Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Streetside Classics

Phone: (817) 764-8000 View Additional Phone Numbers 5400 Sandshell Dr Ste 100, Fort Worth, TX 76137 http://www.streetsideclassics.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Streetside Classics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Streetside Classics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

17 Customer Reviews on Streetside Classics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 16
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 17

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 25, 2012 Business started: 04/22/2008 in NC Business started locally: 05/01/2012 Business incorporated 04/22/2008 in NC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 465-4129
The number is P118470.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brad Mueller, Sales Manager Mr. Robert (Bob) A. Mueller, Vice President Mr. Matthew Riley, Operations Manager Ms. Donna S. Robbins, President & CEO/Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Matthew Riley, Operations Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Antique & Classic Consignment Service - Automobile

Alternate Business Names
Classic Venture Group, LLC Streetside Classic Cars

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Streetside Classics has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5400 Sandshell Dr Ste 100

    Fort Worth, TX 76137 (817) 764-8000 (855) 877-2707

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Streetsideclassics about a 1965 C10 truck I was interested in. I talked with their salesman on SEVERAL occasions about the vehicle. He stated the truck was in excellent condition and there was not any rust on the vehicle, no leaks of any kind on the truck. Being 1200 miles I had to trust (**** *************) ,the salesman, on everything he told me. When the vehicle arrived and was unloaded from the transport truck I drove it approx. 1/4 of a mile and parked it in my driveway. When I went to move it into the garage the vehicle would not start. My son and I pushed the truck into the garage. That evening we checked the vehicle and found the key switch plug burnt and shorted out. The next day I bought a key switch and got the truck moved. Upon moving I noticed oil and powersteering fluid on my garage floor. I then took truck to EMS Auto Center located at Stollings, WV about oil leaks and the truck still only starting sometime. Upon a service check they stated the engine rear main seal was leaking and had to be replaced, also transmission cooler lines were leaking, also the shifter linkage is missing spring and bushing assembly which in turn is not allowing the ground to be engaged on the neutral safety switch. This is why the truck only starts sometime. Also the power steering is also leaking fluid. The truck also has several bad rust spots and the rubber seals around the doors is hanging down and needs replaced. I called **** again at StreetSide because when we spoke on the phone he said the truck had no leaks and no rust and was in excellent condition. He said the problem must have happened in transit from Dallas to Logan and there was nothing he could help with. I have been in contact with StreetSide several times but they refuse to help. The repair is going to be approx. 417.41 on the engine seal alone.

Desired Settlement: Request all repair bills be paid by Street Side Classics

Business Response:

The customer had been in contact with us several times about this vehicle. On several different occasions he was told that we sell vehicles on consignment and that Streetside representing them on behalf of the owner. Leaks are something that every old/classic car can have a problem with due to inactivity of driving or sitting for various amounts of time. During the time that the vehicle was in our possession there were not any leaks seen or discovered. We also had several photos of the undercarriage of this vehicle advertised that also do not show any leaking as well. The same can be said about the rust that is mentioned as well. In all nine photos we have advertised just of the undercarriage, the truck is cleary in very good shape especially for the final price paid for the vehicle.

There are many risks with buying a vehicle that is nearly 50 years old. Also there was over a $2,000 discount given off the original asking price of the vehicle to negotiate a better price for the buyer in order to make a deal possible.  The customer was given every opportunity to either come and look at the vehicle himself or send a 3rd party to do so on his behalf.  He was also aware that all sales are "as-is" and all repairs will be the sole responsibility of the buyer and no one else.

 

Consumer Response: The leaks were there the day the vehicle arrived and showed up on my garage floor so I know the dealership saw them at their place of business.  As for the photos, they are taken at distance just far enough that you can not see all the rust.  I believe photoshop was used to doctor the pictures to make it look better.  As far as coming to see the vehicle, I asked the salesman (****) for is honest take on the truck because I am over 1000 miles away.  He told me that there was NO RUST or LEAKS of any kind. I see on other complaint with the BBB that others have been done the same way and I feel that the businees is showing a pattern of taking advantage of people who live very far and have to take their word on the condition of the truck.  I will send the estimates showing the work needing done.  I will also take pictures of the rust and seals on the truck.  In closing , I state the salesman (****) misrepresented the truck as to its true condition.  As for the value of the truck collectors in this state have stated the value of the truck in its present condition to be around 8 to 9 thousand.  I am not asking for anything more than the money required to make the vehicle as **** stated.

*****



7/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ** STOP AND READ THIS ** I consigned my vehicle with Streeside and contractually agreed to net 45k from the sale. In order for Streetside to make as much money as possible from the sale, **** ******* lied about the sales price of the car. **** told me the car only sold for 45k and in order for him to make the profit that he wanted to make off the car, I would have to accept 43k for the car. I told him 43,500 would be the minnimum I would accept and he agreed. The contract states that 1500 is the minnimum they would accept for selling a car through them. Streetside will say that 10% is the minnimum but read the contract. A few days later I was dealing with ****** ******** the office manager. She had forgotton to hang up the phone when our conversation was over. I overheard the conversation she continued to have with ***** **********i, **** ******* and **** *******. They spoke about me in a way that is not fit to be repated. Then I heard **** say, " and he does not even know that we sold the car for 48k". Bottom line, they are typical used car sales people. Read the contract carefully and ensure you get proof of what they say the car actually sold for. I would advise not giving them your business. The owner did agree to give me the 45k but did nothing else other than say she was sorry. That showed no real remorse. **** and all the others are still employed with Streetside. I have filed a complaint with the TX Attorney General and the TX DMV Consumer Complaint Division . This is deceptive trade practices and fraud, plain and simple. Seller beware................

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to refund the full sales price of the car.

Business Response:

First off, I will admit that some mistakes by Streetside Classics were made during this sale and we have apologized for those mistakes several times and already offered the customer financial remedy, which he has accepted.   But, before those mistakes were made, this customer was already proving extremely difficult to please, he harassed several of our staff members, he asked for special requests that deviated from our normal business practices, and finally he intentionally tried to force our staff to accept an amount of commission that he knew was below our minimums.  We do our best to please every customer, and to cater to all personality types, but sometimes you simply cannot please everyone.  Streetside Classics has many, many satisfied consignors, not only Texas, but across the entire U.S.  We have grown primarily from positive word of mouth, customer referrals, and having very satisfied consignors in the tight-knit collector car industry.  We do care about our reputation and we always have.      

Since 2008 our company has SOLD thousands of classic vehicles on our current consignment agreement and we’ve never had any prior customers get this confused about the contract terms.  The consignment agreement, which is attached, clearly states “the reserve price on the vehicle was $50,000, which included a minimum 10% commission”.   We encourage any and all parties to read the contract and judge for yourself about the terms and the amount of commission that was due during this sale to Streetside Classics.  This customer kept trying to, and continues to try to, create confusion about our minimum commission when in fact several staff members additionally made him aware the minimum commission was 10%, not $1,500, in phone conversations prior to the sale of his car.  The $1,500 minimum commission only comes into play on vehicles that are SOLD below $15,000, for vehicles above $15,000 the minimum is 10%.  This is very typical in our industry whether selling through a consignment dealer or one of the major collector car auctions.  I’d also like to point out:  If our minimum commission is $1,500, as the customer keeps alleging, why is 10% even mentioned on the agreement, and, furthermore, why does it say the reserve price is $50,000 when the Net-To-Owner is $45,000?  If the minimum was $1,500, wouldn’t the reserve have been $46,500?  It is our belief that this customer intentionally acted confused, and continues to act confused, only to further his position and also to conveniently conceal the fact that he tried to force our sales manager into taking a minimum deal on his car, even though he knew very well the minimum was 10% at that time. 

In actuality, we SOLD this car for $48,000, so the customer was due $43,200 in his pocket per the contract ($48,000-$4,800=$43,200).  The vehicle purchase contract/bill of sale is also attached to confirm the purchase price of $48,000 (BBB please do not allow viewing by any 3rd parties as that would be against Federal privacy rules).  During a phone conversation with our sales manager, this customer agreed to accept $43,500 as his minimum, but added in a stipulation that he would only accept that amount if “Streetside was only making the $1,500 minimum”.  Instead of arguing over the minimum commission amount with the customer yet again, as it had already been covered with him several times, and by several staff members, the sales manager made an error in judgment and told the customer the car was indeed selling for $45,000, not $48,000, simply to get past the situation and move forward.  Again, this was done to move the deal along, get the car SOLD for the consignor, get Streetside close to the minimum 10% commission, and avert any future arguments with the customer over his perception of our consignment contract.  Even so, once Streetside upper management was alerted of the situation, the sales manager was immediately reprimanded internally and a decision was also made to compensate the customer financially as a sign of remorse. 

So, due to our sales manager’s actions during the phone conversation, and to keep this customer happy, Streetside immediately offered him an additional $1,500 to increase his payout on the car to the full $45,000 he wanted.  This $45,000 put him back to the full amount we were ever centrally obligated to pay him, per the consignment agreement, which is also attached.   The customer accepted this $45,000 and promptly delivered title of the car to Streetside, but has now continued to pursue us for even more money, after the sale.  His expectation is that we pay him an additional $3,000—which would be $3,000 more than he even wanted for the car—and would bring our profit to $0.  We find this request to be totally unreasonable as Streetside already made much less than 10% off this sale.  And remember, we’ve also already given the customer an additional $1,500 over what he accepted as a sign of remorse.   In any case, the customer is now trying to blackmail us for this additional $3,000 by using the BBB, Texas Attorney general, and other forums as his platform.  He’s also been threatening to defame us on social media, launch a website against our company, and more.  We pray the BBB will look at all legal contracts involved, see we paid the customer what he was contractually owed, take into consideration we already offered him $1,500 more (to which he accepted), and not let this unfortunate situation escalate any further.  This customer should not have accepted the $45,000 for the vehicle if he planned to take this further, as he’s doing now.  If we’d known he was going to behave this way, we would have held back any financial remedy until a final amount was agreed on or we would have cancelled the sale of this car altogether.  We understand the customer is upset, and he has a right to be upset, but giving him an additional $3,000 isn’t going to change the events that occurred.  We can't take back the unprofessional comments our staff made about the customer, and we can't change what transpired between the customer and the sales manager.  Streetside feels we've done our best to offer sincere apologies, on several occasions, and that an additional $3,000 given to the customer isn't going to change the events that occurred (which are mostly personal and emotional in nature).   In closing, it's a fact that this customer has not realized any real financial/property damages during this entire debacle; indeed, he was paid exactly the amount he wanted for the vehicle and the amount that was ordered by the contract terms.  Streetside made less than a 10% minimum commission and considers this matter to be settled.  Any attempts by the customer to obtain more funds are purely emotional in nature and are without any true legal foundation, that would be considered in a court of law, because the customer hasn't incurred any physical damages.           

        

Consumer Response: For the owner of Streetside Classic to categorize lying and trying to steal money from a customer as " we made some mistakes" really prooves my point.  People that consign vehichles with StreetSide Classics worked very hard on these vehicles and many take losses when they sell them .Calling me emotional is yet another example of how truly unremorseful Streetside Classics really is. To further categorize me as "difficult" is another perfect example of this. Note how no examples of me being being "difficult" are given in StreetSide Classics response. If asking for proof of what the car sold for is difficult, then yes I was difficult. StreetSide goes on to say that I asked to deviate from normal business practices. But again no examples are given. If attempting to ensure I was doing buisness with I company that deals squarley, then yes I did ask them to deviate from the usual way they do business . 


In StreetSide Classics contract lien item #4  states , "The Reserve Amount" $50,000 which includes a minnimum 10% to the dealer due and payable at the time of sale. The minnimum sales sommission is $1500, regardless of the sales price.  
Becuase the car sold for 48k not the 45k that they tried to tell me it sold for I asked them to adhere to the contract and make the minnimum of $1500 which the contract clearly states.
Above in bold is as exactly how it is written in my contract. Nowhere does it say that  $1500 is a minnimum commission only when the sales price of a vehichle is less than $15,000. Which does not apply in my case anyway. In StreetSide's response to my complaint they forgot to mention that the $1500 is the minnimum commision as written in the contract. Any confusion they think I may have about this is soley based on the contract they gave me to sign. I am no lawyer but the language in the contract is pretty clear. *** ****** the VP of StrretSide Classics even admitted this to me. And most importantley this whole thing about the contract (although its a real issue) is a way to confuse people. The main point is that StreetSide Classics lied about the sales price of the car to make more money that they were ever entitled to.StreetSide says that they lied because I was difficult.  Thats a relly bad reason for lying.
Streetside Classics does not  provide proof of the sales price of the car as they do not want you to know how much they made on the car. When I asked for this they become very aggitated. Streetside admits they lied simply in an " effort to move forward" Is this an exceuse for lying.  Streetside is attempting to blame me for not understanding some pretty plain language in there contract and for being emotional becuase they lied to me about the sales price of the car. Really think about that for a minute. Streetside Classics only gave proof of the sales price now to the BBB to proove that they were not ling now. Did StreetSide Classics send the BBB the contract which really prooves that the contract asks for a minnimum of $1500? No they did not .  And remember I only asked for them to make the minnimum because they lied to be and told me the car sold for what my original net to owner amount was. I would not have cared if the sold the car for 100k. All I wanted was 45k. But they felt like they had to lie, cheat and steal to make the money that they wanted to make.
And don't let them fool you. What they wound up giving me was only becuase I caught them in the act of lying and stealing. I was given what I should have been given to begin with. They did nothing out of the ordinary.. Yes , I asked them not to make money off this sale becuase it was so dirty. But what I really want is for potential customers to be aware so they don't get scammed. And hopefully the contract is re-written in a way that spells out how they would like to earn there commission. I have no problem with posting my contract for all to see.
Furthermore, the reason the Attoreny General and the TX DMV Consumer Complaint Divsion are involved is simply becuase Streetside attempted to commit fraud and TX has a law that deals with deceptive trade practices. I received a letter from both agencies stating that they will now take over the investigation.  Streetside makes a legal determination that no law has been broken. They have no legal foundation to make this assertion. Only the agencies that are not involved can determine if the law was broken.
StreetSide also attempts to force people that consign vehicles with them to sign a document that states that " the seller shall maintain financial responsibility for any mistated and undisclosed conditions of the vehicle, as listed at the time of consignment". You do not have to sign this documment, I did not. Think about this for a second. If the buyer of the consigned vehicle finds something out about the vehicle that the seller did not even know about, StreetSide or the buyer can force the seller to be financially responsible. This is especially troubeling when StreetSide writes up the "bio" on the car to be used when selling the car on there website.
This issue is the exact reason the BBB was created. To inform consumers of bad or unethical business practices. Now that they have admitted to these unethical business practices, consumers will be better preapred to deal with StreetSide Classics, if they choose to at all.




Business Response:

Yes, Article #4 of the consignment contract does state: “The minimum sales commission is $1,500, regardless of the sales price”, the customer is correct about that.  But again, he is conveniently, and some would argue intentionally, avoiding discussing the statement that comes right before that which says:  "The Reserve Amount" $50,000 which includes a minnimum 10% to the dealer due and payable at the time of sale.  Unfortunately we can only have one minimum commission level, not two.  If the minimum commission is indeed only $1,500 why do we even have the reserve statement, and the mention of 10%, in the agreement?  Isn’t it more likely that the $1,500 minimum is designed to give the dealer (Streetside) a flat commission below a certain price threshold like many auctions and consignment dealers commonly ask for?  This is because on lower priced vehicles the 10% commission becomes insufficient and it’s very common to introduce a flat commission level at some point.  As such, this customer was technically owed only $43,200 for this vehicle, since it SOLD for $48,000, and Streetside was due a 10% minimum commission.  We aren’t afraid to show anyone this customer’s consignment agreement, it was attached to our last response and we’re attaching it again for anyone to see.  The customer acts like we’re trying to hide the agreement and we clearly are not afraid to produce documents for either side of this transaction as we did nothing wrong.     

At this point we also don’t understand why this customer continues to escalate the situation.  He was only legally owed $43,200 for his vehicle, he verbally accepted $43,500 in a phone conversation, and then afterwards we paid him the full $45,000 he was due to apologize for the way our staff treated him (even though we were not contractually obligated to do so).  Obviously this additional $1,500 wasn’t good enough, however, because the customer continues to pursue us even after we paid him additional funds for the vehicle as a sign of good faith.  Perhaps we should have just paid him the $43,500 he agreed to if we’d known he was going to still be this upset and escalate this situation to the BBB and several government agencies.    

Due to the customer filing a complaint, the TX DMV Consumer Complaint Division has already visited our DFW facility and inspected all records in relation to this sale.  They quickly agreed that everything was legal during this transaction and no laws were broken because Streetside in fact paid the customer the full $45,000 he was owed on the original consignment agreement (attached).  So, this customer got paid the full amount he wanted for the vehicle, and even states “all I wanted was $45K, I would not have cared if they SOLD the vehicle for $100K” —yet he is still acting in this fashion. 

At this point Streetside Classics doesn’t know what else we can do.  We accepted below our minimum 10% commission on the sale, we paid this customer his full price, and we paid the customer more than what he agreed to accept via a telephone conversation as a sign or remorse for a situation gone bad.  That said, we will not pay this customer $3,000 more now—which would be $3,000 over his full desired price—and sell the car for free simply because he had some disagreements and misunderstandings with several of our DFW staff members that led to him getting his emotions involved in the situation.  We’ve already done the right thing by paying him the full price he wanted, and more than he was owed per the contract.  We hope the BBB will simply read the consignment agreement, see we paid this customer the full amount he owed, and not let this effect our rating because we already made a $1,500 attempt to make the customer happy.  

Consumer Response:
They say the 1500 only comes into play with cars sold below 15k but where is that in the contract? Becuase its not anyone would be under the impression that when the car sells for less than the initiallly agreed upon net to owner amount the 1500 minnimum fee becomes relevant.  The TX DMV said to me that he had trouble with **** ******* and that basically Streetside was lucky to have been caught before they closed the deal at the price that **** lied about. In essence they are catching a lucky break becuase I caught them before they stole from me. What is important is that everyone knows that the entire staff knew that the car sold for more than I was told it sold for. Integrity and honesty were compromised by almost the entire staff and potential customers should be warned of this behaviour. Anyone that is spoken about negatively and was lied to would be emotional. Streetside made this personal.  Not me. The TX attorney general has not gotten back to me regarding the information I sent them. 

Business Response: Streetside Classics has already given this customer more money than he was willing to accept for the vehicle.  We are sorry he still feels this additional amount was unacceptable but we are refusing to pay him anymore for the vehicle considering the consignment agreement dictated a full pay out to him would be $45,000.  We have already dealt with the TX DMV on this matter and will also work with the TX Attorney General if they wish to discuss the matter.  We appreciate the BBB attempting to bring us and the customer to a resolution but we presented him with a financial remedy before he filed the BBB complaint.  As such, we are now left with nothing to negotiate with or additional amounts to make the customer satisfied.      

Consumer Response: To surmise:

  1. Streetside current resolution was always what they should have done since before I caught them lying about the sales price of the car. Hence this is not a real resolution.
  2. Streetside claims that only vehicles that sell under 15k are entitled to a $1500 minimum commission. But mot only does the contract not say that it certainly does not say it where it should.
  3. Streetside employees lied about the sales price of a vehicle to scam a customer to make more money and they blamed that lack of integrity on me. Which is disrespectful and absurd. And truly shows no real remorse for there actions.
  4. Streetside has not offered to change or re-word the contract to ensure future customers are dealt with fairly and honestly. 
  5. Streetside never emailed the purchaser of my vehicle the write up I put together on my car. I spent 2 hours detailing everything about the car so the purchaser would know everything about the car and they would not even help the purchaser out with this valuable information.
In short, the bottom line with this situation is that Streetside Classic lied to a customer about what a car sold for to make more money than what they were supposed to have. Just because I was fortunate enough to have caught them before an employee forgot to hang up the phone and I overheard the conversation with most of the employees present, does not mean that everyone should not be made aware of this.  Consumers should simply be made aware of the dishonesty and lack of integrity that was exhibited in this consumers transaction. 

4/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Buyer Beware: Should know better and not trust the used car salesman, but we took his word that the car was road ready. We are kicking ourselves, but for others out there...please don't make the same mistake. See description below... Taken to two reputable mechanics. Same story at both. Needs new transmission, new transfer case,all new gaskets, new brakes, new brake lines, new pads, and new calipers and rotors. With this amount of work, the car should have been priced much lower. Going to have to put $5-7K into it. Should have taken it to a mechanic...but were just too trusting. Description: Jeeps are known for their legendary durability and ability to go anywhere and the CJ7 might be the most well-loved of them all. Unfortunately the side effect of all that capability is that so many of these 4x4s were just bashed beaten and abused and even if they weren't many succumb to the rigors of tin worm sooner or later. But once in a while you find a special one like this 1983 CJ7 which has a nice cosmetic restoration atop a very solid chassis that's obviously led an easy life. With a fresh paint job in the original desert tan color this super straight CJ has nothing to hide. You see so many of these with issues that it's quite a treat to see one like this with all its original factory-built "defects" in plain sight and not hidden under ancient rust repairs. These were utilitarian vehicles when they were new and with modern two-stage PPG urethane on its bodywork this one probably looks better than new in every way. The finish shines up easily and you'll also find little things like the fender flares marker lights and taillights are also 100% new. Removable steel doors and a factory hardtop make this a true all-seasons warrior and the top has also been treated to a fresh repaint in the factory color. The simplicity of this CJ is particularly appealing and they didn't bother with graphics decals or even the usual chrome dress-up pieces that so many Jeeps seem to wear. Instead you just get a trail-ready 4x4 with a subtle OEM look that really works. The interior is anchored by a set of fresh Best Top seats that offer a sporty look with all-terrain functionality. Combined with the spray-in bedliner throughout the interior you can always just hose it out after a day of playing in the dirt. A locking center console offers some security but the rest of the interior is 100% OEM. All the factory gauges are fully functional and it's kind of neat to see one with a radio block-off plate in the dash suggesting that going back to basics was important to this Jeep's original owner. The roll bar was painted to match the bodywork and the doors were fitted with new matching door panels that soften the all-business interior a bit. It also seals up rather nicely thanks to new weather-stripping and spraying the inside of the hard top white means it remains bright and airy inside when it's in place. The engine is AMC's bulletproof 258 cubic inch inline-six which was a mainstay of CJ7 production. With lots of new components under the hood it's ready to go immediately and someone has even taken the time to dress it up with a shiny aluminum valve cover up top. IT hasn't been substantially modified from stock specs so it's bulletproof reliable for when you head off the pavement. Backed by a 3-speed automatic transmission and 2-speed transfer case it's surprisingly civilized when you want to take to work on a sunny day and extremely capable when you go out to play on weekends. As I said the underside is original but quite well maintained with none of the usual issues that plague these neat little trucklets. The factory steel wheels were also refinished in bright white for a traditional look and wear 31x10.50-15 Michelin LTX radials. A no-stories no-frills CJ7 with lots of charisma and a reasonable price tag ready to go. What are you waiting for? Call now! This vehicle is located in our Dallas/Fort Worth showroom. For more information please call ###-###-#### or toll free ###-###-####.

Desired Settlement: The car was misrepresented in the description and verbally. Ideally, we would like a refund for the full cost of repairs necessary or at a minimum for Streetside to share in the cost for a portion of the repairs. Or take the car back...happy to take it to Dallas, Atlanta, or Charlotte.

BBB Response:

Streetside had a very clear representation of this Jeep; on our website we clearly advertised the Jeep had 123,620 miles on the odometer.  When buying a classic vehicle, especially one that’s 31 years old and has 123k miles, there’s always a chance for some mechanical issues to arise suddenly.  To claim Streetside was aware of these issues that would later happen, or that we tried to hide them, is simply untrue.  Nowhere in our description do we claim a full restoration had been performed, only cosmetic, which is how the Jeep was presented to us.  As strictly a broker for classic vehicles, there was no way for us to know about the potential problems that are being claimed now by the buyer.  Also, this customer flew in and was picked up at the airport by Streetside, a customer courtesy we provide to everyone.  After a personal inspection and test drive of the Jeep—where the buyer was able to inspect it to the same level we were able to—the buyer cut a deal and drove away.   And furthermore, Streetside has a car lift on site, which the buyer was able to use to further inspect the vehicle and it’s engine and transmission from underneath.  As you can see, Streetside has a very transparent selling process where buyer’s are allowed to fully inspect all vehicles prior to purchasing.  We do not, however, offer any warranties or agree to pay for any repairs that may arise after the vehicle has changed hands.        

 

The only claim of restoration work was strictly cosmetic and nothing additional was claimed in our advertisement.  With selling vehicles that are 30+ years old, there is going to be some unknowns as to their condition and operability.  We do the best we can by asking sellers specific questions about their vehicles and looking them over ourselves, but ultimately it’s impossible to know a full history—or predict the future—of every 30+ year old vehicle we sell.  Our company makes no claims that we perform any kind of multi-point inspection to the vehicles we sell so there is no way for us to know what is going on internally in many of the components, such as the engine or transmission.  Also, because we sell primarily on consignment, we are very limited in how long/far we can test drive vehicles as we have agreements in place with our consignors which stipulate the vehicles can’t be taken off our premises.  Lastly, Article #4 of our purchase contract states: “Streetside Classics has not checked the condition (mechanical or structural) or the mileage of this vehicle and is relying on representations provided by the seller”.  At the time of sale, the customer signed this contract, initialed it in multiple places, and was fully aware of the terms (and risks) of buying a classic vehicle.

 

As a final statement, we again would like say that the customer knowingly bought a 30+ year old vehicle without a warranty and he agreed to purchase it “AS/IS” after a full inspection in person.  We’re very sorry to hear that customer is disappointed, but Streetside did everything we could to advertise the vehicle correctly.  Again, we had an odometer reading of 123,620 miles on our website and the vehicle was fully drivable when it left our showroom.  Per the Vehicle Purchase Contract and original terms of this sale, we consider this transaction to be final and it’s the buyer’s responsibility to pay the cost for any repairs needed on this vehicle. 

 

 

4/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wish to file a complaint against Streetside Classics operating out of Dallas F/W for the following
reasons:
I purchased a 1971 Chevy C10 in November. I dealt with Mr. **** *******. This vehicle was described
as show ready and a recently restored vehicle ready to go. I have enclosed print outs of how the vehicle
was described online.
When the vehicle was delivered, the truck driver indicated he felt there might be a problem with the
engine as he had a hard time keeping it running and it dripped oil on his rig. It took about a week for me
to get the license plates, registration, insurance etc. The very first time I drove the truck it broke down.
The first thing I noticed was the smell of fuel in the cab. I then noticed a very loud grinding sound from
the front wheels. I drove the truck to the gas station and noticed it would not shift out of second gear.
When I got back, I noticed it did not have a reverse. I had it towed in the next day and it has been in
three different shops and I did not get it back until 2-27-14.
I sent an email to Mr. **** ******* indicating my disappointment with the vehicle, (copy enclosed).
There were many things wrong with this truck and anybody who sat in it or drove it would know right
away there were issues.
Here are some of the issues with the truck as it arrived:
1. The transmission would not work.
2. The neutral safety switch was not working.
3. The seat was only attached with ONE BOLT.
4. The engine has oil leaks.
5. The door locks do not work.
6. The front wheels rub the control arms, (see photo)
7. The tack, fuel and amp gauges do not work.
8. The radiator hose and several belts are cracked and badly worn.
9. The battery was dead
I can't prove how the truck was described orally, but I have a copy of how it was described online and
would like you to know how the truck arrived and thus the reason for my complaint.
"This one got a mild interior makeover as well, ranging from fresh red and black houndstooth upholstery
on the bench ... " (There are two small Y, inch tears in the seat and it is not what I would consider
''fresh11
)
"The stock instruments are augmented by a set of white-faced gauges, including a tach stuffed in there
front and center." " ... everything works as it should." They failed to mention that three of the gauges do
not work and it had a dead battery.
"A glance at the odometer shows just 9550 miles, which is only since the truck was built, so it still looks
awfully fresh today." This engine is TIRED. It is hard to start and has several leaks that need attending
to. It has been suggested that I not put money into the leaks and instead put it towards getting a new
crate engine. That is what I was lead to believe I was getting!
"A 700R4-4speed automatic overdrive transmission and a 12 bolt rear means this truck just loafs along
at highway speeds yet still pulls down better than 15 MPG on the open road ... " Please see the recent
bill and photos from the transmission shop. This was not the correct transmission for this vehicle and
there were several issues with it.
"BEAUTIFULLY BUILT AND COMMENDABLY FAST, THERE ARE NO DISAPPOINTMENTS WITH THIS
AWESOME C10. IF YOU LIKE THE COLOR SCHEME, YOU'RE GOING TO LOVE THIS TRUCK
Hopefully you can understand the seriousness of the situation. At this time, I am out a total $3571.23,
with an additional estimate of $1,770.09 needed. I have only driven the truck twice. There are more
issues. I will have to take it in to find out why the gauges do not work. The truck also has bald tires and I
will need to replace them right away.
I emailed Mr. ******* to keep him informed of the situation. I have included a copy of his email. He
said "We do simply broker the truck and make no representations." I want to make this very clear, I
bought the vehicle based on Streetsides' online description. I also wrote the check to Streetside.
Streetside is working out of three states and has an inventory of 500+ cars. At this time, I can accept the
fact that a problem vehicle could slip through the cracks and this is not indicative of how Streets ide
operates. If this is the case, then one could certainly expect that they will step up to the plate and be
responsible for bringing the truck to the condition AS ADVERTISED. If for some reason they feel they are
not responsible, then that would indicate they are willing to put false information online in order to sell
a vehicle. If this is the case, then their license should be revoked. I would not want anybody to have to
go through what I have been going through. I have suffered a great deal of stress and am out a great
deal of money and I still need to get some tires and have electrical issues dealt with.
I am willing to accept what I have already paid because I just want this nightmare over with.
Thank you in advance for anything you can do to help me with this complaint.

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

BBB Response:

Streetside Classics is a broker of classic and collectible vehicles.  We do not perform any restorations, modifications, or additional work to any of the vehicles that we sell.  We represent the vehicles to the best of our ability as they are represented to us by our consigners.  In all of our contracts, for both buyers and sellers, it is clearly stated that we make no actual representations and offer no warranties to any vehicle.  Furthermore, it clearly states that the buyer will be responsible for any repairs that may be needed to the vehicle post-sale on page #2 of the Buyer’s Guide which the customer signed.  It should also be noted that customers are given the opportunity to fly out to our location and personally view the vehicles themselves—and we even offer a shuttle service to and from the airport at no cost—but this customer chose not to do so.  And lastly, we welcome 3rd party inspection companies to perform pre-purchase inspections on all vehicles before a purchase is made, but again, this customer chose not to go that route and instead agreed to purchase the truck “AS/IS”.  With any purchase of an older vehicle, there is a risk involved because our company never knows how exacting or high a customer’s expectations/standards will be from one person to the next.   

 

With selling vehicles that are 40+ years old, there is going to be some unknowns as to their condition and operability.  We do the best we can by asking sellers specific questions about their vehicles and looking them over ourselves, but ultimately it’s impossible to know a full history of every 40+ year old vehicle we sell.  Our company makes no claims that we perform any kind of multi-point inspection to the vehicles we sell so there is no way for us to know what is going on internally in many of the components, such as the engine or transmission.  Also, because we sell primarily on consignment, we are very limited in how long/far we can test drive vehicles as we have agreements in place with our consignors which stipulate the vehicles can’t be taken off our premises.  Lastly, Article #4 of our purchase contract states: “Streetside Classics has not checked the condition (mechanical or structural) or the mileage of this vehicle and is relying on representations provided by the seller”.  At the time of sale, the customer signed this contract, initialed it in multiple places, and was fully aware of the terms (and risks) of buying a classic vehicle without inspecting it first. 

 

Streetside Classics did nothing to intentionally mislead or misrepresent this vehicle to the buyer.  Also, on certain counts of his complaint, there’s simply no way we could have satisfied him.  For instance, we clearly advertised the truck had a 700R4 transmission—which it did and is a very common upgrade—but this customer seems to be unhappy because it’s “not the correct transmission for this vehicle”.  This is true, but how did Streetside Classics do anything wrong in factually representing the correct transmission that was in the truck?  The customer also took some liberties by changing the order or phrases from our description in his complaint to BBB.  The statement “everything works as it should” was a general statement in the 4th paragraph, where the engine itself was described, not where the gauges and tach were mentioned in the 3rd paragraph like he tried to propose in the complaint. 

 

In closing, we would like to again reiterate that this customer bought a 40+ year old vehicle without warranty, and we feel his complaints are all relatively minor, especially considering the sub $20,000 price he paid for a used vehicle that was never described as “inspected” or “perfect”.  We’re sorry to hear the customer is disappointed, but, at this point, we would only be willing to compensate him for the cost of a new battery as do try to deliver all the vehicles we sell with fresh batteries in place.

 

 

Consumer Response:

I am very disappointed in Streetsides' position via Mr. *******.  He seems to be attacking me.  He makes the statement, "on certain counts of his complaint, there's no way we could have satisfied him"  He is making reference to the fact that I pointed out to him that the truck did not have the correct transmission.  I provided photos and a written statement with dates from the transmission shop.  My purpose in doing so was to make it clear that the conversion was done wrong and as a result, the transmission was faulty.  I would have been fine if it worked.  I provided proof that the transmission was faulty before I ever received the vehicle.  Mr. ******* states that he never drove the truck and is only the broker so is not responsible.  This is unacceptable.

I provided a package to BBB and to Streetside with copies of invoices from three different auto shops. (Engine, Transmission, Alignment).  This package included photos, invoices including dates and statements by the mechanics. This truck was certainly not  the "Awesome" vehicle as REPEATEDLY  described, both online and verbally.   It has been suggested that I may have purchased a "Flood" vehicle.  I cannot speak to that, but I know with certainty, that I purchased a vehicle that was rode hard, hung up wet and efforts were made to conceal that.  (Please recall, the truck had to be towed in the first day I drove it.)

Streetside, or any business, should not be allowed to advertise a vehicle ANYWAY they want and then not be held accountable.  This opens the door to dishonesty which is what I feel I have experienced. 

 A huge difference in our position is that Streetside states that I bought a 40+ year old vehicle.  Well this is true, my position is I bought a vehicle advertised has having 9550 miles on a fresh rebuild.

In summary, Mr. ******* states, "We feel all his his complaints are all relatively minor,"  If that is how they feel, then they should step up to the plate, take care of these "minor" issues and save their reputation.

If possible, I would like to give permission to BBB to share the above mentioned package with anybody.  My reason is I have nothing to hide.   I do not want anybody searching for a dream car to experience  the nightmare that I have experienced.
Regards,


 




Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

17 Customer Reviews on Streetside Classics
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart