BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2000

Altstadt Plumbing Service, Inc.

Phone: (812) 425-9389Fax: (812) 424-95911401 Buchanan Road, EvansvilleIN 47720 Send email to Altstadt Plumbing Service, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2000

BBB has determined that Altstadt Plumbing Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Altstadt Plumbing Service, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Altstadt Plumbing Service, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
04/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Septic system and sand trap have not been working properly for over a year with multiple service calls. System still not working. Overflowing.
Altstadt has been coming to our house on multiple visits for the past year due to our sand trap with the septic system not draining properly. First visit they just shoveled to sand around to get it to drain, we paid bill. Second visit they decided to replace the sand, we paid that bill. Third visit they scoped the septic system, pressure cleaned the system, removed some of the sand, heavy treatment of BioClean and had my husband and I do 5 continuous nights of BioClean treatments in all of our drains. System still not fixed. We have not paid that bill. When they came back out the decided to dig up the yard to replace the outlet drain from the sand trap to the ditch. Not only did this not work because it is still not draining but is overflowing into our yard with a foul smell, but they left our yard in terrible condition. Did not level the ground after digging and no grass seed or straw. We developed major sink holes in the yard after a rain which cause my husband and I to go spend just over $100 to put more dirt down and lay seed. After another rain, due to Altstadt digging out the ditch and not properly leveling our yard we are now dealing with erosion. This morning our sand trap is still overflowing into the yard. We have had multiple phone conversations with Altstadt, late arrivals for services (not on the days they said they would come), and we are tired of paying thousands for trial and error with no results. By the time we pay this current bill we could have paid for a whole new septic system to be installed.

Desired Settlement
I would like for our system to be fully repaired. If that requires a new septic system so be it. I feel they need to take into consideration our dissatisfaction and the amount of money we have already paid them for failed services.

Business Response
We would agree that this has been an issue that has taken multiple trips to resolve. While it has taken multiple trips our company has only charged for one of these four trips. We are truly are sorry that this has carried on but have made every effort to get this resolved. It is our understanding that everything is fixed and working at this time. The sand filter is a part of the septic system that does require maintenance from time to time. As far as a permanent fix goes, the only other real option would be an entire new septic system which takes up quite a bit of space in the yard and is somewhat expensive. I would be more than happy to discuss these options with Mr. and Mrs. *****. We here at Altstadt Plumbing had no idea this was to the point of being reported to the better business bureau, after all we have not charged for our time or material on three of our last four trips to this home. Please let me know if there is anything else we can do to help resolve this matter. We do strive for customer satisfaction and are open to discussing this situation anytime, thank you!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
For now it seems to be fixed. Not sure what was done by Altstadt after we contacted BBB. If we continue to have problems my wife and I plan to contact a different company. We will send payment this week.

10/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They came to my house to repair my main sewer line. They did not do they work correctly and my basement now floods. My yard is torn up. They did not complete the job correctly. An engineer came to my home and determined that they caused the damage. They told us they would take care of the problem but backed out after the first day. To top it off I have had to fight with the insurance to try to get my house repaired. I have since received a bill from altstadt to include interest charges. I have been advised not to pay for the services. I think people should know that alstadt will only create more problems. Work was started on Easter weekend.

Desired Settlement
I want them to pay for damages. I have opened a claim with the insurance company.

Business Response
Response given via phone: ***** ********
Response taken via phone: *** *******

Mr. ******** states:

We ran a new sewer line from the kitchen around to the back of the house, about 40 feet, and we had to go through a concrete pad.
Mr. ********** said to go ahead because he had someone who would be coming out to pour a new pad. When we began the project, we found that there was brick and it was laid in six inches or so of concrete. Mr. ********** said that we should continue and take it out. We did all this as requested by Mr. **********, and we even removed the broken up pad at no charge to Mr. **********.

As far as the claim that we destroyed the pad, yes we did, but at Mr. **********'s request. The damage that was done because the concrete pad was removed wouldn't have happened if the new pad were poured as quickly as Mr. ********** had indicated. We checked with our insurer, and we were told that we weren't responsible, and for us not to pay anything.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have a leak from where the drain line was replaced it actively leaking. The pad was not 6 in. We have pictures of the pad with measurements. They knew that it was a brick patio in concrete when they started the job. The leak occurred days after the "work" was completed. It happened at the first rain. The area should have been back filled as stated in our agreement. We planned to have a new patio complete once a contractor was able to schedule work. We at no time stated a day and knew it may be a few weeks. All damage is due to the pipe that was not replaced correctly. This is per the engineer that the insurance company sent to our property. The insurer has told us that they have claimed responsibility.

Business Response
Given via email by **** ********:
Taken via email by: *** ******

In response to this complaint Altstadt Plumbing feels that we have been more than cooperative with this situation. Like with any disagreement both parties have their own version of the event that brings us to this point. Regardless of what has brought us here we would like to resolve the situation in full. We recently received a phone call from the client notifying us of a portion of a bill ($2,000.00) that our insurance company is unwilling to pay. At this time we offered to pay this portion ($2,000.00) of the bill to put this to rest. Expecting this to be the answer they were looking for, we were told they would need to discuss this with their spouse. We returned with a follow up call the next day and were told at this time that they would need to get back with us that they were not sure if the $2,000.00 was an accurate amount for the work. We truly have attempted to work this out and would appreciate getting this situation resolved and behind us.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't feel that we show pay anything. Our home and yard has been wrecked and still is. We have had to reschedule family events and been unable to use our pool, backyard, and basement. We are on a waiting list to get the leak fixed. We have no guarantee that twe may occur more damages from the main line that was replaced.

Final Business Response
Just as a follow up to the previous response, we would appreciate putting all of this behind us.We have offered to wave all charges for work completed to offset the cost of the repair based on the cost given to us from the owner during a previous conversation. Prior to our company agreeing to wave these charges it was asked from the owner that we cover the $2000.00 estimate given to them to make the repair. After agreeing to cover these charges the owner has since had no contact with our company and has made no further efforts to settle this situation. We would appreciate settling this matter so that we may all move on without any further dispute.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are not in agreement. I'm not willing to pay as previously stated in August.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Contractors - General, Drainage Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/01/1999Business started: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Altstadt (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Chip Altstadt
Business Category

Plumbers, Contractors - General, Drainage Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Industry Tips
Plumbers
Home Improvement Contractors/Builders

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Altstadt Plumbing Service, Inc.

1401 Buchanan Road

Evansville, IN 47720

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1401 Buchanan Road 

    Evansville, IN 47720(812) 425-9389
    Fax: (812) 424-9591

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Indiana, Southeastern Illinois and Henderson & Union Counties in Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Altstadt Plumbing Service, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.