BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Christopher Lee Law Firm, PLLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Christopher Lee Law Firm, PLLC

Phone: (817) 265-0123 Fax: (817) 580-1123 View Additional Phone Numbers 8701 Bedford Euless Rd Ste 510, Hurst, TX 76053 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.leebankruptcy.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Christopher Lee Law Firm, PLLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Christopher Lee Law Firm, PLLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Christopher Lee Law Firm, PLLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 30, 2008 Business started: 11/01/2000 in TX Business started locally: 11/01/2000 Business incorporated: 01/26/2011 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Bar of Texas
1414 Colorado Street, Austin TX 78701
http://www.texasbar.com
Phone Number: 512.427.1463
Fax Number: 512.427.4100
lpm@texasbar.com
The license number is 24041319.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Christopher M. Lee, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Christopher M. Lee, Owner
Business Category

ATTORNEYS BANKRUPTCY ASSISTANCE & SERVICES


Additional Locations

  • 8701 Bedford Euless Rd Ste 510

    Hurst, TX 76053

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (214) 234-8080(Phone)
  • (817) 616-1150(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I consulted with Lee Law firm regarding our financial status in October 2011, and completed necessary paperwork to file for a Chapter 7 bankruptcy upon their advisement. The original retainer signed was for a Chapter 7 case. We paid the firm $2899 (fee for a Chapter 7 case) up front. We did not qualify for a Chapter 7 case (our once impecible credit is now ruined), and chose to use the firm for credit negotiations (the advice given to us by a lawyer no longer employed by the firm). They are now asking for additional fees ($1000) to begin the credit negotiations. We are disputing this amount and instead would like a refund of the initial amount as there was no case to prepare. We engaged them in communications regarding our case via e-mail and recieved several responses from Mr. ******* (the lawyer now overseeing our case). However, once we asked for a refund (instead of paying MORE fees), the communication stopped. I allowed ample time for the firm to respond, forwarded our request to Mr. Lee, and have yet to get a response. I think that this is proof of character for this firm. We have paid, up front, a considerable amount of money for services that have yet to be rendered. Instead of providing the assistance their firm promises, they are avoiding the resolve of this issue.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting a full refund in the amount of $2899 (fees for a Chapter 7 bankruptcy case that was never begun). We realize that this will not repair damages to our credit incurred through the process, but will allow us to seek assistance elsewhere.

Business Response: Mr. **** spoke with Mr. ***, owner of *** Law Firm on July 10, 2012.  Mr. **** will remain a client of *** Law Firm and Mr. *** will personally be handling his case.  This complaint has been resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Lee Law firm failed my family and I due to the lack of action, and/or the inability to provide service for work paid for! I feel as though my case was mishandled, or no action was preformed on behalf of my wife and myself, because the end result of their efforts resulted in a near foreclosure sale of my home! I submitted all requested documentation to the lee law firm(I have the emails as proof) and would contact them, through emails(because they avoided phone calls) only to be misinformed, or not informed at all. The law firm was paid in full, but did not provide the service requested! The initial service requested was a loan Modification, and under advisement of the law firm, and lack of informing us of necessary actions, I almost lost my home! They would always be unavailable for phone calls, and would go lengthy periods without communication! I started service with the law firm in July of 2011, and was informed in February of 2012, after my home was listed for sale due to foreclosure, that my Modification claim was denied. And two days prior to that was informed that a forbearance agreement was also denied. Either no work was done, or was done improperly! I submitted my request for a refund, as was stated in one of several junk mail advertisements I received from them(after my home was listed for sale by auction), that if you are not 100% satisfied Your money back! I was told by *** *** at our initial consultation, that I was paying for a Loan Mod, with the option to pay the difference if I needed to file for Bankruptcy, which he would not honor!

Desired Settlement: A refund due to a lack of ANY results! and for Guarantee #3 your money Back, if you are not 100% Satisfied

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

*** ******* did come to our firm for help last year, 2011.  He had been working with his mortgage company but had had no luck.  Our firm took his case for assistance in getting a mortgage loan modification approved.  At this point the mortgage loan modification has not been approved and there has not been a formal denial in writing or verbally that the this mortgage loan modificaiton has been denied.  However, the mortgage company did place *** *******'s home with a foreclosure sale date which in most cases means that they are about to deny his mortgage loan modification. 

At no time has *** ******* had a hard time getting in touch with our office.  In fact, we have been in constant communication with *** ******* since he hired us last summer.  The fact is, is that right now the mortgage industry is in a state of flux and it is difficult even for attorneys to get the proper relief neeeded for clients.   There are no guarantees when it comes to this line of work.  The guarantee that *** ******* is referring to was sent to him with regard to handling a bankruptcy case for him.  We have not provided this service to him.  Although I would be more than willing to do this for for only the filing fees up front.  This means that I would not charge him any up front attorney's fees  to get his case filed.  I also explained to *** ******* that if you could come up with all of the money that he is behind on  with his mortgage company that that would be a better alternative to filing bankruptcy.  It is my understanding, after speaking with *** ******* this morning, that he has elected to go that route. 

In addition to handling *** *******'s mortgage loan modification we also submitted a forebearance agreement to his mortgage company and have at this point recieved no response.  This is a value of $800 that would normally be charged to the client.  Our firm however performed this legal service to *** ******* free of charge.  While this did not prove to be fruitful nonetheless the service was performed and not charged agaisnt the client.  By my estimation we have overperformed on this client's case.  Although we have not yet received approval of Mr. Blocker's mortgage loan modification we have not yet received an actual written denial either.  Unfortunately, this service is not guaranteed to be effective.  Nothing in the legal world ever is.  I will not be issuing *** ******* a refund for his mortgage loan modification.    I will help *** ******* file a Chapter 13 bankruptcy if he decides to do so in the future and he will only be charged the filing fees.  All other fees I will roll into his bankruptcy filing.  Also, I am always ready and willing to have a sit down meeting with all of my clients to address any and all concerns that they may have.  My direct email address is **********************.  Lastly, I have *** *******'s full case file ready for pickup at my Hurst office location.  It is quite large.

All we try to do at this firm is help people.  That has always been our goal and always will be as I explained to *** ******* this morning.

***** ***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally filed my bankruptcy claim with Allmand and Lee in August of 2010. I paid $2500 in full at the time of filing and expected my case to be handled accordingly. 4 months went by and I had not received any notification, phone call or email about my case. In January of 2011, I emailed the paralegal responsible for my case. She indicated that my case had not been filed and they needed to perform ANOTHER "means test" in order to move forward with my bankruptcy. After 4 months of no action, I decided that I did NOT want this law firm to move forward with my case and I asked for a refund. I was told that I had to meet with an attorney in order to get a refund. A few months later, I received a letter indicating that Allmand and Lee was now "The Lee Law Firm". In August of 2011 (1 full year after paying my $2500), I finally received a new email from a new person with Lee Law Firm. I explained my story and told ******* that I wanted an immediate refund of my $2500. 1 month later, I received another email from a paralegal, Erin Madson. Ms. Madson confirmed that she received my emails, letters and correspondance requesting a full refund. Ms. Madson indicated in her email that the Firm would like to perform a "Means Test" and then discuss the possiblity of a refund. I sent several more letters to Lee Law Firm requesting that my $2500 be refunded and could not get a response or my money. On 11/8/11, an attorney left me a voicemail on my cell phone at approximately 6:45pm. He provided the office number, so I called back immediately. Of course, the office was closed and I was not able to reach anyone. On 11/14/11, I called the office and asked to speak with the attorney that left me a message. I was told that attorney is out of the office all week. I explained to ******* that I am BEYOND frustrated and I just want my money back. It's been 1 year and 3 months since I originally paid my $2500 and NOTHING has been done with my case. It should NOT be this hard to get my money back. This had to be borderline criminal to hold my money and not provide any services. I put my trust in this firm to handle my case and they didn't do it. Now, I want my money back and they refuse to give it to me.

Desired Settlement: I want a check for $2500 ASAP. That's all I'm asking for. I just want my money back. I've sent numerous letters. I've left numerous voicemails and I've sent numerous emails, but nobody will cut me a check and give me my money!!!

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.