Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Stark Heat & Air?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Stark Heat & Air

Phone: (817) 633-2665 Fax: (817) 591-1451 View Additional Phone Numbers 1500 Central Park Dr, Hurst, TX 76053 http://www.starkair.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stark Heat & Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Stark Heat & Air include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Stark Heat & Air
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 08, 2000 Business started: 04/28/2000 in TX Business started locally: 04/28/2000 Business incorporated: 04/28/2000 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado, Austin TX 78701
http://www.license.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
Fax Number: (512) 463-9468
enforcement@tdlr.texas.gov
The number is TACLA00007129E.

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado, Austin TX 78701
http://www.license.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
Fax Number: (512) 463-9468
enforcement@tdlr.texas.gov
The number is TACLB00048372E.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Sean Stark, Operations Manager Ms. Arlene Brackeen, Accounts Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sean Stark, Operations Manager
Business Category

Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial AIR COND & HEATING SVC & INSTALL AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - RESIDENTIAL ENERGY MANAGEMENT & CONSERVATION CONST HEATING SERVICE CONTRACTORS PLUMBING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING PLUMBING FIXTURES, PARTS, SUPPLIES-RETAIL PLUMBING REPAIR & SVC SEWER CONTRACTORS SEWER SERVICES DRAIN CLEANING RADIANT BARRIER PLUMBING REPAIRS & REMODELING AIR COND & HEATING SVC & REPAIR 24HR EMERGENCY PLUMBING REPAIR PLUMBING CONTRACTORS RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL PLUMBING RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL COMMERCIAL HEATING & AC SVC DUCT SEALING ATTIC INSULATION AIR CONDITIONING, HEATING & PLUMBING

Alternate Business Names
DFW Comfort Experts, Inc. Stark Air Stark Service Company
Industry Tips
Hiring a plumber

Additional Locations

  • 1500 Central Park Dr

    Hurst, TX 76053 (817) 633-2665 (817) 318-8273 (972) 633-2665

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (817) 318-8273(Phone)
  • (972) 633-2665(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About 3 years ago I hired Stark Air to fix a problem with my furnace. They read the code and fixed the furnace replacing the capacitator. The unit worked fine for one season. When I hired them to do this job, I signed up for their 2x a year seasonal services, one for the heater and one for the air conditioner per year. The next winter season after they 'inspected' my unit the same issue began of it trying to ignite and run but would fail until it made up its mind to work. Their techs could never find the problem and/or they didn't want to find the problem. Then this past year I had them come check the a/c unit and do the service maintenance on it and they didn't not remove the unit screens and clean out the leaf debris. I decided it was time to end my relationship with this company. I contacted Stark and asked them to refund me for the seasonal checkup for my furnace this year as I did not want them to come back out as they were not providing good service and were never fixing my furnace issue. They are graciously refunding the money for the one seasonal furnace checkup that I didn't require. HOWEVER, I want to assure that I found a reliable company that repaired the unit. I was shocked to find with the new service and watching everything they did, that the flame sensor was barely connected appropriately as the connection fell apart immediately in the hands of the tech. Also there was a new black tube that had been installed probably by Stark service on the pressure switch. Come to find out this tubing was not COMPLIANT WITH LENNOX and Stark Air is listed as a qualified accredited service trained by Lennox and is on the Lennox list of providers on the Lennox website. When the new company saw the tube that was present they pulled it and showed it to me vs. the Lennox compliant tube. The old tube was 4x the diameter of what is compliant by Lennox. I am so angry at Stark. Although I do not know for certain who installed the black non-compliant tube, I can say for certain if Stark Air was sending to me Lennox accredited service techs these two issues would have been easily corrected and my unit running appropriately. The new tech found these issues immediately and since fixing I have had no problem!

Desired Settlement: I feel I should be refunded for three years of seasonal services on my furnace, i.e. $79 x 3; and one year of seasonal service on my A/C at $79 and additional monetary settlement for my time and aggravation over their services for the past 3 years. As of this writing, Stark and I agreed on one payment of $79 but this was before I hired the new tech that found the issues and fixed them immediately and the discovery of the flame sensor and the non-compliant tubing. Nothing I hate worse than a business trying to scam me out of my money by not properly fixing on-going issues. Lennox advised Stark could have called them at any time for help to repair if they didn't know what to do. Nothing is more frustrating than companies saying they are not out to sell you new equipment but to fix your problem and then be caught in a lie. I feel I should be not only refunded for the entire contract service but for my pain and suffering and I will be happy to accept a settlement of fair value and in my estimate $500.

BBB Response:

here are a few items regarding the complaint at Ms. *******’s home.

 

-          I spoke with Ms. ******* regarding the situation.  She stated that $180 refund would 100% resolve her concern with our service. 

-          We have cut a check for $180 and Ms. ******* should be receiving it shorty. 

-          Regarding the specifics of her complaint, there are a few things that raise some concern with the situation or what the other HVAC company told her.

o   We had not performed work on the furnace in question since October 2012.  That means over 1 year had elapsed since another HVAC company was called out to fix the furnace that was not working.  If that system was not working when we left in October 2012 that means the homeowner would have gone through almost 2 full winters without notifying Stark Air that there was a problem.

o   She states that she does not know if we installed the “tube” but another company told her it was much larger than it should have been.

§  If we did not install the tube we should not be held responsible.  We have no documentation showing that we ever installed the tube.

§  She felt that it was still our responsibility to identify it.

·         When we found the furnace not working, we replaced other parts and the furnace was working when we left.  On other maintenance visits, we found the furnace to be working fine.  We have no mention in any documentation of Ms. ******* stating that the furnace was not working.  This does not mean she did not say something to a tech but it was never documented or called into the office where it would have been documented in our system.

·         If the inside diameter of the tubing was the wrong size, it would not allow a vacuum to be created which would not allow the system to function at all. 

·         I also discussed the sizing of this tubing with the Regional Technical expert for Lennox.  He stated that they have changed the look of the tubing over the years but the inside diameter is what really matters.  He stated that if the inside diameter was too large, it would not make an airtight connection which would not allow a vacuum to be created which would not allow the furnace to operate at all. 

o   She states that the flame sensor was barely attached when the other HVAC company took it off.

§  If the flame sensor was not attached properly, the flame would not touch it and the system would not function at all. 

§  Even if we did leave it loose, it was in the proper place and was functioning.

§  I am not stating that it could not have been loose but in over 1 year on a 13-14 year old system it would be reasonable to think it could have worked its way loose.