Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Frank Kent Cadillac

Phone: (817) 989-4400 Fax: (817) 989-4504 View Additional Phone Numbers 3500 W Loop 820 S, Fort Worth, TX 76116 http://www.frankkentcadillac.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Frank Kent Cadillac meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Frank Kent Cadillac include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Frank Kent Cadillac
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1940 Business started: 01/01/1935 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1935 Business incorporated 08/09/2000 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 465-4129
The number is P6898.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Will Churchill, Co-Owner Ms. Corrie Watson, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Will Churchill, Co-Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Frank Kent Motors Co
Industry Tips
Automobile sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Frank Kent Cadillac has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3500 W Loop 820 S

    Fort Worth, TX 76116 (817) 989-4400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing this due to the lack of responsibility from Frank Kent Cadillac Fort Worth Tx. I had my car towed in to the dealership on or around May 6th, 2014 for problems that I was having with my 2006 Cadillac CTS. I was having problems with the car shifting into Drive and making a noise and hard backlash, I first took it to a repair location that I know close by my house and had them look at it and tell me it was the bushing in the rear differential assembly in which they fixed did take away the noise completely however it still had a backlash that I knew was not suppose to be there so I decided to have it towed to Frank Kent Cadillac for them to find the problem. I talked with my service advisor and described I had another service place repair the bushing however its still having a backlash when shifting into drive so after a few days of them having the car the advisor called me back to tell me that the mechanic found that the differential was in need of replacement which was going to be about $1,000 for the part and about another $700 for install. The installer wrote on the invoice the following “Had rear DIff bushing replaced elsewhere still makes noise when put in gear Check engine light on- RPM REV up to 3000 Test Drove to check for noise. Could feel rear diff hitting hard when shifting. Raised and inspected rear diff appears to have excessive backlash causing excessive slack in drive line and over torqueing of pinion and ring gear. No excessive gear noise heard during test drive. Advised needs rear diff also DTCS P0300-306 Advised engine oil low and could hear timing chain rattle Advised needs timing chain repair and rear diff assembly. No work done at this time” I told the advisor that I needed to think what I was going to do since I had paid another location for already working on this area that now cadillac is saying is the problem, I then went to the mechanic who charged me to replace bushing and he told me that if I buy the differential assembly then he will not charge me to put it in since he already had worked on it, he offered me to buy it at a Chevrolet dealership were he has an account so I could pay a little less since it was so much so I bought a brand new rear differential assembly at ****** ****** of Fort Worth as his account was there, the part was $860.59 . The mechanic installed it in the car and once it was done he informed me that it was doing the exact same thing it was before and was not the rear differential assembly! I then tried to contact my advisor however it was saturday and she was off so contacted her on monday and she asked to have me bring it in. I brought the car back to Frank Kent Cadillac of Fort Worth and after a few days of them having it she called to tell me that the transmission is the issue, I told her that I was very upset because they advised me on needing to repair my rear differential assembly and it was not the problem at all because it did not change the problem at all so she told me that her service manager would contact me. After waiting for a call and did not receive I decided to call and speak with the service manager ****, I explained to him that I understand that Frank Kent did not install the Rear differential assembly however I was advised by what Im being told 1 of 168 certified mechanics across the country that the rear differential assembly was the issue that they diagnosed when I brought it in, he told me that he specifically looked at my car and told the service mechanic and the advisor to put in the notes that it may be a transmission problem as well, I told him that my advisor never mentioned that it could be my transmission and it WAS NOT WRITTEN ON MY INVOICE AT ALL. I asked him if he understood why I would be upset buying a part that they said was bad and it turn out to not be the problem at all and he said yes I can understand and they should have put that it could be the transmission possibly too. He said he would offer to look at the prices for the transmission and help me on the price since my trouble, he then called me back about 4 hours later and gave me a quote for about $4,300. I would have never have spent $860 on a part that I was not sure would fix it and I was told that this was the problem and regardless if I would have installed it myself or had someone else install it, the certified mechanic was sure that it was the rear differential assembly and said nothing at all about the transmission. I only had the other place install it because they had done the work prior and said he would not charge me to put it in if I bought the part however Frank Kent would have charged me to install it which is understandable however I am out $860 due to the lack of information given to me about the other possible problem with my car. I expect when a highly certified trained mechanic diagnosis my vehicle and charges me to do so and then tells me that the rear differential needs to be repaired because that is why I am having the problem that it fixes that problem, it did not change the problem once so ever.

Desired Settlement: To speak with the owner of this establishment to better my consumer experience by providing a solution.

Business Response:

The car in question has been brought to us on two different occasions to help diagnosis problems and then removed from our shop so repairs could be performed elsewhere, as stated by the customer. The diagnosis of a rear differential repair was the best diagnosis we could make without spending additional time and the customers money to take apart both the rear differential and the open up the transmission, additional expense the client was not willing to accept. The client then had the repair done elsewhere which did not totally fix the their issue. Had the service been performed at our facility and we deemed the rear differential was not the cause, then they would not have been responsible for the cost of the parts or labor. Since they decided to have their "mechanic" work on it then he should not charge them for the parts and return them to his supplier.

The client did not ask for us to refund the fee the paid for diagnosis in this complaint, but we have already done this prior to receiving the complaint from the BBB. When you are dealing with a car that is eight years old and has over 100,000 miles it is tough to give exact diagnosis without spending ample money to look at all the moving parts. You would think that the mechanic who was actually was performing all the repair work could give a better diagnosis and solution. We stand behind the fact that the rear differential was not operating as designed and now the transmission plays a role in the customers initial complaint aswell.

We understand the customers feelings, but when you are having one company diagnosis issues without the full authority to do a complete diagnosis and then having a totally different organization do the repairs, this is typically the result. The situation is only exacerbated when the vehicle is aged and has over 100,000 miles on it, both of which this situation falls into. We have thoroughly looked into the situation, refunded the money the customer spent with Frank Kent Cadillac (even though the diagnosis was not inaccurate), and feel we have done more than necessary to address the situation. We know that this does not fix the overall issue that the problem is far greater than their mechanic and our team initially anticipated, but that is beyond our responsibility.

2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Frank Kent Cadillac
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart