BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1987

St. Mary's Health, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (812) 485-4000Fax: (812) 434-1501View Additional Phone Numbers3700 Washington Ave, EvansvilleIN 47750 Send email to St. Mary's Health, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This health system encompasses a wide range of services and facilities throughout the tri-state area. A Catholic health ministry dedicated to spiritually centered, holistic care improving the health of individuals and communities.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1987

BBB has determined that St. Mary's Health, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised St. Mary's Health, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on St. Mary's Health, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 1/8/14, XXXXX was admitted to the hospital for chest pain. He spent 6 hours waiting for 1 hour of service. They took a chest xray, ran blood work, told him he was fine and he went home. He had two active insurance polices. Both thru Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield. Policy #XXXXX & Policy#XXXXX. Both polices were paid for. He kept both the 1st month of January to make sure he was insured as it was the 1st month of OBama Care. The hospital billed to XXXXX which does not exist. Mr. XXXXX worked for a year with the hospital and Blue Cross Blue Shield to get them to use one of the polices to cover the cost of his stay and treatment which is $9,295. Blue Cross Blue Shield refuses to pay out on a policy that doesn't exist. The hospital failed to correct it, demanded payment and put him in collections which is destroying his credit. Mr. XXXXXX worked with St. Mary's for a year and they failed in every way to correct the bill.

Desired Settlement
We request that St. Mary's hospital correct the bill and give us our portion as it would have been after our insurance paid their share. We request St. Mary's review why a chest xray and bloodwork costs $7,021 and they correct the billing error with Anthem Blue Cross. We request St. Mary's to contact MedOne, their collection service and explain what has happened. We request that St. Mary's correct and restore Mr. XXXXX credit report. All St. Mary's actions must be in writing.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title:
The concern was thoroughly investigated and discussed with patient and spouse on January 25, 2016. St. Mary's has conducted extensive review of the two accounts from dates of service 01/08/2014 and 01/10/2014. In an effort to resolve the concern, St. Mary's Medical Center has submitted appeals with the patient's insurance company for both accounts. In addition, the accounts have been moved from a patient responsibility, patient should not be receiving statements while the accounts are in appeal.

Thank you for sharing the concerns.

10/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
St. Mary's sent my bill to collections rather than waiting while I went through my legal appeals process to dispute an insurance claim.
In April of 2015 I was sent by my chiropractor to an outpatient clinic to have Chiropractic xrays taken. That service was run through my insurance as medical rather than chiropractic which incurred a $350 deductible. I elected to go through the appeals process for my insurance to see if I could have the $350 deductible remove and passed through the Chiropractic portion of my insurance instead. I informed St Mary's of this appeals process and was told that it shouldn't be a problem. After the first step was declined, I elected to go through the second step and called St Mary's to inform them that I was still in the midst of Appeals. As I prepared to enter the third and final step for the appeals process I received a call from a collection agency telling me that St Mary's had passed my delinquent bill on. I had already paid the portion above the $350 mark knowing that either way I would be responsible for that. I finally have a paper bill from St Marys and wanted to send them the $350 since I am concluded with the appeals process, but since they sent it to collections now I have to pay the collection agency instead. Except I don't have a bill and can't get to the collection agency to send me an email telling me where to send the payment. This has the potential of causing a for mark on my credit rating which I do not believe I should incur. I kept St. Mary's apprised of the appeals process every step and have not attempted to keep from paying what I owe.

Desired Settlement
I want my bill reflected to have paid the $350 in a timely fashion so that there is no potential black mark on my credit rating.

Business Response

I called and spoke with the patient. I discussed the current situation and assured him that I did see where he had called to give updated of his appeal. I agreed to pull his account back from collections, and he would send a check for $350 to us to pay his account in full.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hospitals, Physicians & Surgeons - Family Practice, Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/01/1989Business started: 01/01/1872
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Keith Jewell (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Kathy Stewart (Mgr. Patient Relations)Mr. J.D. LeClere (Executive Director)Dr. Karl W Sash Ms. Holly Smith (Director of Market Research and Planning)Mr. John Zabrowski (Chief Financial Officer)
Business Category

Hospitals, Physicians & Surgeons - Family Practice, Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D.

Products & Services

This company offers total health care system services.

Service Area

Provides services throughout the Evansville tri-state area.

Alternate Business Names
Genesis Health Alliance, Ohio Valley HeartCare / Center for Advanced Medicine, St Mary's Family Practice Ctr, St. Mary's Breast Center, St. Mary's Center for Children, St. Mary's Convenient Care East, St. Mary's Hospital for Women & Children, St. Mary's Weight Management Center, St. Mary's Surgicare, St. Mary's Warrick Hospital, St. Mary's Medical Center, St. Mary's Convenient Care West, Boonville Urgent Care
Industry Tips
Medical Licensing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

St. Mary's Health, Inc. has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for St. Mary's Health, Inc.

3700 Washington Ave

Evansville, IN 47750

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Indiana, Southeastern Illinois and Henderson & Union Counties in Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*St. Mary's Health, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (812) 485-8700
  • (812) 485-7425
  • (812) 485-6020
  • (812) 485-6016
  • (812) 897-4800
  • (812) 485-5858
  • (812) 485-4455
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Hospitals

Medical Licensing
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.