BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/05/2007

Andrews Auto Sales Inc.

Phone: (812) 473-4492Fax: (812) 473-4494

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
03/18/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: A buye a 00 ford espedition from andrews and sinse a weck afther a buye start to had lot of mechanic isuance with this vehicle , they told me tobringt
A buy a 00 ford expedition from andrews for almost 13,000 almost two years ago , but a weeck afther a purchase the vehicle a start to had serveral mecanich isue with it the told me to bring the truck in so they had they mechanic check on it , and a did tha and not susces at all they had the mechanic work on it serveral times , an not boddy can figure waths goin on with this , well last month rigth before christmas a was vomehome for the holidays and the motor blow ip on the interstate coming from ilinois and when a call andrews the told me I had to had the truck towed ther for they to check it . And the told me a had to had the tow truck bring it mayself , well a did tha a pay for the tow truck to tacke ther , a week lather the not call me to let me know waths was wrong so a calle them an they told me is notjing they cant do tha they can install a new.motor and a had to pay for this all in frontt so when a ask if they can get me another vehicle so a can get back to work they told me a had to start all over agine buy another vehicle , so her a am with out 13000 of dollars and out of vejicle , and a thinck espesial.a had the vehicle almostpayd off they should provid3 me with the oportunity of had another vehicle afther all the aare istill own the truck so the left me with out of money and vehicle and a feel they riped me off and the not seen to care

Business Response
***** ******* purchased the 2000 Ford Expedition in question on 2/18/2011 from Andrews Auto Sales, located at **** * ********* *** *********** IN XXXXX. This location is solely owned by ****** ******* and operates independently from the location you have contacted, which is Andrews Auto Sales Inc, **** ****** **** *********** IN XXXXX. ****** ******* began phasing into retirement and we started collecting his Accounts Receivables in October 2012. Our records indicate that Mr. ***** ******* purchased this vehicle "AS IS" on 2/18/2011 for $8995 (not $13K as stated by Mr. *******) and his account was roughly 4 months delinquent when we took over collections for Mr. ********
We offered to make him show current on his account when we began collecting and his account soon became delinquent again within a month. We repossessed the vehicle on 4/1/2013 when he was approximately 2 months delinquent. We allowed him to pay $150 on his account to pick it up on 5/11/2013 and again updated his account to show him current to start off on a clean slate. This time it took him about 6 weeks to become delinquent again. His last payment made was on 12/2/2013 and he was still 7 weeks delinquent after that payment.
Mr. ******* had his vehicle towed in around Christmas time (2013) with a locked up motor. We quoted the cost of the replacement motor and did not hear any response. Mr. ******* had established such a poor credit history at this point that any offer to extend financing of repairs was not offered. After failing to hear back from him, we officially repossessed the vehicle on 1/6/2013 and the vehicle was sold at auction on 1/16/2013. Mr. ******* still owes a deficiency balance of $3,163.51 as of date of sale.
It appears the nature of Mr. *******'s complaint is mechanical issues with the purchase, which we were not the party involved with the initial sale. I strongly believe that we should not have this complaint count against our BBB Rating based on Mr. *******'s nature of complaint and all circumstances around this account. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions or concerns.

*** *******
Andrews Auto Sales Inc

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/24/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/22/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/03/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
04/23/2012Problems with Product / Service
04/03/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/14/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Used Car Dealerships

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.