Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Freeman Toyota/Scion

Phone: (817) 287-5200 Fax: (817) 287-5497 204 NE Loop 820, Hurst, TX 76053 http://www.freemantoyota.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Freeman Toyota/Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Freeman Toyota/Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 19

Additional Complaint Information

Complaints brought to the company's attention by this BBB primarily concern sales, repair, and quality issues. Complainants allege they signed paperwork finalizing the sale of their car and left with the car only to find out up to three weeks later that the financing fell through and are forced to choose another vehicle. Other complainants allege questionable business practices, not honoring an advertised price, repairs resulting in additional damage, and unauthorized reporting to credit agencies. The company is generally responsive to complaints, resolving most issues and providing supporting documentation.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Freeman Toyota/Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1991 Business started: 04/15/1997 in TX Business started locally: 04/15/1997 Business incorporated 04/15/1997 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 465-4129
The number is P33080.

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Dane Minor, General Manager Ms. Ashley Hager, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Ashley Hager, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Dane Minor, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Dealers - Online Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
Freeman Financial Investment Company Freeman Toyota-Freeman Financial
Industry Tips
Automobile sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Freeman Toyota/Scion has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After being displeased with the demeanor of the salesman that was attending to my request and having to wait almost a half hour for the car to be brought to me for a test drive, I contacted the floor manager on duty, **** ******, to complain about the whole process. I asked him for five minutes of his time in private. He took me to a side office, where I expressed my dissatisfaction with ****, the salesman. I've been shopping for cars for decades - I get a new one every couple of years. Even though such complaints occur very rarely in my case, the managers in the past used to be in full control of their customer service skills and use them to pacify rather than antagonize me regardless of whether they believed me or regardless of what they intended to do about the salesman I complained about. Not so **** ******. From the very start, he gave the impression of taking ****'s side. When I mentioned that **** didn't advise me in a timely manner about the problems he was having, **** kept repeating the mantra that he did eventually inform me. I then admonished **** for not showing requisite customer service skills. Instead of saying something like: "I apologize, sir, for the experience you had. Our dealership's policy is to make you fully satisfied. Would you like me to get you another salesman?", he was continuously on the defensive. He even accused me of raising my voice at him - as if he were some kind of untouchable high priest instead of an individual that's about 30 years my junior. Finally, he said, "So, what would you like me to do?" I said: "Well, I don't think you can do anything for me at this dealership." At this point, his demeanor became even more aggressive and combative. He said he wanted me to leave and practically threw me out of the dealership as if I'd committed some crime or misdemeanor. I said, "Jesus Christ, are you throwing me out!?" Of course, that expression, just like "my God", has no religious defamatory connotations and is used in this and other English-speaking countries by hundreds of millions of Christians and non-Christians on a daily basis. His hypocritical answer was: "We're a Christian dealership and we don't like you to use those words." In the same breadth he said, "Now CARRY YOUR *** OUT!" When I asked for his name, ****** refused to give it to me. I figured out later that by escorting me personally out he wanted to minimize any chance of my going upstairs and complaining to his higher-ups. Still incredulous about what had just happened, I left dazed and confused, hoping that my glucose and blood pressure levels wouldn't reach dangerously high levels (I'm diabetic). I went to the adjoining Mitsubishi dealer, and when I told them about my experience, they were not surprised at all. They said that they're getting upset customers from Freeman Toyota all the time and that some women are even in tears. Not willing to play a wilting violet, I called the dealership after I got back home to obtain the owner's or General Manager's e-mail address/phone number. They kept transferring me, and I finally got ****** even though he was the last person I wanted to talk to. He called me an "ass" and said that our conversation was on a speaker so that the whole dealership can hear it. He kept pulling his Christian creds on me even though he behaved more like a servant of the devil rather than of Jesus. When I hung up on him, he called me back, pretending that he was exercising customer service civility because, in his words, "we were cut off". Apparently, at Freeman Toyota, **** ****** has a carte blanche to behave like a bully, insult customers without a justified cause, use a perverted notion of Christianity as a fig leaf for his aggressive mentality, and throw out a customer who himself had voiced an intention to leave the premises. I've never encountered this kind of customer service fiasco before in my 60+ years of life. ***** ******

Desired Settlement: An apology in writing and information as to what consequences **** ****** suffered as a result of his behavior, especially in light of the fact that *** ******** promised that someone would let me know

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

On Behalf of Freeman Toyota, I would like to offer my most sincere apologies in regards to your experience. However, it is Freeman Toyota's policy not to discuss disciplinary actions publically regarding our employees. The appropriate steps have been taken and management was made aware of the incident. We appreciate customer feedback good or bad, and we will continue to strive for 100 percent customer satisfaction.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 11146333, and while I find that this resolution is not fully satisfactory to me (the apology was made by a a lower level customer service rep instead of General Manager), I won't pursue it any further with your office. 

Regards,


***** ******

2/10/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had one humiliating experience 01/23/16 as I went to purchase a 2014 Prius at this business. I saw this car 2 weeks back and it was priced $19,991. I didn't bought that car as no discount was offered that time. So I was keeping an eye on price this car using their online tool. And 01/22 I get an email from preowned dept that price is changed to $18,291 and then he called 01/23 me and offered me $18,091 and invited us to the dealership. I reached with my family with check book to buy the car within 20 minutes. We took a test drive and started paperwork for $18,091+TTL deal. Meanwhile when paperwork was going on he said you came 2 weeks back for this car and you didn't purchased that time so I cant sell you for $18091.00, if you want this car then you have to pay $18,750+TTL otherwise someone else is offering $19,991.00 and we will sell to him. This was really very humiliating and insulting for me and my family as kids were excited for the car and we were refused for the same. Why we were offered $18091.00, when someone was already paying $19,991. He knows this before offering $18091.00 to us and calling us to purchase the car. ITs not my fault that I visited 02 weeks back and kept an eye on price of that car, any customer would do that. After that I called the dealership and wanted to talk to GM but I was told to talk to CRM and I talked to her she said please forward me email which was sent with $18,291 and she will look into it. I forwarded email and then one person called me from pre-owned dept and said will call back in 5 min that call didn't came. then I left voice mail for PA to GM and she called me 01/25 morning and I explained her entire incident, she said she will talk to everyone and will get back to me, she didn't called back so in evening I called her and asked status of my complaint, she said car is sold and GSM will be talking to you and he never called. This is very unprofessional and unethical service by a business with a customer.

Desired Settlement: they should listen and respond to such complaints so that in future no other customer should suffer such humiliating experience.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

The customer had the chance to buy this car on two different occasions, but passed on the chance. Another person put a down payment on the vehicle and it is pending the sale. As far as communications between the customer and the company, he hasn't given us the chance to respond. He called my extension and left a voicemail on Saturday, and was calling me again before 9:00 a.m. on Monday morning. I am not available on Saturdays and neither is our GM. Between all of that time he had called our Used Car managers, the Sales person, our Receptionist, and our CRM. It was taking some time to get the details between all of the phone calls left between all of the people involved. This all occurred from Saturday 1/23 to  Monday 1/25.  We were (are) trying to address the customers concerns in a timely manner, but he did not give us the opportunity to do so.


 

Consumer Response:
This is not correct that I passed on two previous chances to buy on this vehicle, I simply looked first time and price was 19900.00 without any discount so I was keeping an eye on the price of this car and on Friday 01/22 I received an email from business that price of this car is reduced to 18291.00 and on Saturday (01/23) I got a call from business and offered 18091.00 for the same car if I buy same day. Now I have following questions:


1. If someone already put money on the car then why was I offered 18091.00 by business? 
2. On Saturday when I went to buy car why I was given test drive if someone already put more on the car? 
3. Why the paperwork started to buy the car as salesman asked wether I will be paying cash or financing?
Also if someone already put money on the car then why salesman offered to buy the car on 18750.00?

I was hurt by the unprofessional behavior of the business by inviting to purchase a car on a committed price and later trying to sell on a higher price than committed price which I declined and now blaming customer that I passed on two chances. 

I also didn't received any call from General Sales Manager after business assured me that he will be calling you. I reminded them Monday evening (01/25) about this non-communication and i was reassured that GSM will be calling you today and I didn't received any call from him so far. I received this response only after my BBB notification.






Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

All areas of the complaint are being reviewed, and blame is not being placed on anyone. An exact time for phone call was never discussed, and our GSM had not made the phone call yet as we were talking with all parties involved. The compliant was heard, and I'm sorry it wasn't answered as quickly as you would have liked. Freeman Toyota values our customer's feed back, and it is my belief that this complaint to the BBB was submitted in haste because Freeman Toyota had been in contact with the customer, and he was told that we were looking into the incident and he would receive a phone call.

 

Consumer Response:
My 04 questions were not answered so far, why I was denied purchase on the committed price and offered to sale on a higher price than committed price:


1. If someone already put money on the car then why was I offered 18091.00 by business? 
2. On Saturday when I went to buy car why I was given test drive if someone already put more on the car? 
3. Why the paperwork started to buy the car as salesman asked wether I will be paying cash or financing?
4. Also if someone already put money on the car then why salesman offered to buy the car on 18750.00?






Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

I understand your frustration, and I want to offer our apologies that the deal did not pan out. Once Freeman Toyota received the down payment from the other customer that allowed us to hold the car. This is a fast paced business, and human error does happen on occasion. Our sales staff thought it was not sold, and told you it was available by mistake. Freeman Toyota wishes to offer your our sincerest apologies for your trouble.

 

Best Regards

1/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In order to receive the incentives offered by Toyota on Jan. 2nd I turned in my Venza a month early and leased a Rav4 at the suggestion of my long time salesman ***** *****. Part of those incentives included Toyota paying the last Venza payment and the first payment of the Rav4. This was verified by the in-house finance employee at Freeman. After leasing the Rav4 we call Toyota Financial and stopped the automatic payments on the Venza. Within days we were sent a letter from Toyota Financial saying we owed $318. The last payment on the Venza. We have tried to get this straightened out by calling and/or emailing ***** *****, the in-house finance department, someone called Sally in accounting and an email to **** ***** who is listed as the GM on the BBB site. We have NOT heard back from ANYONE.

Desired Settlement: I would like a check for $318. as soon as possible.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

I have spoken with the sales person mentioned in the complaint, and he spoke with the customer 1/20/2016 and requested a check be cut and mailed out in the amount of $319.00.  The check number is 96123 and it is being mailed out today. Please see the attached copy. The accounting clerk mentioned in the complaint was on vacation until 1/21/2016, and was not able to check her voice mail until today. It is my firm belief that with the complainant's desired outcome being met, that this matter is being resolved to the customer's satisfaction. Freeman Toyota values the customer's input whether is be positive or negative and will always strive for our customer's absolute satisfaction.


 

1/16/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1) It has now been over 30 days and I have yet to receive any documentation containing my financing options. Your website states that I should’ve received them “within moments” after submitting an application for credit. Now, this inquiry is going to negatively impact my credit for two years and I have no new truck to show for it. 2) I emailed **** and ** numerous times asking them which Tundra’s you were referring to in your recent radio adds that had a price of $26,995 – neither one of them ever responded to me about this. Again, I requested this multiple times. 3) I emailed the general manager (**** *****) to see if he could provide feedback to my issues - I've received no response.

Desired Settlement: 1) Erase the inquiry from my credit 2) Change advertising 3) Apologize

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

The original lead that the individual inquired about was for a Blazing Blue Pearl Tundra with the VIN # *****************, this Tundra had more equipment and did not qualify for the $26,995 pricing. Please find the attached documents to show that our Salesperson **** Thompson communicated properly and in a timely fashion once the individual sought information regarding the Tundra. It is my belief that Freeman Toyota made an effort to communicate via email and by phone to relay the pricing for the vehicle in question. **** called the individual several times and multiple left messages that were never returned.

 

 

Consumer Response:

1)  My inquiries asked what trucks (plural) were associated with that advertisement, not if that particular truck was.

2)  That aside, I still never received any kind of documentation containing my financing options after I submitted the finance application online.  I'll paste what your website says below.

http://www.freemantoyota.com/finance

"You don't need to bring a calculator or a protractor to the Finance department at Freeman Toyota because our Finance experts will hold your hand through the entire process. We'll clearly explain the selling price, cap cost reduction if it's a lease, taxes, fees, and most importantly, the monthly payments you'll make and for how long. You'll understand your contract like a pro by the time we're done --and don't hesitate to ask questions! You can also do advanced research utilizing our financial tools on the Freeman Toyota website that our team has provided for you. If you have a trade-in, you can see what it's worth by punching in a some details about it using our online form, so you won't be in for any surprises when our technicians appraise it. In fact, even if you don't purchase a vehicle from us, you can still sell us your car, and we'll give you a cash offer! You can also find Toyota national and local incentives that are available, so you'll be way ahead of the game. Finally, you can complete our safe and secure online finance application, which will inform you of your financing options within moments. You're APR and auto loan terms will be determined by your FICO score, but don't be concerned if your credit has taken a hit. Through our multitude of lending our sources, our Finance aces will be able to structure a loan for customers no matter which credit tier they land on. We have one goal at Freeman Toyota -- to see you drive off in the Toyota that suits you best at a price and with loan terms that we all agree on!"

 

Now, please remove this inquiry from my credit.  These deceptive trade practices will not be tolerated.

 




Business Response:

The customer has to go on to our website and electronically give Freeman Toyota permission to pull a credit score. They fill out a Finance Application and submit it to Freeman Toyota, where we will look up their information. Before we can do that, the customer will acknowledge the following statement before submitting the application:

"I certify that I have provided true and accurate information in this form and that I have read and understood the dealership's privacy policy. By submitting this form, I authorize the dealer to begin a credit investigation, to process my application, and to forward my application to lenders, financial institutions, or third parties, in order to process my application."

 Our sales person reached out to the customer numerous times, gave his FICO score, and tried to be as informative and prompt as he could be. The accusations of "deceptive trade practices" are completely false.

The customer did not return calls to make an appointment to come in and speak with our sales person, which he made several attempts. Our sales person responded promptly to the lead the customer sent in, and gave him the information in a timely manner. The customer authorized Freeman Toyota to pull his FICO score, therefore, it is my firm belief that Freeman Toyota did everything we could to make this a positive experience for everybody involved.

 

1/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During a process for re-finance, I was counseled of an error found on the vehicle paperwork purchased on Sep 28, 2015. It seems that the finance person included an extra $371.31 to my purchase price. I can only speculate both parties taking 4 hours for the sale to complete and/or eager to close for the day. The agreed price on the vehicle was $11491 by all parties involved instead of $11862.31. I sent the company proof of the price difference from different documents.

Desired Settlement: Refund the overage amount.

Business Response:

 

Re: James O’Neill


To Whom It May Concern:


              When making a car purchase there are various products that are either attached to the front of the loan or the back of the loan.  For instance Gap and vehicle service contracts are added to the contract after sales tax and are also thus able to be canceled should the customer decide to trade or sell the vehicle.  Front end products such as road hazard, fabric protection, and LoJack and paint protection are added before sales tax and appear on the contract to increase the sales price of the car but actually are just added because they have to be taxed.  In the case of Mr. ******* his loan included two front end products:  36 months of key loss protection and 36 months of road hazard protection.  These totaled $371.31 combined.  Since Key loss protection and road hazard protection are front end products they are actually added to the sales price rather then added after taxes are calculated.  Thus it appears as an increase in the sales price of the car on the contract but in fact the sales price remained the same as previously agreed.  Mr. ******* agreed to the payments and was happy while signing the contracts.



 

Consumer Response:
All the issues mentioned in your last message were covered with the extended warranty that I bought (50mo/50K miles) and it covers both road hazard and key replacement. I never received noticed or paperwork agreeing to those separate "up front" items. Something your salesman never pointed out. All I got is the extended warranty paperwork covering those items plus engine transmission coverage. It seems that I was charged double for something I was already covered; Showing deception that I was never told I already had coverage.






Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

The customer has to go on to our website and electronically give Freeman Toyota permission to pull a credit score. They fill out a Finance Application and submit it to Freeman Toyota, where we will look up their information. Before we can do that, the customer will acknowledge the following statement before submitting the application:

"I certify that I have provided true and accurate information in this form and that I have read and understood the dealership's privacy policy. By submitting this form, I authorize the dealer to begin a credit investigation, to process my application, and to forward my application to lenders, financial institutions, or third parties, in order to process my application."

 Our sales person reached out to the customer numerous times, gave his FICO score, and tried to be as informative and prompt as he could be. The accusations of "deceptive trade practices" are completely false.

The customer did not return calls to make an appointment to come in and speak with our sales person, which he made several attempts. Our sales person responded promptly to the lead the customer sent in, and gave him the information in a timely manner. The customer authorized Freeman Toyota to pull his FICO score, therefore, it is my firm belief that Freeman Toyota did everything we could to make this a positive experience for everybody involved.


Consumer Response: As the finance person covered, it was included in the warranty package. All the items in one package for the price that is included in the warranty cost that is in the sales contract clearly labeled. Just as we wrapped up the paperwork, he mentioned that I had those items covered but never mentioned it was a additional cost. 

Like you can see in the warranty contract package, it shows all the services covered at the price agreed on the first page. The contract does not mention any additional charges, it just falls into one price. A price agreed to since it shows it on the papers signed.

The overage or the charges that you claim are separate are not labeled anywhere on the contract and again were not itemized during the sale. I got the ad from autotrader showing a set price, got the warranty contract showing a set price leaving contract showing the cost of all warranty coverages and none mention any pre add-ons.

On my part, I see it as a typo on item 1 on the sales contract. On your part, you see it as a "pre add-ons" that were not labeled identifying separate costs anywhere in the contract. Just as a draft not even specifying an extra cost.

And like your previous messages, after a some issues noticed, I contacted both the salesman via e-mail a few times with no answer. GM (showing the price difference) with no answer. Even your location with lines disconnected or was no answer. From empty promises from the night of the sale to no action the day after, I am not dealing with that salesman anymore. Yes, both parties were satisfied at the end of the sale but after finding out this issue and prior ones, it all changed.

Bottom line, I am not satisfied. Next time, please inform your finance personnel and salesman to include and itemize all extra costs (pre and post charges) in the contract instead of word of mouth making it look like it is in a warranty package offered that it clearly shows all services included under one cost. 






Business Response:

Freeman Toyota values our customer's feed back whether it is positive or negative, and we will continuously strive to improve and obtain customer satisfaction.

 

Consumer Response:
I guess this matter will stay unresolved. Thank you BBB for trying to help. May others take notice when dealing with this company.





Consumer Response:
Since they are not willing to do anything, I want to cancel the services that they added without my consent. The paperwork they submitted does not show itemized items and made it look like it was part of the warranty package that I bought. The key loss and road hazard protection. Got the paperwork with the warranty package and none is noted to be a "front end" item.







Business Response:

Every product needs to be approved by the customer before it is added, and I attached signed contracts verifying the customers agreement to the terms. Clearly there was a misunderstanding, but Freeman Toyota is a very reputable company and it is not our intent to deceive our customers. When our Finance manager went over all the terms of warranties and products, everyone was in agreement and the customer signed the documents. If the customer wishes to cancel products, he can do so by contacting the Finance Department.

 

Consumer Response:

The issue here is not that the contract was signed. It is the fact that some items were charged without my consent from the initial price agreed. Look at the warranty package; It shows contract A-2893459 and EGMD 60430007. Both packages at a rate of $1,807.52 that I signed and agreed to it. It is an 11 page package that includes all the services.

I got the same contract that you included showing the discrepancy.

I want to make sure you send me the cancellation paperwork to recover the $371.31 in services not mentioned anywhere in the contract. I already have the cancellation forms for $1,807.52

And I say it again, the finance manager went over the terms of the warranty including all services for $1807.52 disregarding the $371.31 charge.

