BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/25/2010

All American Home Improvement, LLC

Find a Location

(877) 718-18531100 N. Congress, EvansvilleIN 47715 Send email to All American Home Improvement, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/25/2010

BBB has determined that All American Home Improvement, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised All American Home Improvement, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on All American Home Improvement, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
08/15/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have waited 3 months to get my window screen replaced as promised in the warranty and by phone. The same window also has a problem closing.
My windows were installed on the week of April 26. I called and spoke with ***** on April 29th and advised him the window screen had broken in half and fallen out. He said he would get a new one installed and it usually took about 2 weeks. 2 weeks later after no phone call and no one showing up i called back. I was told the screen came in wrong the wrong size by one person and by another I was told it came in broke. I can only assume no screen came in at all. I have made several calls since then. I have spoken with ***** on several occasions and he has relayed information to ***** After about 7 weeks and another phone call I did get a phone call from **** advising the window came in wrong again and they would have one here in 10 days. At that time I also told him the same window when pushed closed would pop back up. **** said that there was a problem with the window and he would have to look at it and get it fixed. I said o.k. and assumed I would hear back in 10 days. I did not. I made the last phone call to ***** on July 17th and he said the screen should be on the manifest for July 22nd and I would get a call. As of July 26th I still didn't receive a call so I called and left a message on *****'s voicemail to call me back I expected to get a call with an appointment time to put my screen in and to fix my window and I was mad and this was horrible service and asked him for a call back because my next complaint would be a BBB complaint. I am calling the company again today 7/31/13 but also filing the complaint.

Desired Settlement
I want my window screen replaced promptly and the window fixed from popping back up when closed.

Business' Initial Response
Mrs ***** ***** has referred two customers to All American Home Improvement. We take great pride when a customer is very happy with our products and service. We have taken her calls and have sent our technicians to her house on several occasions to check her window issues. I am sorry we can not respond as fast as some people expect us to respond. When our customers get our windows they come with certain features that make them very energy effecient. Mrs ***** was not used to these type of windows. One of these certain features causes the two sashes to close firmly. Sometimes the custmer pulls the sash to them while trying to close, this will cause the meeting rail not to intersect. My service technician went to her house again and showed her and her father how to open and close the window. Her screen finally came into our warehouse. We called her and took screen out to her house and now it is done. Some customers need to realize that these windows are not sitting on shelf anywhere we have to custom make everything. Again sorry we can't move as fast as some customers want us to move but we do get the job done and receive many, many referrals for our service and products.

07/22/2015Problems with Product / Service
05/10/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
salesman did not give a realistic estimate of job to be completed. did not use desired materials.
contracted with all American to correct a roofing flaw and reroof garage. estimator/salesman gave estimate without checking inside the roof to see what actually needed to be done. the crew came on the scheduled day to begin job. About half way through went out to check on progress and noticed that the roof still had the sway that was promised to be removed. Questioned the worker because no overseer was present. He explained additional work that would have to be done to remove the sway. Not satisfied the owner of the company was called. He began yelling and threatening us with the building commissioner. The call was ended and by this time the foreman was on site. We spoke with him and agreed for the workers to continue. A little while later we went out to check on progress of the roof. Tat is when we noticed the wrong shingles were being used. Told the foreman those were the wrong shingles and he said "Oh, I assumed these are the same you have on the rest of your house" No concern of what to do about it. The roof was completed with a sway still in it on the front and the back looks worse than it did before t was replaced. We again spoke with the foreman about that and again no response. Today 4/25/2016 all american called to schedule a time to come to the house to sign financial papers. The lady who called was informed that there were some issues that needed to be discussed before papers were signed. She had the owner call. He was very defensive yelling threatening to put a lean against our house if we did not sign the finance papers. He would not listen to my concerns only interrupted every thing I tried to explain. He was very unprofessional saying things like " I wish I had never taken your job. The call was ended. A short time later the office lady and another salesman came to the house for signatures on the finance papers. We spoke with them regarding our concerns but it just ended up coming down to he said she said situation which left no recourse except to sign the papers. Everyone who works in management for this company is related so it would impossible to get a favorable resolution from them.
this company does not seem interested in making their customers or having good customer service.

Desired Settlement
would like to receive compensation for undesired materials and get the word out that this company does not stand by their word and do what they say they can do.

Business Response
Anyone who has ever done business with All American knows we do a very thorough job to explain the total project from begining to end. Mr. ***** was informed that we where not putting a 3-tab shingle on his house. We left an entire folder with our information on the shingles and a signed copy of his contract stateing what type of shingle and products to be installed as well as any exclusions pertaining to the job. He had stated on many occations that the person who built their garage did a very bad job. One side of the rake was 7" taller than the middle point of the roof. We have many pictures of the garage showing that half of the decking was not fasstened to the rafters. We called the building commission to make sure if they needed to tag the garage out for unsafe structure. They said we could blue tarp the roof and walk away from the job, especially since homeowner was cussing and yelling at our workers for trying help make thw structure safe. Our contract states "if there is any rafter damage we will have to bid to fix damage accordingly to code" We where simply there to put a new roof on a garage. It was not our fault the homeowner hired a contractor that did not build the garage to code. Mr. ***** wifee was never present for any of the confirsations that he and I, especially the time I came out when he was yelling at my workers who where trying to help. We actually sat at his kitchen table and had a very nice confirsation on them moving to Florida. I truly thank the ***** for their business. We apologize for any problems that they beleive we may have caused. The roof is what Mr ***** signed for with alot of no charge extras beyond the contract. I beleive if Mrs. ***** was present at the begining all this would have been resolved at the begining. Mr. ***** lost their paperwork, that makes things pretty tough since Mrs. ***** never got to see what her husband signed. Our office manger made copies of their paperwork and hand delivered their copies. My office manger and one of my sales mangers stayed a talked for 2 hours and ***** stated everything is good.

Initial Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We did not know that they were not putting n three tab roofing. No folder with he information was left with us. Why would agree to roofing that did not match the rest of the house. What the original contractor di had no bearing on what they were supposed to do .He did not call the building commissioner only threatened to do so. If he had and they told him to walk away I', positive he would have taken his crew of the job. We would like to know what extras they gave us at no charge. I was present during the conversation with the office manager an at no time did I or my husband say everything was good. In fact she stated she would not send in the financial papers until se want back and talked with her husband to see if anything could be done since they did not want to have negative word of mouth against their

Final Business Response
We at All American Home Improvement stand behind our Legal Binding Contract. Mr. ***** signed the contract and paid for all upgrades to his roof. When job was completed he was satisfied with all upgrades. We appreciate his business.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
how many times do I have to say we were not satisfied with the job that was one. We did not dispute the extra cost for materials, only the way we ere treated by the employees of this company, and the fact that the incorrect roofing shingles were used. It only makes sense that if the shingles were what we picked out we would not be in this situation now. I don't ever see this dispute being settled because tis company will not admit any wrongdoing and they have a tendency to not tell the truth. I just want the word out as to how they do business so other potential customers do not have the same issues we have had.

03/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They gave me a verbal agreement that if I was not happy with the gutter covers they installed with the new roof they would refund the cost of covers
On Oct. 7, 2015 I signed and agreement with All American Home Improvements to have a new roof shingles installed and new gutter covers. The total cost was $11,600.00, with approximately $700.00 for the gutter covers. I gave them a check for $2500.00, with the balance due on completion.
We had a discussion regarding the gutter covers, we did not feel they would be satisfactory for my house due to the large amount of leaves and acorns that I have from a large oak tree near the house.
The Salesman, ****, assured me that they would be fine.
During the entire sales pitch, they were constantly "selling" the quality of the materials and their workmanship.
Approximately a week later they started the job, after a couple of days they started the installation of the gutter covers. My fiance, ***** ****** looked at the gutter covers on the garage, and the installation was very POOR, and sloppy. He pointed it out to the supervisor of the crew and told him it was unsatisfactory and felt the covers was going to be a serious issue due to the leaves and acorn that would collect on them. The supervisor called his boss and ***** spoke with him on the phone, he told ***** he would be there the next day and that we could discuss them and might have to use a different type of cover. The next day when we never saw this supervisor, nor heard from him, but, the covers had been removed and replaced with the same type cover and painted.
When the job was completed, ***** met with **** to inspect the roof and gutter covers, ***** insisted that the covers were going to be an issue and pointed out some areas of the installation of the drip rail that was not very neat and sloppy, **** stated that was the way it had to be installed and there was nothing that could be done about it.
He stated that was the ONLY gutter covers that they installed and had never had any problems with them. ***** told him that he knew it was going to be an issue for us! **** stated that we should give them 30-60 day trial and if we didn't like them and they were a problem they would work with us for a refund, ***** suggested that we try them and pay for them if they worked, **** stated they couldn't do that, since they were already installed. ***** knew this was going to be an issue, but, gave him the check for $9100.00 on 10/25/2015
***** ask him about the Warranty paperwork on the roof, **** said that would be mailed to us by Tempco in 2-3 weeks.
On 11/10, ***** called the owner, ***** regarding the gutter cover and the issues with the installation, he stated he would be by the following day, or he would call. Neither happened, he never called nor showed up.
After more phone calls and emails the only solution they offered was to install a different gutter cover, which according to **** they only installed that one brand, at additional cost for the covers and labor!
They refused to honor their verbal agreement to refund the cost of the gutter covers as **** very clearly stated they would do.
It took 31/2 months to finally get the Warranty paperwork and numerous requests for it.
All American Home Improvements customer service after they've collected for the job is extremely poor to non existant!
They should refund the cost for the gutter covers and installation that they quoted at $700.00 as they agreed to do.

Desired Settlement
A refund for the gutter covers as they agreed to do!

Business Response
All American Home improvement does not do verbal agreements. This is specifically stated in our contract. Mrs. ***** signed both the front and back side of our contract. We would never state that we can take out gutter guards that have been screwed down to the gutter- this would compromise the integrity of the gutters, leaving holes from the screws.

Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All American Home Improvement's Sales Manager did make a verbal agreement in regards to the gutter covers! Since he is an employee representing the company, then they need to address that with him. It is my understanding that Verbal Agreements are binding in IN!
Their statement regarding "this would compromise the integrity of the gutters, leaving holes from the screws" is just more of their BS! The small holes in the the gutters would not impact the integrity of the gutters and would be covered by what ever covers that were installed once these are removed!
If All American Home Improvements is not honest enough to fulfill the commitments made by their representative then I guess we will have to let the court decide if their commitment is binding!

Final Business Response
All AmericanHome Improvement, LLC stands behind it's legal contract concerning this matter.

02/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Siding removed from home should have been put back to prevent leaks and wasn't
Also caulking on windows interior is still not completed
Siding on the front of the home was removed when roof was replaced and I questioned it's absence when they said they were finished, they assured me that it would not leak and it has.
Also caulking of the windows on the interior has never been completed either.
I and my neighbor have removed hundreds of nails from the driveway before and after replacing my neighbors tire. In addition we have made several attempts to get them back out to finish the windows and bring the sash of a window that was ordered when the window portion was supposed to be completed, we still have not seen the sash.

Desired Settlement
Finish the job they have been paid for.
Properly repair the leak due to the missing siding,that they removed which is the cause of the leak we currently have. FINISH THE JOB LIKE PROFESSIONALS!!!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** **** operations mana
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *********@att.net
I spoke with *** and told him i would have ***** the window installer come back caulk the inside of the 3 windows once he is released from doctor he cut his tendon into for his middle finger on his left hand. A few days later *** called and stated they had a leak in master bedroom next to front dormer. Within 3 hours of him calling i had our crew there at his home. The customer has broken boards where his aluminum siding was removed. Customer is going to be replacing/refurbing their siding in future, we told customer that siding had to be replaced/repaired soon to prevent leaks next to the step flashing. Our guys geoceled cracked/broken boards below windows right above step flashing. We spent 1/2 a day at no charge helping remove siding, i dont see how we expected to now replace the boards that customer will be replacing/refurbing. We will be glad to caulk 3 windows in a few weeks once ***** is released and customer takes down drapes/blinds/curtains. I told *** we would call to schedule.

Consumer Response
This work has still not been completed and I have heard nothing from them! I'm not waiting for them to pencil me in when they have time. I have paid them in full and expect them to complete in full IMMEDIATELY NOT LATER!

Final Business Response
**** will have someone over to Mr ******'s wednesday or thursday to finish the windows.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is Wed evening 9:03 pm and I have heard nothing from anyone about scheduling a day or time to come and complete the work.

09/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Windows ordered 4/17/15 and installed 6/12/15. Bathroom window casement handle need to be fixed. Ordered by ***** on 6/12/15. Expected 2 weeks later.
As of 9/8/15, the piece has still not been replaced. I have called and spoke with *****, *****, ***** and ***** regarding this issue and have been told differing reasons as to why the piece has not come in. I spoke with **** on 8/29/15 to inquire about replacing the window since the part was so hard to order and he said that he would have ask **** if that was possible and call me back no later than Thursday 9/3/15. As of 9/8/15, I still had not received a call and had to place a call to ***** When I called he again said he would have to call me back. I feel that having paid them up front $5495.00 that this should be fixed in less than the 3 plus months it has taken.

Desired Settlement
I want to have the window fixed or replaced with a window that doesn't have a broken casement handle. I don't want to have to wait another 3 months for this to be fixed.

Business Response
We have been out to Mrs. ******* ****** home 2 times at her request. We have taken several of her calls and have given her the same answer that her part is not in yet. We do not make the parts and we do not have these type of parts in on warehouse. We have tried to insure her on several occasions that when her part comes in we will call her and schedule one of our technicians to go out to her home and fix her handle. I have given her my personal cell phone number to ease her mind that this part situation will be fixed. We do not control our window manufacture. We will fix her window as promised but until we receive the part we can not fix her window.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not disputing the fact that he cannot control his manufacturer. As a consumer I feel that this is not an acceptable time frame for a "spring" issue to be resolved. I paid up front for 9 windows. 8 are functioning and one remains 3 months later not functioning properly. I feel at this point to fix the issue the company needs to install a new window that is completely functioning. The company has actually been out to my home 4 times, first to sell the windows to me second to measure the windows, third to install the windows and then a fourth time 1 1/2 months later to install the spring which was missing from the broken window (that did not happen it was the wrong spring.)
I actually have 4 cell phone numbers of most of the people in the company which I have called repeatedly. None of the calls have seemed to be of any resolution and I have feel I have been pursuing them, not them calling or trying to resolute the problem.

Final Business Response
When we receive the parts we will fix the handle on her window.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Drywall and Plastering Contractors, Windows - Repairing, Energy Audits, Windows, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Window Sales/Service, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Deck Builder, Lead Paint Removal & Remediation, Contractor - Insulation, Contractors - General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/24/2010Business started: 02/01/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Hanzel K. Hoag (Owner)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Drywall and Plastering Contractors, Windows - Repairing, Energy Audits, Windows, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Window Sales/Service, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Deck Builder, Lead Paint Removal & Remediation, Contractor - Insulation, Contractors - General

Products & Services

This company offers roofing, window installation, and remodeling services This business is the only locally owned Owens Corning Platinum preferred contractor. They are also an EPA certified renovator, Tamko Pro certified contractor, and Shield Pro Plus Certified contractor. This company also offers financing.

Alternate Business Names
All American Energy Solutions, LLC, All American Windows & Doors
BBB Program Participation
All American Home Improvement, LLC participates in the BBBOnLine Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
Home Improvement Contractors/Builders
Roofing Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

All American Home Improvement, LLC has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

5 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for All American Home Improvement, LLC

1100 N. Congress

Evansville, IN 47715

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1100 N. Congress 

    Evansville, IN 47715

  • 2710 Eastside Park Rd STE A 

    Evansville, IN 47715-8527(812) 746-1115

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Indiana, Southeastern Illinois and Henderson & Union Counties in Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*All American Home Improvement, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Home Improvement Contractors/Builders
Roofing Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.