BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Bruce Lowrie Chevrolet Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bruce Lowrie Chevrolet Inc

Phone: (817) 293-5811 Fax: (817) 293-7116 View Additional Phone Numbers 711 SW Loop 820, Fort Worth, TX 76134 http://www.brucelowriechevrolet.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bruce Lowrie Chevrolet Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bruce Lowrie Chevrolet Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bruce Lowrie Chevrolet Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1972 Business started: 01/01/1967 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1967 Business incorporated: 12/30/1968 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78761
https://www.txdmv.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 302-2162

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chip Jones, General Manager Mr. Roddy Lowrie, Vice President Ms. Karen Peterson, Treasurer & Randy Assistant Mr. Randy Shapiro, Dealer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Randy Shapiro, Dealer
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS PAINTLESS DENT REPAIR

Industry Tips
Automobile sales

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 256-9743(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was involved in a automobile accident. I took my car to Bruce Lowrie Chevy to have it check and for them to perform an damage assessment. Before taking my vehicle I took pictures for my records. The staff was very unpleasant and rude and I am not sure that it is not racially motivated. When I returned to pick up my vehicle, this company/service department created additional damage to my car. I am appalled that they would make a difficult situation more stressfull. Then refused to give me a copy of the vehicle appraisal. I am disappointed to be treated with such disrepect and it is a huge lack of consideration.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to reimburse me for all the additional damage that they did to my vehicle.

Business Response:

We did not conduct any business with Mr. or Mrs. ******  They dropped their vehicle off at our repair facility with an insurance claim through State Farm.  We performed a visual inspection and took photographs of the vehicle.  We submitted an estimate and the photos of the vehicle to the ******* insurance company, State Farm, at their mutual request.  This was a courtesy to the ******’ and their insurance company, State Farm.  As this was a courtesy, we performed this request at no charge to the ******* or State Farm.  The vehicle was deemed a total loss by the ******’ insurance company, and the two parties reached a settlement agreement for the damages to the automobile.  We are not privy to any settlement agreement details between insurers and vehicle owners.  We were informed, however, that the ******’ decided to keep their damaged vehicle.  The ******’ picked up their vehicle from the shop and drove it away.  The vehicle was still in the original parking stall where the ******’ had parked when it was dropped off.  The vehicle was never driven, nor moved, and no repairs of any kind were performed. 

 

***** ******** **** **** ******* ***** ****** ********* ************ **** ************ *** ************ ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our Vehicle involved in an accident, we took it to Bruce Lowrie Chevrolet's collision center for repair. After being in the shop for 31 days, we received it back. The vehicle received damage while the repairs were being performed. It came back to us with Damaged window tint Clearcoat had been sprayed all over it, Clear coat and paint overspray on drivers side mirror and door facia, A damaged Powder coated wheel, Damaged door trim, scratched chrome window trim. Also not all the of the body damage was removed. We returned the vehicle 2 times to get messed up paint fixed, the second time was for everything listed above. The window tint was not replaced at my desired location which is where I previously had it done, it Had a lifetime warranty, I asked ***** ******** at the collision center to have it done there. The vehicle had been driven 0 Miles so i contacted my tint shop, They said that they havent done any work for Bruce Lowrie. Now it has voided my Lifetime Warranty. Also the Powder coated wheel was supposed to have been sent to a wheel refinishing company. I am very certain that the wheel had never been sent out, it looks like some one put it on a wheel balancing machine and held sand paper on it to try and cover up their mistake. The wheel looks like garbage. I am Disgusted with the quality of work at Bruce Lowrie Collision Center.

Desired Settlement: I dont want them to try and "refinish" the wheel I want a new one. Also a reimbursement for my total window tint.

BBB Response:

I don't know all of the details regarding the repair or the first return visit, but I worked with Mr. *******
to resolve his concerns to clean off overspray from the glass, areas of the paint, and to correct the marks
to the inside of the left front wheel.
I told Mr. ******* that I felt the overspray could be removed from the left rear window of his vehicle,
and it may not be necessary to have the tint replaced. I told him that if we were unable to remove the
overspray, we would have new tint applied to that glass. He was concerned about his lifetime guarantee
on the tint, and asked if we could use the same vendor. I agreed to use his choice of vendor, if it was
necessary to re-tint the glass. We did not end up having the glass tinted, since the overspray was able to
be cleaned off. The warranty for the window tint work on Mr. *******' vehicle should remain
completely intact, as it is still the original film. The tint is the original tint on all windows.
Mr. ******* showed me an area of the left front wheel where it appeared to have been cleaned with a
rotary abrasive wheel. The area on the back of the wheel that was cleaned was likely where the original
adhesive wheel weights were attached. This is a common practice for the removal of the old wheel
weights and their adhesive when a tire is replaced or rebalanced. The back sides of wheels are typically
out of view and the surface is unfinished. The same is true for this wheel, with the exception of paint
overspray onto the back side of the wheel from the normal manufacturing process. Our solution to
correcting the area of customer concern consisted of removing the wheel, and sending it out to be
machined/polished. Wheel Technologies, a company we use for cosmetic wheel repair, picked up the
wheel, and I showed their delivery driver the area to be repaired. They polished the inside of the wheel
only, and did not repaint the exterior. The marks on the inside of the wheel were very light scratches,
and were easily removed by polishing. During the polishing process, the paint overspray on the back
side of the wheel, again from the normal manufacturing process, was removed. The result is a
machined or brushed alloy look to the back of the wheel. Since the back side of the wheel is not
addressed in the manufacturing process there are no exacting standards for it, and it would be
impossible to replicate its exact visual appearance.
Desired Settlement by Customer: Allstate Insurance Company has to authorize a wheel replacement.
The repair by the adjuster called for a re-polish. No window tint was replaced and no action is needed
and his life time warranty should be intact.
I have asked Mr. ******** to file a supplement to try and assist Mr. ******* with his insurance carrier
and ask for a new wheel, but please note the insurance company can only authorize this. It was fixed to
industry standards as request by Allstate. We are happy to call the window tint company and advise this
this is the original window tint and it was not necessary to replace it.
If there are any further question please feel free to call me or have the customer call. Our customer and
your notification of Mr. ******'s concerns are very important to our success. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable