Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tuffy's Air Conditioning & Heating Service Inc

Phone: (817) 596-0150 Fax: (817) 594-0150 4017 Azle Hwy, Weatherford, TX 76085 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.tuffysac.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tuffy's Air Conditioning & Heating Service Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tuffy's Air Conditioning & Heating Service Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Tuffy's Air Conditioning & Heating Service Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 20, 1998 Business started: 03/30/1990 Business started locally: 03/30/1990 Business incorporated 03/30/1990 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
920 Colorado, Austin TX 78701
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
Fax Number: (512) 463-9468
The number is TACLB00022410C.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Janice Roberts-Gilliland, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Janice Roberts-Gilliland, President
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units Air Conditioning Repair Heating Contractors Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Contractor - Insulation Heat Pumps

Products & Services

Tuffy's Air Conditioning & Heating Service Inc sells the following brand(s): Trane, Carrier, Mitsubishi, Goodman, Lennox, Comfortmaker, Rheem

Alternate Business Names
Tuffy's A/C & Heating Service Inc
Industry Tips
Air Conditioning Tax Energy Credit: 2009-2010 - American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tuffy's Air Conditioning & Heating Service Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Requested AC repair. The tech could not find a leak. Charged for the service c**l and diagnostic. I c**led another company (6 days later) who found the leak right away and the repair is scheduled. We requested a refund by phone with "the boss" who simply said, "not gonna happen" and hung up the phone. I went to the office in person to request a refund. He accused me of being "threatening" and "disruptive" and c**led the police. I left the office immediately. I have disputed the charge with my credit card company. An AC repair company should be capable of repairing an AC.

Desired Settlement: Refund and negative mark with the BBB. Companies who treat customers with such disrespect should not rate and A+ with the BBB

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern:
Yesterday Mr. ******** c**led our office  wanting a refund for a service c**l that we went on 8/19/15 .  We charged 79.95 for the diagnostic/trip charge.   $75.00 for 1 lb of R-22 minus 10% discount of $7.50 for first time customer for a tot** of $147.45.  Our technician *******, performed a leak search because Mr. ******** said another company had been out a few days before and added 4 LBs of freon but didn't find or didn't look for a leak because the attic was too hot.  Mr. ******** was with our technician when ******* went into the attic and checked the air handler  and the leak detector did not go off.  He was using an electronic leak detector.   We have checked the detector and it is in working condition.  ******* told him that if he had any more trouble with it to give us a c**l back.  We did not charge him for a leak search.  Mr. ******** then c**led another company 6 days later and said that company found a leak in the coil as soon as they took the cover off and they have replaced his coil.  I don't know how they found it and we didn't.  However, leaks do get bigger and not sm**ler.    ******* is an experienced technician for 20+ years  and will not sell a coil unless he is sure it is leaking.  We checked the warranty on the unit and it was under a part warranty but evidently no one had followed up and c**led Mr. ******** back and he didn't c**l us to check on it, but c**led yet another company.   Since our charge was only for freon and a service c**l ** did not think it warranted a refund. So when he spoke to Mr. ******** he was short with him and said it was not happening and hung up.  Which at that time sever** other c**ls were coming in for ** and he was stressed out.  Then within a h**f hour or less Mr. ******** came to our office insisting to t**k to the man that hung up on him.  ** t**ked with him for a few minutes then it esc**ated and ** told him he was going to c**l the police.  I was not in the room and did not witness it but ** told me what happened.  I c**led Mr. ******** immediately and apologized and told him I would credit back his credit card for the full amount of which I have.   We t**ked for sever** minutes.  I know that he is more upset over the way that ** handled the phone c**l than the money.  I have written him a letter of apology and sent him the refund receipt.   I have attached a copy of the letter I sent him. 
Sincerely,
****** ********** *****

Consumer Response:   

It is not my desire to get this company in trouble.  I appreciate the prompt response and the full refund from Tuffy's.  If ** had responded politely, by phone or in person,
 we would not be in this mess.  **l other employees were very profession**.
 Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Tuffy's Air Conditioning & Heating Service Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart