Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

James Wood Motors Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (940) 627-2177 Fax: (940) 627-0929 View Additional Phone Numbers 2111 S Highway 287, Decatur, TX 76234 http://www.jameswood.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that James Wood Motors Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for James Wood Motors Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on James Wood Motors Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1972 Business started locally: 01/01/1972
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 465-4129

Business Management
Mr. James F Wood , Owner Mr. Cecil H LeMond, Sales Manager Mr. Carey Williams, Executive Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Cecil H LeMond, Sales Manager
Principal: Mr. James F Wood , Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

South Plains Acceptance Corporation filed Chapter 11 bankruptcyon 10/09/2002, Case # 02-51232.formerly known as QUALITY CAR CO.

Industry Tips
Automobile sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

James Wood Motors Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2111 S Highway 287

    Decatur, TX 76234 (888) 833-7230 (940) 627-2177

  • PO Box 479

    Decatur, TX 76234

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2009 Chevrolet Avalanche from ******** ****** at James Wood Motors. I live approx an hour and half from Decatur and worked with ******** thru the phone /emails / text. The pictures on the web looked great, very clean truck. So when we spoke I specifically discussed with ********- Myself- the truck looks nice and very clean, your car fax says no accidents and one owner... ********- Yes, it's very clean and excellent condition only one owner, very we'll taken care of. I was running late and have multiple texts and emails and ph calls that Saturday, what can you be here, we're closing you need to hurry. I get there and she hands me the keys and says you take for test drive. I took for test drive, it was getting late in the day and I did not notice any problems. It was cloudy and rainy for week plus and on a nice sunny day I'm walking to the truck and the rear right quarter panel is a different color. It is white, and the truck color is a summit white. There are paint marks on the plastic trim of the truck. I texted ******** instantly and said, hey you said this truck was in excellent condition, never wrecked and the qtr panel is the wrong color. She said she never knew and she would call me first thing in the morning. Never heard from her, sent her email. No response.

Desired Settlement: I would like for James Wood to pay for the new paint job to match the color of the truck.

Business Response:

James Wood Motors contacted Mr. ******** and made arrangements to pick up and deliver his truck to the dealership for further inspection. Upon further inspection Mr. ********'s complaint had merit and we understood his concern. Although the history on this vehicle showed no prior accidents there was obviously some paint work done on one of the quarter panels.  Not only had paint work been done it had been done poorly and had not been noticed during our inspection.  To resolve this issue to Mr. ********'s satisfaction we are in the process of repainting the quarter panel in our GM certified body shop.  Once the work is complete we will make sure that Mr. ******** is completely satisfied with the work and return his truck to him at no expense.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10549650, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I would like to praise management at James Wood Motors for their prompt response and doing everything to make the truck look like a perfect Chevy truck.