Another dealership did want that vehicle but our customers are priority so we will not sell a vehicle a customer is looking at to another dealership just to make a deal. The vehicle does remain on our lot only because dealings with other dealerships happen quickly and they will move on and find another vehicle for their customer if the one they want is not available instantly. The vehicle ran properly and to factory specs while the customer was here. The vehicle is still running properly and is backed by a 5 year / 100,000 mile Chrysler warranty.  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Klement Chrysler Dodge Jeep, LP
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)