So one last time, send me the cancellation form for the $371.31 so we can finally close this issue. We both know I don't have to be there. E-mail or include the forms on your response.







1/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid down $5k on a $12 k vehicle.Finance person said banks apr is 15.9 percent. We informed him apr was too high. He said to bring down the apr I could buy extended warranty on the car and that would bring our apr down to 10 percent and we could cancel this extended warranty after making 3 payments and still keep 10 percent apr moving forward. We did what the finance person told us. We called him after 3 months and supposedly he cancelled our warranty. Now this warranty cost was added to our loan payment and still has not been removed from the total amount . I called the finance guy and he said he cancelled the warranty but the other department is suppose to send the paperwork to cancel the warranty. This car got in a car wreck and we owe money on the car because warranty is still tagged on the loan amount. Finance guy said this is all he could do i.e. call and cancel the warranty , that he said he did 3 months ago and gave us accounting department number to call and verify cancelation information. After calling the accounting department we were informed that warranty was never canceled and that we need to send proof that our car is declared totaled. We don't understand how this business functions and is it ethical for there employees to lie and do these sort of scams to make some extra money and follow these predatory practices ? Finance person name is David **** and the

Desired Settlement: We want to get this issue resolved about the warranty and get it off from our loan amount as was explained to us by finance person, David **** . We cancelled our warranty by calling him on end of September , after making 3 car payments as we were instructed to do so. He said it is cancelled back ithen and should be off our loan amount in a month to get all the paperwork done. We want what we were told and promised - cancel our warranty and pay bank the warranty money so our loan should decrease .

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

Our Warranty Clerk in Accounting was waiting on proof of total loss which she received on 12/24/15. Now that she has the needed information, she is able to process the cancellations for the vehicle. It is my firm belief that this complaint is in the process of having the customer's desired outcome, and it is just a matter of waiting while the necessary processes are carried out.

 

 

 


Consumer Response:  

Desired outcome should have happened 3 months ago. I called ***** **** after making 3 payments and canceling my warranty. This is what he instructed me to do so when I purchased the car from this dealership. So in October my loan payments should have gone down by $3200 then. 
After getting my car totaled I inquired my bank and they said they haven't received any check from the dealership for the said amount. Repeatedly I called ***** and he said he doesn't know why it is not yet canceled. Finally I got hold of warranty clerk person and she said I have to send her proof that the car is totaled. 
In all this I do not understand why this warranty wasn't canceled when it was supposed to and again we have to wait for the paperwork to clear and that could be weeks.
My family doesn't have a car and that I do understand is not dealership concern. But why do we have to wait for the warranty paperwork to process and then get this bank loan paid off. By the way I still have to make payments on this car because your dealership forgot to get our warranty canceled. Money from insurance should have been enough if it wasn't for this warranty.

Now our family is waiting for the warranty to clear and wait on dealership to do their job which it has so faithfully neglected by making their employees lie and deceive honest people.
Regards,






Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

Please find the proof of cancellations and the copies of the checks for the cancelled warranties that were sent to the lender. It is our goal to always have a positive experience at Freeman Toyota, and I believe that the desired settlement that the customer wanted has been met.

We appreciate all the feedback whether it be positive or negative, and we will always strive to do better. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly with any concerns.

 

"Desired Settlement:
We want to get this issue resolved about the warranty and get it off from our loan amount as was explained to us by finance person, David **** . We cancelled our warranty by calling him on end of September , after making 3 car payments as we were instructed to do so. He said it is cancelled back ithen and should be off our loan amount in a month to get all the paperwork done. We want what we were told and promised - cancel our warranty and pay bank the warranty money so our loan should decrease . "


12/4/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an '08 toyota forerunner from Freeman pre-owned at the end of july 2015. during financing I purchased the 36k mile or 36 month BUMPER to BUMPER warranty for $3,000. In the process it was expressly stated that this was a NEW vehicle warranty and that because the lienholder was treating this as a BRAND NEW vehicle my financing rate was 6% instead of 12%. 3 weeks later I took the suv through a carwash and it leaked all over me. Next week I took it to the service dept. They told me if I bought it at pre-owned I needed to take it there, which I did, only to find they did'nt have a service dept. yet. I spoke with a man there who was rude telling me to"Let the paperwork settle". I waited a month and took it back having run it through the wash again to make sure I had properly closed it the first time. I spoke with my sales person who assured me it would be covered. I asked how to use the warranty. He wasn't sure but said to call the number on the brochure, which was only the main # to the dealership. Next week I went there and no one could tell me how to use it. They were busy and I got tired of waiting on a service advisor. 2 weeks later having read the original warranty paperwork, I took it back to service, and immediatley got it in to be checked, only to learn that indeed the seal around the sunroof was malformed but it was NOT covered under my warranty. My salesman made an attempt at one sunroof company who said the whole thing needed to be replaced. Basically I'm out of luck.

Desired Settlement: Have the roof repaired at Freeman's expense.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern: The customer's complaint has been investigated. I have uploaded his warranty to where he has signed as acknowledgement. The warranty covers high tech part which includes the sunroof in regards to the motor and switch. I have highlighted the sections below where the warranty discusses the seals and gaskets: (page 3 of the warranty) "Seals and Gaskets coverage included only if your vehicle's odometer reads less than 80,000 miles on contract purchase date. Minor loss of fluid is considered normal and is not considered a mechanical break down." The customer purchased the vehicle with 104723 miles on it, so the warranty does not cover the seals. It is my firm belief that the warranty itself will determine that Freeman Toyota is not liable for the customer's repairs. Best Regards, ****** ***** ******* ****** *** ** **** *** ****** ** *****

Consumer Response:
Freeman's response does not even address the complaint.  In fact that response only validates my claim that they totally misrepresented the warranty. I was told it was a BRAND NEW VEHCLE WARRANTY,BUMPER TO BUMPER. If a brand new vehicle had a leaky seal it would be repaired at no charge. When it leaks it is going to damage the switch and possibly the motor, which will not be covered because I did not repair the leak. The back window seal is completley missing. It has motors and switches as well.  This vehicle should have been inspected and tested before being sold. I have attached my my complete documentation for my warranty that I received at sale.  The bottom line is Freeman lied about the warranty.  It is NOT a brand new vehicle, bumper to bumper warranty.if it has restrictions other than abuse. Why wasn't I given a copy of the warranty?  Perhaps it's because I may not have spent $3000 for it! Reread the complaint!

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

Freeman Toyota stands by the warranty that was sold. The customer signed warranty as acknowledgement that he agreed and understood the terms of the warranty. Normal ware and tear of a vehicle is not covered under the warranty, and the dealership is not liable for repairs of the seals around the sunroof. The vehicles is question has over 100K miles on it, so it is reasonable to have some sort of ware and tear on the seals.

 I have attached the product waiver that the customer signed explaining that he received a full explanation of how the warranty worked, as well as a signed due bill stating that Freeman Toyota had nothing else promised (services/repairs) as far as the vehicle purchase went.

 It is my firm belief that Freeman Toyota is not responsible for any repairs to the complainant's vehicle repairs.

 

 

11/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have a problem with the way they wrote the contract that was not correct. And try to get us for 500 dollars that was not on the contract. They will now not answer out phone calls. No one will talk to us or help resolve the problem. They are not helpful at all. They have our money $500 and it is not in the contract.

Desired Settlement: Them to write a new contract and take the $500 off.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

I am unable to find a car deal in reference to the date you have provided. The last known vehicle purchased by the given name was December 12, 2009 and it was a 2010 Toyota Tundra. Please provide either the VIN number or the name the vehicle was purchased under so I may have sufficient information to look into this complaint.

 

11/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: a year ago I leased a 2011 truck, I was involved in a hit and run and when I took the truck to return it as it was my 3rd year and it was due, I asked Toyota if i should fix it with a different company or if they have a shop to fix it, they said that they have a shop and that they will provide me with an estimate. They called me a couple days later and they charged me 700+ which i still have on my credit card statement from back than. They took my truck and i leased another truck off the lot and they told me that there is nothing else due, that everything looks great. I didn't receive anything i was not contacted for anything else. When i went to purchase my house in 2014 Quicken loans told me that on my credit report it shows that from Toyota i did not make a payment for 3 months which is dropping my credit score by almost 100 pts. After calling them and sending them letters they finally sent me a letter that Quicken loans used an exception because i work for them to qualify me for the mortgage. Now that i am trying to refinance my house to lower my payment Quicken loans wont allow it because it is showing bad on my credit report. this is really frustrating and i am never going to lease another vehicle from Toyota, i have been a loyal costumer for more than 5 years and this is how i have been treated. No one wants to give me answer and i built my credit report and i have never done anything to hurt it, and now i have Toyota dropping my credit score and no one wants to answer to it at all

Desired Settlement: Please remove the false allegation that they have on my credit report. As i paid the amount for the repair that they needed and i should not be jeopardize for something that was wrongly accused of me. I had my payments on Auto pay there is no way that i didn't make my payments it would go through, and when i spoke to them they told me that is not the issue. so why do they have it on my credit report like that hurting me when that is now what it was.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

Please verify which Toyota Dealership the vehicle in question was purchased or the name the vehicle was purchased under. I am not able to pull up any information regarding the vehicle under the name given. I wish to resolve this issue in a timely manner, but I need more information.


Best Regards,

****** *****

Executive Assistant

Freeman Toyota


 

Consumer Response: Hello 

The Toyota lease was under my name ******* ***** and it was a 2011 Toyota I leased the vehicle from Toyota store on telegraph road in michigan. ***** ************* *********** ** ****** If you want to contact me for further details please feel free ************ I really don't want anything other than them removing their false accusation of my not making 3 payments on my car when it was not that. I want my credit score to go back to what it was so that I can refinance my house. I made the mistake of leading again from Toyota but I know better now and I will take my leading services somewhere else where they appreciate my timely automatic payments

Please help me it is very important to refinance my house and I can't do that until that is removed off and I know that it is false because Toyota sent me a letter saying that it was not for non payment than why put it that way 




Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

I am unable to respond to the claim as it is not against our dealership. We are located in Hurst, Texas with no affiliation to the dealership in Michigan. If you wish to file a BBB claim, it should be against the dealer you leased your truck through.


Best Regards,

****** *****

******* ************  *** ** **** *** *****  **  ***** 

Consumer Response: hello 

Please advise I was unable to find that dealership on the list can you please advise on how I am able to locate them or if you can assist in this matter 

11/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I worked with a salesman for several days to agree upon a price for a car. We had arranged for me to pick up the care that evening but when I arrived I was told the car had been sold and that was the only one they had. "Thanks for coming in."

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a comparable car (I have the print out of the car we had agreed upon) at the price ( I have a text of the agreed upon price) that we agreed upon.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

I received a phone call concerning this complaint around 8:00am this morning, and the customer left a message. I promptly called the customer back to try and discuss her concerns and I left a voicemail. I do not have any information as to where to start addressing this complaint because I do not have enough information to go on. Please provide a sales name or the make/model of vehicle desired.

 

 


10/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Freeman Toyota to buy a vehicle thought the buying process everything was fine I purchased the car even went with a different lender albecause the finance manager said he could give us a better rate with toyota financial and within a year we could get a better apr (mind you we had approved financing with capital one ) we went ahead and took financing what we thought was Toyota financial with finance manager ****** ******** like he said because what other options they offered we gave him the benefit of the doubt and trusted in him . But then to find out he couldn't even give us a courtsey call and let us know that Toyota didn't approve us and just get another lender and not let us know anything . We called him today 9.21.15 spoke to him and he was rude about the situation asking why we didn't get a call and he said sorry I didn't have time and we sell 8000- 9000 a month so was to busy to call and let us know I advised him we didn't want the other lender but only went with Toyota bc of the options he offered to us mind he kept arguing and with saying well we had the right to so we did it to keep you in your car didn't apologize .my husband got on the phone with him and told him hey we signed with bc of what offered and couldn't give us a call and was rude to him by telling its out of my hands I can't do anything for you and you can just take a repo if you don't want that loan very bad customer service don't apologize or even try to help Us in anyway and just down right rude over the phone didn't care he was jus trying to make a sale .

Desired Settlement: I want the dealer to either get financed thru Toyota or flat cancel my loan and I will return the vehicle with no problem . I felt lied too

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

Customer satisfaction is top priority at Freeman Toyota. Thank you for your input as it is very valuable to us.

 I spoke with our finance manager mentioned in the complaint, and he advised that the customer came in with a preapproval from Capital One at 10%. He told them we could get a better rate through Toyota, which they offered a 9.8%, but EECU offered a 7.5% so her got the lowest percent offered and reassigned the contract from Toyota to EECU .   

The desired resolution is to be contracted through Toyota or to be let out of the contract entirely. It seems to be at the customers best interest to stay with the better interest rate through EECU.

As far as the customer service complaint, the issue has been brought to the Finance Director's attention, and will be discussed.

I want to thank you again for your input regarding your vehicle purchase.

 

8/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I leased a Camry on 4/15/2015. The price was agreed upon. The closing costs were estimated since the car was driven to and titled in Missouri. As it turned out the closing costs ended up being about $300 less than estimated at the time of the lease. Freeman says that those costs were part of the cost of the vehicle. They are retaining the difference between their (incorrect) estimate and actual costs.

Desired Settlement: Freeman to provide a list of how my check for $3072 in closing costs was distributed with specific amounts for specific expenditures. I have a list of how they anticipated using that cash on April 15th. Those closing costs included a first month payment of $199. for the lease, nothing towards the agreed upon price for the car. Since the original purchase date Freeman lowered the lease cost to $149 monthly plus a monthly sales tax charge. I was not aware they did that until after the fact. It was not something I asked for but have since expressed my willingness to pay for it. Based on my calculations there is $300. unaccounted for, and since I paid $3072 cash in closing on the 15th, I believe that amount should be refunded to me.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

The down payment in question was applied to Mr. ****' loan. Several of our employees have reached out to Mr. **** to explain to him how the money was allocated in his car deal. Our Finance Director, Business Manager, Sales Manager, his Sales Representative, and Toyota Financial Services have tried to explain to him that Freeman Toyota applied his down payment to his loan and do not owe him any money. Freeman Toyota issued a check in the amount of $400.00 on 6/19/2015 as an extended offer of apology to resolve the confusion with the customer's lease. Mr. **** has opened up three different cases with Toyota Financial Services to which all have been closed showing no wrong doing on our part. It is my belief that  Freeman Toyota has done everything possible to resolve this complaint. I have attached the contract showing the down payment was put toward the lease as well as a copy of the check that was issued.

 

 

 

 

  

Consumer Response: I truly appreciate your handling this matter for me, and also appreciate ******'s response. Unfortunately she must not have all the facts.



Business Response: From the BBB: The documentation is attached. 

Business Response:

I have spoken with our Finance Director, our General Sales Manager, the Finance Manager who handled the deal, Mr. ****' sales person, and reviewed his paperwork. I indeed do have all of the facts regarding this matter.  I have attached the contract which shows a break down of how the down payment was put towards the customer's loan and a check that Freeman Toyota gave to the customer in the amount of $400.00. This is above the desired settlement Mr. **** is requesting, and it is my belief that nothing is owed to the customer.  

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Thank you for mediating my complaint against Freeman Toyota. Allow me to respond to what their representative said.

1) I have a letter from their salesman saying "no down payment was required for the car".
2) I have a document from Freeman specifying how and for what amount of money my cash for closing costs of $3074 would be used.
3) Freeman's administrator brilliantly crafted a smokescreen intended to imply that I was a chronic complainer with no grounds for filing a complaint. I in fact contacted Toyota on four specific occasions: The first from the County Courthouse because TFS had not provided sufficient information for the car to be titled in Missouri; the second requesting a 4 or 5 digit code so that the DMV could license the leased vehicle without charging me additional sales tax above what was required in Missouri; The third occasion was to complain about Freeman not returning excess monies from my closing cost payment in the $3074. check. That called resulted in my being transferred to various departments in TFS, with the conclusion that because Toyota didn't have all the documents they couldn't resolve the issue and therefore I would have to settle the issue with Freeman. My fourth occasion for contacting TFS was to get permission to put a handicapped license plate on a vehicle leased by TFS.

 I never suggested, inquired or asked about prepaying a portion of the lease. That was something contrived by Freeman's Finance Department manager and the salesman. I received a phone call a month after the purchase was completed telling me that the lease cost was being reduced from $199 to $149 plus monthly sales tax. Nothing was said about how that reduction was financially achieved.

It seems very strange that Freeman appears unwilling or unable to provide a document specifically spelling out how my closing cost payment of $3074 was actually used, not just for what it was used but including individual costs. Were that done it would prove I am stilled owed $300.

******* ****




Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

The amount of down payment went towards the loan. The contract I have attached in regards to this claim breaks it down. The money in question was applied to the loan, therefore the lease payment went down roughly $50.00. (payment went from $199 to $149) Freeman Toyota does not owe any money to the customer. Freeman Toyota issued a check to the customer in the amount of $400.00 which the customer was happy with, and seemed satisfied with the result at the time. It is my belief that concerns regarding this complaint have been made very clear, and Freeman Toyota does not owe the customer any more money.

 

Consumer Response: The contract referred to was not attached to this response. How can I bring it up?

******* ****




5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I leased a 2014 Toyota Camry in August of 2014. Two months later I had to take it in because of a nauseating moldy/mildew smell coming from the air conditioner. I was told at the time that "Camry's are known for that issue". The unit was cleaned but I was told it was only a temporary fix. When I turned the air on this spring, the smell was back even worse than before. When I called the service department I was told there was nothing they could do to fix the issue. I called Toyota and was told they're stance was that it was an "environmental issue". Freeman Toyota should stand behind their cus***er satisfaction claim and either fix the problem or replace the car.

Desired Settlement: All I want is a car that I can drive that doesn't stink. Really not a lot to ask. My wife can't even drive the car because of her allergies.

Business Response:

On 5/1/15 the cus***er spoke to our CRM ***** ****** and she offered to have his interior cleaned as well as his A/C system cleaned out, but the cus***er declined the offer. On 5/1/15 the cus***er also spoke with our Service Manager *** ******* *n regards to his complaint, and *** explained that the musky smell was do to an atmospheric condition due to Texas' hot and humid weather.  The Texas weather being so hot and humid causes the AC condenser to collect condensation causing it to sometimes temporarily omit a musky smell once the AC has been turned on due to the fact that modern cars are sealed so well. *** advised some recommendations to the cus***er to help with the issue. It is Freeman Toyota's goal to resolve cus***er complaints in a timely fashion, please contact me directly for further assistance.

 

Business Response:

I would like to start off by saying that the offer to have your car's interior and A/C system cleaned still stands. An A/C evaporator cleaning service annually or biannually can help reduce the odor. I want to offer a better explanation of what is going on with your vehicle. Vehicle may exhibit naturally occurring odors from the HVAC system related to environmental factors such as high temperatures and humidity. Odors emitted from the A/C system are a normal characteristic of au***otive A/C systems, and it is normal to experience odor upon the initial start up due to the moist/humid air that is trapped in the HVAC system after the vehicle has been parked. As previously discussed with our Service manager *** *******, he suggested that when you park you car in the garage at night, that you leave the windows cracked to allow the moisture in the car a chance to dry out. This will help reduce the musky smell you experience. Also, at our cost, we installed a high performance charcoal filter in your vehicle. This procedure does not eliminate the odor, but it does reduce. Also, if you set the HVAC system to the outside (fresh) air mode when parking the vehicle, this assists in the reduction of odors that could be trapped HVAC system. I want to reiterate, this problem persists in most makes and models of vehicles, it is not only a Toyota problem.  It is due to the high temperature and humidity in Texas' atmosphere. There is nothing that can be done to eliminate this problem, but there are things you can do to reduce it, which we have accommodated. I hope this explanation is helpful in the understanding of what is causing the musky odor in the HVAC system in your vehicle. I have also attached some literature on the HVAC system for a better understanding of the issue.

3/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Freeman Toyota, spoke to a sales rep who referred me to a finance manager who worked my credit and other questions on phone and by email from 2/23/15 to 3/5/14 when I eventually went to the dealership. I was told they could get me in a new camry actually suggested I get a new camry it would be my best option with giving my trade in and staying at the same payments. I told them I had no money down to give. Last converstion I had a deal they worked out and to come and see them. Arriving I could not speak the original rep I had been speaking to they asked if I could speak to an alternate. I told him what had transpired between me and ****** *****, and ****** the finance manager. And tha the finance manager was on a cruise and someone else would handle this. He said to test drive the car, I did and liked it. I was there almost 3 hours and he came back and told me I needed 4000 down and they would take my trade in but since I owed 19,000 on my 2009 Yukon they would only give me $15,000. The yukon is in excellent condition in and out but they depreciated it to 15,000 not fair. I wasted my time with the dealership and when I sent Aaron an email he brushed me off. I think their service is extremely dishoneset and rude. I would not recommend them to anyone else as they are not friendly after they cannot help you.

Desired Settlement: And to treat customers with honesty and respect. Now, when we walked in it was all that but after contacting ***** *****, sales rep again by email explaining I didn't get the service I assumed I was going to get he wrote me a rude letter explaing the best time to buy a vehicle is in February I wanted till the first week of march and they could not honor any more incentives. I waited 5 days too long. How can that be??? If I had gone in February I guess I would have been driving a new camry with no down, and same payments I have been giving to GMC Yukon. And I guess the appraised value would have been better. NOT NICE!

Business Response:

 

I want to take the time to apologize for your experience at Freeman Toyota. It is our standard to strive for the best customer service satisfaction. I want to address the issue of buying the car in February versus buying in March. Toyota offered great tax credits in February that would have helped lower the car payment by $40-$50 dollars per monthly payment, but those incentives expired by March 1st. Freeman Toyota does not control when the incentives expire. ***** ***** had numerous email correspondence with you going back and forth with you between a Highlander and a Camry, and to keep your payment as close to the $460 range you would need to put down a down payment. I understand the frustration with dealing with different sales associates, and not getting your desired outcome. I also apologize that you didn't get to work a deal with your original salesman. Also, I want to apologize for the disagreement regarding your trade in value. It is our standard practice to offer fair trade in values for vehicles that are fair to both parties, the customer and the dealership. I want to offer my apologies again for your overall experience, and I want to reiterate that this is not standard practice for Freeman Toyota. Please contact me in the future if you have any more area of concern regarding Freeman Toyota.

 

 

12/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon review of finance documents, there is a discrepancy on the total amount financed that I would like cleared up. The final price after trade-in evaluation was $13.9K "out-the-door". However, after review the fol is found: WARRANTY $1,552.00 GAP INS $575.00 SUBTTL $2,127.00 AMT FINANCED $16,745.29 SALE PRICE $14,618.29 AGREED OTD PRICE $13,879.85 DIFFERENCE $738.44 $14,618.29 was not the agreed total price for the car: the original "out-the-door" (OTD) price was $12,963.66 (11DEC14); on 17DEC14, Freeman Toyota adjusted the trade-in, making the new OTD price $13,879.85, leaving a $738.44 difference. Sent email via Freeman Toyota "Contact Us" link on site. This complaint is filed for formal record of discrepancy and departure from agreement between customer and sales rep. Awaiting response from second email to resolve discrepancy.

Desired Settlement: Revise finance documents to reflect agreed-upon "out the door" sale price of vehicle (appx $13.9K).

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

In response to Ms. *******'s concerns regarding car deal ****** concerning to her 2011 Honda Accord, I have contacted the finance producer Wesley Gerhardt and her sales person Scott Bolin. They are working together to re-contract Ms. *******'s car deal to the negotiated price. It is my goal to see this complaint resolved in a timely manner, and that all parties are satisfied with the outcome.

 

 

4/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ***** ***** signed paperwork finalizing the sale of a 2010 Jeep wrangler sport, and left with the vehicle only to find out three weeks later that the financing fell through and I was told I must sign a new contract with my husband as a cosigner. I have not yet gone to freeman Toyota because I fear I have been a victim of deception from my salesman, and finance specialist. (salesman: ***** , and financial specialist ***** ******* ) My contract clearly states that everything in it is valid, and if one part of the contract becomes invalid everything else in the contract will stay valid. To put my husbands name on the note is changing much more than the finance company. We (my husband and I ) went to this dealership together and noted that we would finance the vehicle together weather he was the main buyer or myself. The salesman pushed for us to only use my name, and now 3 weeks later we are being considerably forced to complete this kind of paper work after creating a legally binding contract with Toyota motor credit corporation seems incredibly unlawful,

Desired Settlement: I would like whomever is responsible for this contract to complete the agreement exactly as it is written or forfeit rights to the car and mail me the title.

Business Response:

*** ***** attempted to buy a 2010 JEEP WRANGLER from us (Freeman Toyota) Nov. 26, 2013. The information she provided regarding her job and income turn out to be insufficient for what the bank required so a request was made by the bank to include a co buyer and they (AmeriCredit) would honor the same qualification given earlier.  We called *** ***** and explain the situation to her and she claimed after talking with her husband that it would be ok to include him in the purchase. They proceeded by giving us all is relevant credit information of which we relayed to the bank and the approval was reinstated. After several attempts to get the ******* to return to the dealership to sign new paperwork we offer to send the paperwork vial Fed ex.  They said no and made new appointments that were also broken.  Finally, we discovered that their reason for breaking their appointments and commitment to cooperate was due to the fact that they bought another Jeep in Hillsboro, TX and abandoned our vehicle at the other dealership. Hope this help explains the facts of claim.

10/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April of this year my wife and I leased a car from Freeman Toyota and were told during the process (several times) that Freeman would pay us $100 for referrals that led to the purchase of an automobile. We referred my granddaughter and her fiancé, who bought a car the same day that we leased one. To date I have not received the $100 that was promised, even though I have contacted them several times to remind them. On Saturday, July 20th, I spoke (in person) to the Sales Manager, ****** *******, about the $100 that we were due. He took down all of my contact information and said that they would issue a check by Tuesday, July 23rd. I have not yet received the check, and my guess is that once again they are not living up to their sales promises.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Freeman Toyota to live up to their sales promises and deliver a check for $100 to me

9/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I leased a 2010 Corolla August 7th, 2010. When I leased the car there were a few addons sold (LoJack, prepaid maintainence, and an additional warranty). The additional warranty is the piece that I have an issue with. Now that my lease is over, I was purchasing a new vehicle and was alerted that on my previous lease (with Freeman Toyota) I was charged $1971 for a 36 month warranty when the car already had a 36 month manufacture warranty. I and my fiance have contacted the dealership several times starting 6/17/13 with email, phone call, and instant message chat. After not recieving the promised callback on more than one occasion my fiance and myself contacted the dealership by phone. The explanations involved tactics of missdirection. The finance department kept refering to the prepaid maintainence and how it was utilized. When questioned about how the prepaid maintainence was relevant to the additional warranty sold the finace department insisted the prepaid maiantaince was part of the warranty. When I was able to reference a seperate charge and receipt for prepaid maintaince outside of the warranty the tactic changed to cutting me off mid sentence when I was asking questions and repeating that "I had signed for the warranty". Other tactics when trying to understand why I was sold a warranty on top of an existing warranty repeatedly revolved around cutting me off mid sentence and repeating that I had signed for the warranty. My experience has been that the dealership is highly agressive with there sales tactics and I was sold a warranty on top of an existing warranty for an exorbitant price through inappropriate high pressure sales tactics.

Desired Settlement: Please refund the $1971 for the Olympicare warranty which covers 36 months (the same as the manufacture warranty). Please speak with my fiance (Jason Gross) if you have additional questions as I am too frustrated to talk with you further.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

                This response is regarding a complaint “account # *******” lodged by ******** ******* regarding the selling practices of Freeman Toyota.  I contacted ***** ***** per the request of Ms. ******** ******* who was totally frustrated with her purchase experience.  Following an extensive conversation with Mr. *****, I believe we both arrived at the conclusion that Ms. ********* frustration grew out of mis i-nformation and mis-statements by people without the knowledge of what occurred during the sales transaction.

                First Ms. ******* was told by another salesman at another dealership that her willingness to see value in the extended service plan offered her by Freeman Toyota with her purchase was a duplication of something that she already had.  Once Mr. ***** was informed of the true nature of the enhanced service policy that was offered to Ms. *******, he too saw the value it represented and the reason Ms. ******* saw the value and decided to purchase at the time of the sale.

                Secondly, the person that spoke with Ms ******* regarding her complaint could have done a better job in explaining the difference between what she received from the factory in warranty guarantees and the enhanced value she purchased thru her service contract and reminded her of the value it represented then and now.  If so, she may have been able to see there was no ill tempered sales practice as Mr. ***** discovered.  I assured Mr. ***** that the person would be admonished for his behavior so this type of unnecessary complaints would not occur again for our customer’s who may find themselves in this same predicament in the future.

                I ended my conversation with Mr. ***** by stating that we were not in a position to refund him for the cost of the service plan because time and distance had expired for which he understood and agreed and I told him that I appreciated his time and understanding in this matter and I apologized to him for the inadequate response to his concerns by the afore mentioned finance personnel.    

Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter.

 

8/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company misplaced the down payment. Our car was financed through Skopos financial. We got a call from a general investigator stating the car dealer filed a writ of sequestration and lied and said they were unable to get the car financed and we refused to return the vehicle (this was after we had already made our first payment to the finance company). The general investigator then calls back and leaves a message stating that the car dealer and their attorney had made an error and were not going to pursue the writ. A few days later I get off work and the car is gone, the car lot had taken the car from my job. They no longer own the car, the car has been purchased and financed. My husband calls the finance "specialist" and the guy says he wanted to get his attention. The finance specialist never gave us the loan paperwork and did not allow us to keep a copy of the contract for ourselves. They then took possession of a car that they no longer own and attempted to charge us a fee for towing it from my place of employment. This company i s dirty and their tactics are disturbing. They raised the price of the car without us knowing due to not having been given a copy of the sales contract.

Desired Settlement: This company need to quit contacting my husband and I. They have attorneys and I don't feel its fair that they bully the little guys. They raised the price of the vehicle without providing us (my husband and I) any paperwork. They also call my husbands work cell phone non stop.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

                On May 4, 2013 Freeman Toyota and ******* *********** entered into a Purchase Agreement for a 2009 Toyota Camry.  A tentative finance qualification was made *** ************* behalf with ****** Financial Services subject to the following conditions:

Customer must have proof of income, proof of residence, valid Texas Drivers License and $2500 down payment.  The customers were allowed to take possession of the vehicle under the agreement that all these stipulations would be satisfied at the point of the sale. 

                The customers did not have a check for the down payment and were allowed to return on May 6 to bring down payment checks. Upon their return on Monday, May 6, *** ***** returned with two worthless counter checks which are still in the possession of Freeman Toyota. *** ***** was informed that the checks were unacceptable because they were temporary checks and he promised he would return on Friday with cashier’s checks for the down payment.

                Neither Mr. nor Mrs. ***** returned the following Friday with the funds for the down payment and both over the next several weeks repeatedly promised to bring the down payment.  Subsequently, the contract was sent to SKOPUS Financial for final approval.  SKPOUS Financial interviewed the ***** and funded the sales contract with Freeman Toyota based on their conversation with the Buyers.  In this customer interview, the Buyer must disclose an acceptance of a sales price, acceptance of the payment, an acknowledgement of the down payment before the creditor will fund the contract.  All of these stipulations were agreed to by the ***** prior to the contract funding.

                Once the funding of the contract was received by Freeman Toyota the customer was notified that this contract is not valid until the down payment was received.  The customers made and broke promises to the finance specialist and both pre-owned sales managers on several occasions.  The finance specialist spoke with *** ***** on one final attempt and stated if the down payment was not provided by June 1, 2013 Freeman Toyota would return funds to the finance source and repossess our vehicle.  Customers refused to accept any further calls and make the down payment good.  Freeman Toyota reimbursed SKOPUS Financial for proceeds derived from the cashing of the sales contract and hired a repossession company to retrieve our vehicle.  The vehicle was repossessed and returned to Freeman Toyota.

                Once the vehicle was in the possession of Freeman Toyota the vehicle was unlawfully taken from Freeman Toyota’s property by purchaser.  The Hurst Police Department was contacted and issued a stolen vehicle report which notified all officers.  The vehicle recovered in a horrible condition and Freeman Toyota paid all towing fees for both recoveries of this vehicle.  Freeman Toyota declined to prosecute buyers because Freeman’s only intention was the completion of a normal auto sales transaction and complete customer satisfaction.  However, as you have discovered from the proceedings comments, it takes more than one party to make this transaction work. 

Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Freeman Toyota/Scion
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart