BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1998

Nunning Heating, Air, & Refrigeration, Inc.

Phone: (812) 421-8899Fax: (812) 425-16121120 E. Diamond Ave., EvansvilleIN 47711 Send email to Nunning Heating, Air, & Refrigeration, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1998

BBB has determined that Nunning Heating, Air, & Refrigeration, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Nunning Heating, Air, & Refrigeration, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Nunning Heating, Air, & Refrigeration, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
12/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Heater wont work after fall maintenance
I had my unit serviced for the winter season in the month of October 2014. After being serviced the unit would not come on. I called Nunning and they came and said nothing is wrong with the unit and slapped me with a 84.95 fee. I called and disputed that and they said not their problem. I went on vacation and just back back today Nov. 13th and came home to a freezing house. I told them their was a issue and if its related to their mistake or something broke I feel they should have caught that. Especially if I am paying for two service calls. What I feel is fair is either come out and diagnois the problem and fix it or refund all my money due to the inconvienance. I have to put trust in the company because I don't know how to fix the unit. Also, when I called and complained about being charged the manager of the office was supposed to call me back and go over why I was charged, and I NEVER received a call.

Desired Settlement
either find the issue or refund my money and I will find a company that can find out what is going on.

Business Response
Mr. ****** called Nunning for routine fall maintenance, which was performed on 10/02/14. As to Mr. ****** claim he was charged for a clean and check, because a service to clean his furnace was done. The furnace was checked and cleaned with no problems found at the time of service. Then Mr. ****** called back after 18 days on 10/20/14, to say that furnace was not working again. A return service call was placed to check out why the unit was not working properly. The technician checked the furnace operation and could not find anything wrong with the furnace. He went through the system and looked at the last fault code, which was a low flame signal. He checked flame sensor wire to the ground, then checked all the readings and they are within the Goodman manufacturing specs. At that time the customer was charged because when we arrived the furnace was working and when we checked it over, the unit was operating normally by Goodman manufacturing specs.
Then customer calls in on 11/14/14 to claim he had no heat. At that time we sent a different technician to the house to check out the furnace out. The tech found the collector box leaking because the seal had failed and was leaking water onto flame sensor, causing intermittent problems. He pulled collector box and inducer motor and resealed. Tested unit after the repair and the furnace was working properly. That service call was not charged to the customer because of the problem the customer claimed he still had. As to Mr. ****** feeling that he was not treated fairly, we provided him with the service he requested and then followed up to make sure the customer had heat. The problem was corrected and no further communication has been received to tell us that unit is not working after the final call. The customer was charged correctly for clean/check and then for one service call.

08/20/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/16/2012Billing / Collection Issues
01/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
service was completed by another company and he was told upon arrival but claims he was there for 1.5 hrs checking system he should have left
THE HEAT WAS FIXED BY ANOTHER COMPANY PROVIDED BY THE DAYCARE BEFORE THE NUNNING SERVICE TECH ARRIVED. HE WAS TOLD SOMEONE ELSE HAD FIXED IT AND IT WAS OPERATING FINE, BUT INSISTED ON GOING BACK AND LOOKING AT THE FURNACE. HE SHOULD HAVE LEFT AT THE START. HE HAD NO BUSINESS GOING BACK WHEN IT WAS ALREADY FIXED. HE DEFINITELY DIDN'T NEED TO STAY THERE FOR AN HOUR AND A HALF AS HE CLAIMED. THE DAYCARE SAID HE WASN'T THERE THAT AMOUNT OF TIME. I RECEIVED A BILL FOR 114.40 FROM NUNNING AND I CALLED THEM AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REP WAS VERY RUDE ON THE PHONE. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THEIR SERVICES. OVER CHARGING FOR SERVICES NOT NEEDED IS RIDICULOUS. I DIDN'T MIND PAYING A SIMPLE SERVICE CALL FEE SINCE HE DID SHOW UP, BUT HE SHOULD HAVE LEFT OR AT LEAST CALLED SOMEONE. A BILL FOR 114.40 IS NOT AN APPROPRIATE AMOUNT UNDER THE CIRCUMSTANCES.

Desired Settlement
On 11/8 nunning was called to a daycare to get the heat working. The daycare had already had a service tech fix it before the arrival of Nunning and told the service man it was already fixed, but he insisted on looking at it anyway instead of leaving or checking into the situation. He claims he was there for 1.5 hrs but I was told by the daycare he was not. I don't mind paying for a service call but he should have left when they told him it had been repaired and was operating. I received a bill for 114.40. The company used poor judgment if he stayed there at all. I was not aware that the daycare had already called another company. We were both acting quickly to get the heat to work for the children. The company was very rude to me when I called to ask why he would stay when he was told someone had already been there and it was working. The customer service was really terrible. I would not recommend them to anyone and will never ever use their services again.

Business Response
The customer called in and spoke with our answering service at 6:52 am on 11/8/13. A service call was placed and the technicians were all re-routed due to fact the Daycare facility had small children without heat and that way it would be a first call for service. The dispatcher called and talked personally with *** before the technician arrived onsite, but at no time was there ever anything mentioned to our office that heat was fixed and the call needed to be cancelled. After the technician evaluated the problem and the office was given order sheet to replace faulty parts due to improper installation, then the customer stated that another company had repaired the problem before we came out on 11/8/13 and *** told our dispatcher that she would pay the bill for our services. The bill was sent out to the customer for the service call. All of our service call has a fuel charge and the labor is from point to point (that includes the travel time). A call was made because of nonpayment as it was explained that the call was not cancelled and the technician provided service and found reason for their failure of no heat. It is the customer responsible to communicate with our office. Our technician was there to provide a service to make sure everything was working properly, we had no idea that the repair was provided by a certified company. We are here to provide the most efficient service to our customer to ensure everyone's safety.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The service technician was told upon arrival that it had been fixed, but he took it upon himself to go back and look at it anyway. He shouldn't have proceeded if it had been fixed by another company that the daycare had hired.

Final Business Response
Took rebuttal by phone: ***

Rebuttal provided by **** ****, Accounts Receivable:

Per receipt of your payment for the disputed services it is our understanding that the matter is resolved. If there is another issue please feel free to contact us.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Companies, Sheet Metal Companies, Restaurant Equipment Repair Services, Refrigeration Equipment-Commercial-Sales/Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/07/1998Business started: 01/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1997, IN

Business Management
Principal: Mr. John Aimone (Owner/President)
Contact Information
Ms. Lori Edge (Accounts Receiveable and Collections)Mrs. Stacy Nunning (Vice President)Mr. Tim Nunning
Business Category

Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Companies, Sheet Metal Companies, Restaurant Equipment Repair Services, Refrigeration Equipment-Commercial-Sales/Service

Products & Services

This company offers heating, airconditioning refrigeration, sheet metal and commercial kitchen equipment repair.

Industry Tips
Heating & Air Conditioning

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Nunning Heating, Air, & Refrigeration, Inc.

1120 E. Diamond Ave.

Evansville, IN 47711

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1120 E. Diamond Ave. 

    Evansville, IN 47711(812) 421-8899

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Indiana, Southeastern Illinois and Henderson & Union Counties in Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Nunning Heating, Air, & Refrigeration, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating Contractors

Heating & Air Conditioning
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.