Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Berkeys Air Conditioning & Plumbing?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Berkeys Air Conditioning & Plumbing

Additional Locations

Fax: (817) 329-0874 View Additional Phone Numbers 2875 Market Loop, Southlake, TX 76092 http://www.berkeys.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We are a residential and light commercial service company, providing full HVAC repair and replacement services, full plumbing services, and electrical services

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Berkeys Air Conditioning & Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Berkeys Air Conditioning & Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Berkeys Air Conditioning & Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 09, 1997 Business started: 07/09/1975 in TX Business started locally: 07/09/1979 Business incorporated: 02/01/1996 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado, Austin TX 78701
http://www.license.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
Fax Number: (512) 463-9468
enforcement@tdlr.texas.gov
The number is TACLB00026791E.

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 East 41st St., Austin TX 78751
http://tsbpe.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 936-5200
Fax Number: (512) 450-0637
info@tsbpe.state.tx.us
The number is 36082.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Gaye Sale , Customer Service Manager Mr. Jamie Wooldridge, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Gaye Sale , Customer Service Manager
Business Category

A/C & HEATING SERVICE & REPLACEMENT-RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL AIR COND & HEATING SVC & REPAIR HOME ENERGY AUDIT RESIDENTIAL INSULATION CONTRACTOR PLUMBING CONTRACTORS RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL HVAC SVC & INSTALL/PLUMBING SVC & INSTALL AIR CONDITIONING RES, COMM, REPAIR, INSTALL, SERVICE PLUMBING RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL DUCT TESTING & REPAIRS DUCT SEALING SOLAR ATTIC FANS HOME WEATHERIZATION ENERGY EFFICIENCY RESIDENTIAL HEATING & COOLING EQUIPMENT SALES, SERVICE AND REPAIR ATTIC INSULATION AIR CONDITIONING, HEATING & PLUMBING Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial AIR COND & HEATING SALES & SERVICE AIR COND & HEATING SVC & INSTALL AIR COND & PLUMBING INSTALL & SERVICE AIR COND SVC & EQUIPMENT AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - RESIDENTIAL AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS AIR CONDITIONING REPAIR AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEMS-CLEANING AIRDUCT SEALING & LEAK TESTING ELECTRIC CONTRACTORS ENERGY AUDITS ENERGY CONSERVATION PRODUCTS & SERVICES HEATING CONTRACTORS HEATING EQUIPMENT HEATING EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS CLEANING & REPAIR HEATING SERVICE CONTRACTORS HVAC SALES, SVC & INSTALL INDOOR AIR QUALITY/MONITORING INSULATION INSULATION CONTRACTORS INSULATION, BLOWN PLUMBING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING PLUMBING REPAIR & SVC SEWER CONTRACTORS SEWER SERVICES SLAB LEAK SPECIALISTS VENTILATING CONTRACTORS VENTILATION & AIRFLOW SPECIALISTS WATER HEATER CONTRACTOR WATER HEATER INSTALLATION WATER HEATERS-REPAIRING COMMERCIAL/RESIDENTIAL HVAC TANKLESS WATER HEATERS-REMODEL & SERVICE

Products & Services

Berkeys Air Conditioning & Plumbing sells the following brand(s): American Standard, Lennox, Rinnai, State

Berkeys Air Conditioning & Plumbing offers the following product(s): air conditioning, commercial, cooling, ductless, electrical, estimates, furnace, heating, HVAC, mini-split, Plumbing, repair, replacement, residential, slab leaks, tankless water heater, water heaters

Method(s) of Payment
cash, check, credit, financing
Refund and Exchange Policy
100% satisfaction guarantee
Alternate Business Names
B. S. & S. Services, Inc. Berkey's Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning Berkeys Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning
Industry Tips
Air Conditioning Hiring a plumber Tax Energy Credit: 2009-2010 - American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009

Additional Locations

  • 2875 Market Loop

    Southlake, TX 76092 (877) 237-5397 (817) 481-5869

  • PO Box 1748

    Grapevine, TX 76099

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (817) 481-5869(Phone)
  • (877) 237-5397(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hot water heater busted. Person from Berkey's came to our home. He had my husband sign to do the work for a little over 500.00. Twenty minutes before the job was done the person came back and had my husband sign another quote. This time for over 2400.00. They claimed that myself and my husband are liars. That there was never a quote for 500.00. My husband was not given an option since the hot water heater was already in our condo. The technician did not even give my husband a copy of anything that he signed. They charged 1700.00 for a heater that is valued at 600.00.

Desired Settlement: To get back 1000.00 from the purchase of the hot water heater. We were seriously over charged by Berkey's.

Business Response: We have spoken to Ms. ******* several times in an attempt to resolve this situation. As the president of Berkeys, I take concerns like these very seriously and have conducted a thorough review of the situation. Our technician did arrive at the customers home on Sunday evening, January 25th in response to a potential slab leak. After determining that the actual cause of the leak was a busted hot water heater and not a slab leak, our technician, as per our standard operating policy, wrote up an options and recommendations form for the customer, Mr. *******. We have sat down with our technician to ensure he followed this process and he confirms that he did. We have an original copy of the form presented to Mr. *******, and it has his initials clearly next to the options he chose, along with his signature at the bottom of the page, which is what the technician uses as authorization to begin the work. Ms. ******* was not present when this transaction occurred, but we have never claimed anyone is a liar as is asserted below, simply based on our thorough investigation and the documentation we have, we believe these are the facts. I have volunteered to send Ms. ******* a copy of this form indicating this, but she said she does not need it. (this is a 2 part form, the technician turned in the original, white copy to us, and believes he left they signed yellow copy with the customer at the time of service, although the customer asserts that they do not have it). I explained to Ms. ******* that we do not have a $500 water heater, so while there might have been a misunderstanding as to what Mr. ******* and the technician discussed verbally, I can only default to the written, initialed, and signed document. I asked Ms. ******* what would satisfy her in an attempt to resolve this dispute amicably, and she said either charge her $600 for the water heater, or come to her home, uninstall the water heater, and refund all her money. I explained to her in written correspondence on 1/27/15 that neither of these were satisfactory. We came to her home on Sunday evening, diagnosed the issue that was called in, wrote up our options and recommendations to solve the problem, pulled the required permits, removed the leaking water heater, installed the new water heater, installed the electric quick disconnect and pan drain piping, along with other miscellaneous parts, and completed the work. We billed service agreement pricing for the work that we completed, which included a 15% discount off of our standard rates. I understand that Ms. ******* is not happy with price charged, but we billed appropriately for the work done. ***** ********** President Berkeys Air Conditioning, Plumbing, & Electrical

Consumer Response:

 

The original contract my husband signed has mysteriously disappeared.  (Imagine that).  The technician as the "business owner" calls himself is the one LYING.  Not to mention the business, owner due to the fact his master plumber called me and my husband liars.  This technician brought in a new quote 20 minutes from the job being complete.  At that time my husband had NO recourse other than to sign the document.

After further research into this company, they are extremely unethical and this is not the first time they have pulled a stunt like this.  Berkey's charged 1700.00 for a 600.00 water heater.  That is shady business.  They knew that we didn't have any recourse after they had already put the hot water heater in.  I expect a refund of $1,000.00 to settle this issue.  If this is not forth coming they know that I will take legal action against them.

 

 

Business Response: We have stated our opinion in our original response and through multiple communications with the homeowner. I am sorry that we cannot come to an amicable solution, but as is evidenced by the comments below, the only resolution that Ms. ******* finds acceptable is to refund $1,000, which we will not be doing, as we completed the work at the authorized pricing submitted.

Consumer Response: This company is here again unethical. They have now forced my hand to sue them and send a formal complaint to the Texas Department and Regulations department. Since they don't want to do the right thing. I will have to do it for them. I will reject every email back and forth from this company. They have no sense of ethics or morals. 


Business Response: Berkeys works hard to provide a great customer service experience with every customer and we take extreme care to conduct our business ethically.

Consumer Response: That is not a true statement.  This company is guilty of PRICE GOUGING.  The BBB should have a better handle of their business and how they handle complaints.  This last response is a JOKE!  BBB get it together and sanction these people.  They do not handle their customers with care or ethically.

9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My air conditioning unit stop working around 12:30 PM on 8/30/14. I called Berkeys for a service call at 1:00 PM, I was told there is a service contract for $99 or a one time service call for $69. I chose the $99. I was informed that the window was from 3:00 PM to 7:00 PM for a serviceman to arrive. That he would call 30 minutes before the call, at 6:15 PM the service man shows up without a prior call. He looked at the two units and told us the coils were frozen and turned the units off. He said he would be back in a hour or so, this was at 6:30 PM. He had a call close by on Rapp road and shouldn't be long, over two and half hours later at 9:45 PM NO CALL from the serviceman. I call Berkeys and said someone would call. Another serviceman called back, said the first serviceman is still on a call. I asked why he didn't let us know he was running late, all the response was he is on another call, I asked for another serviceman to come and the answer was no. I asked are they understaffed this evening? He wouldn't answer my question so I asked him again, then HUNG UP on me. The first serviceman finally reappeared at 11:00 PM. I was very upset but kept my calm. He said he was sorry, I asked why he didn't call, "I just didn't". This service is unacceptable. Berkeys has POORLY trained field servicemen. as the case of my call for service on 8/30/14. They are the face of the company to the customer, if upfront information and communication is said to provided, then live up to your company's expectations, promises and claims to your customers who pay the bills. If there had been any communication, as promised this incident could have been avoided. The trust is broken. I will be submitting my complaints on social media.

Desired Settlement: I expect the refund of the $99 service contract. In the future, I will no longer avail Berkeys with my business. Their actions on 8/30/14 toward a customer is appalling. I want an apology from the Supervisor of the serviceman, plus the serviceman who hung up on me when asked a question he didn't want to answer.

Business Response: Management reached out to Mr. *****, and did apologize repeatedly for the poor communication. We have used this as a coaching opportunity, and communicated to Mr. ***** that this is not the Berkeys way of doing business. We did refund the service agreement cost but left the service agreement active (1 year complimentary) in the hopes we could earn another chance to win back Mr. *****’s trust. Mr. ***** did indicate he was satisfied with the work done. However, we also issued a credit for some of the work done as a gesture of goodwill and to support our commitment of earning Mr. *****’s trust in the future.

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Mr. **********: My name is ***** ****** and I have been a customer of yours since only May 2nd of this year. I scheduled a spring inspection of my air conditioner and signed up for the "BAM plan." The technician "****** was very nice and serviced the air conditioner, said there was a clog that he fixed, and added a "ceiling saver kit." I asked him if there was anything else I needed to do, and he suggested insulation in the attic and that the furnace would probably need to be replaced in the fall. Otherwise, nothing else was needed/found in the "inspection" by your employee. On the same day, I had your plumbers come out and look at my bathroom due to a leak. ***** was the plumber, who was very nice and accommodating, but I was shocked at the $4,200 price tag for the new toilet and some work that had to be done under the house. And even though the cost was extremely high, I felt I had no choice. And at that point, I had no reason to question the integrity of your company nor your employees. Fast forward to June 24th - 2 days ago. Because I signed up for the "BAM" plan (which I will refer to now as the "SCAM" plan), I called to have a technician come out because my house didn't seem to be cooling like it should. Even though the next day the system was back to normal, I kept the appointment. I was absolutely shocked and confused when I received an "Options & Recommendations" estimate from your technician with "Recommending to fix today to keep it working: $2,060" and a total price of "$11,871" with all of the other "Recommendations." I asked him why just last month none of these items were brought to my attention in my initial estimate, and he replied "we don't want to overwhelm the customer on the first visit." I had a competitor of yours come out to look at the unit yesterday and fixed the problem for a whopping $230. REALLY? So in other words, I was lied to during the first visit, and your company SCAMS its customers. I am a single female home owner and am used to male-dominated companies taking advantage of me, but this time, I will not sit quietly. This experience made me wonder about the plumbing repairs and the astronomical cost, so I had one of the best plumbing companies in Dallas come out and do an estimate of what he would have charged for the same repair done last month. Sure enough, same exact repair(s) would have been just under $1,500. SCAMMED AGAIN! Please cancel my "SCAM" plan. I will NEVER use your company again. Your core values are a JOKE: HONESTY: We foster a safe environment where open and truthful communication is the norm. INTEGRITY: We do what we say we will do and hold ourselves accountable. TEAMWORK: work together as a cohesive group, to become part of something bigger than one individual to achieve a common goal. RESPECT: We take the time to listen to one another in a way that leaves us feeling encouraged and uplifted. I can't believe you have an A+ rating with BBB, not for long. The way I see it, your company owes me $2,988. You claim your prices are competitive, ABSOLUTELY NOT based on my research. Scammed in ******* ***** ****** **** ******* ****** ******* ***** ***** *** *** **** see attachment

Desired Settlement: Unspecified

Business Response: We reached out to Ms. ****** the day she sent the email, and then followed up with the response below to Ms. ****** on June 27, 2014. We would certainly like to see if there is any way we can earn her confidence back, but we have not heard back from her. Dear Ms. ******, I am very sorry you feel the way you feel. We strive to make each service we provide to a homeowner a good experience. I have taken a hard look at you concerns, including reviewing the work performed by each technician. I also discussed this in detail with our service managers. As I am sure you understand, I take these allegations very seriously, HVAC Comments: We arrived on May 2,2014 to perform A/C tune up. You purchased Bam Plan at this time. The technician performed tune up and his notes read as follows: Notes added by Technician **** ****** on 5/2/2014 Purchased bam. Checked system performance. Checked filter and blower assembly. Furnace has age and homeowner wants to wait for now. Checked coils and drains. Drain pan has rust from previous clogged drain. Checked and tested drain. Installed ceiling saver kit to prevent ceiling damage. Cleaned condenser and. Checked components. Checked Freon levels. At this time system cooling. Reading the notes from the technician and verifying with him, the technician **** felt he was clear with you that there were issues with the older furnace, but that you did not want to take any action regarding repairing or replacing at the time of the tune up. Therefore these repairs were not listed on his inspection form, although we have recommended him to do that going forward. Drains had been an issue in the past and had caused rust in the pans, so our technician recommended a safety switch to eliminate ceiling damage. Drains were clear at time of tune up. You approved the safety switch. On June 24, 2014 we were dispatched back to your home due to system not cooling. Since this was now a service call vs. a tune-up, our technicians was now looking for specific issues why your home was not properly cooling vs. providing a tune-up. Notes from this service listed below: Notes added by Technician Greg Moore on 6/24/2014 Arrived ******* house today to figure out why her system wasn't cooling properly for her I found several issues: The condenser is running at 0 degrees superheat and 20 sub-cooling pressures look fine system is cooling with the marginal temperature differential, but it is not working right or good for itself I found that her 16 inch duct return is mounted directly to her back door of our furnace and because of this she's not getting the air she should her system is rated for 1200 CFM's it's only getting about 700 because of this the house is only going to cool partially her drain situation is shutting down the system when it backs up this causes discomfort because it's not running I explained to her over the phone the invoice of the recommendations and she said thanks but no thanks she getting a second opinion ***** was at work so I was unable to get her acceptance to anything job complete Looking at the options and recommendations form that you attached and that we have record of, there are 4 items our technician recommended to be done that day, to not only get it up cooling properly for that day, but to keep your system running more efficiently. These included: 1. Compressor start assist kit (lessen stress on compressor, increase compressor life) 2. Replace defective/week blower motor (which is part of the old Furnace) 3. Pull and clean dirty blower assembly (which is also located in the old furnace) 4. Major drain repair (clean drain at coil and under sink, add shutoff T, insert drain cleaner in line) These were all options, and the technician was clear to state that these options were not only to get your system up and cooling properly, but also to keep it running. 2 of the options that he listed above, the defective/weak blower motor, and the pull and clean the dirty blower assembly, are furnace related and were identified in the inspection (part of the overall condition of the furnace). The compressor start assist kit was recommended as it would prolong the life of your compressor. The major drain repair, what I can only assume you had repaired by the other company, was a necessary repair to be made as water was leaking out to the side. Our technician not only planned to clear and repair the drain, but to add a shutoff T and include a drain cleaner, which would help eliminate recurrence of the same problem There were other several other options on the Recommendations form to choose from for a more long term investment. These were simply options and recommendations that we made to you to give you a full array of the choices and what was available. These options consisted of adding additional return with 4” media filtration system to stop all the dirt entering the old furnace where all the repairs are needed, to replacing dirty evaporator coil, all the way up to replacing the entire system with a 10 year parts and labor warranty. Many customers make the choice, especially when dealing with older equipment, to stop investing in the older equipment and get peace of mind to not have to worry about anything go wrong or any additional expense for the next 10 years. Plumbing Comments: We were called out for a possible leak under home Pier and Beam... on 5/2/14. Notes added by tech ***** ****** on 5/2/2014 Hall bath lavatory has slow drain and toilet loose and has sewer gases coming from underneath. Ran cable about 10' to clear, filled sink and drained to check for proper operation. Pulled toilet to check flange and found that flange and drain line was completely disconnected and dumping under home. Crawled under pier and beam home to re-pipe drain line after laying out plastic. Installed new section of 4" piping and connected to 4" cast iron pipe. Installed new 4" PVC 90, riser, 4x3 PVC flange and had to add new plywood and 2x4 to floor to secure toilet to floor. Installed new Toto toilet, wax ring, closet bolts, anchored flange, and sealed around base. Checked for leaks and proper operation . The price we quoted for this job, which included labor for 2 technicians and an apprentice, included the fact that the working conditions for this job were very difficult. The area under the house was consumed with sewage due to the toilet in the hall bath was dumping under the house. This was a complicated repair which included replacing flooring to secure the toilet, due the flooring being rotted due to the extensive and long-term leakage that has been on-going. You also chose a top of the line Toto toilet to replace the existing fixture. We received a subsequent call on Saturday, 5/3, because there was still a leak under the home. Jorge came back to your home, and discovered that you also a leak on the water line feeding the lavatory under the house. They were not aware of this leak on Friday, and could not see it because the was so much water and sewage under the house. Although we believe that this leak was not related to the other issue, as the galvanized water lines under your house are very rusty and subject to leaks, there was a possibility that while making the original repair that this pipe cold have been disturbed, so in good faith, we went ahead and capped this line underneath your home and re-routed the line above the floor to feed the cold water for the lavatory. This took our technician approximately 4 additional hours, and we did not charge you for this. Conclusion: Berkeys Air Conditioning & Plumbing takes our service and reputation very seriously. We strive to provide solutions to problems, and not provide temporary, “band-aid” solutions, that will likely result in future issues. I certainly won’t claim that we are perfect, but we work very hard to make sure our customers are satisfied with the work that we do, and that stand behind our work 100%. I believe that is evidenced by us taking responsibility for the additional leak, even though we really don’t believe we had responsibility for it. In the situations you alluded to below, from the HVAC side we only billed you for the ceiling saver kit that you agreed to, other than that, we simply made recommendations that included mid-term to long-term improvement, all of which were only options for you to consider. From a plumbing perspective, the job was a complicated job with difficult working conditions, and we believe we charged fairly for what needed to be done to rectify the problem. There will be no way for me to determine if our competitors were making short-term fixes for your issues, or if they were providing long-term solutions to solve the problems for a long period of time. Berkeys does not compete on price, as there are literally thousands of competitors in the Metroplex, ranging from a 1 truck operation to companies with hundreds of trucks. Pricing, therefore, as you can imagine, is all across the board. What Berkeys does compete on is service and on our reputation, the service levels, professionalism, and service after the fact, with unparalleled warranties that extend standard warranties, and accountability to make it right if it is not right. I am sorry that you are not pleased with our service and in anyway feel scammed. We have been providing service throughout the Metroplex for nearly 40 years, and we take our Core Values very seriously and we hold ourselves accountable to living by them. I am not sure, based on how you feel, that we can win back your trust, but I would love the opportunity to try.

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Berkey’s “BAM” Plan agreement last fall. This Plan was to provide amongst other items spring AC tune-ups on my AC systems. I called about six to eight weeks ago to set up the AC tune-up appointment. . . I was told they could not provide a Saturday appointment for the AC tune-ups until late July (this was in April). I am single and work during the day (about thirty-five miles from my home) and am unable to take a day off work to wait for something like this. They told me that if I would wait until Monday, June 2nd they would have me be the first appointment for that day at 8:00 AM. I agreed. . . I called Berkey’s on Thursday, May 29th and verified that I still had the first appointment at 8:00 AM today. No one showed up at my home and at 8:45 AM I called Berkey’s and spoke with ***** ********). She looked it up and said that she saw where I had a first scheduled appointment but all that that meant was that I would have a service technician to come to my home sometime between 8:00 AM and 12:00 PM. She stated that the only thing they guaranteed was a call from their dispatch department between 8:00 and 9:30 AM. . . She then offered to set another appointment later in the day and to provide me a 30 minute window. I explained that I had to go to work and that I had made arrangements to go in late today based upon their people being at my home at 8:00 AM. She then asked if I would like to wait for them to get someone out to my house. I again explained to her once again that I had to go to work and that I would call and speak with the manager from my office. . . Trying to speak with a manager did not work either. I was told that I could leave a voicemail but that was all. . . What was the point in making me wait almost two months for a set appointment for the tune-up when the company had no intention whatsoever of keeping that appointment. Stating that the first appointment means that someone will be there within w four hour time window is not the first appointment. Changing the story to say that it means that someone from the dispatch department would call you within 90 minutes of the appointment time is ludicrous.

Desired Settlement: I would like the tune-up performed on my systems on either of the next two Saturday's (I have already waited long enough)

Business Response: I spoke with you on Monday, June 2, 2014, and we discussed how our first appointments for the day are scheduled between 8 and 9:30. I expressed my apologies if that communication was not clear to you at the time you scheduled your appointment. We worked you in for your annual spring tune-up to be done on Saturday, June 7, 2014, between 8 and 12. I sincerely hope this satisfies your concerns.

6/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I first contacted Berkeys back in the summer of 2013 about a water heater problem. The tech came out and repaired the problem, but then I had the problem again and called Berkeys back out since I purchased there warranty service for the year. When Berkeys came out again they informed me I had to get a new water heater. I purchased a new water heater and then had the city come out and inspect the water heater and it failed. I called Berkeys about the water heater not passing and the tech came out and just added a pipe sticking out from my water heater and never called back. I had a stopped up toilet and called Berkeys again in May 2014 and they charged me over $300.00 to upstop the main drain. It has not been even a week later and the toilet is stopped up again and when I called Berkeys back to come out they said the would charge me again for a service call and what ever the tech said was wrong. I asked about the warranty of the service since they were out here less than a week and they said the work was not under warranty since I did not purchase the additional work that was mentioned to me about the pipes. I think this is truly outrageous. When I had the company come out for the warranty contract to check the plumbing and air conditioner they were recommending work that that were not a serious problem and said it had to be done. I called out another company and when they came and took a look at the same items they told me that the work that was being recommend was not needed. I would never recommend this company to my worst enemy.

Desired Settlement: At least a partial refund on my services or my warranty contract.

Business Response: We are sorry that you are not satisfied with our services. When the water heater was disapproved by the City of Arlington we sent our technician to make corrections and the work was approved by the City of Arlington at that time so there would have been no need for us to contact you. On May 14, 2014 our technician diagnosed your sewer line has a belly that's holding water and will not allow solids to pass through. Therefore, we cannot warranty the drain clean that he attempted. Berkeys does warranty all work if the proper work is performed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I wanted to let them know that I just had another plumber come out to my house and they found that the problem was with the city lines and had the city come out at the same day and the city sewer lines was cleaned out and it is working just fine. The other plumber ran the camera down the line after the city cleaned out the lines and there was not water that was standing and the clog was cleared out. In fact the sewer lines were clear of water and the technican said he could not see where there was any standing water. Your technician did not even consider it was the city's problem. It was a simple fix. Thank You **** *** I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ***



Business Response: We stand behind our diagnoses, and our work, so if you will allow us to send out field supervisor to run his camera, if the lines prove to not be holding water, we will refund your money. Please call me to discuss.

Consumer Response: If you please give me your phone# and name and I will give you a call and will call you to come over and check the drain line. Thank You **** *** [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


**** ***

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We first noticed a blockage in our sewer pipe on Saturday, January 4, which caused our two toilets to back up when flushed. . We called Berkeys (got their name from advertisement online) and my husband told the girl who answered the phone what the problem was and that we needed someone to come and clear the line. He asked what they charged for a "clean-out" service and she quoted him the price of $99.00. That sounded very reasonable, so we asked her to send someone out. He arrived a bit past 5 in the afternoon, wrote up a work order for $350.00, then cleared the line in about 10 minutes. When we said the girl who answered the phone at his business quoted us $99.00, he said she was mistaken. He also tried to upsale us to their BAM program for an additional $99.00, which we declined. He did give us the discount of $50 which was shown on their online ad, but would not budge on the $301.00 charge. I feel that he took advantage of us knowing we were without plumbing all day Saturday and would be expected to pay his $69.00 fee for just showing up, so we had him clear it.

Desired Settlement: I think they should honor what they originally quoted us and refund the difference to our credit card.

Business Response: We are so sorry for the misunderstanding. Our policy has always been to never quote pricing over the phone, other than the service call fee and our maintenance contract fee which is $99. Our experienced technicians are the only qualified personnel in our company to quote the price after a diagnosis is made. We are willing to offer you our $99 BAM agreement for one year at no charge for your inconvenience.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ********n



I still believe we were taken advantage of with the overpricing.  i reject the BAM offer as we will definitely never use this company again and recommend to my friends that do not either.

Business Response: We are sorry that you will not accept our offer and wish you the best. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ********* *********




9/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 9 Berkey's responded to a request for service to my home. The complaint was for AC not cooling on room in my home. The Serviceman inspected the system inside my home and in conversation I stated the bedroom door was kept closed at all times. The Serviceman said that our problem was insufficient air circulaton to that room and we should keep the door open or install a vent on the door. He even told us an anecdote of his child needing a vent on their door for the same problem. He also told us the AC unit was too small for the size of your home. He then offered to clean the outside unit because as per the service agreement I signed it would be free or charge. WE told him we just had it cleaned by another service at the beginning of the season and he said since it was free and it did look a little bit dirty why not do it. We agreed to the service. Upon his inspection of the system he told my husband "it was a little bit low on freon and he would like to charge the system." My husband not thinking the unit was less than 2 years old ok'd the service, which cost us $331.00. I was unaware of this conversation, had I heard I would have reminded my husband the unit was only 2 years old and should not need to be charged and it was cooling the home fine besides the one room to which the serviceman did not say was due to low freon but due to the door being kept closed. The serviceman took advantage of my husbands ignorance of AC systems and provided us a costly service we did not need. This was unethical of the serviceman to charge our AC unit especially when he did not tell us the reason the one room was not cooled properly was due to low freon but due to insufficient air flow. I called and complained of the poor service and they only offered to refund the service contract fee of $99.00. I told the customer service manager that the home would not be cooled at all if it were low on freon and that was not the reason for our call. I also told her the serviceman stated the reason for the room not cooling was due to insufficient air flow not due to low freon. she said she would not refund the fee for the freon charge but only refund the service agreement. I feel we were grossly taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement: I would like Berkey's plumbing to refund the $331.00 paid for the unnecesary AC charge. I would even pay for their cost for the freon

Business Response:

We regret that you are still disputing the charges that were charged to you on  7/9/13.  After our service manager, ****, spoke to you yesterday, we were certain that you understood that our technician found the a/c system low on freon, which causes the a/c to run longer and not as efficiently.  Our technician explained to you that the one room that was not cooling as well as other rooms was possibly due to the door being closed.  Our technician got authorization from your husband to add the freon and was given the price before doing the work, which is our policy.  Berkeys strives to always do the right thing and we feel like we have done so by refunding the $99 you paid to purchase our BAM service agreement plan.  However, our technician followed policy by advising your husband that the system was low on refrigerant and getting authorization to do that work.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I called berkeys today to ask how much freon was added to our system to which the customer service rep said would not be a problem in locating.  She said the invoice does not state how much freon was added and how odd that it did not say on the invoice. She said it usually does state how much freon is added. We refused a cleaning and the tech insisted, the tech said it was a little bit low but the system was running fine, he did not state on the invoice how much freon was added, low freon was not the cause of our problem as stated by the tech, I did not agree with what the service manager told me and I clearly stated that to him. It seems very clear to me we were taken advantage of , over charged and misled. I would gladly pay berkeys for the freon they added to my system per their cost. One pound of freon does not cost $300. Shame on us for allow berkeys to clean our system after stating it had already been cleaned by someone els 6 months ago. Shame on berkeys for taking advantage of us. They know they over charged us and performed an unnecessary service. They should refund all our money on good faith and in return we will pay them for their cost of the freon, if any, was added to our system. 

Regards,

***** *********

 

 

Business Response:

When the Berkeys technician was called to this home for a room not cooling properly, he evaluated the system that was responsible for this area.  His evaluation indicated that the system was low on R 410A Freon by about 2lbs.  The technician performed a leak search on the system to see if it had a leak, but was unable to find one.  As Berkeys did not install this system, we were unsure if the system had ever been properly charged to the manufacturers specifications.  Upon discovery of the low Freon, our technician presented his finding to the homeowner along with the cost to properly charge the system and received authorization to proceed with the work. Berkeys did not take advantage of this situation, nor did we perform an unnecessary service.  A properly charged system will perform more efficiently, cool all areas better, and ultimately prolong the life of the equipment and improve comfort. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Berkeys must have us confused with another client, which must happen often as they are a very large company who performs ac recharge on a lot of systems.  Per their response " the system was low on R 410 Freon by about 2 pounds." My invoice states "under inspection found the charge to be a little low" no where does it state how low or how much freon was added. The invoice does however, state r-22 freon was added. No where does the invoice state inspection of the system for leaks was performed.  As stated before the ac system was cleaned and serviced 6 months before and no freon was needed. Now I am being told the wrong freon was added to my system? We refused the cleaning, the tech insisted then suddenly $330 later our system may or may not have been low on either r410 or r22 freon. No where on my invoice does it state the low freon was the cause of our ac not cooling the room properly. Which it still is warm in the room if the door is kept closd. The tech checked the temp of the air coming from the duct on that room and it was cooling fine and said we should keep the door open or install a vent. 

As I stated before I am willing to pay berkeys cost for the freon added if they can show by gauge how much they added. My husband not knowing anything about ac units was taken advantage of. Based on their statement either they added the wrong freon and the damaged my system to which I want a new system should mine fail in the future or they never added any freon at all to which I request a full refund of my $330.  

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *********

 

 

Business Response:

We regret that our response to you stated “the system was low on 410A freon” as this is incorrect.  This was an oversight on our part.  Your system was low on freon by 2 pounds and R-22 refrigerant was added after the leak search was performed.  We received authorization from your husband to add the R-22 which is our policy.   Therefore, Berkeys does not admit fault in this case.  However, we are willing to refund half the cost in the amount of $165.50, in an effort to resolve this issue.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9659006, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Your company has offered to reimburse me 50% of the fee paid to you for the ac charge. Your technician performed a leak check on my ac and found there to be no leaks. So the question as to why my less than 2 year old system would be 2 pounds low on refrigerant would go back to the installer. And several times it has been stated that the installer most likely did not fully charge the system from the start. In the name of good customer service, if in fact my system was actually low by 2 pounds, shouldn't your technician have told us there were no leaks it most likely was not fully charged from the start? And to that we would have called the installer and saved $331 dollars and the installer would have been happy to come out to reinspect the system and correct his mistake, had he made one. I called the manufacturer and they stated the system would not cool properly, however upon testing the air flow from the vent your technician said it was the proper temperature and the problem we had was a matter of poor airflow. 

Regards,

***** *********

 

 

Business Response: Berkeys accepts no responsibility for any wrong-doing.  However, in attempt to come to a final resolution, we will issue a refund in the amount of $331.

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am **** ** **************. I am a 67 year old senior citizen. On Monday, Dec 10, 2012 Berkey’s Plumbing of Southlake, Texas came to my home to open a clogged kitchen drain and to fix my kitchen sink faucet. I was asked to sign a work order prior to the work being done. They were unable to unclog my kitchen drain and the service was never done. They only fixed my kitchen sink faucet. They presented me with a bill for $658.00. I was alone so I gave them a check under protest

Desired Settlement: I have been a longstanding customer of this company for years however, this time I have been taken advantage of and over charged. As a long standing customer of this company I am requesting a refund in the amount of $358.00. Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ******** *nd have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

 

**** **************

 

Business Response:

Ms. *******, you and I discussed the fact that you were fully aware of the charges and you had me explain to you the figures that were scratched out after the technician discovered he could not clear the drain line.  The attached document indicates the total amount (circled) after the $25 off, that you authorized before work was done.  I'm sorry that you are now having buyer's remorse, but the Berkeys technician did nothing wrong and charged you the price for a Moen faucet that is in our price book and you authorized him to do that work for that price.

 

10/3/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a maintenance agreement with Berkey's on my plumbing and air conditioner. I purchased my water heater and air conditioner from them. The presentation itself is not the problem it's more the unethical service that I was provided with the maintenance on my plumbing. The representative came out to do the maintenance check on my plumbing. After running a camera scope test and taking some measurements he talked to his supervisor about his concerns for my plumbing and saying that there was a leak. Without a supervisor coming out to inspect or suggesting to run a couple other tests I was given a quote for $30,000 to replace the entire sewer line underneath my house. I was devastated being told this because it is 1/3 the cost of my home. I would never be able to come up with that kind of money. I had a second company come out and after spending $625 in testing it was found that the repair would only cost me $3,500. This is a HUGE difference from the company that I have a current maintenance agreement with and I still make payments on for the water heater and air conditioner. I have a problem giving money to a company that would jump straight to quoting someone $30,000 worth of repairs without making sure the entire repair needed to be done. I am writing this complaint to one find a settlement solution where I do not have to work with this company anymore and to also make people aware that this company has unethical practices and is not honest with their quotes.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to pay Berkeys another dime for the water heater or air conditioner. My family paid $8,500 for both. I also paid around $300 for the maintenance plan. I want that cancelled and refunded and I'd like to stop my payments on the products that we have. They are installed and working fine but I do not want to work with a company that has no problem sending a family into bankruptcy.

BBB Response:

  BBB Ft. Worth Texas
1300 Summit Avenue, Suite 101
Fort Worth, TX 76102
Phone: (817)332-7585 | Fax: (817)882-0566
info@fwbbb.org

 

10/02/2012
 
 
 

Davani Buckley
5337 Buckner Dr

Flower Mound TX 75028

 


Dear Davani Buckley :

This message is in regard to your complaint submitted on 9/28/2012 9:35:56 PM against Berkeys Air Conditioning & Plumbing.  Your complaint was assigned ID 9239578.

The business has sent the BBB a message regarding this complaint, and we are passing it on to you.  The contents of this message are below or attached.  Please respond to this message at your first convenience.

Keep in mind that your response whether in whole or in part may be posted for the public to see.  If your response is posted for the public to see, consumers may use it to form an opinion about the consumer who filed the complaint more than the company on whom the complaint is filed.

Regards,

Angela Ford

Consumer Specialist/Autoline Coordinator
Phone: (817) 332-7585 Ext: 209


MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

Response:

We are going to interview the technician that gave you the quote. If the entire sewer line is in need of replacement, his quote is accurate. However, if only a small portion of the sewer needs replacement, that quote is not accurate. Our work comes with a warranty, which you received with the water heater and air conditioning equipment. You stated that everything is working properly, but in the event that it is not working, we will be more than happy to find out what the problem is and make repairs. If you are disputing the charges on work that has been done, you will need to contact Wells Fargo, as they are in charge of your financing. I will be more than happy to refund your service agreement money in the amount of $99 that you purchased December 2011.

Sent on: 10/2/2012 12:47:34 PM

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I have already made the repairs to the partial line that needed to be replaced after the appropriate testing was done. 

Regards,

 

****** *******

 

 

 

6/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had a plumbing leak in laundry rm floor. Tech sent, by Berkeys, hired by Berkeys (3 wks earlier) jack hammered tile in laundry rm; guest bath tile, still unable to locate leak; hugh tunnel under bath sink counter into laundry rm. Tech said "leak must have sealed itself off". Then he had to re-route 4 water pipes from manifold to overhead in attic; thus also making holes in my walls to connect for toilet, tub, etc. He made five holes in all in sheetrock. Plastic sheeting loose, mud on beige tile, so all tile in bath had to be prof. cleaned. Tech switched water line & end of 2nd day when he turned water on, poured scalding hot water came gushing out onto the entry hall & into Library. This came from one of the sheetrock open holes he made from guest bath on adjoining wall. The hardwood flooring was ruined. Oriental rug/pad in Library sent to cleaners & flooring buckled, finished came off. I had to pay for his two days of 'jack hammering' and then overhead pipe attic fix - which is what I wanted in the first place. To make matters worse, 2nd evening, the hot water heater would not work. Original water heater 12yrs old & gas valve went out & told I needed new water heater. I said o.k. but different tech's this time to install. Next day two different guys from Berkeys installed, water heater did NOT pass city code when inspector came out. I was pissed off. Berkeys has incompent people working for them - do not know what they are doing. Called pres. four wks in a row, left msg's on his voice mail & he NEVER called me back. He is one sorry son of a gun. Very poor customer service, lousy employee inservice not knowing their job or up on specs for code. Never had guts to pick up a phone & talk to me. I had a $17,000 homeowners claim from this whole fiasco with entire wood flooring replaced due to his tech screwing up with hot water pipe switch. Terrible company - do not use them. p.s. NEVER found the leak!!!

Desired Settlement: I would like info posted so people may reference that Berkeys hires techs who are not knowledgeable on code specs, are not well experienced, did not wear shoe covers, came to my house without business cards, made a dirty mess - had to clean up after them. I would NOT recommend them to anyone. I called the president of the company for several wks, left messages & he has yet to return a call. Lousy customer service. I will tell everyone I know - do NOT use Berkeys A/C Plumbing.

Business Response: Berkeys is terribly sorry for the difficulties resulting from the slab leak in Ms. ******'s home. We have made several previous efforts to resolve the problems to her satisfaction and unfortunately have not been able to do so. We have turned this matter over to our insurance carrier so that they may determine what if any damages for which Berkeys may be responsible and cover them appropriately. 


It must have been very frustrating to leave message after message and feel they were being ignored. We have put a system in place so that this problem would never happen again. If Ms. ****** would like to discuss this further with a member of Berkeys management team, she is welcome to contact me directly at ************. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:  Berkeys merely addressed ONLY the unanswered telephone calls to the President of the company. The issues of untrained, incompetent workers who caused extensive damage ($17,000) to my home & 2nd crew installed a hot water heater - did not meet city code (on two specs) - these were not even addressed at all. This company is still 'skirting' around the other real problem they have. One  problem is lack of  Customer Service; and (two) is lack of qualified, trained personnel. I want this on the web site allowing  other people to view so the public may be aware, when doing their 'homework'  shopping  for A/C & Plumbing  companies can make an informed choice. 

5/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable