BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Frank Kent Cadillac?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Frank Kent Cadillac

Phone: (817) 989-4400 Fax: (817) 989-4504 View Additional Phone Numbers 3500 West Loop 820 South, Fort Worth, TX 76116 http://www.frankkentcadillac.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Frank Kent Cadillac meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Frank Kent Cadillac include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Frank Kent Cadillac
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1940 Business started: 01/01/1935 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1935 Business incorporated: 08/09/2000 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78761
https://www.txdmv.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 302-2162
The license number is P6898.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Will Churchill, Co-Owner Ms. Corrie Watson, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Will Churchill, Co-Owner
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Alternate Business Names
Frank Kent Motors Co
Industry Tips
Automobile sales

Additional Locations

  • 3500 West Loop 820 South

    Fort Worth, TX 76116 (817) 989-4400 (817) 696-4000

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (817) 696-4000(Phone)
  • (866) 614-4685(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing this due to the lack of responsibility from Frank Kent Cadillac Fort Worth Tx. I had my car towed in to the dealership on or around May 6th, 2014 for problems that I was having with my 2006 Cadillac CTS. I was having problems with the car shifting into Drive and making a noise and hard backlash, I first took it to a repair location that I know close by my house and had them look at it and tell me it was the bushing in the rear differential assembly in which they fixed did take away the noise completely however it still had a backlash that I knew was not suppose to be there so I decided to have it towed to Frank Kent Cadillac for them to find the problem. I talked with my service advisor and described I had another service place repair the bushing however its still having a backlash when shifting into drive so after a few days of them having the car the advisor called me back to tell me that the mechanic found that the differential was in need of replacement which was going to be about $1,000 for the part and about another $700 for install. The installer wrote on the invoice the following “Had rear DIff bushing replaced elsewhere still makes noise when put in gear Check engine light on- RPM REV up to 3000 Test Drove to check for noise. Could feel rear diff hitting hard when shifting. Raised and inspected rear diff appears to have excessive backlash causing excessive slack in drive line and over torqueing of pinion and ring gear. No excessive gear noise heard during test drive. Advised needs rear diff also DTCS P0300-306 Advised engine oil low and could hear timing chain rattle Advised needs timing chain repair and rear diff assembly. No work done at this time” I told the advisor that I needed to think what I was going to do since I had paid another location for already working on this area that now cadillac is saying is the problem, I then went to the mechanic who charged me to replace bushing and he told me that if I buy the differential assembly then he will not charge me to put it in since he already had worked on it, he offered me to buy it at a Chevrolet dealership were he has an account so I could pay a little less since it was so much so I bought a brand new rear differential assembly at ****** ****** of Fort Worth as his account was there, the part was $860.59 . The mechanic installed it in the car and once it was done he informed me that it was doing the exact same thing it was before and was not the rear differential assembly! I then tried to contact my advisor however it was saturday and she was off so contacted her on monday and she asked to have me bring it in. I brought the car back to Frank Kent Cadillac of Fort Worth and after a few days of them having it she called to tell me that the transmission is the issue, I told her that I was very upset because they advised me on needing to repair my rear differential assembly and it was not the problem at all because it did not change the problem at all so she told me that her service manager would contact me. After waiting for a call and did not receive I decided to call and speak with the service manager ****, I explained to him that I understand that Frank Kent did not install the Rear differential assembly however I was advised by what Im being told 1 of 168 certified mechanics across the country that the rear differential assembly was the issue that they diagnosed when I brought it in, he told me that he specifically looked at my car and told the service mechanic and the advisor to put in the notes that it may be a transmission problem as well, I told him that my advisor never mentioned that it could be my transmission and it WAS NOT WRITTEN ON MY INVOICE AT ALL. I asked him if he understood why I would be upset buying a part that they said was bad and it turn out to not be the problem at all and he said yes I can understand and they should have put that it could be the transmission possibly too. He said he would offer to look at the prices for the transmission and help me on the price since my trouble, he then called me back about 4 hours later and gave me a quote for about $4,300. I would have never have spent $860 on a part that I was not sure would fix it and I was told that this was the problem and regardless if I would have installed it myself or had someone else install it, the certified mechanic was sure that it was the rear differential assembly and said nothing at all about the transmission. I only had the other place install it because they had done the work prior and said he would not charge me to put it in if I bought the part however Frank Kent would have charged me to install it which is understandable however I am out $860 due to the lack of information given to me about the other possible problem with my car. I expect when a highly certified trained mechanic diagnosis my vehicle and charges me to do so and then tells me that the rear differential needs to be repaired because that is why I am having the problem that it fixes that problem, it did not change the problem once so ever.

Desired Settlement: To speak with the owner of this establishment to better my consumer experience by providing a solution.

Business Response:

The car in question has been brought to us on two different occasions to help diagnosis problems and then removed from our shop so repairs could be performed elsewhere, as stated by the customer. The diagnosis of a rear differential repair was the best diagnosis we could make without spending additional time and the customers money to take apart both the rear differential and the open up the transmission, additional expense the client was not willing to accept. The client then had the repair done elsewhere which did not totally fix the their issue. Had the service been performed at our facility and we deemed the rear differential was not the cause, then they would not have been responsible for the cost of the parts or labor. Since they decided to have their "mechanic" work on it then he should not charge them for the parts and return them to his supplier.

The client did not ask for us to refund the fee the paid for diagnosis in this complaint, but we have already done this prior to receiving the complaint from the BBB. When you are dealing with a car that is eight years old and has over 100,000 miles it is tough to give exact diagnosis without spending ample money to look at all the moving parts. You would think that the mechanic who was actually was performing all the repair work could give a better diagnosis and solution. We stand behind the fact that the rear differential was not operating as designed and now the transmission plays a role in the customers initial complaint aswell.

We understand the customers feelings, but when you are having one company diagnosis issues without the full authority to do a complete diagnosis and then having a totally different organization do the repairs, this is typically the result. The situation is only exacerbated when the vehicle is aged and has over 100,000 miles on it, both of which this situation falls into. We have thoroughly looked into the situation, refunded the money the customer spent with Frank Kent Cadillac (even though the diagnosis was not inaccurate), and feel we have done more than necessary to address the situation. We know that this does not fix the overall issue that the problem is far greater than their mechanic and our team initially anticipated, but that is beyond our responsibility.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car started by shutting off on me while I was driving but came back on by itself while I was driving and then one time in that 1st day that it shut completely off on me and I had to restart my car. And it did that the whole way home from Oklahoma on July 2nd. I took it in the shop on July 3rd and they said the battery cables were not connected right and tried charging me $122 to put them on correctly until I complained then they charge me $57 instead. Then 1-2 wks later I had to bring it back bcuz it kept shutting off on me again. Then the 3rd time it wouldn't start at all when I was leaving a store. The key even got stuck in the ignition and it wouldn't start after being jump started. Then they told me it needed a new battery and new cables so they tried charging me over $500 for that until I complained and then they lowered it dwn to $428 out of pocket money. Then my battery light kept coming on saying "service battery charging system" and the tire charging system light kept coming on also. And then a "battery active" light came on and then my AC would shut off. And then this last wk, my car wouldn't start again on a Wed and then the following Sunday. The lights and radio and stuff would come on but my car wouldn't start. Had to be towed twice to the dealership. And then the service guy I have been working with ***** ***** has kept telling me there is nothing wrong w/my car the last 3-4 times that I have taken it to the shop. It has been in the shop 7 times since July 3rd and today is September 4, 2012. And they keep telling me they have tested my starter and alternator but it's never shown on the receipts that they have tested for those to be the problem.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my money for the repairs that that have already done that didn't take care fo the problem because I do not believe it was originally my battery and cables that were bad. I believe it is either my starter or an electrical problem with my car or possibly some recalls that i found online for the model and year of my car. I would like for them to thoroughly check everything on my car and make the correct repairs that need to be done. And I do not like the attitude that I have gotten from the service man that I have been dealing with by the name of ***** *****. He has been no help in this matter. And if my car cannot be repaired for some reason, I would like a replacement for the same price I paid for this car.

BBB Response:

MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

******** ***** had and intermittent concern that would not surface at times which is very time
consuming and causes a major inconvenience. Intermittent issues are like trying to find a needle in a
haystack and can be very frustrating for both parties. We finally were oblc to recreate the concern
which turned out to be a ground issue and repaired the vehicle al no cost to the customer. After reading
the letter and contacting ******** ***** we have agreed to reimburse her the entire amount for
$486.00. We also apologized for the inconvenience and earned her business back. Please feel free to
contact me with any questions?

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1